American Wood Reface

About

Founded 1979 • With Angi since October 1997

Super Service Award winner since 2009. American Wood Reface specializes in premium 1/4" solid wood cabinet refacing. We also offer countertop replacement with or without refacing. We are committed to conducting business with integrity and achieving complete customer satisfaction. We have our own finishing and fabricating facility and employ highly skilled carpenters with an average of more than 20 years experience. We use the highest quality materials and methods available. We provide a free in-home consultation and stand behind our products and workmanship. Many references are available. No down payment for seniors. See our website for photos, customer comments, display locations and home show schedule. Additional phones - (800) 645-4594, (330) 666-7828, (440) 944-3750, (440) 777-2744, (330) 492-0800....

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+26 more images

Verified Reviews

4.9

(311) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

295

4

10

3

2

2

2

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

cabinet refacing (290)countertop installation (145)home remodeling (116)woodworking (116)cabinet makers (112)marble & granite (69)tile installation (55)plumbers (50)lighting (49)electrician (31)door installation (16)
Showing 1-25 of 311 reviews
5.0

08/30/2022


Cynthia R.

Worth the wait. I have used them once before and I have been happy with them both times.!

Description of Work
Kitchen refacing, counters, new cabinets, new microwave, sink, garbage disposal and faucet

Category custom cabinets, countertops, marble & granite, cabinet refacing

Cost $32,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2022

5.0

08/29/2022


NANCY G.

From first contact with their sales representative, Mary Jo, to completed construction project by Patrick, we are delighted with our outcome. Patrick’s attention to detail and skillful handling of all complications that arose, along with his dedication to job completion, make it easy to give this company a 5 star rating. Thank you American wood reface for having such a competent team.

Description of Work
Cabinet refacing, new countertops, 2 new cabinets, and lighting

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/29/2022

5.0

08/23/2022


Michael C.

We had American Wood Reface do our kitchen. They did new cabinet doors, a couple new cabinet layouts, new countertop and also the backsplash. The overall process went extremely well from the initial meeting with Melissa to selecting the design and color we wanted for our new cabinets, countertop and backsplash. We were assigned Derek as our carpenter and he was great to work with. He was very clear with everything that was going on and kept us informed throughout the whole process. The level of craftsmanship that he provided exceeded our expectations. He made sure everything was just as we wanted and everyday made sure the area was cleaned up and usable at night for us. We considered many different options for updating our kitchen and we are extremely pleased that we went with American Wood Reface. I would recommend them to anyone thinking about updating their kitchen.

Description of Work
Kitchen refacing, new countertop and backsplash

Category countertops, electrician, lighting, plumbing, cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/22/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to give us a positive review! The compliments to Melissa and Derek have been passed on to them. Thank you American Wood Reface

5.0

08/04/2022


James S.

In 2018 we had our kitchen cabinets completely refaced including countertops, sink, faucet and kitchen drawers. Based on their reviews, American Wood Reface was one of 3 vendors selected for an estimate. We were amazed, considering very strong reviews, that their price was significantly lower than the others. Th sales rep, Mary Jo, was incredible during the presentation, which sealed our decision to go with American Wood Reface. The experience was absolutely wonderful and the kitchen transformation was unbelievable, thanks to our craftsman, Brandon. Brandon is a non stop bunny energizer along with a perfectionist. He definitely takes pride in his work. The end result is a testimonial to his craftsmanship. So, 4 years later we decided to do our 2 upstair bathrooms. Because of the kitchen experience with American Wood Reface we contacted Mary Jo. Once again the same professionalism and commitment to our project was on display. Of course, we did request our craftsman, Brandon, to once again work his magic in the bathroom transformation. He definitely did not disappoint, again delivering on superior results. Couple of footnotes: 1. In the kitchen and bathrooms we replaced granite with Cambria quartz countertops; no comparison, the quartz is a superior product and because of this they offer a lifetime warranty. 2. American Wood Reface offers a limited lifetime warranty, they are local and have been in business for a long time. In summary, I STRONGLY believe if you are exploring refacing and the subsequent savings, you can look 👀 no further than American Wood Reface to turn your transformation into an incredible reality!!!

Description of Work
Reface of upstairs bathrooms along with additional rolling cabinet drawers, sinks, faucets, countertops and mirror.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, cabinet refacing

Cost $8,456

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/04/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your generous review. We are delighted that you enjoy the work that we have done here at American Wood Reface. Thank you American Wood Reface

5.0

07/03/2022


Michele L.

