Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Champion Windows and Home Exteriors of Columbus

Founded 1953 • With Angi since November 1995

4.0

(234) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

209 Green Meadows Drive

LEWIS CENTER, OH 43035

Description

There’s never been a better time to transform you home with Champion of Columbus! Think of us as a one-stop shop for everything you need to beautify your home’s exterior: windows, sunrooms, siding, roofing and doors. Only Champion offers the superior energy efficiency of Comfort 365 Windows,

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

10/13/2021


Rebecca S.

Nothing about our experience with this company has been good. I am still waiting on a solution to the multitude of issues we have had with our window install. It has been over 6 months and I still don't have all my windows or hardware and no one in this company seems to care about my concerns. I didn't even get any other estimates because of a recommendation from my mother. She had windows installed in 2014 and had nothing but good things to say about her experience. Obviously things have changed in 7 years. She regrets ever suggesting Champion to my husband and me and says she will never recommend them to anyone ever again. Do yourself a favor and get multiple estimates and stay away from a company that requires you to sign a contract that day or you lose out on the sale. A measure tech had to come out to my house 3 times (each time at least 3 weeks between visits) to measure a single window which was the start of the delay. I was told that first they couldn't read the writing, then the measurements didn't match. The install "professionals" broke a new window which had to be reordered. End of August was the install and I was told it would take at least 4 weeks to get the replacement window. There is a 3 inch scratch down to the metal on my big living room picture window. The caulking job would have been better done by a 2 year old. I do not have all the cranks for my awning windows, even though the windows sat in their warehouse for almost a month before my install date. The contractors put a gash in the beadboard on my bathroom wall and hammer scratches and divots in my living room and half bath window sills. They left grass stain on my cream living room carpet and a pile of cigarette butts at the end of my driveway. I was told they would do the install from 9 to 4. They showed up at 10 and didn't leave until almost 8 pm. On some of the bedroom windows you can see light from outside around the sill. Which makes me question the quality of the install. When they first showed up they complained that the front of my house was stone and that I had bushes in the flower garden. We signed papers on April 3rd and the install didn't even happen until August 30th. At the time of signing I was told it would be 8 to 12 weeks until the install. I was told that Champion Installers would be installing the windows. That was a lie. The men that showed up looked like they were pulled right off the street. The trucks they arrived in were not company trucks and they were not wearing any company shirts. You wouldn't have even known that it was champion doing the install. I guess the way they get away with saying they have Champion professionals is that they have one guy who actually works for Champion and the others are subcontracted (one guy had his grandson with him to help). And ironically, it was the actual Champion employee that was complaining I had a stone facade and bushes out front. He was also the one that did the horrendous caulking job. When he first showed up he told me that he wasn't going to take the flashing all the way to the stone which would have left an inch of the existing wood exposed. I told him no and the whole reason for the install was to have no maintenance. Leaving the wood exposed would have caused me to to have to upkeep with paint. He was not thrilled about my insistence that all the wood be covered. It seemed from the start that the whole job was an inconvenience for them. As of mid-October this project is still not completed. I had to make numerous calls and texts before anyone even attempted to contact me. And when they did, they would not listen and did not seemed concerned that the contractors left my house in worse shape than when they started. I was also told told that it is in their policy that they do not offer discounts or refunds. That set off warning bells. If a company has to have a policy about that, you know they know that their product and service is lacking. I would never recommend this company to anyone.

Description of Work
Window Install

Category replacement windows

1.0

04/22/2021


Troy D.

they scheduled our gutter job for 3/1/2021 - we received email text notifications - that our was scheduled for that day - they did not show up to do the work - and did not contact us we had to contact them, the job was rescheduled for 3/15/2021 - same result no call -no show - we tried from 3/16/2021 until 04/02/2021 contact them left message - and emails to the companies ceo with no reply - we had financed the job with them through Green Sky - on 04/02/2021 - I contacted Green Sky to complain - finally today 4/21/2021 we contacted champion again and finally we received a call from champion - just alot of lame excuses - I told them I would find someone else to do the work and wanted to cancel the contract - and was told there would be a 30% cancelation charge - not acceptable - they wasted no time in receiving there money from Green Sky - seems that once they had the money - actually doing the work we had contracted with them - became an after thought for them - I understand that we live in trying times - but to schedule my job twice and no show - no call is ridiculous- and another 6 weeks went by until we received any contact from this company - and would still be waiting - if we had not called them over and over again - and finally contacted their finance company to complain- about all the statements for payment - on work that had never been preformed - stay away from this company

Description of Work
replacement gutters

Category awnings, gutter repair

1.0

01/13/2021


Mike W.

