Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

American Air

Founded 1989 • With Angi since January 2001

4.4

(160) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3945 Brookham Dr

Grove City, OH 43123

Description

One Call Does It All: American Air is proud to be one of the only companies in Central Ohio to offer heating, cooling, electric, AND plumbing services to our valued customers. American Air is locally owned and operated, with offices in Grove City and Hilliard. We have been serving Central Ohio for

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

02/24/2020


Caleb P.

Completely disappointed with the terrible service I received. I called for an inspection for my furnace and the technician left the sequencers unscrewed and the furnace left open when he left. I had to put everything together after he was gone. -He told me I had a refrigerant leak without even checking for leaks. I had to locate the leak myself. -Tried to tell me my furnace wasn't registered for warranty (when it is). -He quoted "around $3000.00" to purchase sequencers and check for a leak. (Sequencers are anywhere from $30-$70 apiece). -Charged me $99 and didn't even provide a receipt or write up for what was done. I called to ask for my receipt and it took 5 days to finally get it. -I brought up several of my complaints to the service manager and he denied them and said his technician disagrees and wouldn't lie to him. -If you are looking for a reputable company to handle your HVAC needs, please look somewhere else.

Description of Work
My furnace stopped working so I called for an inspection

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

09/01/2019


Rob E.

My 18-year relationship with American Air is over. After many years of good service I had about the worst experience possible. When the blower in my secondary A/C unit in the attic went out on a Sunday, I called on Monday and a technician came out and gave my wife "5 options" that went $4,300, $4,100, $3,900... She stopped him and told him to call me. I too stopped him after 3 numbers and said American Air had replaced the blower in my main system for $400, so I don't understand $4,300. He claimed that the blower was very expensive, the unit was out of warranty, and the electronics were wet and needed to be replaced. He also said it was not a blower but an "air circulation system". I said I needed to see the quote and would call him back. I got home, no written estimate. Who gives $4,300 verbal estimates? I also found that the system was still on, despite the tech telling me that the coil had frozen because of lack of air flow. Was he expecting to thaw out the coil and drip water after he had installed new electronics that just had to replaced because they had gotten wet? On Tuesday I called him back and again asked for a written estimate. He said OK, but I did not get the written estimate. When I got home I searched and found my warranty registration, and the unit was under warranty after all. I called the tech on Wednesday and told him the unit was under warranty, and he agreed to give me another quote, this time in writing, I got home and taped to my front door was an estimate for "2 options", $1,300, or $1,100 if I agreed to rebuilt electronics. On Thursday I called the office and reported what had happened to a manager. He gave me another speech about how expensive ECM blowers are and came back with an estimate of $700 that included a "20% discount" for having a maintenance contract and wanted to send the same guy back. By now I don't trust anyone over there and I called another company and explained the situation. On Friday the new company sent a tech over who said they had no problem finding the warranty for what really was an expensive part. He reported no water damage to the unit and only replaced the blower. My bill from the other company was $160. American Air charged me about $100 just to show up and give me one outrageous quote after another. I don't know what has happened over there, but i will never, ever, call American Air again.

Description of Work
Repair A/C blower

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/06/2019


Michael D.

We called American Air at 9 am and had a scheduled appointment between noon and 5 pm the same day. Fifteen minutes later they called back and said there was a cancellation and could be here in 45 minutes. Tom arrived promptly and was very courteous and professional. He diagnosed the problem quickly, went to get the parts and the AC was back on and running properly by 11 am. Tom was friendly and knowledgeable and took good care of us. Would definitely use American Air and Tom again.

Description of Work
AC Unit not cooling

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

05/23/2019


ROBERT L.

