Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A To Z Appliance Service

Founded 1961 • With Angi since July 2006

4.6

(54) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

600 E Dayton Dr

Fairborn, OH 45324

Description

Additional contact names - Neill Stemen, Nathan Stemen. Additional DBA - A To Z Service.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/20/2021


Rex D.

Very well. Zack was prompt, efficient and worked quickly, yet took the time to explain the problems and the solutions.

Description of Work
Freezer and ice maker in refrigerator not working properly.

Category appliance repair

5.0

09/21/2020


Barry R.

We live in Miamisburg and had been having bad condensation problems with our eight-year old Kenmore Elite refrigerator for a couple months. Lots of condensation on the outside of the fridge around the in-door ice maker--and ice forming in the interior door seam. Condensation was so bad at times, it ran down the front of the fridge and collected on our hardwood floor--required constant mopping. We first called a local Miamisburg appliance repair company--who sent out a technician to scope out the problem. After about 45 minutes, he couldn't figure it out. So, we called A to Z Appliance Service, and they scheduled a service call within a couple days. Their technician/Mark arrived early within the projected arrival window and went right to work. Within a half-hour he had diagnosed the problem and ordered the required replacement parts (the ice door chute assembly and a door seal). Mark returned several days later (9/16/20) when the ordered parts arrived. And, again within a half-hour, he had swapped out the parts. On both occasions, he was very professional, meticulous, knowledgeable, and personable. This guy knew his stuff! As of this writing (9/21/20), we've had no more condensation problems with the fridge. Great job A to Z!!

Description of Work
Refrigerator had excessive condensation on the outside.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for this review. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave it.
5.0

05/23/2019


KATHY P.

They did a great job and I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They serviced my Maytag washer and dryer.

Category appliance repair

5.0

02/06/2019


Elaine D.

This company was assigned by Lowe’s to diagnose and repair the dishwasher. Each time men came out, they were very friendly and professional, and answered all my questions. Dishwasher had electrical problems, which I know can be puzzling. Long story short, A to Z is awesome, but the dishwasher is a hunk of crap. Lowe’s kindly exchanged it for a like model, which also sucks. Thankfully Lowe’s has let us exchange it for a Bosch. A to Z guys rule.

Description of Work
Whirlpool dishwasher wasn’t getting dishes clean

Category appliance repair

5.0

07/10/2018


Elizabeth N.

Victor was pleasant and professional. He went above and beyond to ensure work would be covered under warranty. Unfortunately he needed to order the part required for the fix, but he was able to come back in a couple of days to complete the work. Both times he arrived early in the allotted time frame and I got a call letting me know approximately when he would arrive. I would definitely call them again with any future needs.

Description of Work
Freezer not cooling

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the review. We appreciate it.
1.0

04/04/2018


Albert R.

Avoid this company at all costs. First we didn’t choose them as they were sent out by our home warranty company to replace our dishwasher. Second they show up without their own supplies they actually asked to use our bath towels for clean up and both are very rude, this includes the owner, they didn’t introduce themselves didn’t explain how long it would take., etc. At this point my wife calls the office and the owner and tech start talking about her behind her back. After the phone call they walked out the door without saying a word, leaving not only trash on my floor but a pool of water on our kitchen laminate floor

Description of Work
Dishwasher replaced

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Our records indicate that we have only ever serviced your washing machine. We DO NOT replace dishwashers for any home warranty companies or dealers. If you could confirm which company really came out to exchange your dishwasher, I would really appreciate it. Thank you.
4.0

01/18/2018


Steve M.

They couldn't identify any specific cause for the odor. Suggested it might be in the copper supply line which I seriouly doubt. Stated that if it was in the refrigerator's water system or storage tank then the cost to repair would be a lot and would be better off just buying a new one. NOT happy with quality of Sear's Whirlpool Gold side-by-side as the refrigerator is only about 7 years old and the refrigerator's water filter has been changed regularly.

Description of Work
Odor in refrigerator's ice and cold water dispenser.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Sorry we could not pinpoint the odor cause. Unfortunately those are not as obvious as a broken wire. Thank you for taking the time for the review and apologize that we could not get rid of the odor.
5.0

12/28/2017


Cleo K.

Tech identified issue after thorough examination and provided explicit explanation of what happened and the necessary fix. Motherboard was replaced due to malfunctioning resulting in problem. Would definitely hire these folks again for any appliance repair.

