Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Overhead Door Co of Greater Cincinnati

Founded 1962 • With Angi since November 2002

4.7

(203) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9345 Princeton-Glendale Rd

Hamilton, OH 45011

Description

Do you need garage door service in the Cincinnati, Ohio area? You’ve come to the right place. Overhead Door Co. of Greater Cincinnati has been serving the area for over 90 years. We offer the finest in residential and commercial service, doors and openers. 135 Employees. No subs. Charges an hourly

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/22/2022


KAREN S M.

The garage door would not close. The technician that came was Paul and he determined that a cable had broken. He made the repair and reset the error code message on the opener. Paul was very efficient and customer friendly.

Description of Work
Garage door repair

Category garage doors

3.0

08/10/2021


Nirmal M.

The service was okay, however he did not write the keypad on the contract.

Description of Work
Garage door opener.

Category garage doors

5.0

07/26/2016


Darla T.

It went quite well. Remotes were coded to door and keypad was rekeyed to new code. Problems were resolved in less than 15 minutes.

Description of Work
Garage door remotes and keypad

Category garage doors

3.0

10/06/2015


Jonathan E.

I had a negative experience with this company and was frustrated and confused by the way they treated me. I initially called during business hours (around 10:00am on a weekday) to report my problem. I indicated that I needed to have service that same day, but that I couldn't do it during business hours because of work obligations that day. The person on the phone in their service department told me she could schedule me in for emergency service that evening, which I accepted. She said that a technician would call me between 5:00pm and 6:00pm that evening to indicate the time they would arrive that night. I waited by the phone at the appointed hour, but no one called. Around 6:05pm I called their number and spoke with their emergency service representative. He said he would contact the technician on call to see what was going on. Still no response. I called again at 7:05pm, only to be told by yet another representative that a new emergency ticket was being put in because supposedly there was none on record. Only at that point did I receive a call back from the on-call technician, who finally showed up and completed the repair around 8:00pm. The technician had no record of anything I had been told back at 10:00 in the morning. I was frustrated by the poor communication, the constant run-around, the waiting, and the different answers I got every time I called back to check in. I imagine that the repair they completed is sound, but the customer-service experience was horrible.

Description of Work
Minor repairs to a residential garage door mechanism involving replacement of the springs and safety cables that had broken loose.

Category garage doors

5.0

09/16/2015


Nikki O.

JD went above and beyond. He was very knowledgeable, thorough and patient.

Description of Work
The garage door spring was broken, and JD replaced it. The light wasn't working and he fixed that. He put a new garage door opener box on at no cost.

Category garage doors

5.0

09/01/2015


Cris Z.

Technician showed up on time and performed repair as promised. Really did a nice job with the repair and went above and beyond by tightening up other screws to reduce noise upon opening and closing. Excellent service.

Description of Work
Repaired broken garage door spring

Category garage doors

2.0

04/30/2015


Jacquelyn F.

Our previous garage door was wooden and have a grate underneath it. Our garage door was curved so it would fit with the grate. The new one was steel and didn't fit. There's now a big gap at the bottom. They didn't tell us it was going to be like that. We don't have a way of keeping water and small animals out of our garage. The installer acted like, "Well, of course you should have known that." The salesman who came out to measure never told us anything like that. Also, with it being a new garage and our house being older, it doesn't fit really perfect, so it's harder to move it up and down than our old garage door was. So it's difficult to get in and out of the garage. They also didn't mention that it would be harder to get in and out and go up and down with it being a steel door. They said part of the reason was the new rails were meant for newer houses and we had a house built in the 1930s. They don't make quite the same radius of a turn in older houses than they do in newer houses. So they had to bend the rails more and that causes the garage door to get stuck. I really didn't like that they didn't seem to know what to do with an older house. They also told me it was going to be half day job and they would come out in the morning. I only had a half day off work, and they called and said it was going to be 11:00. They said they come out at 11:00 and finish in mid-afternoon. That wasn't explained to me. They've fixed the garage door some, but it's not nearly as smooth as the old garage door was. I thought it was weird, that a new garage door is going to be harder to use than an old one. They tried to fix the gap at the bottom by putting in a larger piece of plastic at the bottom. Logistically, it was a pain, between having to schedule a couple of different times for them to come out and then a couple of times so they could look at everything and fix everything. They didn't have their customer service worked out well. They were responsive about coming to the house, but weren't upfront about when they were coming. They had rescheduled twice.

Description of Work
They installed a new garage door.

Category garage doors

5.0

04/25/2015


Diane M.

