Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Approved Roof Systems Inc

Founded 1991 • With Angi since September 1997

4.9

(184) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 24791

Mayfield Heights, OH 44124

Description

Not licensed in Cleveland. Will not do work there. Physical location: 4177 Greenvale Road South Euclid, OH 44121 Approved Roof Systems has been offering residential roofing services to customers in Cleveland, OH and the surrounding areas for over 35 years. We have the knowledge and experience

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/09/2017


Scott C.

Jim was honest and prompt, and trusted me to pay him via mail as I was out of town. He was able to use some shingles that I had leftover from the original roof replacement, and the repair is perfect. Jim repaired it so quickly, he saved me from a snowstorm that surely would have damaged my exposed roof decking.

Description of Work
Jim came out very quickly after a wind storm and replaced several shingles that blew off in a severe windstorm.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks . We appreciate your business and taking the time to write this review.
3.0

05/28/2017


Diane M.

What was intended to be a simple roof replacement quickly turned into a much more involved job, as extensive rot was discovered when the existing roof was removed. The crew onsite was professional and worked diligently while on site and made repairs the "right" way. Jim came onsite the afternoon on day 1 and after seeing the extent of repair estimated the cost would be likely an additional $1,000, even stating it would not go beyond that. The repair took a total of 3 days and, as I stated before, the onsite crew did a great job. Following the job, we contacted Jim regarding the bill. He quoted is a total of $2,000 above the original estimate. I do not necessarily think that the price is unfair, my issue with the process is at no point did Jim update me on the work being completed, the additional cost or give me options as to what could be done. I emailed him my concerns, including asking if the cost of the railing was included in this quote and promptly paid him the quoted price. He replied with an apology and said he would go to Home Depot to investigate the railing. I was fairly satisfied up until this point. After a few days when I hadn't heard back and I saw my check had been cashed, I inquired regarding the railing. Today, I received this reply "I'm not interested in doing the railing. thanks anyways". This rude response was unwarranted. I find the communication with this company was terrible. I am hoping this was a miscommunication, as sometimes electronic communication can be misconstrued, however this has left a very bitter taste in my mouth and where I previously would have recommended this company, now I will not. CONS: poor communication, rude, substantially increased billing at completion of job without communication or approval.

Description of Work
Extensive rebuild of flat roof over sunroom with replacement of bitumen roof. Some fascia repair. Gutter replacement surrounding flat roof.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

At least we did not apply the new roofing over the rotted roof like the last roofing company did. Regarding the railing, earlier in the job I recommended you to call Euclid Jealousy for a quality metal railing. However I went to Home Depot per your request and looked at the railing you requested, the parts would have been well over $400.00 to purchase and in my opinion it would have been a substandard railing. Labor would have been an additional $700.00 if not more. I refunded you by check $300.00 Angie's discount. I still recommend that you call Euclid Jealousy for a quality metal railing. Thank you
5.0

12/07/2015


Cheryl G.

It is a really good feeling to know that you can count on someone to live up to his word. This is even more important when you can't be present to oversee the job. Jim, though very busy, made this easy for us. He came over immediately when I requested a bid, we were able to communicate easily electronically and by phone, and the work was performed exactly when he said it would. Due to the company's heavy work load and the need to custom order, it took about three weeks from the time the contract was signed to perform the service. All went as scheduled. All was done and cleaned up in a day and we are very pleased. Communication and professionalism were very important and this company receives high marks on both.

Description of Work
He replaced a very large skylight.

Category roofing, skylights

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your business and appreciate you taking the time to write this review. Thank you
4.0

08/17/2015


aaron F.

He said that it looks like the units we have are the top of the line right now and that's what we need to replace. His responsiveness was very good, he was there in a flash.

Description of Work
I got a quote from them a few days ago to put in two skylights.

Category skylights

Service Provider Response

Thank you. We appreciate your business and taking the time to write this review.
5.0

04/14/2015


I H H.

They were responsive, punctual and courteous. Great job!

Description of Work
Removed ice and snow from roof that caused an ice dam which was causing water leaking into the house.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you.
5.0

10/09/2014


John M.

