Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Co

Founded 1994 • With Angi since July 2014

4.3

(46) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6100 Oak Tree Blvd

Independence, OH 44131

Description

PROUD ANGIE'S LIST SERVICE PROVIDER! We are here and ready to help with any of your garage door concerns or problems. You have made the right choice. We offer immediate service within 60 minutes with absolute $0 extra charge, even on the weekends! Always speak to a live person when you call, not a

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Jules R.
1.0
01/08/2018
We are having problems with the door. They offered a lifetime warranty which was printed on the coupon. This weekend, we had problems with the door closing and had to close the door manually. We called the company and they said there is a 30 day warranty on the safety device and they wanted to charge us to come out. The first person I talked to said it would be $19. When I spoke with a supervisor, the price went up to $29.00. Later on, they said it was going to be $99.00 to fix it.
Description of Work
They installed a garage door for us in July of 2017.
Category
garage doors
JENEAN C.
5.0
09/11/2017
Excellent work....Great
Description of Work
Fix broken drive
Category
garage doors
Lisa C.
4.0
03/13/2017
They had to replace the spring mechanism. One of the reasons I used them was that they advertised they had any spring, which evidently wasn't true because they said they couldn't replace my spring, so I had to get a whole new mechanism. They guy was nice and they did come out very quickly. They made me sign on a tablet without having any capability of seeing what I was signing. When I asked about it he said that after he left I would get an invoice e-mailed to me. I really wasn't thrilled with having to blindly sign anything. It was 2 years ago though, so perhaps that practice has changed.
Description of Work
My garage door wouldn't open.
Category
garage doors
Joyce K.
5.0
12/13/2016
A very expensive fix
Description of Work
Needed to operate my garage door opener which turned into a new garage door opener
Category
garage doors
James A.
1.0
08/05/2016
We called after hours and they were there to make an appt for the following morning between 8 and 10 AM. 10:30 came and finally we got a call and they told us he was 53 minutes away. Waited 60, no one showed up. I called and canceled. I told work I'd be in late o out the entire day. DO NOT USE THESE GUYS.
Description of Work
My wifes car had a fight with our garage door and won. the door is pretty beat up. I contacted these guys because they claimed a 1 hour response time and 24/7 service on their site.
Category
garage doors
Jay H.
1.0
04/13/2016
I am fighting with them right now to get back my $950 "deposit". I repeat order was cancelled within 2 hours of mistaken order and they said OK, but then received a voice mail from Kerry, PA that the order was non-cancellable and non-refundable. Unethical business practice in my opinion
Description of Work
mis ordered the wrong garage doors and they would not cancel the order claiming my order was non-cancellable and non-refundable. Order was cancelled within 1 hour of order and being advised of a 4-6 week wait and style I wanted was twice the price of the one ordered
Category
garage doors
Timothy H.
1.0
03/29/2016
The company told me they could come and install the garage door late on Monday Evening. Around 3 PM the technician called me and said he would be unable to install the garage door on Monday due to a personal reason.The company's customer service has been terrible. They hung up on me three times,and the company has lied to my and not fulfilled their word. The company then rescheduled an appointment with me for today early this morning. The company still has not shown up to complete the services. I have made multiple calls to the company and still no show. I do not recommend this company to anyone.
Description of Work
The Company came to give me an estimate to replace a garage door for me.
Category
garage doors
Kristy S.
5.0
02/27/2016
Benjamin, our tech, was very friendly and worked really hard to get our garage door to shut that night! good guy!
Description of Work
I purchased a garage door.
Category
garage doors

