Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Allen Concrete Construction Inc

Founded 1983 • With Angi since May 2005

6 employees. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(48) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 48 reviews
Bonnie D.
5.0
07/16/2018
Scott and Chad did a great job, their work is great, our driveway looks fantastic. We are very pleased with their work and would highly recommend them for all yout concrete work.
Description of Work
Long concrete driveway and walkway replaced.
Category
concrete repair, concrete driveways, pavers, gravel

Service Provider Response

Thank you. You guys were a pleasure to work for. Thanks for the hospitality.
chris L.
1.0
07/07/2017
Allen said he could one but not the other as it was to far away. I explained the houses are less than 3 miles apart, still wouldn't budge. This is ridicules, I need a contractor that wants to work. Evidently this one doesn't.
Description of Work
I need two driveways done at two separate houses.
Category
concrete driveways
T M.
5.0
12/06/2016
Allen Concrete Construction provided an estimate that we agreed to. The work was scheduled several months out due to the contractors work load. Allen Concrete started the work very close to the schedule date. The delay was due to weather. The driveway tear out occurred in one day followed by the concrete pour and finish the next day. The cure time was 5 days and we were using the driveway again. Allen Concrete did a complete job including barricading, soil replacement, and a thorough cleanup. We opted for the rebar to strengthen the driveway. Overall, a good price based on other bids for the work and excellent work.
Description of Work
Replace concrete driveway.
Category
concrete repair, concrete driveways
Dana E.
5.0
05/28/2016
Very professional and hard working group of gentleman. Finished driveway in 2 days. Beautiful job. Very neat and clean job. Took special efforts to not damage anything adjacent to work site. Plan to use them again in the future.
Description of Work
Demolished and poured new driveway.
Category
concrete repair
Peter M.
1.0
08/10/2015
I called Allen Concrete to get a bid on doing a relatively large concrete barn floor (30 x 80). I spoke with the owner who said he was busy until early October. I was OK with that since I was in no real hurry to get the job done. He made an appointment with me to come out and look at the job on Saturday August 1 at 1pm. I re-worked my crazy weekend schedule to make room. He never showed up - no call, no e-mail, nothing...He lost a job by not even having enough decency to show up to bid the work. I strongly suggest you don't even bother with this guy. I strongly suggest you call Junior Oliver.
Description of Work
Was called to bid on a barn floor.
Category
concrete repair