Roof Leaks. Many, Many, Many phone calls. Few responses. Lots of excuses. Many visits to deal with leak. Crews from Columbus, Dayton, and New Jersey. Never the same crew. Roof still leaks. I kept details of the whole process. Too lengthy to include here. I wouldn't recommend this outfit to my enemies.

Description of Work
New patio roof

Category sunrooms

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We sincerely apologize about the issues you experienced, and we hope to make this right. Please reach out to us directly in national customer care, so we can rectify this issue – 513-327-7338. Thank you.
1.0

09/05/2020


Sheree C.

On our scheduled installation day we received a call saying the appointment needed to be rescheduled 1 month out because the installer wasn't feeling well. We were disappointed but understanding. When no one showed up on the rescheduled date we called and were told that we were not on the schedule but they would send someone the next day. The contractors who showed up on that day were very kind but they had not been given complete information about the scope of the job and didn't have the appropriate equipment. So they returned the next day and did some work, then again the next day and did some work, but did not return again. Champion is unable to get us in contact with anyone who can explain. Meanwhile we have 8×6 foot patches torn out of our exterior siding and interior drywall, and windows stored in our garage. No idea of when or if the job will be completed. The total job was only supposed to be 6-7 hours according to the original estimate. Again the contractors were very kind... this seems to be indicative of administrative challenges at Champion.

Description of Work
Window Installation

Category replacement windows

1.0

05/15/2020


Cynda S.

Contacted them today and told what problem is. Said it's been too long and they won't fix it. I said I have a written warranty for lifetime of roof. They said they won't fix it. Didn't even bother to call me. They texted me, which I have saved. I am filing a report with the Ohio Attorney Generals office today and anywhere else I can think of. Stay away from Champion of Columbus in Lewis Center, Ohio. I paid 8k for the roof. I don't know yet how much it will cost to correct the flashing and replace the fascia. Hopefully there is no more damage than I can see.

Description of Work
Sold me a roof, with lifetime warranty, came out twice to fix flashing. Said it was fixed. Looked out today and the fascia is rotting out due to poor water routing off roof. This was installed to years ago.

Category awnings, roofing

1.0

02/12/2020


BILL D.

been 2 years and is not finish, with sloppy repair need address

Description of Work
4 season room

Category replacement windows, sunrooms

4.0

08/23/2019


JOHN T.

Well, overall. Had some issues which were finally mostly addressed.

Description of Work
WINDOWS

Category replacement windows

3.0

08/23/2019


NATASHA K.

When I initially bought the window I was told they could be installed on the weekend but that was told. Not True After waiting for 3 to 4 weeks to find someone to install Window on the weekend The company sent a father and son who I don’t even the son work for the company.It’s took them almost 15 to 20 hours to put in 8 window.My house is on a Slab.

Description of Work
WINDOWS

Category replacement windows

2.0

08/23/2019


DAVID O.

We purchased our windows in August of 2018 they were finally installed in October of 2018. We took advantage of their financing and had already made 2 payments prior to the install. The bottom sashes were wrong when they came to install them. Champion said they would make it right. After eight weeks they returned with the correct sashes however 5 of the 12 replacements were made to the wrong size. After another 8 weeks they returned only to have 1 of the 5 still sized wrong. It is now almost September of 2019 and we are still waiting on 1 lower sash. Champion would have received a “F” from us had it not been for the installers. Those 2 guys did a wonderful job. The windows themselves are good quality but I honestly can’t call them premium for the premium price they charged.

Description of Work
WINDOWS

Category replacement windows

2.0

08/23/2019


Cynthia C.

I was given a date when the order was to come in. When that date came , I was not notified if the order came in. I gave them a few days to call, NO PHONE CALL. I called Champion and they said it was in the warehouse. It did get installed but I will never use this service again.

