Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Gibson General Contracting Inc

Founded 2004 • With Angi since March 2010

4.6

(167) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1281 Warren Rd

Lakewood, OH 44107

Description

15 years ago, Gibson General Contracting, Inc. of Lakewood was created with the same mission we have today - give homeowners quality home improvements while keeping our prices as affordable as possible. We pride ourselves in doing our job professionally and with minimal interference to your life.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/07/2020


Dennis B.

Gibson’s crew did an excellent job and helped us get our garage finished before winter. They were skilled, professional, and efficient. Their prices were competitive. They explained things clearly and worked with us to sort out anything that came up and they were definitely helping us make decisions in our best interest on this job. We are very pleased with their work and their demeanor, and will continue to highly recommending them to others!

Description of Work
Garage roofing, siding, and other finish work

Category garage builders

1.0

08/16/2020


Kathy P.

He came out (almost 2 hours late, but at least he called). Quickly looked at job and said he’d email me a quote. It was reasonable price and wasn’t a large job. He even said I can probably get out here this weekend....four days away. I said great. I got email estimate, price was right; let me know when you’re coming. NEVER HEARD FROM HIM AGAIN. Left message on his cell, called the office. STILL NOTHING. I see he gets A reviews for BIG jobs, but mostly no response on small ones. Like people said, just send email saying you don’t have the time or whatever. To get no response at all is really RUDE. I’ll make sure to keep his card, but write NEVER USE THEM. UNACCEPTABLE TO ME.

Description of Work
Repair and replace some bricks and concrete on my front and back porch. Job cost approx. $600.

Category decks, garage builders

5.0

06/12/2020


Joan S.

We needed a few pieces of gutter replaced. Jim gave us a fair estimate and came out on a Saturday morning to do the job. We're happy with the work done and have asked him to quote on another project.

Description of Work
Gutter replacement

Category gutter repair, garage builders

5.0

06/05/2020


Gwenn S.

Gibson is honest with what needs to be done, and fair with pricing. We are completely satisfied with all projects.

Description of Work
Over the course of a few years, we had garage repair, total porch replacement, and gutter replacement

Category decks, gutter repair, garage builders

5.0

05/20/2020


Daniel S.

The day my wife and I closed on our home a main pipe in the attic bathroom broke and water ran in the house for 24hrs ( my wife and I were in Colorado when the closed). Reached out to some friends and they recommended Gibson Contracting, I am very happy they did. Not only did James work with us to rebuild a home which was demolished down to the studs, James worked with our lawyer pushing our insurance company to pay the full amount it would take to complete the house. We worked with James for over a year ( the insurance company took their time, not James) which allowed us to get to know him and his employees. They did a great job building our home from new, under budget and on time! James also explained many of the steps his team and other outside contractors would need to do. James is going to be working with us in about 9 months on a new home and I would highly highly recommend Gibson Contracting to anyone who needs a contractor.

Description of Work
Remodeling - General

Category contractors, ceramic tile, closet systems, countertops, drywall, electrician, picture framing, glass repair, home inspection, insulation, lighting, plastering, plumbing, wallpaper, water damage restoration, replacement windows, garage builders, window treatments, woodworking, ceiling fans, interior painters, doors, drain cleaning

5.0

05/20/2020


Melissa M.

James and his crew did an awesome job. I have an old home that needed extensive exterior rotten wood repair (window sills, siding etc). They also did some exterior painting. I would hire them again and would recommend Gibson GC to any family or friend.

Description of Work
Exterior Remodeling - General

Category contractors, handyman service, siding, garage builders, house painters

5.0

08/18/2019


susan D.

