Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Custom Yard Work

Founded 1972 • With Angi since April 1996

4.6

(41) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8787 Croton Rd

Johnstown, OH 43031

Description

ask for details

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

03/31/2015


Lisa H.

Have only spoke with them on the phone so far. They have not come out to perform service. Filled this out because the it said deadline to fill out was Apr. 2.

Description of Work
They will be doing Lawn Treatments

Category lawn service

5.0

07/25/2013


MARY L.

Weeding is such an inadequate term for what Mark and his team did for us. Due to some family issues, we fell tremendously behind in the weeding out by the street. We have a very large area under two trees with some ground cover, ferns, hostas and the like. It was nit-picky work and there was milkweed, sumac trees, thistles, and clover etc. There were three workers and they spent all afternoon on the job. It It looks so much better! Mark was responsive to my calls, calling me back the same day. He came out and gave me an estimate for the weeding (which was $250) and we scheduled a day for him to come. They showed up the day he said they would. Before the scheduled day, I had called him up to ask him to remove two broken tree limbs. This added on $50, which I had no problem with at all. They worked very hard. I've weeded it before myself so I know just what went into it. I plan on having Mark do some other outdoor work for me too.

Description of Work
Weeded a very large area, cut up two magnolia tree limbs from storm damage, and carted it all away.

Category lawn service, tree service

5.0

06/10/2013


Christina E.

Mark has been mowing my lawn weekly since the end of April. He mows/trims/cleans up every Friday (or Saturday). He provides very reliable service.

Description of Work
Weekly mowing.

Category lawn service

5.0

08/02/2011


David S.

They have done a fine job. They were engaged by my father and I haven't received the bill from them yet. They are very nice people and know what they are doing. They are not just unemployed people who decided to go into the landscape business. The guy that runs the place and does most of the work has experience and training in landscaping and so he knows what it is that he is doing. The landscape around the house had not been professionally maintained for several years. I asked him to just get in there and clean it up and get things back to the state where you want your healthy plants to be. He knew what to do and he just got in and did it.

Description of Work
I have used Custom Yard Work for basic yard and landscape work such as weeding, pruning and mulching work.

Category landscaping, lawn service, tree service

5.0

01/11/2011


Neil D.

Their work with our lawn and landscaping has been stellar. They replaced old landscaping in both the front and back of our house. They even maintain the landscaping for weeds every time they mow the lawn. I don't have to do anything with the lawn or landscaping as they take care of everything. The owner does most of the work himself and he is extremely courteous. I would highly recommend them!

Description of Work
Custom Yard Work has been taking care of our lawn and landscaping for 5 years. They cut our lawn on a weekly basis in season and have done the landscaping for our house both front and back. They even clean our gutters.

Category gutter cleaning, lawn service, lawn treatment, leaf removal

5.0

12/09/2010


DAVID & ELEANOR C.

We have used him for several years for many different projects. He does a great job.

Description of Work
He put up our Christmas light. He did the final clean up of our yard.

Category lawn service, holiday decorators

5.0

06/02/2009


Timothy M.

The day Mark came to put up lights he ran into some adverse winter weather conditions while on the way to my home but pressed his way across town because I had previously told him how bad my wife wanted the Christmas lights up by a certain date. He put up part of the lights but the continuing snowfall prevented him from finishing the job that day and he had to come back a few days later when the temperatures were higher and the snow on the roof had melted to finish the job. He also came back in the spring and took the lights down.

Description of Work
I hired this contractor for a duel purpose. To hang Christmas lights and to clean the gutters while up there.

Category gutter cleaning

5.0

03/09/2009


DAWN H.

Mark has taken care of my yard for me over several years. He does an excellent job with both mowing and mulching leaves. He also has trimmed my tree, cleared away tree limbs, and cleaned my gutters of leaves. And the price is very reasonable.

Description of Work
Mowing, areation, trimming trees, clearing away tree limbs. Basically total lawn care.

Category lawn service

5.0

07/21/2006


Neil D.

Mark does a great job and can be counted on coming each week.

