Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Deck Rescue LLC

Founded 1995 • With Angi since October 1999

4.6

(114) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8494 Norwalk Rd

Litchfield, OH 44253

Description

We have over 30 employees between our 11 locations. We do NOT use sub-contractors, as we have our own experienced carpenters / home re-modelers on staff. We accept Visa and Mastercard.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/12/2018


Arthur L.

Last year, they removed the old stain and restained the deck. This job requires a light coat of stain for this year, and they did it.

Description of Work
restain deck

Category decks, deck cleaning, pressure washing, house painters

3.0

08/21/2017


Jim V.

They refinished our deck and within 6 to 8 months it was back the way it was. They came back out again this past summer. It's this summer and the deck again is looking like it did before they came out here. Now, in their defense, they used a product from Sherwin Williams that really didn't do the job. We had a new product put on by Deck Rescue and the Sherwin Williams Company didn't reimburse me or anything and the product that I used from them last year is now not working on the deck again. What I want to make sure that you understand is they used a product from Sherwin Williams. I didn't have any problem with their doing the work, it was the product they selected. Then they continued to use the product, and we continued to have the problem. So I want to make that clear in the terms that what they did was not wrong. What they did was fine, but they continued to use the Sherwin Williams products, and those have turned out to be quite frankly worthless. Price was fine. They were competitive. It didn't work. The first time they were responsive, the second time they weren't because they had to come back out for the deck again and I got re-charged for it. They were a little messy at a couple points.

Description of Work
Refinished our deck

Category deck cleaning

5.0

07/28/2017


Tim E.

Everything about this work was a good experience...prompt and efficient communication, professional in their work and attitudes, and the deck now looks great. Thanks!

Description of Work
Powerwashing, staining, repairs

Category deck cleaning

5.0

10/04/2015


Jay A.

I contacted Deck Rescue amongst a few others after reviewing companies online and on Angie's List for quotes on our two (2) homes in the area. Deck Rescue was prompt, professional and punctual in their response to me. I got a call from the office scheduling an appointment for an estimate, and Dave kept his appointment as promised to provide us an estimate for both of our homes. He recommended staining for one home but not the other as it was not yet needed this year. He was honest and thorough in his recommendations and estimate. He was available to answer questions and discuss the details once we decided to use Deck Rescue for the work. Dave was on schedule as promised for the power washing and the deck staining and repairs. He and his crew did a very good job with the staining and repairs, and Dave also took care of a few other deck repairs that were not stated in the estimate - at no extra charge. He also came back to pound some popped nails that were overlooked the first time once we noticed it and contacted him. I found Dave to be professional, reliable and courteous during this entire process. He always returned my calls and email inquiries promptly, which is more than what I can say for a lot of contractors during busy seasons. We are happy with the work done by Deck Rescue and I would recommend their services to anyone.

Description of Work
Washed, stained and did repairs on the deck and the front wooden porch.

Category deck cleaning, pressure washing, house painters

3.0

06/06/2015


Roger L.

Both occasions were for the same work. Areas of the house and garden were covered with tarps to prevent overspray staining the house or foliage. Company workmen used water to pressure wash the deck, cleaning off algae stain. After deck dried (over a period of a day or so), workmen returned and stained deck with aerial sprayers, spraying stain over the whole deck. The quality of work was different in both cases. First occasion on 6/5/08, the deck turn out beautiful, the complete stain completely covering the wood, so it looked new. I give it an "A" grade. Second occasion on 5/3/13, after staining, the coverage was spotty and intermittent looking, with variations in stain coverage. It looked as if the workmen didn't have enough stain to cover the deck. I give it a "C-" grade. I took pictures and uploaded them to my computer, with the intent of contacting the Deck Rescue owner (Bill Hydock), and emailing the photos. Unfortunately, my hard drive crashed, and I lost the photos. I never did contact the owner. From my personal contact with Mr. Hydock, I believe he would have tried to correct the incomplete stain coverage.

