Benchmark Roofing

About

Founded 1999 • With Angi since November 2002

Family-owned & operated. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. Extra charge for after hours service. Award winning. Benchmark Roofing Company Columbus Ohio serves all of Ohio by offering more than 50 years of combined construction, roofing and remodeling experience. We are a full service roofing and restoration company. We provide residential and commercial roofing, siding, restoration and water mitigation. We pride ourselves on the ability to handle any job, from the smallest residential repair to the largest industrial roofing job. We guarantee that you are in good hands with our certified and award-winning company and employees!...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+28 more images

Verified Reviews

4.6

(445) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

336

4

39

3

26

2

14

1

30

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

roofing (416)gutter repair (53)siding companies (27)chimney repair (13)woodworking (6)drywall (6)general contractors (5)interior painting (4)house painting (4)skylight installation (4)window replacement (4)insulation (4)
Showing 1-25 of 445 reviews
5.0

10/16/2020


Marianne P.

Perfect. I had used this same company years ago in Columbus, that's why I called them. They are very efficient and also knowledgeable about what is needed on the roof. Thanks for being a good business.

Description of Work
Remove and Replace Roof

Category roofing

Cost $6,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/28/2020

5.0

08/31/2020


Joy V.

We were very pleased with the process and the work that was done. Mark our salesman did a great in getting the roof inspected and getting things set up. Gabby the production coordinator was really helpful in accommodating our needs on the timing for the actual roof replacement. We had to reschedule the work a couple of times for our personal reasons and Gabby took care of everything. The crews that performed the job were very courteous and were all business. They worked diligently and got the job done in one day. They did a thorough clean up after the work was done. Again, we were very pleased with the results.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/31/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank You So Much for your review. We value our customers and appreciate it!
1.0

07/31/2020


Gary D.

Benchmark Roofing repaired extensive hail damage to my home in 2006. I recently had another roofing contractor inspecting a faulty chimney cap and plumbing stack from the work Benchmark did and they told me that the shingles on the two-story portion of my home were not installed correctly. A Benchmark representative confirmed this when he came out to look at the chimney cap and plumbing stack. He took measurements and photos and communicated them to the shingle manufacturer (GAF) and the owners at Benchmark. They came to replace the chimney cap and plumbing stack, but nothing else was said about the shingles that were not installed correctly. My early dealings with the owners were not pleasant as Dan Dawson did not return phone calls and Vicki Dawson was not very polite in email communications. I would not hire Benchmark to do any work on my home at the present time. They do not fully honor the 15 year workmanship warranty they advertise so much on their website.

Description of Work
Roofing, siding, etc.

Category contractors, roofing, siding

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/30/2020

Service Provider Response

The first time we had communication from Mr.[Member Name Removed] was January of 2020. He called our office with a leak around his chimney. We went out and found that he did not have a chimney cap which was allowing water to come into his house. He said he was told at the time of contract signing that we were to replace his chimney cap. That was in 2006. We pulled his file an determined that a chimney cap was not part of the contract. Regardless, we still installed a new chimney cap as well as replaced a pipe boot, to ensure no future leaks, at no cost to him. Our technician also determined that his roof was in great condition and the homeowner had not leaks. After the repairs were made in January, we had no communication from Mr. [Member Name Removed] until he left a negative review on our website. We tried calling him and leaving him messages with no response. We then decided to send an email this week, offering to have his roof inspected again by a Haag Certified Specialist. Haag Ceritifcation is not easy to get. You are certifying that a roof is installed per Manufacture guidelines. We currently have 2 Haag Certified employees on staff. Mr. [Member Name Removed] has refused to have one or both come to his house to inspect. That is why he is saying that Vicki Dawson was not polite in her email communication. He does not want his roof inspected, he only wants it replaced after almost 15 years, right when his workmanship warranty is about to expire. We have many customers, over 30,000 to be exact, in our 21 years of business. If we did not honor our warranties, we would not be in business for 21 years.
5.0

06/23/2020


KATHY G.

The roof had been repaired 2 years ago by another company and had been fine until the heavy and constant rain this spring. Benchmark came out quickly and put a tarp up to stop the leak until they could do a permanent fix. Their representative came out to assess the problem. He was knowledgeable and professional, and his explanation was thorough. He wrote an estimate that was very fair, and less that another company I contacted. The repair has been done and so far is holding, with no leak. A gutter guard was slightly bent and someone cam out the next day to fix it.