Service Provider Response

I am totally sorry for this misunderstanding, around that time frame I had and message on the answering machine in the office with someone saying not to worry about coming to look at the barn floor they had some medical expenses come up. That person did not leave a name or number to reach them back at, so I assumed it was this barn floor since it was the only one that I had to look at that I knew of. Sorry for the miscommunication on my part. And Junior Oliver should do you a good job.
Ruth N.
5.0
04/22/2015
They were very professional and came on time and worked very clean.
Description of Work
concrete around the patio
Category
concrete driveways
Robert F.
5.0
04/13/2015
He came out very quickly and gave a very detailed estimate and provided a lot of good feedback. We ended up not doing concrete in the end, but will use him for any concrete needs in the future.
Description of Work
Provided estimate for patio
Category
concrete driveways
eric M.
5.0
03/25/2015
Overall, we are very pleased with our new concrete patio from Allen Concrete Construction. These guys are old school straight shooters. You won't get a fancy website, a long hard to read contract or much in the way of photos of completed projects but you will get an excellent final product. They probably would take your job on a hand shake. I searched around and evaluated contractors and these guys came out near the top for experience, ratings and cost. They showed up when they said and Scott (the owner) gave me options on what they could do and a verbal estimate of what it would cost based upon our design options. The owners son did end up emailing me some example pictures to help us decide. We agreed upon a price and they came back a few weeks later and wrote out a final scope and estimate. They also provided some completed jobs of similar patios so we could go to look at them. I had some other bids and these guys were at or just under everyone else. A few weeks later they showed up to begin the project when they said they would. They completed it on schedule (they planned it for a week). During the entire time they were professional and very helpful. The owners son Chad even made some design improvements that were better than what we originally had planned. They kept me informed about the process and always were helpful answering questions. They had to take down part of a fence for access and they put back up just they way they found it. The only surprise I had was the amount of destruction to my back yard grass from the heavy equipment. I figured it out in a few days but it would have been nice if they mentioned it up front so I could have been prepared to reseed etc. but not a big deal. Scott and Chad would be my first choice for any other concrete projects.
Description of Work
They poured a large exposed aggregate concrete patio in backyard
Category
concrete repair, concrete driveways
Vicki S.
5.0
07/03/2014
Allen Concrete provided me with a work agreement/contract within a couple of days of visiting my home to take measurements and discuss the work to be done. Once the agreement was signed, we agreed upon a start date. The work started promptly on the agreed-upon date and was completed within 2 1/2 days. The men who performed the work each day were some of the hardest-working guys I've ever seen. They didn't stop from the time they arrived each morning until they left in the afternoon. It was obvious to me that they each took pride in the work they do. Upon completion, they did a great job of cleaning up and restoring my yard to the condition they found when starting. I will definitely use Allen Concrete for any future needs I might have!!
Description of Work
Removal of old driveway and patio and installation of new, larger patio and driveway.
Category
concrete driveways, patios
Alan H.
5.0
06/27/2014
I contacted Scott Allen in April and asked for an estimate on doing fairly typical two-car wide driveway and apron and two sections of sidewalk. He came out promptly and we discussed details and options. I asked for rebar. Scott gave me a verbal estimate and followed up with a written quote. I signed the contract and told Scott that timing was not critical. I just wanted it done this year. Scott called me in June and said the next week looked good for his schedule and the weather forecast. He arranged for the permit and utility clearance. Scott and his crew came out when he said he would. On day one, they removed the old concrete, graded, put in forms, and put down a gravel base with rebar. They also placed a PVC sleeve under the width of the driveway for routing the sprinkler system water and control lines. The next day Scott and his crew of Chad, Kenny, and Danny poured and finished the concrete. Upon completion, they put soil in where the forms had been, replaced the flagstones from an abutting walkway that had to be removed during construction, thoroughly cleared the work site, and put up cones and warning tape before leaving. I am totally pleased with the final result and their professionalism and attention to finishing details. It was a pleasure to work with the entire crew. Near the end of the project, someone in a passing car stopped and asked Scott to see him about doing his driveway. I told him that they did excellent work and he said he could tell and that's why he stopped. I would definitely recommend Allen Concrete Construction for driveway and sidewalk jobs.The final cost was less than the estimate because Scott convinced me that only a small section of the curb need to be replaced and not the entire length. 6
Description of Work
Replaced a concrete driveway and apron and two sections of sidewalk.
Category
concrete driveways
Jariel D.
5.0
06/10/2014
They where called out because we were ripped off by another contractor and they had to come and fix the work that was started and the complete what was never started by the other contractor. They did a great job and very fast. They had to break and remove all old concrete then they drill hole into the remaining good concrete and attach rebar into it so it would be stronger and be able to attach to the new concrete. They are very professional and we will be using them again.
Description of Work
Replace large sections of concrete in Office complex
Category
concrete driveways
Ed B.
5.0
04/15/2014
Everything went smoothly with the exception of rain delays beyond their control. Scott showed up at the agreed upon time and provided an estimate that I accepted. Work was to begin two weeks later but was delayed due to weather. Chad arranged another start date and called that morning to let me know they were on their way. They brought everything they needed to do the job, and by early afternoon the concrete truck arrived and they were pouring concrete. The apron looks great and they did a thorough clean up job. Am very happy with what was done and did have a brief discussion with Chad about some other work that will need to be done in the future. Allen Concrete Construction will be doing this work as well when the time comes.
Description of Work
Replace my driveway apron.
Category
concrete repair, concrete driveways
Jackie W.
1.0
10/19/2013
It didn't go, they never showed up!!!!!!
Description of Work
Allen Concrete Construction did not perform any services for us because despite numerous attempts we could not get them to come and give us a quote for the work we needed performed. Very disappointed that they were on Angies List. This was our first attempt at using this service for a contractor.
Category
concrete repair, concrete driveways