Description of Work
One two occasions wood deck was pressure washed and restained. First occasion 6/5/08. Second occasion 5/3/13.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thanks for giving us another chance, [Member Name Removed] -- you won't be disappointed! Look forward to seeing you this week and making your deck beautiful again. Sincerely, Dave Hydock, President & Founder Deck Rescue, LLC / Deck Rescue Franchising, LLC www.deckrescue.net
5.0

01/22/2015


Philip S.

It looked great. It looks beautiful. It came out real nice. They were excellent and showed up a month early. I was so happy, I cooked them lunch on the grill while they were here. Everything was excellent. Their customer service and communication was great. They let you know the date and when they're going to be there. They were fast. They had a good team of guys to pressure wash and then stain the fence. They use my fence now as a show model to potential customers. They use a special cleaner that they spray on first and then they pressure wash the fence, so all the dirt and debris gets off it. Then the fence takes the stain better. It should last like five or six years. That was one of the deciding factors for me. They had a better system to do it.

Description of Work
They restained my very big fence.

Category fencing

5.0

10/16/2014


Nancy G.

They did a great job. They had to do the pressure washing first, because it hadn’t been done in many years and so it was very badly in arrears. They got everything cleaned up and then they painted it with the protective coating stuff that you put on deck so that water beads up on it. I would use them again. They were reliable, responsible, on time and they did the job exactly the way I needed it to be done.

Description of Work
I used Deck Rescue. They had to refinish the decking board.

Category deck cleaning, pressure washing

5.0

10/21/2013


Daniel R.

They were very professional. The estimate was done on time and the crew that showed up to do the work was very professional and the work looks great. I'll definitely use them again!

Description of Work
Power washed and stained fencing and decks at two different properties.

Category deck cleaning, pressure washing

5.0

10/16/2013


David B.

We received a few quotes for our deck and Desk Rescue was the cheapest. They were quick to provide a quote. Scheduling the service was very easy and they were easy to get a hold of on the phone to answer questions. I can't speak to how long the treatment will hold up, but so far it's been about a month and the deck looks great.

Description of Work
Clean and stain deck

Category deck cleaning

5.0

08/06/2013


Patricia R.

Deck Rescue did an excellent job with this deck....It is about 8-9 years old and composit.....the grey color was very faded and old looking.....I had called to see if anything could be done to make it look better....I hated to have to replace at a cost of over $10,000.If I can keep it looking good for a few more years.... He told me that they can either stain with a solid stain or a oil staijn....I opt for the oil stain.... As soon as the weather broke they were out to power wash to prep it for the stain. Next day it was stained and looked so much better!! I am very happy with the results...He even gave me the gallon of paint so I can do touch ups as needed..... I would call them again in the future...

Description of Work
power washed composit deck at rear of house...Then he stained it..... Also did a shed ramp Free !!

Category deck cleaning, pressure washing

5.0

06/03/2013


STEVEN R.

Dave Hydock was responsive, polite and professional. Showed up on time and did a nice job . Would recommend and use again.

Description of Work
Powerwash house and deck and stain deck

Category deck cleaning

1.0

05/01/2013


Tina P.

Did not last, told me they would warranty work did not honor and took much longer than initially stated. Again this was 3 years ago but I still feel people should know.

Description of Work
Did not use this company this time but, saw them on website. Used them about 3 years ago and was extremely unhappy with work and when I called to complain about quality made several excuses and was rude. Would never use them again

Category deck cleaning

Service Provider Response

This review absolutely baffles me. We did everything possible to appease homeowner. This includes meeting a deadline for her party, returning a few weeks after the job was initially done to apply a free top-coat, and returning the following year to inspect the deck surface and leave extra product for touch-ups. I personally saw the photos of her deck floor one year later, and forwarded them to my franchise owners to show them how nice it looked after a harsh winter. This particular client's deck had been stripped, and we openly state on our website that a deck which has been stripped typically needs a top-coating the following year due to excessive porosity. Hers did not require a top-coat. It still had roughly 90% of its color, which is highly impressive! Again, this report baffles me. But it seems to follows the same pattern of homeowners who have restored their own decks for several years, then question the legitimacy and ethics of the professional who takes over their job. Folks must trust in our abilities and our word, not to mention read the extremely detailed disclaimers and human limitations we profess to on our website. I am sorry we could not please this particular homeowner.
5.0

04/06/2013


Brian B.