Description of Work
Refrigerator wouldn't cool below 60 degrees and freezer wouldn't defrost.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review.
2.0

12/13/2017


Chelsea P.

A to Z was given our repair job by Whirlpool. It took 2 weeks to get someone out for a service call. They contacted me ahead of time to ask which part needed to be ordered. When they showed up, the technician knew nothing of a part, and had none with him. Which meant he had to order it and come back a week later. We were without our oven for 3 weeks. Whirlpool did cover the cost of the part, however, the cost of the service call and labor was double the price of the part, which we could have easily just ordered ourselves and took care of on our own. Also, this company will not give an estimated time window of the service call before the night before the appointment date. Less than 24 hours notice. Not enough time to make arrangements for taking part of a day off work. The technician did a fine job and was on time and professional, but the overall experience with this company was very frustrating. Will not use them again.

Description of Work
Replacement of glass sheet inside oven door

Category appliance repair

5.0

07/12/2017


Brian S.

Everything went very well. The technician new what the problem was before he even arrived at my house. Only took him about an hour. He was very professional.

Description of Work
Kitchen Aid Refrigerator was leaking water.

Category appliance repair

5.0

04/19/2017


Dennis S.

They were the factory approved rep for my appliance. They came to my house. Stuff costs more today but they did a good job. I had a little problem with the punctuality. The guy had trouble with his van. The van he had wouldn't start or wouldn't run right so he had to get another van so he was delayed. He was quite a bit later than the estimated time but that kind of stuff happens. I don't know what you can do about that. They were really late but on the other hand I don't know that it was their fault. You can't do much about that. I had to stay around all day and they ended up coming after 5 o'clock. They still came but it was much later. They were supposed to be here at 1 and I might have done something else if I hadn't had to wait on them all day. They cleaned it up good. They identified the problem and they fixed it. I have not had any more trouble with it so it's a good job. It took maybe an hour roughly. It was a refrigerator so they had to melt the ice to get to the part where the problem was so that took a little bit of time. They fixed it right away.

Description of Work
It was for a refrigerator repair.

Category appliance repair

5.0

01/01/2017


Vince T.

The technician showed up a few minutes before the scheduled appointment. Also, called prior to say he was on his way. The repair was taken care of in less than 30 minutes. Will call again if needed.

Description of Work
Water line to ice maker needed to be repaired.

Category appliance repair

1.0

11/08/2016


Emma L.

I scheduled an appointment through whirlpool to repair my washer. They emailed an appointment confirmation along with a link to track where the tech was and where my house was on the list. My appointment window was 12-3. By 3:00 the tech was not there and had skipped my house and was at the last house of the day. I called 4 times before I was able to reach someone and they said that sometimes the tech has to go back to a house with a part, which I understand. They didn't mention the fact my house was skipped altogether. They said they'd call the tech and see what was going on. I never heard back from anyone and was unable to reach anyone on the phone the rest of the day. No one ever showed up or called. This was 5 days ago and I still haven't heard back from anyone, even after emailing to find out what happened. I had to take the day off work to wait around just so no one could show up or even bother to call.

Description of Work
Nothing. I was hoping they could fix my washer but they never bothered to show up for the appointment.

Category appliance repair

5.0

07/26/2016


Donna G.

It was under warranty so there was no cost involved, but they actually went above and beyond even though it was under warranty. Normally, they do not do that when things are under warranty.

Description of Work
For appliance repair, we used A To Z Appliance Repair. They fixed the French door on our refrigerator.

Category appliance repair

5.0

02/19/2016


Dan B.

Everything went great. Entered my info online and they confirmed an appointment and showed up on time. I called to confirm with them after they responded to my online info as they requested. The only complaint I have is that I mentioned the Senior Discount that I saw on Angies List for 10%. I am 65 years old. The answer I got was that he couldn't remember what it said on the webpage. "It had been a long time since he entered that info on the webpage." Since I had looked at several providers, I wasn't positive that the 10% was on A to Z's webpage, but now that they have been here, done the work and I have paid, and I am writing this review, I have confirmed that on Angie's List it shows they have a 10% senior discount. I have an emailed copy of their invoice which my wife paid in full. (I was at work when they came.) Nowhere on the invoice does it indicate that there was a discount given. As happy as I am (and my wife was too) with there service and timeliness and professionalism, I think they owe me the 10% discount. Thank you.

Description of Work
Replaced bearings in Maytag washer.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review. I am looking into the discount situation and will be in touch. Thanks for bringing that to our attention.
2.0

02/19/2016


KATIE E.