The kitchen cabinet remodel went wonderful. I'm sorry I didn't do this years ago. We totally enjoy the new look. This company was easy to work with from top to bottom, and puts no pressure on a potential client. My kitchen is one of several in the neighborhood that has used this company and we are all happy and satisfied customers. The saleswoman, Mary Jo was knowledgeable and offered suggestions when needed. It is great to work with a rep that will answer your calls, and doesn't rely on texting to get back to you. Scott, our contractor did a great job on the cabinets and everything else in the kitchen. He was dependable and showed up on time ready to go each morning. Great experience for sure.

Description of Work
Cabinet refacing, counter top installation, sink,faucet, and garbage disposal installation, under cabinet lighting, and new cabinet construction

Category countertops, lighting, plumbing, cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/19/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the 5 star review and specific compliments to Mary Jo and Scott. In addition to the described work the reface was done on Cherry Wood with Rouge stain. We hope you continue to enjoy your Kitchen American Wood Reface

5.0

06/10/2022


Margaret H.

Outstanding work. Carpenter, Mark, was meticulous, professional, and very nice to work with. Very happy with the results and the job was finished early. Would definitely recommend them.

Description of Work
Kitchen cabinet refacing

Category custom cabinets, woodworking, cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/10/2022

Images

Review for American Wood Reface - 854 Medina Rd, Medina, OH - 39761786

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking your time on giving us a five star review and the compliments to Mark! The upper cabinets of the kitchen were refaced in Parchment on Birch and the lower kitchen cabinets were done in Foggy Day on Birch. Some details included: under cabinet lighting, new drawer boxes that were upgraded to full extension with soft close glides, and crown molding. Continue to enjoy your refaced kitchen. American Wood Reface

5.0

03/26/2022


CHRISTINE P.

American Wood Reface did an outstanding job. The entire process, commencing with Ron our salesperson and ending with Anthony our carpenter was smooth. Considering the ongoing Covid issues, everything went well. Ron was not pushy but was very easy to deal with. He explained the process and did not rush us as we were making our selections. He was very thorough. Anthony did an excellent job. He was very meticulous and did not rush to complete the job. He took his time and did not leave until he was satisfied with the outcome. We would certainly recommend American Wood Reface!!

Description of Work
Kitchen cabinets refaced and new countertop and backsplash also installed. Created new bookcase and new drawers.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, plumbing, home remodeling, cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/31/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing American Wood Reface and the five star review! The kitchen was refaced with Zinfandel Stain on Select Maple! The project included refacing upper and lower cabinets. Drawer boxes were added and upgraded to full extension with soft close glides. Countertops were replaced with Britannica Cambria and wall tile was added. Continue to enjoy your refaced kitchen! American Wood Reface

5.0

02/14/2022


Terry D.

The entire process from the initial meeting and sales, to the person coming to measure the kitchen and counter top, to the counter top installers and finally to the primary rehab specialist Jeff, could not have gone better. Everyone exhibited a great deal of professionalism, and cooperation. I was completely taken aback by the level of skill and eye for perfection exhibited, especially from Jeff. At a time where good workers are hard to find, American Wood Reface has somehow managed to find some of the best. I'd gladly use them again and would also give my highest recommendation of them to anyone interested in having this type of work done. Thank you Jeff and American Wood Reface.

Description of Work
A complete kitchen rehab on a home where no serious rehab had been done since the early 50's.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, cabinet refacing, doors

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/14/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking you time with giving us a five star review with the compliments to our team and specifically to Jeff! The kitchen was refaced in White on Birch. Some details included: new drawer boxes that were upgraded to full extension with soft close glides, replacement Carrara Marmi quartz countertop, a new sink replacement, and wall tile. American Wood Reface

5.0

02/07/2022


Vydas B.

American Wood Reface has made our kitchen look brand new, with not only refacing cabinets, but installing all new drawer boxes (full extension, soft-close), mosaic wall tile, sink, and quartz countertop). Our sales rep, Ron, listened to us, came to fully understand the look we were aiming for, and made excellent recommendations. There was no push-back when we chose to go with a wall tile that they did not carry and which we procured ourselves. Measurements were precise, with even a few phone calls to triple verify (our cabinets were a bit of a mish-mash of original custom-built and newer stock size). Patrick, our carpenter, did a fantastic job, proving himself to be a real artisan and a pleasure to have around. And the price was excellent! Easily half of what a standard “blow-out” remodeling would have cost! American Wood Reface gets our highest recommendation!!