American Air originally installed my air conditioner and I've happily used them for HVAC work in addition to that. After the spring check up for the air conditioner, the technician told me the coil and a few other pieces needed to be replaced. I asked if the coil was still under warranty and was told, "No." The work invoice included a note with a price for the additional work of over $2000. I asked the technician and called the office to ask for a formal for a formal quote for the work. It was promised in two days, three at most. After emailing to ask about after three days, I received no response and have not heard from them since that time. Its been three weeks. The technician was on time, polite, and worked quickly and efficiently. My complaint is the high price and their attempt to charge me for a part that was actually under warranty. As the original installers, they should have been able to easily check the warranty. Sadly, I will patronize another company in the future because of this. I called a couple of other vendors who gave me a rough idea of the cost of repair, I invited one out and their manager called and told me the job would cost around $1000 and he'd be happy to send a written quote. He also informed me the coil was still under warranty, so that $500 part wold cost me nothing. He was easily able to check the warranty.

Description of Work
Air conditioner spring check up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/25/2018


ROBERT L.

A month or so ago i decided to join their discount club which provides a furnace and air conditioning check twice per year for $199. Repairs and parts are extra, but discounted. I noticed the furnace was not heating, so I asked if they could come early ( I had scheduled the check up a month from now). They said they cold come in 2 days during a 5 hour afternoon window. They called when they were 45 minutes out and arrived on time. Anthony C checked out the furnace and found it had locked out, but he could't determine the reason. He checked the thermostat, the air intake and vent pipes, the electrical system, the burner, etc. He reset the furnace and cycled it on and off 6 or 7 times without it locking up again. He also cleaned the burner. He replaced the filter with one I had on hand. The furnace is at least 18 years old, so it may just be wearing out. He kept me informed about what he was doing and why and he was knowledgeable and professional. I've used this company a couple of times before and will use them again. The place I used to work hires vendors to install furnaces and they originally introduced me to American Air as a reputable company that they use personally. Anyway, I recommend them. The cost of the service fell within the tasks the checkup covered, so there was no extra charge.

Description of Work
Furnace check and repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/04/2017


Scarlett L.

Travis was courteous, reliable, knowledgeable and called me when they he was on his way. Have used American Heating and Cooling for twelve years.

Description of Work
yearly inspection (yearly agreement plan.) Checks A/C and Furnace each year

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/16/2017


Eric M.

The previous owner had them to do work. I had them out 5 years ago when the electric switch went out they came and fixed it. I will use them again because they are the only ones that have the filter I need for my unit.

Description of Work
They put in a new thermostat switch in.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/17/2017


LOLA E.

They come out every year to check out the air conditioning in the spring and of course the furnace in the fall. They're really good. We've had them for years. We have a maintenance agreement with them, so we pay, but it's a good deal. They come out a couple of times a year and check things for us. It makes it easy for us because you know yours on the schedule and it's just easier. They're fairly busy, but they're really good. They're good, very professional great work and we're just pleased with them. We're very comfortable with them. It's usually one person, but they always call ahead and tell you. They tell you his name so you know who he is, the truck is marked, he has a uniform and his name is on the uniform. I mean you don't answer the door and some odd person is there. They're real good about that. They always tell you the persons name and that's very nice.

Description of Work
They came out to do a service check.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/29/2017


JOHN B.

I want to say it is $17 a month for twice a year of service. We have had them for 5 or 6 years.

Description of Work
annual maintenance on A/C

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/29/2017


JOHN B.

I would use them again. Just on guy came out. The left the area very clean, and they hung the door. I got them off of Angie's list. I called several other people, and their prices were higher. We went back and forth on what I wanted done, he gave me an estimate, he came out and did it. It took about. They explain it and give the options to me so I can look at it.

Description of Work
semi annual maintenance.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/28/2017


Denise W.

It was completed in a timely and efficient manner. The Air Conditioner is working better.

Description of Work
Checking and maintaining Air Conditioning Unit. It turned out it need to have some rewiring.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

06/08/2017


Brenda M.

This is a new build home and they were the ones that put in the unit. They really do come out right away. They're pretty professional. The workers were really courteous. It was professional and they came out right away. They left the area clean. They definitely responded well and gave respect to my home.