Description of Work
DOORS ONLY

Category replacement windows, doors

3.0

08/23/2019


MARSHA M.

For the initial sale visit we had scheduled they harrassed us for days through phone and email about weather we we were going to be there for the consultation. Which after I complained the " main guy " came he was rather firm and pressuring. Told us if we had any problems with the install they only had one secretary and implied that we had better be nice to her or we would here from him. The sliding screen door didnt fit properly so they had to order a different one which was no big deal except they forgot about us and we had to call remind them they owed us a door. Over all they were ok, if we had it to do over again we would use a different company.

Description of Work
DOORS ONLY

Category doors

3.0

08/23/2019


BETTY B.

Installation went well. Until I realize one window was cracked from frame. Called to schedule appointment for them to come fix it. They we’re 3hours late and I was not able to wait due to my work. Long story short I called to reschedule they still haven’t returned my call my window is still cracked!

Description of Work
WINDOWS

Category replacement windows

1.0

08/23/2019


FRANK F.

The doors were the wrong size. The shutters arrived broken. The siding has fallen off the house in numerous places and still isn't right. They take days to return calls and weeks to schedule repairs. When service people come they don't take the blame for bad installation. I was told not to worry because I had a lifetime warranty. As of this time I have a piece of siding completely off of my house and dropping in another place. Service has not returned my call. Do not let Champion do any work on your home. I would not recommend them.

Description of Work
siding, shutters, and screen doors

Category siding, doors

1.0

08/23/2019


Rustun S.

The initial instillation went smooth. One of my windows has since cracked, which is bound to happen, and I have gotten nothing but the run around the last 6 months. I've left about 30 voicemails that never get returned, talked to "supervisors" of the sales department since I can't get a hold of anyone in the warranty department and I just get transferred or told I'll be called back, and simply cannot get a hold of anyone. My window cracked in March and here we are almost in September and I still have a cracked window. They are happy and quick to talk to you when you're purchasing, but no one will talk to you once you've spend the money. I went from initially pleased to never again.

Description of Work
WINDOWS

Category replacement windows

2.0

08/23/2019


LINDA B.

When calling the office, no one answers the phone. When you leave a message, no one returns your calls. We had to go to the Show Room 2 times to schedule service to be done to our new windows. We are satisfied with the windows and we did save us money on our gas bills last year, but their Customer Service is needing a lot of help.

Description of Work
WINDOWS

Category replacement windows

1.0

08/23/2019


JOHN L.

The nightmare began when Marlin, the sales agent, told us our patio would be able to be used 12 months of the year with a heater required for 1 or 2 months during the coldest months. Marlin also informed us that we would be able to remove the sliding glass door leading to the patio, and that it would be "indoor" space now. We signed the contract for almost $19,000 and away Marlin went. The install guys that showed up were great however, come to find out the cut some corners and created leaks that took over a year and many, many unanswered phone calls, no call no show appointments and no explanation of why they conduct business they way they do. We were bold face lied to by Marlin, and now I am stuck paying for a $19,000 home improvement that left me with the same issues I had with my previously existing sun room. I am more than upset and would highly recommend using someone else, or at the very least get EVERYTHING the sales agent tells you in writing or request to record the sales pitch you have at your dining room table, so that when you call corporate with complaints you have something to back your claims up with.

Description of Work
PATIO RM

Category doors, sunrooms

1.0

08/23/2019


Jeffrey Y.

It has been in excess of 15 months for Champion to correct the problems with the bad install of my front door. Their various subcontractors have damaged the exterior trim of my home with crowbar marks, the door leaks air around it, and 4 different subcontractors have come to my home all on separate occasions and done more damage after more damage. They even had one subcontractor who damaged my interior wood trim by using a non- paintable caulk that didn't even fix the door from opening by itself, that will now have to be remilled to match the existing woodwork in my home. They go through subcontractors to do their custom doors, and I had my previous home done by Champion when they actually had their own employees and their work was great. Do not spend your money on their overpriced products for the horrible service and lack of communication with you. I have been in battle with them so long that I plan on legal litigation within the next 30 days.

Description of Work
DOORS ONLY

Category replacement windows, doors

1.0

05/13/2019


john S.