Description of Work
Repair a roof leak

Category contractors, roofing

Cost $1,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/10/2020

5.0

12/09/2019


Scott B.

It was very pleased with the overall process of the roof install. My roof sustained damage in early September due to hail. David with Benchmark was very accomodating to answer all of my questions, and worked with me to complete the work within the amount allotted by my Insurance Company. I would recommend Benchmark to anybody with roofing needs.

Description of Work
Roof replace and gutter guards

Category gutter repair, roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/09/2019

3.0

11/26/2019


SUSAN G.

Benchmark took four months to replace my garage roof--which should have taken an afternoon. It took four trips. The salesperson was difficult to communicate with, which created most of the problems.

Description of Work
replaced garage roof

Category roofing

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/26/2019

2.0

11/04/2019


David L.

Benchmark Roofing and Restoration put a shingle roof on our house. Around the beginning of the year, water seeped into our ceiling and trickled down the living space side of our fireplace during a rain. I called Benchmark to check for a leak. A couple weeks later, during a hard rain, enough water came into our family room to saturate two bath towels. I covered the chimney and surrounding roof with a tarp so that we would not get water in our house when it rained again. About a month after I called Benchmark, I went to Benchmark's office. The secretary said that because of icy conditions, no one was able to check our roof. It was about another month before someone checked our roof. According to Columbus Climate Graphs put our by the National Weather Service, the first two months of the year were mild and wet, not conditions that would make roofs icy much of the time. The Benchmark inspector looked at the chimney and roof. He said the chimney was leaking, not the roof. In addition, he said the warranty was void because of nails in the roof. To hold the tarp down, I nailed three narrow strips of wood to the roof, with two nails holding each strip. It took about another month to find a contractor to diagnose the problem and give an estimate. His opinion was that the chimney needed to be repaired but that in similar situations, many times an area near the chimney leaked. The estimate was priced to show the cost to repair the chimney, with a separate estimate to repair the roof near the chimney. We agreed to the repairs and waited about six weeks for the work to be done. When the repair was actually done, the repairman said the chimney leaked, and the roof also leaked. There was a hole in the roof at the corner of the chimney near the peak of the roof that let water run along the chimney and seep into our house. A trail left by the water was visible. I asked Benchmark to pay for the cost of repairs due to the leak in the roof but received no response. Even though there was a leak in the roof due to faulty workmanship and/or materials, Benchmark will not pay that cost and is legally shielded as a result of nails in the roof. If I had not covered the chimney and roof, the inside of our house would have been soaked a dozen or more times. The nails were far enough away from the leak in the roof that they did not contribute to the leak in the roof. The hole from each nail was easily repaired with a swipe of roof cement. After this experience, I would label Benchmark an unethical company. Find an ethical company to do your roof work.

Description of Work
Repair leak in roof

Category roofing

Cost $1,780

Work Completed On 11/03/2019

Service Provider Response

This is not an accurate statement of events. Benchmark did not install this roof the beginning of this year. We installed his roof in 2008. We have never been called to his house for any issues until this year almost 12 years. Our 20 years in business speaks for itself. We have A rating with Angies. We have always honored our workmanship warranty. The house had serious issues with the chimney and we asked him to have the repairs made. Which he did. He decided to send us the invoice to pay, which we did not. As stated it was not a roof issue.
5.0

04/25/2019


Jessica C.

We used benchmark to replace our roof at our previous house. After we sold that house, we decided to build a new one. After a conversation with the owner, we learned that they service much more than just roofs! They also do windows and siding!! Because we were so impressed with the work that they had done on our first home, we decided that we would have them do all of the major work on this current build! They are currently doing our roof, gutters, siding, and windows. We have been extremely pleased with this process, as they have eased my mind by being reliable and making this process as smooth as possible!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND BENCHMARK ROOFING!!!!!!

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding

Cost $18,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/25/2019

1.0

12/10/2018


Chris P.