Description of Work
They came out about a year ago. It was a regular maintenance. My husband handled the price. I couldn't tell you.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

01/30/2017


Warren B.

Paid for the service call and told them to leave my house.

Description of Work
They tried to cheat me on price.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

01/30/2017


Sharon S.

They guy that installed the sump pump, came back out to service that part and then I was able to contact American Air to come back out for the water heater repair. I assumed the insurance I had was going to pay for it, but come to find out I had to pay over $300 for the repairs. I was ok with that and paid them because I could not go without hot water all weekend. Not even 30 minutes did the hot water work. I had to call them back and they then said it was the heater core. We scheduled again for them to come and replace that, and they tried to tell me I had to call the main insurance company to send someone out. I reminded them that I paid THEM to fix it and they still suggested I call the other company. The insurance company said the same thing, that since I paid them, it was up to them to fix it so I contacted them, AGAIN. They started to stop responding to me and I was close to giving up. Finally my insurance company was able to send someone else out to help me since American Air would not comply, and they informed me that it was never cleaned at all or serviced correctly at all by whomever tried to fix it before, and that's why it stopped working after 30 minutes. I disputed the charge and went through a whole process to fight for my own money back when they really took advantage of me.

Description of Work
My hot water heater was not working so I was recommended to American Air. They came out and responded very well. They realized that the pump had went out and also the pilot light was out, but they could not get to it to service it because my whole basement was covered in water.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/07/2016


Wesley J.

Had an issue with my electric panel overheating and smoking, gave them a call, they sent out an electrician who diagnosed the problem within 5 minutes and offered a same day fix and cost was below what I had estimated, couldn't have gone better.

Description of Work
Electrical work

Category electrician

5.0

12/02/2016


HUGH O.

I have a maintenance agreement with them. I think they are fine.

Description of Work
They were doing a maintenance check on the furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/02/2016


HUGH O.

They did excellent work. They were honest and trustworthy.

Description of Work
They installed a new unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/26/2016


LUCY H.

I have used them for 15 years and they have always done a good job.

Description of Work
They serviced air conditioner and put in a new filter. I have a yearly maintenance program with them.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

10/17/2016


Stacy L.

Poorly - They charged us an excess fee to diagnose the problem and fill it with coolant for a temporary fix. Then when the quote came for the replacement of the part that was covered under warranty, it was an excessive fee as well. They have adopted a new pricing structure (menu of services) that is nothing more than price gouging. When I called the service manager to see what the labor only charges would be, he said that they did not have an hourly labor charge. You have to go with the menu of prices. We had been a customer of American Air for over 30 years, but are finding another company that has reasonable charges.

Description of Work
We needed warranty work done on our AC that American Air had installed 3 years ago.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

09/08/2016

Our rheem ac is out - called a contractor on our home builder's list (American Air) - Wants $2000 all together for labor for a $500 defective part which is covered under warranty - many rockford home owners with the same problem. Rockford won't help us at all. Most contactors that I have called either want us to go back to the builders contractor (American Air) or want just as much money, or won't give me a quote on the phone, and we've already paid the builders contractor $380. Update- Found an honest contractor that replaced the coil for $700, compared to $2000. What a scam. Even quoted the price before coming out - as long as they agreed on what the problem was, as American Air initially told us the wrong part last Friday, but after questioning and pressing them about a leak, he came back and said yes there is a leak in the evaporator coil. Luckily we did so or else we would have been back in the same situation next summer. As they only wanted to give us a 6 mo. warranty, February - really. Who uses the air conditioner then. He also jacked up the price of labor from $780 to $2000.Not happy that we have to go thru this or pay anything for a 2 year old house with a defective part, but at least not as much with this contractor. Won't use anyone on Rockford's list anymore, and definitely will not use American Air. Should have known better, but I had to use someone to cover the warranty (at least the part), thought I was doing the best thing by going back to the builder's contractor. Again, should have known better.