Would definitely hire again. James and his crew were professional yet personable. His estimate was very detailed and the cost was the same as the other estimates I got. He supervised his crew closely. He worked hard to get my backsplash tiles level even though the wall was not level. When there was an issue with the plumbing under the kitchen sink, (a job that should have taken a half hour) he stayed for hours to make it right and to get the job done. (He said he didn't want me to have to use the laundry sink as a kitchen sink any longer.) He rearranged his schedule to get my backsplash torn out on short notice so my countertops could be installed. He rearranged his schedule again in order to do the work the week I was on vacation. Not many contractors would be that accommodating! He and his crew cleaned up so well, they even cleaned things that were dirty when they arrived! My only complaint is the sometimes slow response to emails, but James does give out his cell phone number and is happy to accept calls, I just didn't want to disturb him on a job. It also took awhile to get on the schedule. He IS very busy, but in my mind that's a GOOD thing; if you're that in demand you must be good. I love how everything turned out and I was very happy with the whole experience. James is very knowledgeable and can do just about anything around the house. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Remove backsplash, replace drywall and install new tile backsplash, remove old microwave and install new, hook up new faucet/sink, tile floor and new shoe molding and baseboards in laundry, install new faucet in laundry.

Category contractors, ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

1.0

06/10/2018


CHRISTOPHER D.

James and I made an appointment, he came out when he said he would, looked over the back door where I needed a small platform built and a set of steps, took measurements, drew out a diagram, and then said he'd send me a quote. Never heard from him again. I'm sure he has bigger jobs to do this summer, but even a "hey, I wouldn't have time to do this job" would have been nice, like other contractors told me.

Description of Work
Build a set of steps

Category contractors, decks, remodeling

1.0

06/02/2018


Adam B.

I wouldn’t recommend this contractor. He was a no call, no show to our scheduled appointment. His office didn’t seem to know his whereabouts or why he didn’t show up. Given an opportunity to call back to reschedule or at least apologize, I still haven’t heard from him.

Description of Work
General interior construction

Category picture framing

1.0

05/30/2018


Clyde D.

They never actually came and did the work! My porch was never completed and they kept putting it off over and over. I gave him a check for half the total up front, and it took 10 months for me to get the check for my money back!

Description of Work
They were supposed to tear down and rebuild my 2-story back porch, the top is open and the bottom is closed in.

Category decks

5.0

04/16/2018


Thomas A.

All work was performed to our expectations. This is a century home, one of the exterior doors was a complete install that included cutting an opening in the wall and building an exterior landing with stairs and a handrail to local building code. The other two doors were replacements but required a considerable amount of effort to remove the old door frames. The tile work was meticulous and came out looking wonderful.

Description of Work
Install 3 Exterior doors. Install kitchen cabinets and floor tile. Install wall mounted microwave with exhaust vent over stove. Install subway tile backsplash in kitchen. Install raindrop shower, bathtub faucet and shower curtain hoop in century old claw foot tub. Install ceramic tile in bathroom floor. Install subway tile on the wall surrounding bathtub

Category contractors, ceramic tile, decks, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

1.0

09/13/2017


P P.

James came out on 8/2/17. We reviewed the various jobs I needed done. He had great suggestions, took measurements, etc. and depending on the quote I was looking forward to working with him. He told me how he'd send me the quote with each of the jobs clearly broken out. He left, and that was the last I heard from him. I have reached out to him 3 times, via both his contact page and phone, for a status on when I’d be receiving the quote and have not received any response, not even a courtesy notification stating he’s busy but would get back to me by the end of the month nor notification that he is no longer interested in the job. Just silence.

Description of Work
Stair construction, drywall replacement, door replacement, new flooring

Category drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service, remodeling, woodworking

5.0

07/11/2017


Bruce D.

I had a very good experience with Gibson General Contracting. I found hi on Angie’s List. I never had the work done by him, but my experience with them was that they were very professional. The problem was when we put in for the permit the city would not let us do the project the way we wanted to. Their restrictions were pretty crazy and we ended up canceling the project. He was very helpful throughout the whole process, very professional, gave me a good estimate. He was very understanding when we had to cancel the project. There was no charge for the estimate. What I like the most was the professionalism and cooperation, communication was good.

Description of Work
He gave me an estimate.

Category remodeling

4.0

05/08/2017


Kathleen T.

I had a small deck resurfaced. They were very skilled. He sent a crew out and they were done in a day, less than a day actually. He had spotted some problems that I didn’t know about once they took the decking off. The one problem I ran into was that it was difficult to pin them down on a time to come here and actually do the work. They did come here when I finally got them to say that they said that they were going to come here. I have them scheduled in to do my kitchen right now, so I’m waiting on that.

