Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ADVANCED QUALITY LAWN INC

Founded 2001 • With Angi since April 2005

3.4

(14) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7600 OLDE EIGHT Road

Hudson, OH 44236

Description

Advanced Quality Lawn is a locally owned and operated Lawn Care company based in Hudson, Ohio; Advanced Quality Lawn is also a member of the Better Business Bureau with an A rating. Our staff of professionals are fully trained and insured.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

03/07/2016


Philip A.

We were reasonable happy with the service. The prices were much lower than competing services (Trugreen, who we had the year before) but the quality was merely ok. For the price though, it was ok. I wasn't sure if I was going to use a lawn care provider this year though, and had decided I was going to give a try at doing it myself. I had bought some grass seed, and was going to do a late winter application to thicken up the lawn this coming weekend. I get home from work however, and I see a sign stating that the lawn had been treated with crabgrass control and fertilizer today. I NEVER agreed to this service however. I called the contractor, and the contractor seemed to think that because I had paid for one year of service last year, I was happy with the service continuing this year, and so I was invoiced for $33 for the treatment today. The contractor stated that they had sent me several letters, and since I never responded, assumed that I continued to want the service. The contractor does not seem to be cognizant however of the fact that a contract requires not just an offer of service, but an acceptance of the offer as well. An acceptance I had never sent. This is shoddy professionalism, and I encourage other people to look elsewhere for mediocre quality service and more professional behavior. I agreed to pay the $33 because its not worth fighting over, but this company has lost a client. I also can't apply the grass seed I just bought because they put down weed control...

Description of Work
We had used this lawn care company last year to perform lawn care services including weed control, fertilizer application and aeration.

Category lawn service, lawn treatment

Service Provider Response

In 2014 Mr. [Member Name Removed] contacted us from a promotion we offered online through our website. The offer was for 6 lawn treatments with the 6th treatment at no charge. We mailed a confirmation letter with a pre-pay offer which states "Our lawn care program renews itself at the end of the prescribed number of applications unless you notify us otherwise". The confirmation letter also states "The free application will always be part of your program year after year until you discontinue service". Mr. [Member Name Removed] took advantage of the savings and paid the offer in 2014. We mailed 3 confirmation letters (12/04/2014, 01/21/2015, & 02/05/2015). We never heard not to service the property so we did our 1st treatment on 03/07/2015. Our auto-renewal process is standard in most industries to try to keep cost down to the consumers.
5.0

03/29/2014


Angelina M.

They are wonderful. They do preventative maintenance. Always have discounts! And they are always there to lend a helping hand

Description of Work
They apply dry and liquid fertilizer to help our yard

Category lawn service

5.0

03/08/2014


Elizabeth T.

When I first started with this company they gave me real expectations.My lawn was in ruff shape year after year the lawn continues to improve and when ever I have questions I can depend on a quick response and great service.

Description of Work
A extremely hands on professional lawn service willing to go that extra mile.

Category lawn treatment

5.0

03/07/2014


Howard L.

I have allowed Advanced Quality Lawn to service my lawn and tree and shrubs for the past 3-4 years. The service and quality of their work has been impecable these last few years. My lawn has been at the best ive seen in the neighborhood and my trees and shrubs are so healthly that every spring there is a aray of blossoms and color that is beautiful. The few times i have talked with the technicians they are very knowledgable about the different types of plants in my landscape and with their help I have been able to prune and cut my lawn to help maintain what i think is one of the best looking properties in my neighborhood. I would defintely reccommend this company to anyone whose is looking to upscale their property to look better from start through maintaining for years to come.

Description of Work
Advanced Quality Lawn does my lawn and tree and shrub fertilizing.

Category lawn service, lawn treatment, tree service

4.0

02/26/2014


Jill F.

There were still a lot of pests so I'm not sure it worked very well. They are prompt and nice to talk to if you call them on the phone but sometimes the weeds were not taken care of like they should have. I had to call them back. They did come back and take care of it. The pest control, they do call a lot to get other services. We don't like that, that is annoying.

Description of Work
I last used Advanced Quality Lawn this last summer. I used them for weed and fertilizer as well as pest control.