The microwave in my GE microwave/wall oven combination unit stopped working. My husband called to schedule an appointment and was told they didn't work on GE appliances. So, then I checked the A to Z website and saw that I could schedule an appointment and that GE was a brand they serviced. That should have been my first clue to go somewhere else - but, A to Z came highly recommended, so I overlooked it. A few days later a technician came to my home. He seemed to not know what he was doing. He had to call several people, and finally determined what he thought the problem was -- control panel. However, he also mentioned that the problem may not be resolved with just that, and that I could be looking at other parts to the tune of $600-$700 each; eventually he recommended that I just try to get a replacement microwave. The part came in and the same tech came out to install it. Sure enough, it didn't work. I was ready to toss my $3000 unit to the curb when I decided that it was worth the effort to contact another company. The tech from the other company came out, immediately found what was wrong, and even disconnected the microwave from the oven so that we could continue to use the oven without having to flip the breaker on and off until the part came in (the microwave hummed when the door was closed - so to use the oven, you had to leave the microwave door open, then shut off power to the entire unit when done). The part came in yesterday and the tech came out today to install it and it's now fixed! Hallelujah! I almost tossed a $3000 unit when all it took to repair it was a $125.75 part. Glad I decided to go with someone else, and I'll continue to use that company in the future

Description of Work
Attempted to diagnose/repair microwave in GE microwave/wall oven combo unit

Category appliance repair, small appliance repair

5.0

02/08/2016


Fred B.

They scheduled a couple days out but called that afternoon saying they could come to work on the dryer. The problem was determined to be the computer after a detailed diagnosis by the technician. He was concerned about the parts supplier not having the part in stock and taking 2 days to get it in. The tech overbooked that day to be sure to get to put the part in after he picked it up at the parts supplier. He did not want us to be without the dryer any longer than necessary. Totally professional business. Service tech was very knowledgeable and was thorough in his work. My family will call them for any work if possible in our homes and will try to get them even for warranty repairs by the Whirlpool/Maytag company.

Description of Work
Repaired Maytag dryer within the 1 year warranty. Dryer would not operate.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to give a review.
5.0

02/16/2015


Franklin N.

Technicians called ahead and arrived on time. They spent approximately 30 minutes diagnosing the issue. They determined that the burner and switch had shorted out, and that the glass cooktop had also cracked. They stated parts would need to be ordered, they scheduled a follow-up appointment the following week. For the follow-up appointment, the same technicians again called ahead, and arrived on-time. They completed the necessary work in about 1 hour and demonstrated that the cooktop was now operating properly. They also answered my questions regarding how to prevent issues in the future. All in all, the service was prompt, professional, and efficient.

Description of Work
Replacement of failed electric cooktop burner.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We appreciate the opportunity to service your appliances.
5.0

02/04/2015


Jeffrey K.

He quickly diagnosed the problem and fixed it.

Description of Work
My washer was not working.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review
5.0

10/03/2014


carlton D.

This was our second time using the company, and it was a very good experience. The technician arrived on time, substantiated our belief that the units needed to be replaced, and was very helpful when suggesting brands as well as where we should go to get the best price.

Description of Work
We had them out to inspect our washer and dryer and to confirm that they truly needed to be replaced.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review
5.0

06/25/2014


Arthur L.

It was not clear which of two parts (replaceable) were at fault for the problem. However, the cost of the two parts and the labor to install them made it uneconomical to repair the oven again. The repairman gave us an honest picture of the situation.

Description of Work
Our oven ceased to function; the question was whether it was cost effective to repair it or better to go ahead and replace it (most parts for the oven are no longer available due to age).

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

We thank you for your time and review even though unit was deemed uneconomical to repair.
3.0

03/10/2014


LInda R.

My Whirlpool washing machine stopped working because the lid lock mechanism was faulty. I called a repairman I found on Angies List. After running a diagnostic, he could not find what was causing the problem, but it was working again. He told me I might want to contact Whirlpool if it happend again, as the washer was less than two years old, and they should stand behind it. Three weeks later the same issue happened again, so I contacted Whirlpool. They told me they would pay for the part, but I would have to have a Certified Whirlpool Repairman to fix it. The first repairman was not Whirlpool Certified, so I called A to Z Appliance Repair. They advised me that I would have to pay the $69.99 service call plus labor. The repairman was there on time, but was rather curt and demeaning. When I greated him, twice, he did not respond. He didn't bother to look to see what my name was, and addressed me as and quot;Young Ladyand quot;. It is quite evident that I am not a young lady. After he installed the part, he asked me if I knew how to operate the washing machine. Apparently, he thought I was the problem. The charge for his 15 minutes of work was $152.00. $69.99 for the service call and $72.45 for labor, plus tax. I feel the charges were way overpriced for the time it took him.