Generally went all right. Had a little trouble getting in touch to schedule work. Dave Hydock was responsive.

Description of Work
Cleaned and stained 680 SF deck including lattice skirt.

Category deck cleaning

5.0

01/22/2013


Carol H.

Very professional workers Very good job

Description of Work
Renew and refresh our huge deck and benches

Category deck cleaning, pressure washing

5.0

01/22/2013


Roberta S.

There were alot of delays related to other work being done to house, He was very accomodating and able to readjust his schedule. It was a time of severe heat and heavy breezes, both which delayed things once the work started. Power washing was done in 1 day; staining took 2-3 days. I liked the work crew-they were pleasant, communicated, and didn't leave a mess. Hard working. I would definately call them again.

Description of Work
Power washed large & small deck,stairs, & picket fence.Stained decks,stairs, & picket fence.

Category fencing, deck cleaning, pressure washing

1.0

09/11/2012


MELISSA B.

They worked July 31st for 5 hours and were supposed to come back the next day, and never showed or called. They showed up August 2. They didn't get all of the old stain removed off the deck, because it wasn't stripped properly. The stripping agent they were using contained bleach, and Sherwin Williams it was okay to use on the deck but to be cautious of splashing on the siding. They cleaned out their buckets in my lawn, and I asked them not to do so. I had just put down grass seed, now I don't have grass. I asked them to not touch the deck, and reached out to the franchise president. He wouldn't come out to look or send out another franchisee. I received a letter from the president saying Sherwin Williams didn't know what they are talking about and that it was my fault for applying the stain for the prior 10 years. Basically, I was told that they did nothing wrong, except for missing a few scheduled appointments. They charged me for $770.00, and they didn't strip the deck. I have documentation and pictures for all of this. I had to purchase a stripping agent, and wound up stripping and staining it myself. I even had to replace the board, because the one the brought was 1 1/2and quot; short. My deck now looks fantastic. Update 02/06/13: I told you the details. It was a really bad experience. It turned out, I did not pay for the poor strip job they did. I ended up contacting the BBB after the company told me they were turning me over to colletions. Apparently, Deck Rescue does not like the customer to ask questions and told the BBB that they and quot;severedand quot; our relationship after I asked Sherwin Williams their opinion. My whole story is already on your website.

Description of Work
They were supposed to strip and stain my deck and replace a board. The estimate for the entire job was $918.00, and I haven't paid a dime. Update 02/06/13: I already wrote a review on this company in late August or early September. I even supplied pictures. Its on your site.