They are fast, quick and come out very quick. I called and they were out within a couple of hours.

Description of Work
We had some springs that were coming apart and they came out and repaired it.

Category garage doors

5.0

04/22/2015


albert D.

I was really pleased. I chose them because my door was from Overhead Door. I just called their service department.

Description of Work
For the garage door, we used Overhead Door.

Category garage doors

5.0

03/18/2015


Kenneth H.

They did a good job. They used what I had instead of trying to sell me new parts. He repaired the ones I had. The garage doors work fine. They were a little bit late.

Description of Work
They repaired the garage doors.

Category garage doors

2.0

02/22/2015


Jeff L.

I realize I have taken over a year to write this, but in the year, over time when someone mentions the garage door, I still get irritated so I decided to take the time for a response. We were happy with the quick response of the person doing the estimate. However, our issues were with the installer. He did not clean up the area from the garage door removal. He took the big wooden pieces but left nails, screws, bolts and sprinters of wood on the floor. Not just a few, a decent quantity. He also installed the wall mount without asking our preference on height and location. It is not convenient where it is now. too high to reach. when coming from the garage. He did the same with the location of the outside keypad. It would be nice if he asked where we wanted the items placed. Actually, I expected him to ask. He also left without helping us program the keypad. We did receive a book on how to do it and after several attempts, were able to complete. He left the book and remote and said goodbye to our son, who told us we would have to program the pad, but did not connect with us to say he was leaving or to get our satisfaction. As icing on the cake, the plastic cover over the light will not stay in place and hangs down reminding us that our satisfaction is low.

Description of Work
Removal of old garage door and installation of new garage door.

Category garage doors

4.0

12/02/2014


Barbara D.

They were very nice and I know the mechanic was experienced, but they were unable to fix the problem. The doors get stuck when it gets cold. We are requesting a refund.

Description of Work
Repair garage doors.

Category garage doors

5.0

10/28/2014


Brian W.

I did not realize that our spring was broken, so it did take some extra time to get everything accomplished. They have a different department that handles service repairs and installations. We had to make separate appointments to get the springs fixed and the opener installed--but they did a great job of making it all work for us. Everything was done within 2 days. Thanks!

Description of Work
Replaced broken garage door springs, installed new garage door opener

Category garage doors

5.0

10/13/2014


JAMES J.

The service went well. One technician came out and completed the service in 15-20 minutes. He was knowledgeable about the system. Even though he thought he repaired the issue initially he listened to what I was saying and was able to further diagnose what was really going on. I had no problem scheduling them out for the service. They came out the same day I called.

Description of Work
I hired the company to repair the garage door opener.

Category garage doors

5.0

09/02/2014


Bill W.

They did an excellent job. I've had them twice this summer and they did a great job. They did two different jobs for me. They did exactly what they said they would do and their price was right on. I have an old, old house and an old, old garage. The guy was really nice about trying to find spare parts to fix something. It would have cost me a fortune otherwise. The first job was $150. They were prompt and professional. They didn't really seem to be in it for the big bucks. He worked with me to find an easier way to get around something. I would definitely use them again because I found them very professional.

Description of Work
They last replaced a door opener. The first time they replaced a part.

Category garage doors

5.0

08/27/2014


Betty C.

Our garage door spring broke in our 29 year old door resulting in the door coming off the track and pulling loose. We had Overhead Door come out on an ermergency basis to stabilize the door until we could get a new door installed. The temporary repair was done on Friday evening and the new door was installed on Monday. They did an excellent job and the cost of the new door was exactly what they quoted us. The temporary repair was less than we were quoted. We have used Overhead door since at least 1998 for repairs to our old door, so we knew to rely on them for prompt and efficient service this time. We will definitely use them again for any future needs.

Description of Work
Replaced a broken garage door with a new door and all hardware.

Category garage doors

4.0

07/02/2014


Carol H.

They knew what they were doing. It did not cost me more than i thought it was going to be.

Description of Work
.

Category garage doors

5.0

06/06/2014


JO-ANNE R.

The provider was polite and informative. The service could not have been better.

Description of Work
Service provider sprayed joints, track, etc., and tightened bolts, as the door was not always closing.

Category garage doors

5.0

04/21/2014


Kathy T.

Our serviceman was Paul. He called ahead to let me know he was on the way and he arrived on time. It was service with a smile all of the way. They have a friendly and knowledgable staff. They quickly completed the job and we were pleased.

Description of Work
Replaced the torsion conversion to replace the torque tube and springs.