Service Provider Response

Glad we were able to provide service to your satisfaction and gain your business. Thank you for the positive feedback and we look forward to working with you in the future. Please don't hesitate to call us for furthermore questions or need services done! Again thank you!
Bonnie L.
2.0
02/20/2016
It started out on the wrong foot, when the installer showed up almost 4 hours late to our appointment. When I spoke with the company, I was told that they use independent contractors to install the doors. I asked to be furnished with insurance information, but it was never emailed to me. I ended up drawing a contact up myself and having the installer sign it. The installer was alone, except for his girlfriend. He was inexperienced, and a job that should have taken 2 hours took 4. He did diligent work, but struggled. I followed his advice to not install new rails. After the job was completed, I operated the door, and could tell the rails were heaving. I called the company and let them know the railing issues, and that I had now decided to have them installed. They said they would consider this under warranty work, and they don't do warranty work on weekends, but they agreed to come and take care of it on a Saturday...which never showed up. The company told me they only had one truck, which was the original installer who I really did not want coming out to take care of this work. We rescheduled again...and they never came out due to the truck breaking down. They rescheduled another appointment, they were late, but then finally sent someone out. The technician came out and informed me that the new rails wouldn't be considered warranty work, that I would be charged...even though I followed the professional advice of the original installer! I sent him home. I called customer service, but I kept getting a call center, and while they were very professional, I really want to discuss with a representative from Fox. I just wish they would stand behind their company and their work.
Description of Work
I purchased a new garage door from this service provider.
Category
garage doors
Mona G.
5.0
02/04/2016
Door looks good. Be aware though that if you go with the deal offered on Angie's List, the haul-away of the old door cost an additional $50 which isn't mentioned in the offer.
Description of Work
Replaced garage door
Category
garage doors

Service Provider Response

We absolutely appreciate the positive review! If you ever need anything in the future, or if you ever have family or friends with garage door and opener issues do not hesitate to give us a call!
Steve B.
5.0
01/20/2016
It went well; he was quick about it. I was quoted a price to come back out to reassess the problem, which I wasn't thrilled about since the original issue I had the service done for had reoccurred. But after he had serviced the door/motor he made a call and said he would waive the charge as the prior service was done only 11 days ago and under warranty. I thought that was very fair of him/ the company to offer, since I was prepared to pay the additional fee to get things working properly.
Description of Work
Had paid for livingsocial deal, and it was suggested to also replace rollers, which I also had done on initial service done on 1/8/16. Reason for having the service work done was to correct the door stopping after going up only a foot. This happens in temperatures below 30. I called 11 days later because door still continued to freeze after moving a foot in cold weather. Al, the technician came out & lubed the track, adjusted the force control on the motor to correct the door stopping.
Category
garage doors

Service Provider Response

We absolutely appreciate the positive review! If you ever need anything in the future, or if you ever have family or friends with garage door and opener issues do not hesitate to give us a call!
Michael T.
5.0
01/20/2016
It was a cold and snowy morning and I had to go to work. When I went to open the garage door nothing happened. After the initial shock and disappointment of not being able to get to my vehicle I went inside the house to find a garage door company. Neighborhood Garage Door service was the first ad to pop up on my computer so I called. Within the hour their technician Mike was there and removed the old lock (because I did not have the key) ,opened my garage door and installed a brand new keypad within about 15 minutes time. Neighborhood Garage Door Service and Mike saved the day!
Description of Work
Removed old lock from door and installed new entry keypad.
Category
garage doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for choosing us to be your garage door company! If there is anything we can do for you in the future let us know. Thanks for the feedback!
dorothy S.
2.0
01/19/2016
rude technician, brought his girlfriend, had to go buy a tool, driving his own car. I learned from a second repair by a different garage door repair company, that 2 springs should have been used on a double door, leaving one spring over tightened to handle the weight burned out the trolley lifting the door so a second repair was needed. I see that 2 garage door repair companies use same call center and have same address on Oak Tree Blvd, but use different company names.. The call center is very efficient. .I think the techs are independent and have to use personal cars and tools. So when something is wrong, nothing will be addressed. I feel I threw at least $300 of $530 repair away and had to use another company to correct the mistake and damage. I called the company when the trolley burned out. Technician did not show during 1-5 window and no one called me. He drove up at 7 pm at night and said he thought someone had called. No, I called the company just before 5 pm. He said the trolley had nothing to do with the repair one month earlier. I decided to call another garage door repair company rather than throw money away again. Second company took photos of the problem so I would have the visual mistakes if I needed or ever hoped to get restitution.
Description of Work
replaced torsion tube, spring drum, center bearing plate, torsion cables for a double door
Category
garage doors