It went very well. They worked with our schedule and they were diligent to work until the work was done. They were professional, reliable and competent.

Description of Work
.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and taking the time to write this review. Jim Owner
5.0

09/29/2014


SHARON T.

They are excellent. They are very professional and knowledgeable.

Description of Work
I used Approved Roof Systems Inc. They installed a 12 lead skylight. They had previously installed a roof for me. They do a yearly winter tune up of my roof.

Category skylights

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your business. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Thank you very much!!!!!
5.0

09/17/2014


Donald R.

I was thoroughly pleased. We obtained three estimates and chose Approved. It was late in the season and the weather had become very unpredictable. Despite the changes in weather, the work was completed punctually and very professionally. The work crew arrived early and left the work area very clean. After almost one year we have not had any problems and no problem with leaks. We would certainly use Approved again..

Description of Work
Replaced entire roof and repaired two dormers.. we had had a nagging leak which various efforts had failed to identify and correct. Decided the only solution was to replace the roof.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for this review. We appreciate your business. Thank You!!!!
5.0

09/03/2014


Jeff P.

Jim Weigel is the owner. He was referred to me by a friend as well as by a roofing supply company. He is absolutely wonderful. The job took about five days from start to finish. He did a complete tear off of the old roof and installed an entire new roof. He even installed a new attic fan. He did a great job. I have recommended him to many people including friends and neighbors who have hired him and have been pleased as well.

Description of Work
I have used their services for roofing.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and taking the time to write this review. Jim Owner
5.0

10/08/2013


Aaron O.

Went very well. Immediately called out the extra expense of new roof sheeting when it was discovered to be bad. Crew was fast. Cleanup was good.

Description of Work
Replaced roofing. Replaced gutters.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your business. Thank you, Jim
5.0

10/07/2013


Donna P.

Service was wonderful and cleanup great. All was completed when specified. Recommendations were made to do some chimney repair and a contractor was suggested. This contractor was used and did a great job also

Description of Work
Complete tear down and replacement of the roof. Repairs were also made. Flashing replaced

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review & your business.
5.0

08/19/2013


Craig M.

Very well, I could not have been happier with the service.

Description of Work
Fixed the roof and gutter.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your business and this review. Thank you, Jim/Owner
1.0

04/22/2013


Linda M.

I was disapponited because all they did was leave an estimate in my mailbox. So I had many questions as to what I was reading but no one right there to ask. There was no follow-up, I was very turned off so I just went with roofer who sat down and met with me instead.

Description of Work
I was getting an estimate for a new roof.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

That is what you told me to do. We had a conversation months ago and I asked if you were going to be home an you said "NO" and you told me that I can go there, get on the roof and do the measurements and to leave my estimate in your mail box. This is what you asked me to do! WOW!!! You get an F for your lack of memory and "Not Calling Me Back" Why would you leave comments that are not true or not the way it happened at all? Wow Wow!
5.0

04/15/2013


kevin Z.

Very professional. Quality job. Even did me a favor and put a tarp over the hole to prevent further damage until they could show up later. Came in slightly under budget.

Description of Work
repaired leak in roof, hole in siding, rerouted drains.

Category roofing, siding

Service Provider Response

Thank you for this review. We appreciate your business. Thank You!!!!
5.0

03/25/2013


Bernadine T.

The came out and took the time to get a very good overall picture of my roofing issues. They gave me a written estimate that I felt was very detail and easy for me to understand. Approved Roofing Systems, Inc. came inside and explain everything in detail and answered all the questions I had.

Description of Work
Approved Roof Systems, Inc was very professional, prompt and easy to do business with. Approved Roof Systems, Inc came out and gave me an estimate for my roof. I always get three (3) estimates and Approved Roof Systems, Inc. was in my opinion rated number one. (1). I would certainly refer them to my friends and family!

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your business. Thank you
5.0

11/05/2012


Dorothy F.

Recommendations were made by the owner for roofing updates on my 60 year old house. The old shingles needed to be replaced at this time. Owner, Jim Weigel's recommendations were in line with those received from other companies. He accommodated me in getting the work done at a time that was convenient for me. I was satisfied with the competence of his crew and the efficient way in which they worked to finish the job in the approximate time stated. There was no damage to anything on my property while they were working and the cleanup was complete.