11/2017 Champion built an All Season room addition. The room was installed upon an 8’ high elevated platform/deck. Champion did construct the platform also, which seems to be very well constructed and solid, also cosmetically appealing. The room that was built upon the platform, is also cosmetically appealing, BUT that is the extent of it. The room has leaked water from 2 of the 3 walls into the interior sub flooring. Often times puddling, and practically always wet since November of 2017. There was a brief period of time during the winter of 2017-2018 that the floor appeared to be dry, it was a very cold winter though. Then came the big thaw and spring rains, and with that came the interior puddles and constant soakings, which has resulted in mold growth along the length of the 14’ wall. So, with Champion standing by its 15 year material and installation warranty, they began caulking the exterior seams in April of 2018. The caulking service calls were repeated on 4 different occasions, last caulking attempt in June 2018, followed by another 4-5 visits of some other Supervisors. All of which never generated any kind of positive results. All the while, the leak was unrelenting and the mold thriving. Then in September of 2018, my service call messages went unanswered from 9/10 till 11/27/18. Absolutely zero effort by Champion since June 2018, One year ago, to rectify the leak, and replace the moldy floor system. At least a dozen calls to Corp in Cincinnati, escalation to upper management, and even copying the CEO on some emails. Nothing has been done to fix leak or compensate us for purchasing a leaky, moldy room from Champion. They were paid in full upon completion of the build (November 2017) in good faith that they would honor their 15 yr warranty. After a year and a half of leaking water and nothing more than caulking attempts, a year ago, we have a nasty black mold issue. Champion doesn’t seem to care or is just unwilling to fix their mistake.

Description of Work
Champion All Season room addition

Category sunrooms

1.0

09/28/2018


Megan S.

We had a new front door and side lights put in to what we thought was a reputable company. It has been a total disaster. There is light shining through the top and bottom of our door- clearly they measured wrong!!! We called them to come out and they put a sticky pad there which has already fallen out. Now the white around the windows has turned ugly yellow after one summer! We called and they want us to pay $99 for them to come look at it! What??? I’m not giving them another dime! Now we are stuck with a door that has light/air coming though and yellow sidelights and they are telling us our only option is to pay them more money. If you are considering new windows or doors, please save yourself the headache and do not use this company!

Description of Work
Front door

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

07/14/2018


Sheri H.

We were pleased with Champion's service from start to finish. Our sales rep gave an informative, impressive sales pitch in our home. He presented us with all of our options and showed us samples of the quality windows they design. The only negative is that it became a high-pressure sales situation ("oh, the sale ends today!" - of course it does!) so when you have them come out, be prepared to buy or risk paying more. I wish I had done more research before they came out so I was better prepared to make that decision. But, we signed the contract anyway. We got a call exactly when they said we would - our new windows were ready for installation. They came out the next week and over about a day and a half, two workers installed all new windows and a patio door. The workmanship was phenomenal. The workers were professional, skilled, polite, hard-working, and informative. They were flexible working around us there all day, as well as pets and guests. The windows look great and already I have noticed a HUGE difference in our entire upstairs. Our master bedroom gets morning sun and the old window seals were dry rotted and we'd wake up sweating every morning because it would get so muggy in there. The first morning after the new windows were installed, we woke up cool and comfortable without adjusting the thermostat, and we hadn't even re-installed our blinds yet, just a curtain! Amazing! Our entire upstairs now feels like the appropriate temperature - same as the downstairs - despite it being 90* outside. Soooooooo happy with the new windows! Also, we got glass block windows in the basement and they're so pretty. Our new sliding glass patio door and screen slide so smoothly. Our last door was just awful. Therefore, we're so happy with all the work. It was quite pricey, and we didn't comparison shop. But, we're glad we went with Champion.

Description of Work
Installation of all new windows and patio door

Category replacement windows, glass block

1.0

01/19/2018


Sharyn M.

I purchased windows in early October of 2017. Champion came out on October 20th for measurements for windows and siding. I was told at the time of signing the contract with them that it was a 6 to 8 week turnaround for installation. It's now the middle of January and no windows, yet I'm making interest payments. I called the week of Thanksgiving, no return call, I called the week of Christmas, still no call back. So I finally called the corporate office and received a call back a week later. Granted we also have a HOA, but the paper work wasn't even submitted to them until the middle of November. UNACCEPTABLE! We received approval for windows the first week of December. But I did the majority of leg work to get the siding approved, submitting pictures of homes in my subdivision with the exact siding and such. Siding is now approved and still no communication with the company. I highly recommend checking reviews before making a major purchase.