Description of Work
They put new flooring on a deck and also built some stairs.

Category decks, deck cleaning

5.0

03/20/2017


Maria V.

It went well! His assistant Nora was so sweet and personable, making it a joy to schedule with James. James was very professional and really knowledgeable! His pricing was the best we have heard and you could tell that he wasn't solely looking to make a profit, he honestly cared about what we wanted and give honest advice.

Description of Work
James came in and looked at a house my husband and I are looking to purchase to give us an basic inspection and an estimate on the cost of renovation.

Category home inspection, remodeling

5.0

10/28/2016


Joanne J.

James and his crew demolished our old kitchen. They installed new flooring, cabinets, subway tile, light fixture, microwave. The work was done in a timely and efficient manner; James and his crew were hard working and courteous. My only regret is not having engaged James earlier in the process, prior to our purchasing our cabinets at Northeast Factory Direct. This is the third time we've used Gibson General Contracting and it won't be our last. We like him, we like his crew, we like Nora who runs his office. Good people; good work.

Description of Work
Kitchen renovation.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

3.0

10/25/2016


Brenda A.

They came out and he told me that he would give me a price of $3000 and something. He told me before he started I should give him half the money. He came out in 2015 and they didn’t come back out until about a month ago. I would never use him again. He was nice and everything.

Description of Work
He did my back porch. I had woods rotten out.

Category decks

5.0

09/02/2016


Judy B.

It went very well. The project ran over a little but they did a very nice job and kept in good contact with us.

Description of Work
They rebuilt our front porch.

Category decks, remodeling

5.0

04/20/2016


Barbara B.

All went well with our conversation and inspection of the house..But services were not performed because we decided to get work done in the future.

Description of Work
He gave me an estimate. He thoroughly explained what he would do.

Category remodeling

5.0

04/12/2016


Aaron S.

We had some extremely loose and shaky stairs going up to our second floor. Why the previous owners spent money to refinish the stairs but leave them so ridiculously loose is beyond us. Anyhow, we wanted to put a carpet runner down or the dog and decided to stabilize the stairs before investing in carpet. Jim explained they would need to take off the drywall behind the stairs to properly block and anchor the risers and treads to keep them from moving and to expect them to fix the stairs and put new drywall up/mud/prime. When Jim and Red started working on the stairs, they wanted to determine what caused the displacement in the first place. That's when they determined that the support structure in the basement had rotted causing roughly 3/4 of an inch of settling. Even though this was a large scope change to the project, Jim and Red happily fixed the structural problem and moved on to the original task at hand with only about 1/2 day of extra time and minimal economic impact. Overall, Jim and his crew were likeable, friendly, and extremely helpful throughout the process. I cannot wait to bring them back now that the weather has broken to have them continue repairs that are needed before I get to larger remodels later this year.

Description of Work
Repair second flight of interior stairs.

Category drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service, remodeling, basement remodeling

5.0

03/14/2016


Amanda M.

I've used Gibson on a couple projects around our house. Last year he installed a pull-down ladder so we could obtain easier access to our attic (previously the only way in was through a small panel in the ceiling of our closet). He also helped patch a couple openings around our deck and backyard shed which raccoons were using to gain entry. Most recently, he installed vinyl tile we'd previously purchased in our basement. I've been happy with his work thus far and I plan to use his services on more upcoming projects in the future.

Description of Work
Installed tiling in the finished portion of our basement, new pull-down ladder to the attic, miscellaneous small projects outside the house.

Category ceramic tile, handyman service, remodeling, garage builders, basement remodeling

5.0

02/15/2016


james S.

James and his crew were a pleasure to open our house to. they were here every morning and without hesitation began the job. They were very professional and courteous to myself and our home. I was not sure since it has been awhile since we had any work done here. My husband and I were a bit hesitant since our last experience was not a good one. But, we were very impressed with the work ethic and tenacity they exhibited. I felt at ease to let them be here without supervision and was thrilled that the job took only 4 days and was a great job! I would not hesitate to contact James and his crew for any upcoming work my husband and I need done.