I decided to reach out to this company since they had done work for me several years ago (installed gutter guards). The initial response was quick, but it all went downhill from there. The first person said they would be out within 48 hours to view the roof. I didn't hear anything back for several days. I called to follow up and he said we was delayed but would be out the next day. Again, I didn't hear back for a couple of days and called to check in. Again he was delayed but set a specific appointment a few days out. I took off work to meet him at the appointment and he never showed up and stopped responding to my texts. I e-mailed the owner of the company to explain what was going on. She said she would have her son reach out to me. He came out right away and suggested their might be wind damage and to contact insurance. I followed his advice, however insurance found no damamge. He then gave me quote on the repair. I requested to move forward and was notified that my shingle wasn't normally stocked and I would have to wait a month for it to come in. I agreed and waited about 5-6 weeks before asking when it would be in. No response was received so after about a week I reached out again but still no response. After another week, I reached out again and still got no response. I again e-mailed the owner and was immediately contacted by both her and her son and told an update on the shingle would be provided the next day. I was contacted the next day and told the shingle we were waiting on is not available in this area. So after 3 months of working with Benchmark I am back to square 1 all while my leak is ongoing. Save yourself lots of time and frustration and contact a company that cares...

Description of Work
We had a leak in our roof and needed to have a section of the roof replaced

Category roofing

Work Completed On 12/10/2018

Service Provider Response

I am sorry you had a bad experience with our staff. We take all negative comments very seriously and have now made changes to how we contact our customers. Thank you for helping us make our company a better way to communicate with it's future customers. Our apologies
2.0

09/26/2017


Lauren H.

For our initial estimate, the manager (Bryan), thought the stone sill under the window needed removed and the flashing under the window repaired. The workers that performed the work were punctual and cleaned up after themselves. However, the leak persisted and when I contacted Bryan again to have it re-evaluated, he was not prompt in responding to my messages. When he finally did get in contact after a few weeks and came back out to my house, we agreed he would provide an estimate for a new window and additional repair work, but I never received any estimate or further communication. In addition, the initial repair that was performed to my sill and flashing settled and has made the problem worse by not being pitched properly away from the window to permit proper drainage. Subsequent contractors I have had out to look at the problem have pointed out the problems with Benchmark's repair. Last week, months after the initial work was completed, I received a call from another employee (Carl) to inquire about the status of our work. I informed him of the poor communication and my dissatisfaction with the work, and that I had moved on to working with other contractors to make the needed repairs. To his credit, he was apologetic and worked with me to come to a mutual agreement on a reduced payment for the materials and work that was performed. I had used Benchmark in the past for roofing work and had been satisfied, but based on this experience I would not recommend them in the future.

Description of Work
We had a window leak and had Benchmark out to evaluate and repair, as well as make some roof repairs.

Category roofing, replacement windows

Cost $1,400

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2017

5.0

08/29/2017


William K.

They did a great job. It took them a day or two to complete.

Description of Work
They put on a new roof.

Category roofing

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2017

5.0

07/27/2017


L F.

Benchmark sent out Chuck Lindsey. He was courteous and knowledgable and made sure to investigate and solve our roof issues. We would definitely hire Chuck again. He was a pleasure to work with.

Description of Work
Small roof leak and repair to family room ceiling.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/18/2017

3.0

03/28/2017


TODD B.

I had scheduling issues. They didn't show up the first time I scheduled to have the work done. Communications were almost always initiated by me. Even after I asked for them to call me and let me know when they were coming to do the work, I never received a call. I just got home one day and the job was complete.

Description of Work
Replaced existing skylights that were leaking. I provided the materials.

Category roofing

Cost $650

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 02/10/2017

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We're very sorry to hear that you had scheduling issues. We appreciate your business and value our customers. It is always our goal to provide exceptional customer service and we are sorry that your experience wasn't as smooth as possible. We did experience some problems with scheduling under our former production manager that handled your project. As a result, and in an effort to immediately rectify the situation, we have made personnel changes and have new management and scheduling policies in place to ensure that things like this do not happen again in the future. Please accept our apology for the scheduling issues.
5.0

02/09/2017


FRED T.

Jim responded promptly, was a fine gentleman, diagnosed the problem which turned out to be a plumbing issue, and helped my wife get the water turned off. It was all done at no charge. We highly recommend Benchmark.