Description of Work
Mowing and edging front and back yard weekly.

Category lawn service

5.0

04/23/2004


DAVID L.

MARK DAVIS DOES GOOD WORK AND THE PRICE IS REASONABLE, GIVEN THAT IT TAKES SOMEWHAT MORE THAN 2 HOURS TO MOW AND TRIM THIS AREA PROPERLY.

Description of Work
MOWING OF A YARD AND FIELD, APPROX 1.5 ACRES WITH TRIMMING AROUND TREES, ETC.

Category lawn service

2.0

11/06/2002


MARK & ERIN W.

ESTIMATE $60. CALLED LANDSCAPER AND FOUND THAT HE WAS NOT PROFESSIONAL. I DID SOME BACK-UP CALLING AND FOUND ANOTHER LANDSCAPER SO I CALLED HIM BACK AND SAID I WOULDNT NEED HIS SERVICE. HE CALLED ME AND SAID HE COULDNT FIND MY HOUSE. HE WAS COMING OUT TO MY HOUSE, SO HE MUST HAVE NOT RECEIVED THE MESSAGE THAT I DIDNT NEED HIS SERVICE. HE FORGOT MY NAME AND DIDNT GET ALL THE INFORMATION ON MY ADDRESS.

Description of Work
SET UP APPOINTMENT FOR PLANTING BULBS

Category lawn service

3.0

08/16/2002

HES DONE OTHER WORK FOR ME IN THE PAST. I WAS ALWAYS SATISFIED. SO I ASKED HIS PRICE FOR PUTTING IN THIS WEED BARRIER. HE WANTED $400-$500. I THOUGHT THAT WAS OUTRAGEOUS. I FINALLY GOT THE GUY WHO MOWS MY YARD TO HELP ME. HE DID IT FOR $100.

Description of Work
WANTED HIM TO PUT DOWN A SHEET THAT KEEPS THE WEEDS DOWN IN AN 8 X 10 AREA. THEN COVER IT WITH MULCH.

Category lawn treatment

5.0

01/04/2002


MARILYN L.

VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE. ONE OF THE ONLY COMPANIES THAT WOULD DO A SMALL JOB FOR A REASONABLE PRICE

Description of Work
TRIMMED SMALL TREE

Category lawn service

1.0

12/05/2001


LINDA L.

THEY DID COME OUT, BUT NOW WONT RETURN CALLS

Description of Work
CALLED FOR ESTIMATE

Category lawn service

5.0

11/12/2001


SEAN C.

MARK DAVIES OF CUSTOM YARD WORK DID A FINE JOB AERATING OUR YARD. HE ARRIVED A LITTLE LATER THAN PLANNED BUT WAS DELAYED DUE TO SOME EARLIER PROJECTS. I WOULD USE HIS SERVICE AGAIN.

Description of Work
MARK DAVIES FROM CUSTOM YARD WORK CAME AND PERFORMED AN AERATION OF OUR YARD.

Category lawn service

4.0

08/27/2001


JANICE G.

HE DID A GREAT JOB WHILE HE WAS THERE, BUT MEMBER WAS UNSURE OF WHAT TIME HE WOULD BE THERE DUE TO THE FACT HIS WORKLOAD

Description of Work
WEEDING, MULCHING & TRIMMING FOR 300FT DEEP YARD

Category lawn service

5.0

06/07/2001


DAVID & ELEANOR C.

DID A VERY GOOD JOB, AS USUAL. MEMBERS BOUGHT MULCH AND HE SPREAD IT.

Description of Work
MULCHING AND EDGING

Category lawn service

5.0

03/30/2000


LEIGHTON AND PATRICIA H.

I THOUGHT THEY WERE VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE. EXCELLENT CLEAN UP AND ALL THE WORK WAS DONE TO MY SATISFACTION. I WILL CALL THEM AGAIN FOR YARD WORK.

Description of Work
THEY DID SOME SPRING YARD WORK FOR ME. MULCH, TRIMMED IVY AND TREES, CUT GRASS .

Category lawn service

5.0

05/21/1999


JIM H.