Category pest control, lawn service, lawn treatment

1.0

01/15/2014


Susan P.

It was worse after they started on it and it continued to get worse. The customer service was terrible, the management was terrible. It is just not a good place for customer service.

Description of Work
They were suppose to get rid of the weeds in my yard and green my grass

Category lawn service

1.0

07/22/2013


Susan P.

I called after two seperate applications, letting them know how unhappy I was with my yard. My yard does not look any different then before they started treatments. Custoer service is terrible. i have quit this company and told them not to call or email me.

Description of Work
They have an all-inclusive program that covers crabgrass pre and post emergent control, grub and insect control, disease control, fungicide treatmets, fertilizer, weed contro; and lime treatment.

Category lawn treatment

5.0

03/09/2013


Ken C.

See above. Thanks

Description of Work
Advanced Quality Lawn (AQL) handles both my trees/shrubs and lawn service. I gave them my business in 2012 and plan to use them in 2013. Of course, I gave them my business due to the lack of professionalism, poor quality and higher prices of their competitors. I worked with a gentleman named David who was very attentive to my very demanding service. Whenever there was an issue, like seed in the mulch, he took care of it. If i have a question they called me back within the next 24 hours. I couldn't ask for more. The price is very good, not the cheapest but I am not looking for a college kid, a bag, and a truck. I read the previous reviews for AQL, seems like a bad situation, but I am sticking with AQL for 2013. Give them a call, try them out. Ken Akron 03/09/2013

Category lawn treatment

1.0

02/21/2012


Lori W.

Horrible...ended up spending twice as much time and cost managing and fixing their mistakes. I spent an additional $$250 on weed / grass killer, seed fertilizer and straw to re-seed areas in which they killed newly germinated grass areas. They simply do not care until spring time when they need the business.

Description of Work
Bar none Advanced Quality Lawn (AQL) is the worst lawn care service I have ever experienced. I have never dealt with such poor attention to detail and care that this organisation provided. First, we prepaid for the annual plan to save the 10%....huge mistake! Clearly no incentive for them to do a quality job and apparently they do not care about repeat business or referrals. They began by aerating our lawn and over seeding with a spreader, NOT a drop seeder. Using a spreader was the quick easy route which not only uses less seed and takes less time but sprays the seed into shrub beds where it had to be weeded and in our case re-mulched. This unfortunately had to be completed at our time and expense. There were multiple issues including ongoing weeds, fungus, moss, molds, spraying weed killer over newly seeded areas which killed new germination and even a beautiful ($200) Smokey Mountain white pine that has been in place for 10 years were killed after using AQL. They will never call ahead, even after requested, for the scheduled applications so you can prepare the lawn and supervise their work. They even went as far to apply an application right over-top piles of leaves! I spent more time managing their mistakes and trying to get issues addressed than if I simply purchased product and did it myself. I would highly recommend you pass on using Advanced Quality Lawn.

Category lawn service, lawn treatment

Service Provider Response

In regards to the customer complaint, we have the following to say. With regards to the aeration, we feel that there is nothing wrong or even “less correct” about using a spread seeder versus a drop seeder. Both can be used to great effect when handled by trained technicians, which all of our technicians are. We are very sorry for whatever seed made its way into her flower beds, but a small amount is difficult to avoid under even the best circumstances. When it comes to killing grass, we were accused of killing grass we had planted ourselves as part of their aeration/overseed service. This is patently untrue; our weed-killing products target active weeds, no seed or young grass. Therefore, it is very unlikely that our application did anything to this new seed, as it has not been an issue on other properties we have treated. Mosses, fungi and molds are not issues that are easily controlled. These are all issues which are affected by moisture and soil ph, not by fertilizer applications and weed killers. These are issues which stem from the environment and are not attributable to our company; we feel it is unfair to be targeted for issues. We can offer control once these particular issues present themselves, and even a measure of prevention, but these are not issues for which we can be held solely accountable. The death of their pine is sad, but again, there is no way to attribute its death to us. We did no Tree & Shrub applications during the time we worked for the Wigals. Moreover, it would take a significant amount of pesticide, more than is put down in one application, to kill a plant which has been established for 10 years. Unfortunately, since no testing was done we are unable to verify the Wigals’ claim and can only sympathize with their loss. As for the call-ahead, any customer who asks for a call ahead will gladly receive it. It is our policy to provide a call-ahead to any customer who requests it. Their account is immediately flagged to be a call ahead and that request is honored as soon as the next application. We offer a variety of call-aheads, including “leave message on machine”. The Wigals only requested a call ahead on one service, not the entire account. In short, we feel that we provided more than reasonable attempts to resolve their issues, including 4 free services, in an effort to satisfactorily resolve their issues. We are saddened that the Wigals do not see it that way and hope them the best in their future lawn care endeavors.
1.0