Description of Work
Reface cabinets, install new countertop & sink, install new wall tile

Category custom cabinets, countertops, cabinet refacing

Cost $18,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/18/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the postive reviews for our team. The five star is appreciated! American Wood Reface

5.0

01/19/2022


BARBARA P.

We met with Leanne in April and talked about the AWR process, made our choices and, because we had already investigated other similar companies decided quickly to go with American Wood Reface. Within a couple of months Terry came out to take precise measurements and go over specific details in order that all the materials could be ordered and ready for our start date of October. The cabinets were refaced in the color White Dove; the center island was refaced in a contrasting color (sage green); a built-in desk and cabinet above were removed and replaced with a custom built pantry with a microwave cubby; two cabinets were moved six inches to accommodate a 6-burner gas range and a hood above; the dark granite was replaced with light colored Cambria quartz (Crowndale); all cabinets were extended to the ceiling to alleviate the need to clean above & crown molding added; new pulls installed on all drawers & doors; pots & pans drawers installed; LED undercabinet lighting added; subway tile backsplash installed; and a two bowl stainless sink installed. All of this was accomplished by one master carpenter, Brandon, who worked Saturdays and even one Sunday to complete the job in the projected time. He cleaned the kitchen work area each evening so that we could use it if we had needed, which we did not during the renovation. The garage work area was cleaned and all tools/saws stowed each evening so we could park in the garage. His attention to detail in all areas of the work was exemplary. The price Leanne quoted is the price we paid! We are thrilled with our new, bright kitchen!

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel

Category custom cabinets, countertops, lighting, woodworking, cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/30/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the Five stars as well as the detailed response! It pleases us when our customers are as satisfied as you! Continue to enjoy! American Wood Reface!

5.0

01/06/2022


Debbie B.

I am BLOWN away at the kitchen makeover. The final result is so much more than I expected. The process was very smooth from start to finish. It took 2 days to complete and the installers (Carlos and Rob) were awesome! I would HIGHLY recommended this company to reface your cabinets!!!

Description of Work
Reface Kitchen Cabinets

Category cabinet refacing

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/04/2022

5.0

11/01/2021


Jo Ann M.

Very pleased with the kitchen renovation done by American Wood Reface. The process was smooth from the first meeting with Ron, the salesman, to the final measurements by Jason, the owner, to the final work day as Scott, the carpenter completed the installation. Such a plus to be able to deal with one company for the entire renovation. Selecting cabinet style and trim, hardware, Cambria quartz countertop, undercabinet lighting and sink style were all done in the convenience of our home. Because of Covid, it was so helpful not to have to go out from store to store selecting each of the components. Ron had samples of the cabinets, trim, quartz, and hardware so we could see what our choices would look like together. Scott proved to be an excellent carpenter and truly professional. He managed his time well [even completing the work earlier than predicted], and cleaned up the areas every day so the kitchen appliances could be used for dinner every evening. In addition to his outstanding carpentry skill, Scott accomplished the appliance installations with ease. The cabinet refacing is absolutely beautiful and very well crafted. We are pleased with all of our choices and very satisfied with the quality of the product. We were given a two-week time frame for the entire renovation and the work was completed in a week and a half. We are happy to recommend American Wood Reface and Jason Hicks, the owner.

Description of Work
kitchen renovation

Category custom cabinets, countertops, lighting, remodeling, woodworking, cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/08/2021

5.0

07/30/2021


Gino M.

We were extremely impressed with our initial contact-Marissa, sales rep-Leanne, estimator/measurement, and finished carpenters-Derek and Jeff. Since I own two local services firms, I place tremendous value on employees, and AWR has outstanding employees throughout their organization, which is a major reason for their success. The communication was regular, and any minor issues/changes were quickly identified and resolved. The coordination for the quartz counter tops was smooth and seamless. The project was completed sooner due to the focused efforts of Derek and Jeff. They are very detailed oriented, responsive and are high quality professionals that are easy to work with, besides being very nice guys. The quality of the materials coupled with the added ease of use and functionality were even more important than just the modern look of the cabinets. The 3 rooms look great, and friends and family have all commented on the fantastic job done by AWR. My wife and I would highly recommend them for any cabinet related projects.

Description of Work
Kitchen, bathroom and utility room cabinets, and countertops

Category countertops, electrician, plumbing, woodworking, cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/14/2021

5.0

07/04/2021


Deb C.