Description of Work
Old roofing was removed. Insulation installed in the ceiling. Four foot baffle installed in all rafter bays. Six feet of ice guard was installed along the gutter line on the perimeter of the roof. Installed aluminum valleys, chimney soil pipe and wall flashings. Certainteed limited lifetime dimensional shingles were used for the new roofing. Other installations included ridge caps, soffit vents, and strip vents. Also two bathroom fans were vented through the roof. Debris was removed and there is a 10-year guarantee on the workmanship.

Category insulation, roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you!!! We appreciate your business.
5.0

10/18/2012


Carol W.

He was prompt, honest, and courteous - came just minutes before scheduled. I have a very high roof and he climbed up and saw that my gutter was clogged. He cleaned it all out and didn't charge me a thing! He was absolutely wonderful and I would definitely use him again.

Description of Work
He cleaned my gutter out on a very high 3-story roof. I originally called him because I thought I had a leak!

Category gutter cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you. Glad we could help.
5.0

10/11/2012


Mason C.

Jim (the owner) came personally, Found the leaks caused by improper installation of shingles by another company that originally installed the new roof seven years ago, and quoted a price to repair.I agreed, and we set up a time a few days later to do the work. The crew called before they came, was on time, very professional, and polite. The color of the shingles that were replaced match so well I would not be able to tell where the new ones were if I didn't know. It has rained twice after being fixed and no leaks. Great Job Guy's The crew also did an excellent clean up. Looks like they were never here. Highly Recommended By A Satisfied Customer

Description of Work
Repaired two roof leaks

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your business. Thank you
5.0

08/31/2012


MARTHA M.

I looked in Angie's List, I found their name. I got three bids. I chose them because their quote was mid price and I appreciated the information they gave to me and how they explained the roofing project to me during the quote. Their quote was about $10,000.00 and that included the upper story and the lower story. The gutters and soffits were repaired also as part of the project. The cost was extra but worth it! They were on time, they were neat and tidy, very careful. The roof is very very nice. I would strongly recommend them to anyone on the east side of cleveland that wants to have a new roof. Their service was completely fine. They finished within a week. They lived up to all my expectations for a first rate company.

Description of Work
They tore off the old roof, replaced the entire roof and they repaired a small, flat part of the roof with a special roofing for that type.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks for sending this report to Angie's List ... and Thanks for your business. Jim/Owner
5.0

07/18/2012


Bruce Q.

I contacted Jim Weigel after my review of his highly rated customer feedback on Angie's list.The job I had was very small for this time of the year when roofing Companies are so busy in the good weather to install complete new roof systems.I called Jim Weigel and left a message for him to call me back and he did very promptly.I explained to Jim the work I needed done and he set up an appointment with me within two days even though it was such a small job but a job I would not even tackle since this vent needed to be installed at the top of the roof and the roof pitch was a steep 45 degree angle.Jim was right on time with our appointment at my home on 06/20/2012 and looked in my attic and the outside of my home and quoted me a price. Jim said he could do the job in three weeks. I agreed to his price and the time he could do it.Jim called me back right on schedule 07/10/2012 and said he would be at my home on 07/12/2012 at 8:30 A.M. to do the jobd while the morning was cooler in temperature.Jim and one of his employees came right on time and completed this job very well and also very neatly.

Description of Work
Installed roof vent to connect to 2nd floor bathroom ventilation fan to properly vent out bathroom moisture through the attic and to the outside of my home

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your business ... even a small job is an important job to us. Thanks
5.0

07/13/2012


David M.

Did excellent job! Staff has a very strong work ethic! Very professional! House looked so good the neighbors used them

Description of Work
Replaced entire roof. Replaced all gutters.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your business. Thank you
5.0

05/14/2012


Marilyn H.

They did a very good job. They cleaned up well. I would recommend them to anyone. Jim is very personable. The price was right as well.

Description of Work
They put a new roof on my garage.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks Member. We appreciate you taking the time to post a report and we appreciate your business, Thank you! Jim/Owner
5.0

04/18/2012


Thomas K.