Description of Work
AC Evaporator Coil needed Replaced - Manufacturer Defect

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/08/2016


TURHAN AND TRACY G.

American Air is a group of noble HVAC professionals! The technician (Matt) carefully diagnosed the problem and took the time to explain to me details about what the HVAC should be doing versus what our system was actually doing. Matt had our system functioning properly within an hour after diagnosis.

Description of Work
Our AC units were not properly cooling our home.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/18/2016


Mark D.

On July 10 I noticed that my air conditioner unit was not functioning correctly. On July 11, I called American Air to come take a look and they were able to check it out that evening. After looking at the unit, it was determined that it was time to replace it. It was installed in 2002, copper piping was freezing, less than 4lbs of pressure. Since the unit was using the old freon the tech told me it would cost around $650 to recharge it (4 ton) and approximately $1200 to find and fix the leak. He also told me that the freon is being phased out and will no longer be produced in 2020. Based on this information a decided to go ahead and purchase a new one (They did not charge me for this service call). The tech called the office around 6:30 pm and their office gave me a call back around 6:45 to schedule an 11 am appt for the the next day to go over the right unit for our house. The service guy (Tony) showed up earlier than expected and was well prepared. He took measurements of the current air flow, window counts, and verified the right size of unit for our space by using a calculation program that he had. Based on the calculations it was determined that a 4 ton unit was the right size. He then explained to me 3 different brands that they carry in house (This was important to me because I wanted it done right away.). He told me the pros and cons of each. He did not push any specific brand. Based on this information a went with a Lennox that was rated as a "Good" on their chart. I paid $4600 for the unit which included the install and taxes. The also added a $75 permit fee which is the exact amount that the city charged them. They were able to put me on the schedule for a July 14 install date between 8-9am. The techs arrived at 8am and were ready to get to work. They worked nonstop and were able to finish the install by noon. Mike showed me how to work the programmable thermostat before he left. Both guys worked hard and very well together. I am very pleased with how the whole team at American Air worked together to get my air conditioner installed. Everybody seamed to be on the same page throughout the process.

Description of Work
American Air installed a new air conditioner for my house.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

06/23/2016


Christine H.

I, not so long ago, recommended American Air, I want to take that back. They changed. They use to be a great company. The way they're doing their billing now is they give you a package deal instead of like billing you for time or labor, for their parts or labor. They are over doing by promising coverage for like parts and labor for six months or nine months or twelve months starting at $377 all adds up to $503. I looked at the parts online that the guy replaced, like for the capacitor, I found one through Walmart for less than $13 and another for $19. They were here in June of 2016. I picked the $503 package because I felt a little pressured and when I told the technician that he got this real unhappy look on his face and I thought, oh my god their working on commission. So I called my bank this past Saturday, asked them to please do a stop pay, which they did. Then I called the business the following Monday and explained why I was unhappy. I told them about the guy getting a real unhappy look on his face and I said your paying the commission aren't you?, and he said, well no, points, and I thought, bull crap. So I did a stop pay on the $503 check and told the (inaudible) could have it and said that I would be sending him a $377 check, which I did the beginning of this week. I told them if they had a problem with it they could let me know and I would contact Six On Your Side and the Attorney General's Office.

Description of Work
I use American Air for heating and air conditioning service.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We have been on flat rate pricing since we began in business, back in 1989. With our current program, we give the client options for their repairs. They can do anything from a base line, minimum repair, to a premium repair which includes a one year follow up inspection and a better warranty, not to mention a thorough cleaning of the unit. This former customer chose a mid-grade repair level (rather than going with the simple fix), and after we performed the work (which he had signed an authorization for), he changed his mind. Most customers like the option to choose an upgraded repair, which can prevent further breakdowns.
4.0

06/04/2016


Ramez J.

The work that they came back to do they had to come and fix the mess. the person that came out to do the work did an excellent job actually he really did put too much time in to it to fix the problem that the company actually did, the mess that they did at first, do a better job of installing the heating and the A/C.