Service Provider Response

First I would like to apologize for any miscommunication. Allen Concrete originally looked at this job months earlier and upon looking at the work to be done, I decided that I needed to return to the location with a laser to shoot some grades to see if the work the [Member Name] wanted done could be completed in the proper way, without having to do more work to make it correct. I tried multiple times to contact the Jackie with no return phone call to stop back by. Then about 2 months later [Member Name] husband contacted the office and said sorry for not contacting us back but now they would like to go along with this project if I could stop back by to look at it again. I called [Member Name] husband back once and did not leave a message, and then once and did leave a message and did not get a return phone call. I had just assumed that they found some one else to do the job in the manner that they wanted to go about. Allen Concrete is a small family owned and operated business that prides themselves in their quality of service and professionalism. If ever a question about our service please feel free to contact us. Allen Concrete Chad Allen or Scott Allen Chad 513-404-1715 Scott 513-646-6912 Office 513-858-6265 Chad is the one who looked at this job. Thank you all.
Mike D.
5.0
09/30/2013
They were outstanding and terrific. They came when they said they were gonna come and they were professional. I know that's a lot of money, I got other estimates that were similar but these guys were just kind of through the roof as far as professionalism, quality, getting the job done and looking incredible. They did a super job.
Description of Work
Allen Concrete Construction redid our drive, walk, parking path and outdoor steps to the lower level.
Category
concrete repair, concrete driveways
STEVE & BEVERLY P.
5.0
09/27/2013
It worked great. The owner's son, Chad, came out and gave me an estimate back in July and told me it would be until September for them to start the work. Mid-September I receive a call from them to come back out and make sure nothing had changed in my plans. They also brought topsoil and laid it out so I could start planting grass seed right away. The owner and son were very particular and professional.
Description of Work
They dug out the area that I wanted to have concrete poured in so I could have a sidewalk down the side of the garage leading back to the patio. They also extended the patio by three feet.
Category
concrete repair
Kathleen M T.
1.0
08/22/2013
It took Chad Allen close to three weeks to arrive for the estimate. He was on vacation one of those weeks. He lives about 1.5 miles from the job location. We both are on River Rd. in Fairfield City When I described the job over the phone, I was informed that he had a $1,500. minimum for any job. I assured him this would be over $1,500. since I wanted a new patio poured and repair work done on three areas where the step into the house was cracking into pieces. He also informed me that if I was obtaining more than one estimate his would be "one of the higher ones" All this without even seeing the job. When he finally arrived, he looked at the cracking steps (one step each going tonto front door, French doors off of the patio and garage door entrance) and called his father on the phone and talked to him about It. He also said he would have his father come and take a look at the job and then get back with and estimate. He also was going to bring a backhoe through my neighbor's yard and tear up their grass and then reseed when done (see what Junior Oliver did at his review on this web site at Oliver concrete) I waited for almost two more weeks, No calls, no estimate. At this point I hired Junior Oliver Concrete to do the job(see job details and his review, you will love having Junior do your work). When I told Junior what happened with Chad Allen concrete. He said he knew, b/c Chad had stopped when he saw him working ( on his way to or from home) and asked him how he was going to fix the steps. Guess that is why I never heard from him. At least I will say Chad didn't know how to do the job and didn't come in here and try to fake it. I will give him that. Some would have, just to get the money, then leave the owner with a mess! He could have a least been more honest with me, so I didn't put off the job waiting two weeks for him for look by dad and a bid that never materialized.
Description of Work
Arrived to look at concrete job both new and repair
Category
concrete repair, concrete driveways