They were very responsive, timely, and professional. They put our roof on in 1988 and we were happy then, so we called them back. I thought the price was good.

Description of Work
They repaired some damage on my roof and put on vents.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for calling us again for your roofing needs. We were happy to hear that your experience with us was a Great One! Thanks for taking the time to post this report. We appreciate your business. Sincerely Jim/Owner
5.0

10/10/2011


Beth & Howard S.

I am pleased with their service. They were timely and honest.

Description of Work
They replaced my roof.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks for sending this report to Angie's List ... and Thanks for your business. Jim/Owner
2.0

08/08/2011


Rishi S.

Jim came out to inpect a flat roof job in March and provided his quote quickly thereafter. I signed the contract after I received insurance payment a few months later. Initial work wasn't to begin until September because he was backed up with other jobs. The wait was okay with me, but I asked him to spread some tarps over the areas of leakage before another rain storm cause more damage. I called him twice after that and it was obvious that he hadn't been to my home. I called him a third time just after a rainstorm when I then suffered carpet and worsening interior damage. I expressed my disappointment with him assuming that he would be apologetic and come out that afternoon and put the tarps down. Instead he insisted that I find another roofer for the job. I'm amazed with the ability of this contractor to turn down work despite the fact that I didn't balk on his prices or ask for anything extraordinary (just a five dollar tarp on a roof).

Description of Work
Tear off and reconstruction of a flat roof.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Member- I sent you a Proposal for your Roof job on 3-9-2011 for $3,265.00 - NOT $3,500.00 that you mention in this report. It clearly states on my Proposal to sign and return if you accept our proposal and have our company do your roof work. However, I NEVER received a signed contract from you? You called me 3 months later after I was back logged with roofing work due to the time of year and all the rain this past spring. You called me a few days ago and wanted to blame me for your carpet damage even though WE DO NOT have a signed propsal. When I inspected the job in March 2011 it was obvious that your roof has been leaking for sometime there was ceiling damage and skylite damage from previous water leaks. At that point I thought it was time to terminate our relationship right then and there. You mention in this report about a $5.00 tarp. For your information tarping a roof would have been a minimum of a $100.00 charge. We purchase most of our Tarps from Home Depot and I don't remember the price ever being as low as $5.00 not to mention I have to pay my employees a wage to install a tarp. Approved Roof Systems is giving you an F for lack of planning and following through.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Home Genius Exteriors

     

    Angi Certified

    All American Gutters & Power Washing

    Here at All American Gutters & Power Washing we GUARANTEE our work, from a simple cleaning to the most extensive repair. We also specialize in power washing services such as houses, decks, driveways, sidewalks, fences, patios, & roofs etc. Our attention to detail is unmatched, and our work is GUARANTEED! Veteran Owned & Operated.  

    Angi Certified

    Brad Smith Roofing Co Inc

    Family owned and operated Roofing Contractor since 1979! Celebrating 35 years, we are dedicated to servicing our residential & commercial customers in the areas of: Repairs, New Roofs, Chimney & Masonry work, Slate and Tile, Gutters & Home Renovations! DBA U Trash It Dumpster Rentals.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    5 YEAR GUARANTEE ON WORKMANSHIP

    Services Offered

    Roofing. Carpentry. Gutters. Skylights. Siding. Insulation. Roof ice & snow removal.

    Services Not Offered

    Hot asphalt or tile.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Approved Roof Systems Inc

    How is Approved Roof Systems Inc overall rated?

    Approved Roof Systems Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Approved Roof Systems Inc open?

    Approved Roof Systems Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Approved Roof Systems Inc provide

    Approved Roof Systems Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Approved Roof Systems Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Approved Roof Systems Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Approved Roof Systems Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Approved Roof Systems Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Approved Roof Systems Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Approved Roof Systems Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Approved Roof Systems Inc?

    No, Approved Roof Systems Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Approved Roof Systems Inc offer?

    Approved Roof Systems Inc offers the following services: Roofing. Carpentry. Gutters. Skylights. Siding. Insulation. Roof ice & snow removal.

    Are there any services Approved Roof Systems Inc does not offer?

    Hot asphalt or tile.