Category deck cleaning

Service Provider Response

This was an unfortunate situation where the client expected us to perform miracles on a badly-abused deck. Homeowner had stained it herself for roughly 10 years in a row. Typically, in this case no chemical stripper can dissolve this much product, leaving the homeowner to either replace the boards or "paint" the deck with a solid stain. Using a special high-concentration stripper (which is quite expensive and time-consuming) we volunteered extra hours on the job to try to remove the several layers of product with multiple applications. We could only remove perhaps 90% (which our website clearly states in the norm, and which we begged the client to please read). We advised the client that the only way to remove additional product was to sand the wood or keep performing more & more applications with the chemical (which can actually be harmful to the wood). Of course, either option would cost extra as it was not something included in the original estimate. 99.9% of homeowners would accept this fact as being reasonable. However, the client did not want to face reality. She proceeded to our vendor to second-guess our work and twisted their words to make us sound negligent. They gave her advice based upon a HOMEOWNER stripping a deck themselves, not a trained professional who uses more sophisticated techniques. In fact, we weren't even using the vendor's product, so any advice they gave her was ill-informed from the start. Our vendor was not aware we were using an entirely different chemical than what they sell to homeowners. We realized we could not convince the homeowner that we did nothing wrong, and thus voluntarily walked away receiving no payment whatsoever. In all, it was roughly a $700 loss for our company. How we can receive an "F" grade for putting in extra materials & labor -- then not even receiving a single penny in return -- only adds to the unfortunate nature of this situation. We should at least get an "A" for price, which in this case was ZERO. We took the high road here, and our hope is that Angie's List clients will realize this fact. When we encounter a client who is unwilling to accept professional advice gained from restoring over 6,000 decks in nearly two decades, we walk away rather than get involved in a legal entanglement. Our record speaks for itself. Thank you.
5.0

05/14/2012


Chris D.

Want to thank Charlie and his team for their excellent work on stripping and staining my deck and fence. Charlie contacted me right away, went out to my residence and e mailed me an estimate within 1 week of my inquiry. He kept me up to date on the weather and when he would be able to perform these services. My deck and fence look new! Very pleased and satisfied with Deck Rescue LLC.

Description of Work
Deck & Fence stripping and staining.

Category fencing, deck cleaning

5.0

05/04/2012


John S.

Weather caused slowdowns, but once the sun was shining and temp warmed - they got the job done quickly. Overall looks great!

Description of Work
Ian and crew refinished one very large deck (power wash and repaint) as well as staining a smaller second floor balcony/deck.

Category deck cleaning

5.0

04/23/2012


DENNIS L L.

We will continue to use this service in the future if needed.

Description of Work
They were here for routine services.

Category deck cleaning

1.0

04/13/2012


RON N.

The man in charge was not able to supervise the job because he was taking care of his ailing parents. The two kids that came out to do the job did not power wash the deck correctly, and they did a hasty, haphazard job with the finishing, and it's now pealing off. The power washing was very hasty, and they didn't take the proper precautions to make sure that only the deck was power washed. As far as the finish, they only rolled one coat on, and did not brush it in at all, as it should have been. A second coat was never applied. We didn't watch them carefully while they were here, so we're not sure exactly where the fault lies, but the end result is a very poor finish on our deck. An individual from Sherwin Williams came out and checked the job and even though, he was new to the job, and was reluctant to take a firm stand with them, verified that the job was done extremely poorly. He was very friendly, but we would have preferred that he take more of a stand in the situation. More recently, he's backed off and recanted everything he said to us, making us out to be liars. Here we are, three months later and the finish is peeling.

Description of Work
In October of 2011 they came to refinish our deck.

Category decks, deck cleaning, pressure washing

Service Provider Response

We did our best efforts at customer service, offering to come out in March when the weather was nice to do complimentary touch-up work and leave free product for future touch-ups. We completely agreed that there were some missed spots. As far as the peeling, the homeowner's deck was previously coated with a solid stain. This left us no other choice but to apply a solid stain ourselves, as this type of stain cannot be safely stripped from a deck. We openly state on our website that solid stains WILL peel in Ohio's climate. It is an inevitable fact of life. Instead of accepting our offer to re-coat the bare spots, the homeowners opted instead to call in a rep from Sherwin-Williams, not trusting in our abilities or methods. This despite our long history of success in our industry, especially amongst Angie's List clients. I deeply regret we could not come to an amicable conclusion to this situation. But when a homeowner questions our knowledge, experience and methods -- calling in a third party in an attempt to undercut our credentials -- this unfortunately irrevocably severs the business relationship. We are truly sorry things ended up this way. It is a shame. --Dave Hydock, President & Founder
5.0

10/07/2011


RORY W.