Category garage doors

5.0

03/07/2014


Curt M.

The service was prompt and professional. The technician repaired the fixed door opener and reprogrammed the remote control. He also reprogrammed the security mechanism without being asked. I was able to use an Angie's List coupon to reduce the cost.

Description of Work
Fix door opener

Category garage doors

5.0

02/14/2014


Keith B.

Timely, professional and clean. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
They replaced a double garage door with a single employee!

Category garage doors

5.0

02/13/2014


John C.

First visit had wrong part but quickly rescheduled. Did a quick maintenance also.

Description of Work
Had to replace rubber seal on bottom of door.

Category doors

5.0

01/27/2014


Gregory J.

A week ago Saturday, my garage door froze to the ground and I damaged it while trying to raise it. I renewed my Angie's List membership the following Monday, found a 10% coupon for Overhead Door and called. I was transferred to service where I left a voice message for George. George returned my call within a half hour and promised to come and take a look the next morning if the roads were clear. The next morning, George called to say that he would keep the appointment even though the roads were not clear of several inches of snow. After inspecting the door, George recommended replacement and estimated the cost about 973. The Angie's List 10% coupon could not be combined with the 10% senior discount, so my final bill was $875 and installation was scheduled for Saturday. The installation went smoothly, even though the installer had to traverse yet another snow storm. It was very cold in the garage, but the installer didn't seem to let it affect his work. I didn't record the time, but it seems that it took him a couple hours to disassemble the door and reinstall a new one. The new model seems a bit sturdier than the original but looks exactly the same from the outside. I am happy with all aspects of this transaction. However, I was planning to use that money to buy some new golf clubs to celebrate my retirement. Oh well.

Description of Work
Replaced crumpled garage door.

Category garage doors

5.0

01/18/2014


Mark S.

One of our garage doors stopped working. Overhead was prompt, explained the problem and repaired it quickly

Description of Work
I used Overhead Door Company Of Greater

Category garage doors

5.0

12/11/2013


Peg C.

Showed up on time as promised; fixed within half an hour.

Description of Work
Fixed garage door opener.

Category garage doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    Brutus Home Services llc

    We provide attic insulation services prompt on time and stress-free! Call or click for a quote today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Dr. Energy Saver Cincinnati/Dayton

    Dr. Energy Saver Cincinnati is an insulation contractor that is an expert in insulation services, air sealing, weatherization, spray foam insulation, home energy audit and other services. We service all of the Greater Cincinnati area, including northern Kentucky, south east Indiana, and Dayton. Proper insulation is an essential component of every home, and Dr. Energy Saver Cincinnati are your local experts for complete home insulation services. We provide quality solutions for the entire home, including the attic and basement, and you can be sure that we will make your home more comfortable and energy efficient.  

    Angi Certified

    Insulate My Home

    Insulate My Home is a residential insulation contractor. We provide materials and installation services for all types of home projects with a focus on affordability, quality, and customer service. Whether you’re buying a new home or updating your current house, we’re the experienced residential insulation contractors you can trust. We’ve insulated thousands of homes throughout Ohio & Western PA. Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for Details

    Services Offered

    Garage Door Installation & Repair. Doors – Counter Doors, & Exterior Doors - Front Entry, Storm, & Patio.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Overhead Door Co of Greater Cincinnati

    How is Overhead Door Co of Greater Cincinnati overall rated?

    Overhead Door Co of Greater Cincinnati is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Overhead Door Co of Greater Cincinnati open?

    Overhead Door Co of Greater Cincinnati is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does Overhead Door Co of Greater Cincinnati provide

    Overhead Door Co of Greater Cincinnati accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available

    Does Overhead Door Co of Greater Cincinnati offer free estimates?

    Ask Overhead Door Co of Greater Cincinnati for details on free project estimates.

    Does Overhead Door Co of Greater Cincinnati offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Overhead Door Co of Greater Cincinnati does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Overhead Door Co of Greater Cincinnati offer a senior discount?

    No, Overhead Door Co of Greater Cincinnati does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Overhead Door Co of Greater Cincinnati offer emergency services?

    Yes, Overhead Door Co of Greater Cincinnati offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Overhead Door Co of Greater Cincinnati?

    No, Overhead Door Co of Greater Cincinnati does not offer warranties.

    What services does Overhead Door Co of Greater Cincinnati offer?

    Overhead Door Co of Greater Cincinnati offers the following services: Garage Door Installation & Repair. Doors – Counter Doors, & Exterior Doors - Front Entry, Storm, & Patio.