Service Provider Response

Glad we were able to provide service to your satisfaction and gain your business. Thank you for the positive feedback and we look forward to working with you in the future. Please don't hesitate to call us for furthermore questions or need services done! Again thank you!
Rodney M.
4.0
01/08/2016
My son, who is in retail, says I am a horrible customer. That said, Benjamin, our installer was one of the best company representatives I have worked with. Though there was a slight hiccup with our start time ( no worries it was all worked out professionally on the phone with the shop and dispatcher) I could not have been happier with the results of the work, or the options laid out in advance by Benjamin. Prices for Angie's list were honored, the quality of the product purchased is top notch, the installation is top craftsmanship and Benjamin is very personable and won over even this old curmudgeon.
Description of Work
Install new garage door motor with rollers.
Category
garage doors
JANET L.
5.0
01/07/2016
It was great. If only leaving this message was as easy. Had it all typed and it disappeared and I am out of time. I highly recommend this company.
Description of Work
The provider sold and programmed two new remote garage door openers plus a new keypad opener which also had to be installed.
Category
garage doors
Janet S.
2.0
01/07/2016
Based on very good reviews and a special offer through Angie's List, we contacted this company. The "Standard Diagnostic and Safety Inspection" which was usually $89.99 was discounted to $39.99, so that seemed reasonable (I doubt that my father would have considered calling them at the regular $89.99 price). Additionally, they supposedly give a 5% senior discount, so Dad said to go ahead and have them come out. On a positive note, they came out the same day - within 2 or 3 hours! However, from the start, the technician - Benjamin - seemed to be pushing us to replace the entire unit (to the tune of around $500 - maybe more - I can't remember the exact amount). He told us that for the "Motor Service" - even just to reset the limits, they only had one price ($199.99), and until he actually did the work, he couldn't even tell whether the limits could be successfully reset! And, if not, we'd still have to pay the $199.99!! Beyond that, if he could successfully reset the limits, there would be no guarantee that doing so would last. None of our options were very appealing, but we really needed the door working again! After some discussion, he agreed that if he was unable to reset the limits, we could apply the $199.99 towards the cost of a new unit. That seemed a little less risky, so we had him go ahead and do the "Motor Service." Within about 10-15 minutes, he completed the work - successfully resetting the limits. The "Standard Diagnostic and Safety Inspection" had also taken about 10-15 minutes, so for 30 minutes worth of work and approximately 10-15 minutes of discussion (he spent another 15 minutes trying to run our credit card - something with his machine wasn't working), we owed $239.98 - for work that isn't even guaranteed. We think that's very high. And when my Dad asked about the senior discount, he said something about that already being reflected in the prices we were charged - but I don't think that's the case. Normally, such a discount shows up as a separate line item on an invoice, but it doesn't on our invoice from them. In any case, while we felt the price was too high and didn't appreciate the attempt to push us into purchasing a whole new unit, we were glad to get it working again. HOWEVER, just a few days ago - less than a month later, things aren't working properly already. The limit settings seem okay, but the door won't close properly - when we press the button, it starts down slightly, but then goes back up immediately and the light blinks. To close the door, we have to press and hold the button until it's all the way down. And, we cannot close it using the remote any longer - it starts down, but immediately goes back up. Very disappointing!
Description of Work
My father's garage door had gone up and crashed into the motor housing unit (as we found out, the limit setting was no longer working). The housing unit/motor appeared to be undamaged, and to ensure that it would not be damaged, we had unplugged it, so we wouldn't accidentally raise the door and have it crash again. We needed this provider to come out and diagnose the issue and fix it so we could use the door again.
Category
garage doors
Marilyn V.
5.0
01/04/2016
I called another Garage door company that I had used prior but due to their busy schedule and the distance from my home I needed to find another company fast to find the problem. I contacted them and they were able to send someone within 4 hours which I thought was reasonable. Cory stopped and thankfully it was nothing serious! The lock on the inside of the door had been bumped- no wonder the door would not go up! I appreciate the fast service today by Neighborhood Garage Door Service as well as the Angie's list discount. They will be the first company that I call for any future issues with my garage door.