06/10/2010


JANE B.

We hired Advanced Quality Lawn to provide fertilization services at our home two years ago. Our lawn was going from fair to bad under their care during the spring (weeds everywhere, dying grass.) I made two calls asking to have someone from Advanced Quality call me so that we could decide if there was some way to improve the results. In the messages, I asked them to hold off till we spoke before continuing but, without doing that, they came and did another application in early June. I cancelled the next day, as I had already asked them not to do more till we talked. However,they sent me bills for that last application repeatedly and then sent the account to collections. Finally, in August, I was able to go over the whole story with someone at Advanced Quality who purported to have authority. He agreed that there had been a misunderstanding, said the matter was closed, and the account was removed from collections. (I monitor my credit through BAC Privacy Assist and it was clear thereafter.) A couple weeks ago, almost two years later, I received a notice that this same account was in collections again. I was incredulous, but my wife called Advanced Quality and was told by James, in billing, that this was the case. I called, got James to connect me to someone above him, explained the whole situation and was told that he would get back to me after he "talked to the boss". A week went by with no call and I called again and was told that "the boss" insisted that since I received the application and cancelled the following day I owed the money and they intended to pursue it. He, reportedly, said that actually it had just been dropped 2 years ago because of some change in their collection agency and was re-instated because they now had a new one. The initial decision by Advanced Quality was to recognize that my repeated requests to discuss the poor results before another application made charging me for it unfair, even though I hadn't actually cancelled the service at that point. Now, they are reneging on that position, in a blatant fabrication, and trying to twist my arm by sending this to collections before even approaching me again with a bill. It's only $40, but their behavior is outrageous.

Description of Work
Lawn fertilization and pesticide application. My dissatisfaction regards this, and even more so the billing issues which became active again May 2010.

Category lawn treatment

3.0

12/29/2008


ELIZABETH D.

They came out roughly every four to eight weeks and treated our lawn with fertilizer. In terms of service, we weren't particularly pleased with the with the reliability of their service as far as the timing went. There were a couple of times where I actually had to call them, as six or seven weeks had gone by. As a customer I was slightly annoyed by them because they would actually come out and try to sell us another service, such as spraying for beetles or telling us we should aerate. Essentially, they were repeatedly trying solicit other services, and then were late for the service that we had hired them for.

Description of Work
The $250 charge was for a package deal of treatments for our lawn for the summer. They came out four times.

Category lawn treatment

3.0

05/05/2008


MICHELLE W.

We have used this company for 2 years prior to this spring (2008). The first year service was okay. They came out and I saw improvement in my lawn. The second year I wasn't sure I wanted to spend as much so I asked them to only do 3 applications not the 6 we had done the year before. I told them in late fall that I didn't want to do any other services at that point. They sent me bills for Spring/Summer of 2008 and I didn't respond because we had already told them we weren't interested. Today, I find them on my lawn fertilizing without my permission. I asked them to call me in the past when they were coming out. My children had been playing out in the yard earlier and we were going to go out after naps. Now they can't for 24 hours. I told them to stop but they did not. Please be aware that this company has poor communication between individuals. Get everything in writing. Also, be aware they auto renew and don't stop service when asked. Next time I will call the police if they don't stop. Each application cost 60.00!!

Description of Work
They came out two years in a row and did weed and feed treatments (6 in the first year and 3 in the second). I also had them aerate and apply grub control both years. Service was good and lawn looks okay, but still has weeds. Grub control had to be watered in and I was not informed of that the first year so that wasted 100 dollars. Plus they came out this last time and sprayed one of my flowers (a clematis) that I had just planted.