Description of Work
I used American Air for Heating & A/C.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

05/28/2016


Kajan V.

There were some issues with them: they were below average. The service they provided was really bad. I paid them $100 to come and do a big job but they were supposed to be professional.

Description of Work
I think I had American Air.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

I don't have a record of this address in our system. You must have the wrong company. Please remove review.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Snap & Crack  Lockmith

    Snap & Crack Locksmith is a bonded and insured locksmith company that’s been serving Columbus and the suburbs of Columbus since 2013. We have 4 storefront locations that are spread around Columbus for your convenience, below is a list of our locations along with some details about each location’s specialty. As a whole, we specialize in automotive, residential, safe, motorcycle, key duplication, and commercial locksmith services. We take pride in ensuring that our customers are 100% satisfied. To that end, we especially work hard to be one of the most efficient, quick, and reasonably priced locksmiths in Columbus. We’re able to do this by combining our skills, knowledge, equipment, and products. We believe the customer service experience starts with our dispatchers. Upon calling, our well-trained in-house dispatchers will gather all the information needed in order to provide you with a realistic and convenient arrival time but most importantly, an honest quote over the phone that is accurate over 99% of the time – no hidden fees or unnecessary upsells. Your 100% satisfaction is our #1 goal and we will work hard to reach that goal!  

    Accurate Locksmith & Security

    *I service Residential and Commercial, sorry No Automotive* Let me answer your questions now.-- PLEASE CALL DIRECTLY!** 614-764-5625 - EMAIL request may be delayed. Super Service Award winner 2008-2018! -614-764-5625 Family owned and operated with more than 30 years' experience, specializing with doors from the 1900s-1960s remodeled with new lock hardware, lock-outs, locks sold and installed, Electronic Locks installed, locks repaired for the security of your family. With 24hr assistance, .**Let me help keep you, your family and home safe.** I won't just lock it, I'll security It! accuratelocksmithsecurity.com  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Expert Lock And Key

    We have been working in the locksmith industry over 5 years now. We strive to provide the best solution out there. We are very friendly and ready for any job, small or big.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Heating & Cooling – Furnaces, Air Conditioners, Heat Pumps, & Geothermal Systems. Accessories – Humidifiers, De-Humidifiers, Air Cleaners, UV Germicidal Light, Media Filtration Systems, Programmable Thermostats, & Wi-Fi Thermostats. Plumbing – Tankless & Standard Water Heaters, Sump Pumps, Gas & Water Line Repair & Installation, New Faucets, Bathtubs & Showers, & Toilets, Water Softeners, Drain Cleaning & Repair, Garbage Disposals, & Kitchen & Bathroom Remodeling. & Electrical Services.

    Services Not Offered

    Boilers. Oil Furnaces.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about American Air

    How is American Air overall rated?

    American Air is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are American Air open?

    American Air is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does American Air provide

    American Air accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does American Air offer free estimates?

    Ask American Air for details on free project estimates.

    Does American Air offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, American Air offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does American Air offer a senior discount?

    No, American Air does not offer a senior discount.

    Does American Air offer emergency services?

    Yes, American Air offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by American Air?

    No, American Air does not offer warranties.

    What services does American Air offer?

    American Air offers the following services: Heating & Cooling – Furnaces, Air Conditioners, Heat Pumps, & Geothermal Systems. Accessories – Humidifiers, De-Humidifiers, Air Cleaners, UV Germicidal Light, Media Filtration Systems, Programmable Thermostats, & Wi-Fi Thermostats. Plumbing – Tankless & Standard Water Heaters, Sump Pumps, Gas & Water Line Repair & Installation, New Faucets, Bathtubs & Showers, & Toilets, Water Softeners, Drain Cleaning & Repair, Garbage Disposals, & Kitchen & Bathroom Remodeling. & Electrical Services.

    Are there any services American Air does not offer?

    Boilers. Oil Furnaces.