Description of Work
My garage door would not go up and I contacted Neighborhood Garage Door Service to find the problem.
Category
garage doors
Thomas I.
5.0
01/04/2016
Cory did a great job first inspecting the garage door system and determining the existing garage door opener had a faulty circuit board. He then explained the options for a new opener including cost and associated warranties. After selecting an option he installed the garage door opener, explained the features and how to re-align the sensors if needed. Would definitely use them again, they came out the day after calling me and they were willing to come out the same day later in the afternoon. Awesome that they have all the materials on hand and did not have to make separate appointments for the inspection and then the installation.
Description of Work
Inspected garage door and door opener. Installed new garage door opener.
Category
garage doors
Chris H.
5.0
12/22/2015
I called yesterday due to an issue with the garage door opener light bulbs not switching on or off even though the garage door was working. It was awesome that they could do an appointment the same day or the next day. My schedule worked better for today. Of course, the day they come out the issue had resolved itself. The lights worked with new bulbs, even though I had replaced the bulbs days ago and it did NOT work. The technician was really reasonable about the silly call, so rather than waste the service call fee, I talked with him a bit about the openers. I'm sure they had not been serviced at all since the house was built. They were creaky and noisy. The tech recommended new rollers to stop the creaky doors and tightened up and lubed the tracks. They sound GREAT now and I'm happy with the result. Only time will tell if I have any more problems with the bulbs again, but if I do, I'll be calling them back.
Description of Work
"Problem-solved" a light bulb problem (see below). Replaced steel rollers with nylon ones. Tightened up/aligned the tracks.
Category
garage doors
Lois T.
5.0
12/15/2015
Installation went well. He removed the old opener, installed a new belt driven one, cleaned up, carted old stuff away. Procedure took about 2 1/2 hours. He provided me all the paperwork. It went smooth.
Description of Work
Inspected Craftsman garage door opener and determined that the motor was burned out. We discussed replacement options. I showed him the reviews of openers I had found online and he made suggestions as to which one would be best. I selected the opener based on his recommendation.
Category
garage doors
Drew O.
5.0
11/12/2015
Very professional. Did the job quickly and I haven't had a problem in over a month.
Description of Work
Technician was able to replace parts on my garage door so that it would close properly. Was quick and door now works.
Category
garage doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive feedback on Angie's List. We are very pleased to hear that you were happy with our service. Please feel free to call us with any of your future garage door needs!!! :)
Michael M.
2.0
06/16/2015
My garage door would not close at all, it would not even start to close when the button was pushed. The technician suspected the safety-eyes and so removed the existing set of safe-eyes, and replaced them with a new pair. When this did not solve the problem, he suggested that I buy a new garage door opener all together. He offered to install a new opener from the company, however when I asked for paper work about the opener that would be installed (brand, specifications...) he could not provide me with any details. This did not seem right to me so I declined. After watching a few DIY videos on YouTube the following day, I myself concluded that the problem in fact HAD to be the safety-eyes. The connections on the wiring had become loose over time from the vibrations from opening and closing the door. But, when I looked at the wiring, I noticed that the technician had rewired them incorrectly when he had put them back on. I have zero experience with this sort of thing, so the fact that I could correctly diagnose the problem and in fact notice that they had been re-wired incorrectly by the technician, AND correctly wire them so as to fix the problem, tells me that the tech either didn't know what he was doing, or (what I really think) tried to sell me a new opener when I didn't need one at all. All this being said, he lubricated the rollers and replaced a bolt that had fallen off. Now that I fixed the problem, the opener does open and close more smoothly and quieter from the lubrication. He also seemed like a nice enough guy, but definitely tried to sell me a new opener when I didn't even remotely need a new one. I may recommend the company for roller lubrication, but that can be done yourself for much cheaper. I highly DO NOT recommend the company for anything else.
Description of Work
Technician lubricated the rollers and replaced a bolt. Attempted to fix the garage door opener but could not, and incorrectly wired the existing safety-eyes in the process. He also attempted to sell me a new opener and offered no paperwork or quote.
Category
garage doors