Went very well Pat did about 90% of the work. Very professional, excellent craftmanship, easy to work with. Mark did the rest of the work. Same comments about him. I would highly recommend American Wood Reface!

Description of Work
New kitchen cabinets doors and drawers.

Category custom cabinets

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/02/2021

Service Provider Response

This kitchen was refaced in Select Maple with a Driftwood stain. The existing countertops staying in place. All drawer boxes were replaced with full-extension glides. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. American Wood Reface

5.0

05/22/2021


Joann G.

Ron was a wonderful salesman who walked us through all the steps in order to meet our needs in our kitchen.He went out of his way to provide me with a sample of the wood to make my paint & counter choices. Mark was the carpenter/installer and he was a very efficient and very professional in his craft. I highly recommend this company. Love my kitchen now!

Description of Work
Kitchen cabinet refacing

Category custom cabinets, woodworking, cabinet refacing, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/22/2021

Images

Review for American Wood Reface - 854 Medina Rd, Medina, OH - 39341503

+1 More

5.0

05/20/2021


Larry S.

• I am very well pleased with the work completed by American Wood Reface. The work completed included the installation of under cabinet lighting and complete reface of all kitchen cabinets. Roger was absolutely excellent. Roger is personable, answering any questions we had. The work was performed efficiently and Roger kept both the kitchen and his work area in our garage neat and cleaned them at the end of each work day. We are very pleased with Roger and his workmanship. I am a former director of construction at a major international airport and was suitably impressed with the quality of the work completed. I can highly recommend this firm to anyone.

Description of Work
cabinet refacing and under cabinet lighting

Category lighting, cabinet refacing

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/20/2021

5.0

05/03/2021


BARBARA S.

Roger at American Wood Reface is an excellent carpenter. He is truly a professional and takes pride in his work. He’s on time every day. He’s approachable and answers questions. I highly recommend Roger and American Wood Reface without any hesitations.

Description of Work
Cabinets refaced and new counter tops

Category custom cabinets, cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/03/2021

5.0

04/01/2021


Linda N.

Everything turned out great! I couldn’t be happier with the end results. And he entire process was so easy, I wish I would have gotten it done sooner!

Description of Work
Kitchen cabinets refaced, backsplash installed, and under cabinet lights installed.

Category countertops, electrician, lighting, plumbing, cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/29/2021

5.0

03/15/2021


Kristin W.

This review is being posted after our initial review in January. Shortly after Derek completed our beautiful new kitchen, we experienced a water issue in our home. To our dismay, properly resolving the issue meant removing a good amount of the finishing work around the newly refaced cabinets. Our salesman Ron immediately responded to my inquiry about repairs and put me in touch with Eric. Eric got back to us the same day, and we were on the schedule for a repair within a couple of weeks. Pat did the repair and we are so pleased to say our beautiful kitchen is good as new. Thank you again AWR for helping us during this stressful time. Your service and high quality work is truly appreciated.

Description of Work
Repairs to Our Refacing

Category custom cabinets, cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/15/2021

5.0

03/13/2021


Mary A.

Working with American Wood Reface from the initial consult with Mary Jo, through the final day our carpenter Patrick was here was a pleasure. Mary Jo was thorough, had helpful suggestions and made the planning easy. Patrick was timely, we knew exactly what to expect each day of work, left a clean kitchen each evening and job finished on time. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Cabinet refacing

Category custom cabinets

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2021

5.0

03/11/2021


Jessica D.

Great communication, attention to detail, professionalism

Description of Work
Kitchen reface

Category custom cabinets, countertops, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, cabinet refacing

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/11/2021

Images

Review for American Wood Reface - 854 Medina Rd, Medina, OH - 39243440
5.0

03/11/2021


Stephen B.

We had a bathroom vanity refaced (in white) and American Wood Reface did an excellent job. Their products are high quality and the installer was very professional and did an excellent job. Their sales presentation are very informative but there are no sales pressure tactics. Communications before, during and after the job are excellent. After our experience with the bathroom vanity, we will be having American Wood Reface come back to reface our kitchen cabinets and we prefer their all wood refacing techniques as well as their selection of woods and finishes as well as hardware. If you are considering a cabinet refacing project, I strongly recommend that you check them out and compare their products with the competitors!

Description of Work
Our bathroom vanity was refaced including new doors and drawer fronts.

Category custom cabinets, cabinet refacing

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/11/2021