Description of Work
We thought we had a bad roof leak.

Category roofing

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/09/2017

5.0

01/30/2017


Susan D.

Very well! Based upon previous repair experience, Benchmark was engaged to repair some minor roof damage that had been delayed. Upon inspection, Steve Brown informed us that it appeared we had some fresher damage that looked to be storm-caused, and advised us to contact our home insurer. Upon confirmation of storm damage, the adjuster and Benchmark worked flawlessly together to get the job started. The work itself went extremely well. Benchmark's communication was always timely and thorough; there was never any mystery about job status or projections. The work crew was always timely, professional, cleaned refuse as it went, and always kept us informed of status and progress, even when weather affected things. End result is a new roof in which there is much satisfaction. Benchmark Roofing is unconditionally recommended!

Description of Work
Roof replacement.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/30/2017

4.0

09/26/2016


Melissa F.

Okay, except I found a lot of nails, especially in the gutters and downspouts. In addition, they didn't recycle the shingles even though it said they did on their website.

Description of Work
Roofing and attic insulation

Category insulation, roofing

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/30/2016

Images

Review for Benchmark Roofing - 668 Radio Dr, LEWIS CENTER, OH - 33601253
5.0

09/26/2016


Russell W.

It turned out very well. I would recommend them. They were timely. They showed up when they were supposed to show up. The paperwork that they provided me from estimates to guarantees was complete and excellent. The insurance company accepted their estimates right away. They cleaned up after they were finished. One of the supervisors came back and did an inspection on the roof after. This was a preferred provider. It was acceptable to me and it was acceptable to the insurance company.

Description of Work
They just finished putting a roof on for me.

Category roofing

Cost $22,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2016

5.0

07/25/2016


Rebecca M.

ACES! I loved this company! Everyone I dealt with was super friendly. We had one tiny issue, and when I mentioned it to my contact, I almost instantly got emails back from 3 ..yes THREE different people to get that taken care of, and it was addressed the next day. The work was done well, done quickly, and at a great price - a pretty impressive trifecta. Can't say enough good about them - I'd recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Siding and some trim work

Category roofing, siding

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/21/2016

1.0

07/22/2016


Kimberly W.

A representative came within a few days, but did not go on the roof to inspect. He stated that the leak was due to unusually heavy rain getting into the vent stack and would not recur, but if it did, the company could come out and do a "roof tune-up" for $800. We contacted another roofer who found the cause of the leak and a few potential problems and fixed all for several hundred dollars less.

Description of Work
We needed to have a roof leak fixed.

Category roofing

Work Completed On 07/01/2016

5.0

07/11/2016


Jackie M.

Wonderful! They were prompt with calling us back. They were prompt with service. They were very easy to work with. Great job.

Description of Work
A new roof.

Category roofing

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/11/2016

3.0

05/12/2016


JON D G.

They sent a second person out to give an estimate for work that I needed done after I had a poor experience the first time around with this provider. He took a look at the leakage problems I was having. They gave me an estimate and it was a fair price but I do not think they would perform the work I needed to be done. The employee who came out the second time was on time and professional.

Description of Work
I had a leakage on a glass roof so I hired this roofing company. They brought someone out for essentially a quote.

Category roofing

5.0

01/23/2016


Susi H.

The results are great. The new roof looks excellent. Benchmark protected walls and landscaping from collateral damage during the work. The yard was completely cleaned up when they finished. The initial interactions with the project manager were excellent. He took time an answer my many questions and review multiple alternatives. He came back twice with samples to view to help us select the right shingle and color. His explanations and warnings about how to work with the homeowners insurance company and bank were very helpful. It was very reassuring that the same project manager was also there overseeing the actual work being done. The job was done at the quoted price, which was the same as the insurance company payment. All I had to pay was my insurance policy deductible and a small fee for the premium shingles that I selected.

Description of Work
Benchmark Roofing initially provided expert inspection and consultation including evaluation of multiple alternatives and explanation of how the process works with my homeowners insurance company. On the scheduled date, Benchmark removed the old roofing and installed new tar paper, drip edge, shingles, ridge vents, etc. They cleaned the yard and hauled away all debris.

Category roofing

Cost $19,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/18/2015