Fred's crew did a great job. The porch itself if about 1,200 sq ft and we have a lot of lattice around the base as well. They pressure washed and stained everything. They also pressured washed the columns around the porch. We had some challenges finding days to work due to the weather, but Fred always kept me informed on what was going on. When I had some questions about why the stain took to some parts of the deck better than others, Fred explained everything to me and sent the crew out to do touch-up where necessary.

Description of Work
Pressure washed and stained deck.

Category deck cleaning, pressure washing

5.0

09/01/2011


KARAL S.

This company has a franchise arrangement. I used the company before, but this time I was in a different district with a different franchisee. My call was returned promptly,They had my previous information on file, and offered to do the job for the same price as three years ago. We scheduled the job for a few days later. The workmen arrived exactly as scheduled and did the job in a totally professional manner. I would definitely use the company again.

Description of Work
They power washed a deck and treated it with finishing product.

Category deck cleaning

5.0

08/30/2011


RONALD S L.

We liked everything about them. They were very professional, did good work, and were excellent at communicating with us.

Description of Work
They power washed and stained 2 decks at our house.

Category deck cleaning, pressure washing, house painters

5.0

07/18/2011


Elvin M.

They did excellent work for me. I can not ask for anything better.

Description of Work
Had a new fence put in & they did the painting.

Category house painters

5.0

07/13/2011


Cathy M.

They said they couldn't guarantee that it would look perfect, but it looks perfect enough for me. I'm very pleased with how it turned out.

Description of Work
I used them for deck maintenance. They cleaned the deck and restained it. The deck is 26 years old.

Category deck cleaning

    Other local Pros in your area

    HydroCare

    HydroCare Pressure Washing provides pressure washing services for all types of exterior surfaces. From driveways to decking, to siding and stucco, along with roof cleaning, we will leave your property looking like the day your feature was installed. We work with speed and integrity, always focused on your satisfaction. We are available in the evenings for your convenience. Please call for availability and a quote today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    All American Gutters & Power Washing

    Here at All American Gutters & Power Washing we GUARANTEE our work, from a simple cleaning to the most extensive repair. We also specialize in power washing services such as houses, decks, driveways, sidewalks, fences, patios, & roofs etc. Our attention to detail is unmatched, and our work is GUARANTEED! Veteran Owned & Operated.  

    Mikes Roof Cleaning

    WE OFFER NON PRESSURE ROOF STAIN REMOVAL and Exterior pressure washing We know that in the vast majority of cases, black roof stains can be completely and safely removed with the gentle cleaning IF you come across a contractor that wants to clean your roof with a high-pressure wand, run in the other direction as fast as possible. We provide Professional Roof Cleaning for Residential and Commercial properties. Homeowner Associations, Real Estate Agents and Property Managers are encouraged to contact us BEFORE any roof replacement is started. We provide professionally cleaned roofs at a fraction of the cost of replacement.  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Check
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Exterior Wood, Concrete & Brick Patios, Power Washing, Sealing, Staining, Log & Cedar Home Restoration. NOT A DECK BUILDER -- WE WASH AND STAIN ONLY.

    Services Not Offered

    Vinyl & Aluminum House Washing.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Deck Rescue LLC

    How is Deck Rescue LLC overall rated?

    Deck Rescue LLC is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Deck Rescue LLC open?

    Deck Rescue LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Deck Rescue LLC provide

    Deck Rescue LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Check

    Does Deck Rescue LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Deck Rescue LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Deck Rescue LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Deck Rescue LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Deck Rescue LLC?

    No, Deck Rescue LLC does not offer warranties.

    What services does Deck Rescue LLC offer?

    Deck Rescue LLC offers the following services: Exterior Wood, Concrete & Brick Patios, Power Washing, Sealing, Staining, Log & Cedar Home Restoration. NOT A DECK BUILDER -- WE WASH AND STAIN ONLY.

    Are there any services Deck Rescue LLC does not offer?

    Vinyl & Aluminum House Washing.