Category lawn treatment

5.0

10/28/2006


MARY G.

We are happy with the improvement we saw in our lawn when we started with Advanced Quality. It was a drastic difference! The reps. are polite and go out of their way to answer any questions. My only compliant is that we requested that they call prior to fertilizing our lawn (we have two dogs and the notice would be helpful), and they haven't managed to do it yet.

Description of Work
Advanced Quality fertilizes and treats our lawn year round. We've also had aeration and crab grass services performed. The ''cost'' listed is for one fertilization application (on approx 45x150 lot).

Category lawn treatment

5.0

04/21/2005


ANDY G.

THEY CAME OUT AND PUT DOWN SOME STUFF THAT TOOK CARE OF THE WEEDS. IT WORKED SO WELL, WE NOW HAVE THEM BACK EACH MONTH TO TAKE CARE OF THE LAWN. WE HAVE ABOUT 2 ACRES AND THEY HAVE THE BEST PRICE.

Description of Work
HAD A LOT OF WEEDS IN THE LAWN, AND THE GRASS DID NOT LOOK VERY NICE, IT WAS ALL BROWN??

Category lawn treatment

Service Provider Response

THE COST IS A LITTLE OVER $500.00 FOR THE SEASON, NOT A PER APPLICATION PRICE.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Greener Grass Organic Lawn & Pest

    Greener Grass is a full service organic lawn care company. Our mission is to provide a safe, effective and affordable alternative to traditional, chemical lawn care. We provide seasonal fertilization and weed control packages using organic products. We take a unique, ground-up approach to lawn care, focusing on the overall health of the soil. This allows for a vibrant, healthy lawn without all of the chemicals.  

    Angi Certified

    Akron Pest Control

    Akron Pest Control is a family owned and operated company that has been servicing the Akron area since 1945. We are now in our third generation of ownership! We have 5 Licensed pest managers certified through the State of Ohio Department of Agriculture. We give free estimates over the phone. All treatments come with a guarantee!  

    Angi Certified

    A.G.I. Pro Services

    Formally A "G.I." Window Cleaning. We Specialize in Window Cleaning, Gutter Cleaning, Gutter Guard installation, Soft Washing of Houses, Roof Treatments (removes black streaks over time), Pressure Washing, Deck Restoration, Driveway sealing, Dryer Vent Cleaning, Handyman Services, Painting, and Now are offering Pest Control.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal, American Express
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Lawn Fertilization, Tree & Shrub Care, perimeter pest control, hardscapes & patios, Mowing Service, Landscape Instillation, weed control, grub control, core aeration, fungicide applications

    Services Not Offered

    Tree removal, stump grinding

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ADVANCED QUALITY LAWN INC

    How is ADVANCED QUALITY LAWN INC overall rated?

    ADVANCED QUALITY LAWN INC is currently rated 3.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are ADVANCED QUALITY LAWN INC open?

    ADVANCED QUALITY LAWN INC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 7:30 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 7:30 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 7:30 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 7:30 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:30 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does ADVANCED QUALITY LAWN INC provide

    ADVANCED QUALITY LAWN INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal, American Express

    Does ADVANCED QUALITY LAWN INC offer free estimates?

    Yes, ADVANCED QUALITY LAWN INC offers free project estimates.

    Does ADVANCED QUALITY LAWN INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, ADVANCED QUALITY LAWN INC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does ADVANCED QUALITY LAWN INC offer a senior discount?

    No, ADVANCED QUALITY LAWN INC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by ADVANCED QUALITY LAWN INC?

    Yes, ADVANCED QUALITY LAWN INC offers warranties.

    What services does ADVANCED QUALITY LAWN INC offer?

    ADVANCED QUALITY LAWN INC offers the following services: Lawn Fertilization, Tree & Shrub Care, perimeter pest control, hardscapes & patios, Mowing Service, Landscape Instillation, weed control, grub control, core aeration, fungicide applications

    Are there any services ADVANCED QUALITY LAWN INC does not offer?

    Tree removal, stump grinding