Description of Work
Spent 15 minutes installing a lid lock mechanism on the washing machine.

Category appliance repair

5.0

01/09/2014


Diane S.

Dryer was making a bad noise--sounded like something was rubbing. They came out--took dryer apart and found a golf tee had escaped into the belts and drum inside--got it out and were on their way. Very courteous and straight into fixing problem!

Description of Work
I used A To Z Appliance Service.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review.
5.0

07/17/2013


June C.

He's really good, the service is top notch, I'd give him 5 out of 5 stars.

Description of Work
He repaired my oven door, and has repaired my refrigerator and dryer in the past.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your review.
1.0

06/06/2013


Ronnie B.

Would NEVER suggest or recommend this company to anyone. The tech first came out and diagnosed the problem but said he had to order the part. He then came back a week later with the part but said it wasn't exactly right. He then had to order another part. He came back again and once again said something else was needed to fix the washer and dryer. He said it would take about one week to get in this final part. We made an appointment 10 days out to allow for a little extra time for the part. I took off work early for the scheduled repair in which they gave us a window from 3:30 to 5:00 pm. 4:50 rolls around, 10 minutes until the window was up and the tech has still not arrived, so I finally called the company. They advised me that the part didn't come in and the tech would not be coming. I asked the lady, who was very rude, if they were just not going to call and tell me that they weren't showing up and she said while I was on the phone with her the tech happened to call in and advised them the part wasn't in. How convenient that the tech just happens to call at the very moment I did! What a coincidence! They rescheduled the appointment for the following Wednesday with a window of 4:00 pm to 7:00 pm. We received our confirmation e-mail for the appointment the day before and confirmed. Then again they called us very shortly before the tech was supposed to be at our house and cancelled again stating the part still wasn't in. They advised they would reschedule the appointment to that Friday, 06/07/2013, for the same time window because that is what worked with our work schedules. So today we get the confirmation e-mail and they just changed the time window from 1:30 to 3:30 pm without any notice or question to us. This company has no customer service whatsoever! AVOID!!!

Description of Work
Attempted to fix Washer/Dryer under warranty.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your recent experience with our company. I checked on the part problem and the timing issue. Both of those were out of our control but we should have been more effective at communicating these issues to you. I have addressed this with my office so that we do not have this happen again with you or any other customer. I also apologize that this issue was not escalated to a manager before it got to this point.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Mr Appliance of Springfield

    We specialize in appliance services, maintenance, repairs, and installs, for all major brands and models! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Mr. Appliance of Dayton

    Appliance Repair in Montgomery County  

    Angi Certified

    Neli Virtual Appliance Repair

    COVID-19 SAFE VIRTUAL SERVICE. Virtually diagnose and/or repair your appliances and HVAC units today without anyone stepping foot inside your home! For $35 you can take control of your home appliance repairs and $50 heating and cooling via video chat with a certified technician when it’s convenient for you. Make an appointment today on our website. Neli's certified technicians will work with you to conduct either a diagnosis to find out what's wrong or a repair. You will use Neli’s advanced video chat technology during your appointment. Schedule your appointment today at nelihome.com or call us at (833) 876 0900!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Whirlpool Factory Certified Care center for all your Whirlpool, Maytag, Kitchen Aid and JennAir appliance needs

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A To Z Appliance Service

    How is A To Z Appliance Service overall rated?

    A To Z Appliance Service is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are A To Z Appliance Service open?

    A To Z Appliance Service is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does A To Z Appliance Service provide

    A To Z Appliance Service accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express

    Does A To Z Appliance Service offer free estimates?

    No, A To Z Appliance Service does not offer free project estimates.

    Does A To Z Appliance Service offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, A To Z Appliance Service does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A To Z Appliance Service offer a senior discount?

    No, A To Z Appliance Service does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by A To Z Appliance Service?

    No, A To Z Appliance Service does not offer warranties.

    What services does A To Z Appliance Service offer?

    A To Z Appliance Service offers the following services: Whirlpool Factory Certified Care center for all your Whirlpool, Maytag, Kitchen Aid and JennAir appliance needs