Service Provider Response

Sorry to hear that your experience with our company was not top notch. We strive for awesome customer service and your feedback is very important to us. Feel free to contact our Client Services Department at (877) 266-8897 to see if there anything we can do to make your experience a better one. Again sorry
REGINA G.
4.0
06/15/2015
The service from Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Co was great. It was a coupon that a friend of mine sent over to me and I think it was a group-on coupon. He fixed things in no time. They did a great job. They were fast and they came right out. It was very nice and he got it done within half an hour or 45 minutes. I was very pleased with his service. The cost was maybe a little less because of the coupon it was a group-on coupon.
Description of Work
My door kept going up and down.
Category
garage doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive feedback! We appreciate the opportunity to earn your business and look forward to working with you in the future! If you have any questions or need services with your door don't hesitate to call! Thanks again!
Charlean K.
5.0
06/12/2015
It went really well. They came right out and fixed it. There have been no problems and they did a good job. The guy was very friendly and was prompt. He called me after I had canceled and I let him come out anyway. He called me and told me how much it would cost and he gave me discounts. He did a great job and I'm totally satisfied with their work. I thought the price for a repair was a little expensive.
Description of Work
Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Company fixed my garage door. He replaced four rollers.
Category
garage doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive feedback! We appreciate the opportunity to earn your business and look forward to working with you in the future! If you have any questions or need services with your door don't hesitate to call! Thanks again!
Thomas C.
5.0
06/12/2015
They did it fine. They were fast and they got it done efficiently. The price was good.
Description of Work
They just adjusted the controls and lubricated it.
Category
garage doors

Service Provider Response

Sorry for the delayed response but we wanted to take a minute to thank you for the positive feedback! We appreciate the opportunity to earn your business and look forward to working with you in the future! If you have any questions or need services with your door please, do not hesitate to call! Thanks again!

    Other local Pros in your area

    AMERICAN PLATINUM DOOR

    Whether you are renovating your home, building new construction, or just need a second opinion we know we will be your first choice. We will deliver exceptional skills at an affordable price. We pride ourselves at getting the job done right the first time! We offer a variety of garage doors products including hollow metal doors, overhead doors, operators, front doors, wireless keypads and more! We also offer 24 hour service for all of your needs. Call us today for your FREE estimate!  

    Angi Certified

    Rogers Overhead Door

    We offer quality and affordable garage door services.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    We Repair all Types and Brands of Garage Doors and Garage Door Openers. All Adjustments, Lubrication, and Tune-Ups are Included with our Repairs. Broken Springs? We Repair all types of Garage Door Springs the Same Day. Door Stuck or Won't Close? We can Help in Less than 1-Hour! Need a New Garage Door or Garage Door Opener? Call Us and Save up to $200.

    Services Not Offered

    Gates and Gate Operator Repair & Installation

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Co

    How is Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Co overall rated?

    Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Co is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Co open?

    Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Co is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    Monday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    Tuesday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    Wednesday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    Thursday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    Friday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    Saturday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Co provide

    Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Co accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Co offer free estimates?

    Ask Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Co for details on free project estimates.

    Does Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Co does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Co offer a senior discount?

    No, Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Co does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Co offer emergency services?

    Yes, Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Co offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Co?

    Yes, Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Co offers warranties.

    What services does Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Co offer?

    Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Co offers the following services: We Repair all Types and Brands of Garage Doors and Garage Door Openers. All Adjustments, Lubrication, and Tune-Ups are Included with our Repairs. Broken Springs? We Repair all types of Garage Door Springs the Same Day. Door Stuck or Won't Close? We can Help in Less than 1-Hour! Need a New Garage Door or Garage Door Opener? Call Us and Save up to $200.

    Are there any services Cleveland's Choice Overhead Garage Door Co does not offer?

    Gates and Gate Operator Repair & Installation