Description of Work
Took off all remaining family room paneling. Fixed walls. Taped, sanded and repainted. He also fixed a side wall and prepared the door for painting. We had a hole in one of the walls which they also repaired. They replaced all the molding and will return to put up 2 fan/lights when they arrive. The job took 4 days and his crew showed up every day when they said they would and worked the entire time. Extremely professional and respectful.

Category remodeling

5.0

01/23/2016


Maral D.

I had James come out on an emergency job for me and he gave me excellent pricing, fast responses and amazing work. He was punctual and professional and clean. I highly recommend him for anyone who is light hearted and enjoys excellent customer service for a great price.

Description of Work
built a wall, outlined a peninsula for the kitchen, extended 2X2s in the ceiling, framed laundry room with pocket door, extended soffit in kitchen.

Category remodeling, roofing, siding, woodworking, home remodeling, doors

4.0

01/18/2016


Matthew B.

James was very quick to come out and give an estimate. Granted it wasn't a huge job so it took awhile for his schedule to thin out to get it done, but it wasn't something that was an emergency. The work was done quickly and all the water is flowing where it should. I would use him again for sure. They always seem to respond quickly to emails as well.

Description of Work
James fixed someone else's mistake when it came to my gutters all around the house.

Category remodeling

5.0

11/16/2015


Megan S.

I called james about the job, he asked me to email his assistant as he was at a job site when I called. His assistant was quick to respond to my email and got me set up with an appointment. She emailed again a couple of days before to check that the time was still good for me. James came to look at the problem, we discussed solutions and a price. He was back within the week to complete the job which he did efficiently. I would use his services again, he was prompt, efficient and very knowledgable of the best products and solutions for the situation.

Description of Work
James filled holes on my wood sided house that had been pecked by birds

Category drywall, handyman service, remodeling, siding

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [removed member name]!

    Other local Pros in your area

    Bitter Hipsters

    Affordable priced and insured painter with 10+ years of experience. Specializes in trim, historical and interior. No job too big or too small!  

    Angi Certified

    Bath Doctor - Cleveland Glass Block - Innovate Building Solutions

    2018 Super Service Award Winner in Glass Block and Windows! Cleveland Glass Block, Bath Doctor, Cleveland Window & Door and Cleveland Design and Remodeling are all division of Innovate Building Solutions. We offer various products (including glass blocks, bathtub and shower liners, replacement windows and doors) and services (including bathroom remodeling) to consumers and business owners since 1977.  

    Angi Certified

    All American Gutters & Power Washing

    Here at All American Gutters & Power Washing we GUARANTEE our work, from a simple cleaning to the most extensive repair. We also specialize in power washing services such as houses, decks, driveways, sidewalks, fences, patios, & roofs etc. Our attention to detail is unmatched, and our work is GUARANTEED! Veteran Owned & Operated.  

    Angi Certified

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Contracting. Siding. Remodeling. Kitchens. Baths. Roofing. Flooring. Interior & exterior painting. Decks. Gutters. Windows. Concrete. Masonry. Garages. Doors. Patios. Drywall. Waterproofing.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Gibson General Contracting Inc

    How is Gibson General Contracting Inc overall rated?

    Gibson General Contracting Inc is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Gibson General Contracting Inc open?

    Gibson General Contracting Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 PM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 PM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 PM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Gibson General Contracting Inc provide

    Gibson General Contracting Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express

    Does Gibson General Contracting Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Gibson General Contracting Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Gibson General Contracting Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Gibson General Contracting Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Gibson General Contracting Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Gibson General Contracting Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Gibson General Contracting Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Gibson General Contracting Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Gibson General Contracting Inc?

    Yes, Gibson General Contracting Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Gibson General Contracting Inc offer?

    Gibson General Contracting Inc offers the following services: Contracting. Siding. Remodeling. Kitchens. Baths. Roofing. Flooring. Interior & exterior painting. Decks. Gutters. Windows. Concrete. Masonry. Garages. Doors. Patios. Drywall. Waterproofing.