KNOWLEDGEABLE OF GARDENING, PROBLEMS and SOLUTIONS, WILL WORK WITH CUSTOMER

Description of Work
DID YARD WORK, MOWING, TRIMMING, & FERTILIZE.

Category lawn service

5.0

05/21/1999


JIM H.

KNOWLEGABLE OF GARDENING PROBLEMS and SOLUTIONS, WILL WORK WITH CUSTOMER'S. FERTILIZED.

Category lawn treatment

5.0

03/17/1999


ARTHUR W.

MARK DAVIS DID A VERY GOOD JOB HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Category lawn service

5.0

12/18/1998


DAVID & ELEANOR C.

HUNG XMAS LIGHTS, DID FINE JOB I EVEN PAID HIM MORE THAN HE ASKED FOR

Category lawn service

5.0

04/21/1998

EXTREMELY RELIABLE. CAME WITHOUT PROMPTING. DOES EXCELLENT WORK. REALLY PLEASED WITH SERVICE. CANT SAY ENOUGH GOOD ABOUT THIS MAN.

Description of Work
COMES WHEN YARD NEEDS MOWED AND ETC. NOT JUST EVERY WEEK.

Category lawn service

5.0

03/18/1998

HONEST AND REASONABLE. RETURNED INITIAL CALL PROMPTLY. SHOWS UP EVERYTIME, EVEN TO GIVE AN ESTIMATE. HIGHLY RECOMMEND MARK. HE IS A PLEASURE TO WORK WITH AND KNOWLEDGEABLE ABOUT MANY PROJECTS.

Description of Work
DID YARD BEDDING CLEANUP, GUTTER CLEANING AND MORE.

Category lawn service

1.0

02/27/1998

MEMBER FELT HE TOOK TOO MUCH INITIATIVE: AFTER GIVING A VERBAL ESTIMATE, AND THEN HE JUST SHOWED UP AND STARTED WORKING ONE DAY

Category lawn service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Green Valley Wildlife Solutions

    Green Valley Wildlife Solutions is a FULL-SERVICE Nuisance Wildlife Company. From Wildlife Removal, Complete Attic Restoration, and QUALITY Repairs to the Structure, we do it ALL. Services include but are not limited to Raccoon Extermination, Bat Extermination, Bird Removal, Bed Bug Extermination, Attic Remediation, and Wildlife Exclusion. Our goal is to provide efficient, ethical solutions for Wildlife and Bed Bug conflict situations, without the usage of chemicals and unethical practices.  

    Angi Certified

    Jon's Painting / Clintonville Gutter Co

    Anything you need, we can do! Inside or out, we offer Gutters, Painting, Drywall, Wallpaper Removal, Carpentry, Decks and Porches, Patios, Windows, Doors, and Fencing, even Pressure Washing! Family owned and operated for over 40 years, We have the capabilities to tackle any project you may have in mind. There is no job too big or small. We treat your home like we treat our own, and look forward to working with you soon.  

    Angi Certified

    D&R Exteriors

    We are a family owned business with customer satisfaction being our main focus.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Specialize in ornamental trimming, aeration, mowing, mulching, leaf mulching, weeding, fertilizer & gutter cleaning.

    Services Not Offered

    NA

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Custom Yard Work

    How is Custom Yard Work overall rated?

    Custom Yard Work is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Custom Yard Work open?

    Custom Yard Work is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Custom Yard Work provide

    Custom Yard Work accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Custom Yard Work offer free estimates?

    Yes, Custom Yard Work offers free project estimates.

    Does Custom Yard Work offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Custom Yard Work offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Custom Yard Work offer a senior discount?

    No, Custom Yard Work does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Custom Yard Work offer emergency services?

    Yes, Custom Yard Work offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Custom Yard Work?

    Yes, Custom Yard Work offers warranties.

    What services does Custom Yard Work offer?

    Custom Yard Work offers the following services: Specialize in ornamental trimming, aeration, mowing, mulching, leaf mulching, weeding, fertilizer & gutter cleaning.

    Are there any services Custom Yard Work does not offer?

    NA