Description of Work
Installation of windows an siding

Category siding, replacement windows

5.0

01/09/2018


Gary P.

Just fine, no issues, about to order the rest of the house to be done.

Description of Work
Windows replaced

Category replacement windows

5.0

09/25/2017


Gwen R.

No charge for the estimate. It was good. Responsiveness was fine. I don't remember anything bad. I might get another estimate, I don't know. I think I went with them because I think I just had an advertisement promo or something. Communication was good. The estimate was fine.

Description of Work
I think they gave me an estimate for windows for my son's house.

Category replacement windows

5.0

09/19/2017


William S.

I'd give them all "A's", otherwise we wouldn't have had them back. They were better on pricing. Everything is always too expensive but I give them an "A" for being the lowest. First impression was real good. I used them because they were the best deal and a good quality product. We looked for a good product before we started shopping price. We will probably have them back.

Description of Work
Door install.

Category doors

5.0

09/19/2017


William S.

I'd give them all "A's" and I'd use them again. They came out when it was 9 degrees and did windows, that's dedicated. Communication was excellent.

Description of Work
Window install.

Category replacement windows

    Other local Pros in your area

    Rosati Windows

    When you're ready to buy replacement windows and price, quality and service all matter, call Rosati Windows. Our custom windows are manufactured in Columbus, Ohio by a skilled workforce using the most modern equipment available. Our technical and engineering expertise has enabled us to produce windows that are backed by the strongest warranty in the industry. And our customer service is second to none. Consumer Choice Award Winner. Additional e-mail: info@rosatiwindows.com.  

    Gutter Masters & Renovations

    Gutter Masters, LLC is a fully insured and licensed gutter installation, gutter protection, and yard drainage specialist company serving Central Ohio. We are an owner operated company with more than 20 years in the industry.  

    The Gutter Boys

    The Gutter Boys Co. works daily to provide a seamless and enjoyable customer experience. Our helpful sales associates can get you a quote for gutter cleaning right over the phone. If you are looking for seamless gutters or protection, we come right to you, and customize a quote specifically for your home and circumstances. We are never pushy. We like to say that it’s a sales experience that your mom would be comfortable with. The Gutter Boys technicians are tenured and knowledgeable. We are proud to provide a high continuity of service by utilizing employees for our installation services. Our techs are rigorously trained and have received Master Installer status with Valor Gutter Guards, which TGB exclusively installs in the Columbus area and Northeast Ohio.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Energy Efficient Replacement Windows, Sunrooms, Patio Rooms, Vinyl Siding, Roofing & Entry Doors.

    Services Not Offered

    NA

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Champion Windows and Home Exteriors of Columbus

    How is Champion Windows and Home Exteriors of Columbus overall rated?

    Champion Windows and Home Exteriors of Columbus is currently rated 4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Champion Windows and Home Exteriors of Columbus open?

    Champion Windows and Home Exteriors of Columbus is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Champion Windows and Home Exteriors of Columbus provide

    Champion Windows and Home Exteriors of Columbus accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing

    Does Champion Windows and Home Exteriors of Columbus offer free estimates?

    Yes, Champion Windows and Home Exteriors of Columbus offers free project estimates.

    Does Champion Windows and Home Exteriors of Columbus offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Champion Windows and Home Exteriors of Columbus offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Champion Windows and Home Exteriors of Columbus offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Champion Windows and Home Exteriors of Columbus offers a 10% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Champion Windows and Home Exteriors of Columbus?

    Yes, Champion Windows and Home Exteriors of Columbus offers warranties.

    What services does Champion Windows and Home Exteriors of Columbus offer?

    Champion Windows and Home Exteriors of Columbus offers the following services: Energy Efficient Replacement Windows, Sunrooms, Patio Rooms, Vinyl Siding, Roofing & Entry Doors.

    Are there any services Champion Windows and Home Exteriors of Columbus does not offer?

    NA