Service Provider Response

First I would like to apologize about this mis-communication and for taking so long to get back with you. In the summer months we have a heavy workload, and I had left a couple messages. When I didn't hear anything back for a week or two I assumed you had moved on to another contractor. I apologize if this assumption was incorrect. Allen Concrete is a small company that provides only the highest quality products and services, which is why our backlog of work is usually 1-2 months. You had indicated to me that you would like to have this project done very quickly; that is the reason I referred you to Junior Oliver as he provides good quality work and usually has a much smaller backlog of work. Please feel free to contact me if you need further explanation on this matter, or if you feel there is something that can be done to resolve this misunderstanding. Sincerely, Chad Allen Allen Concrete allenconcrete83@aol.com Cell: (513) 404-1715
Constance B.
5.0
07/17/2013
Mr. Allen quickly responded to my request for a bid, with pricing below that of other contractors who bid it. His waiting time before he could start our job into his work schedule was reasonable. In my 40 years of being a homeowner, I have never seen a more professional group. They worked together seamlessly, with no drama so common these days. We quickly dismissed our thoughts on how the work should be done, as Scott Allen's suggestions were always better. We chose raised aggregate concrete, and just a week after starting work, it was completed. We have two small dogs that wanted to be part of the driveway replacement process. The entire crew kept an eye out for them, returning them inside in the three cases when they got out without our noticing that it had happened,. Mr. Allene's entire crew are consummate professionals, and while I am happy to have our new drive and patio, I already miss having them here.
Description of Work
Replaced driveway, front walk, rear walk, and rear patio with exposed aggregate concrete.
Category
concrete repair, concrete driveways
KIM R B.
5.0
07/15/2013
I have a very sloped driveway and due to settling and weather wear a section had cracked and disintegrated. Allen Concrete removed the old driveway and sidewalk to the front porch and poured a new one. Removal and forming was done all in one day. Pouring was delayed by a day due to rain but done the next day and completed. They were extremely easy to work with and if there were any questions either direction a quick phone call took care of them. They cleaned up any mess made and put up appropriate blocks and warning tape during the job. All forms were removed and yard that was disturbed was put back in place and dirt added for me to re-seed grass edge after the work was complete. I have had many compliments on the work and 2 of my neighbors had Chad do estimates for them for future jobs. I would definitely recommend them to anyone for any concrete work. Fast, efficient, clean, and it looks awesome!
Description of Work
old driveway and sidewalk removed and new one poured
Category
concrete repair, concrete driveways
Randi Z.
5.0
06/06/2013
They were really great. They were on time and even finished before they said they would.
Description of Work
They put a concrete driveway in for me.
Category
concrete repair, concrete driveways
Heather A.
5.0
05/27/2013
Scott was not only punctual in getting back to me but also came out within a few days of the initial contact to give me an estimate. I thought his price was very fair for what he did considering how professionally, quickly and neatly the work was completed. The work began around 9:30 am on a Monday and I was parked in my beautiful new driveway by Sunday morning that same week. Scott made me feel like family. I would definitely use his service again and recommend him to anyone needing concrete work.
Description of Work
Remove 9' wise x 58' long driveway and replace with a 16' x 58' wide drive.
Category
concrete driveways
Michael M.
5.0
05/07/2013
Allen Concrete did a wonderful job, going "above and beyond" to make sure the new sidewalk was properly leveled and with a proper base to made sure it stayed level. They completely cleaned up after their work. I would definitely call them again.
Description of Work
I asked Allen Concrete to replace the sidewalk and step between my driveway and front door, which had become unlevel. The work included demolishing and removing the old sidewalk as well as pouring a new one.
Category
concrete repair, concrete driveways
Paul W.
4.0
12/28/2012
Scott did a good job and worked around some really difficult weather. The only downside was the concrete hauler damaged the blacktop apron. Both should have known the truck was too heavy for that.
Description of Work
Scott completed a driveway job that another contractor started then failed to complete. The prior guy tore out the concrete. Scott graded, graveled, poured and finished.
Category
concrete driveways
Raymond L.
5.0
11/12/2012
His son and other guys started the work. Mr. Allen worked the last day and half. All the workers are very good to work with, Mr. Allen and his son answered all the questions that my wife has. Very professional, Mr. Allen told me the starts date after Labor day once he accepted my counter offer back in late July.
Description of Work
teared out and replaced 61X18 concrete driveway plus 16X4 walkway
Category
concrete repair, concrete driveways
Timothy N.
5.0
07/09/2012
Mr. Allen arrived at the designated time approximately 2 months prior to the installation and inspected the job. He asked appropriate questions regarding my expectations and point out potential problems. He gave me a verbal quotation at that time and stated that he would follow up with a formal,written quotation. The quote arrived via US Mail, as promised, a few days later. This was not an easy job. I wanted the elevations at all 3 mating slabs evenly matched and with sufficient fall from each point to assure adequate drainage. With a limited amount of elevation change available, the installation had to be performed very carefully.Mr. Allen and his crew were on time each day and worked consistently to complete the project in the allotted time. This was very important to me as I used a week of vacation to be there through the course of work. The results were as good as I could have expected. The finished appearance is excellent, the grade match is excellent, and cleanup, both daily and at job completion, was excellent. Everyone was polite, professional, and pleasant to be around.My only regret (lol) is that the results are so good that it makes me feel that the other 1800 s.f. looks as if it needs to be replaced! Based upon this experience, I will certainly recommend Allen Concrete Construction to friends and family.
Description of Work
Removal and replacement of approximately 1100 s.f. of concrete at the junction of an attached garage, an adjacent detached garage, and the main entry driveway.
Category
concrete repair, concrete driveways
Bernard B.
5.0
06/22/2012
I have recommended him to two other friends.
Description of Work
He poured a new concrete driveway, after tearing up the old one. He did what he said he'd do, did it within the time frame he said, and was very easy to work with.
Category
concrete repair, concrete driveways

Other Information

Services offered

Concrete flat-work & tearouts like sidewalks, driveways, patios, slabs, overlays & concrete stamping.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Allen Concrete Construction Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Allen Concrete Construction Inc is open:

Sunday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Monday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Allen Concrete Construction Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Allen Concrete Construction Inc offers free project estimates.

No, Allen Concrete Construction Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Allen Concrete Construction Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Allen Concrete Construction Inc offers warranties.

Allen Concrete Construction Inc offers the following services: Concrete flat-work & tearouts like sidewalks, driveways, patios, slabs, overlays & concrete stamping.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Helping Hands Construction LLC is a small company that provides numerous services at a competitive price. We have built our business on integrity, loyalty, and customer satisfaction. We are committed to keeping our clients in the loop with every step that is taken. Our goal is to built a company that stands out above all others by providing our customers the services they need in a timely manner at a great price.  

E Oliver & Son Concrete

5.0

(39)

Angi Certified

E Oliver & Son Concrete

Concrete services provided in and around Fairfield Township, Butler County and Warren County.  

Fencemasters & DRS, LLC was established in the spring of 1990. It has been family-owned and operated since. We serve the tristate area. We are a home-grown Christian owned company and we do our best to uphold biblical standards of work ethic. Please see our facebook link for videos of progress made at various job sites! https//:m.facebook.com/concreteandfencecontractor