Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

1st Choice Glass Block LLC

Founded 2001 • With Angi since September 2003

4.6

(200) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3159 Berlin Station Rd

Delaware, OH 43015

Description

11 employees. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. Travel charges may apply. No extra charge for after hours service. Award winning. Additional DBA - 1st Choice Masonry.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

12/04/2020


Ian T.

Initial install pretty good. After 1 year and 2 blocks are cracked. Contacted Matt 3x and customer service and lifetime guarantee is out the “cracked” window.

Description of Work
2 X basement window

Category contractors

Service Provider Response

The window in under ground and needs a window well to keep freezing and thawing soil from damaging the glass block. We clearly explained that both time we can put to look at it we can’t help out people that want help them self.
1.0

10/07/2020


Julie A.

They showed up on they said they would, dug with back-hoe to install the new well, installed the new windows and backfilled with gravel. The wood casement around the windows has over 3/4 " gaps that were filled with some type of caulk. The windows have no trim and therefore the handles cannot be installed. There is no caulk around the outside of the windows and trim. There was no soil put down so there is basically big holes left to fill. One of the windows has too much gravel. If there was dirt put on top it would never grow grass. The quote clearly indicated a soil backfill. Not drain was installed. There was one originally.

Description of Work
Modifying the basement windows for egress compliance fitted with new windows and well. Backfill with gravel and soil.

Category contractors, egress windows

Service Provider Response

We installed the project per the contract . The basement is not Finsh and we did not finish the windows on the in side . We did not change her for the trim inside . The windows can’t be finished until the basement . We have returned all calls and emails in minutes. And she would not commit to a date to do anything . I can’t help people that want let us . We have been in business for 20 years and have amazing reputation.
1.0

08/02/2019


Christian D.

Owner, Matt, is not trustworthy and took money out of my account against explicit direction not too. Had to file police report and eventually money returned. Work was not performed properly and had to hire another company to lower and reinstall egress window with proper header support. They did not account for joist loads above window which was massive and only installed a 3/4” thick horizontal board where 8” thick was required per expert engineer. City confirmed it was not done right. He Tried to lie about number of rim jousts to try and get out of fixing properly. Owner lies and is a bully and also tried to charge extra without letting me know in advance. I would avoid this company.

Description of Work
Egress window Install

Category contractors, egress windows

Service Provider Response

This homeowner stole from us and paid nothing for a egress window we installed in a house he tried to flip . And we did this 3 years ago.
5.0

03/28/2018


WILLIAM E.

Seamless transaction. Met Matt at the Columbus Home and Garden Show. He was very knowledgeable and patient in answering my questions. Was on time with our initial appointment and installation of the windows. Installed two block windows with vents. Look great. Totally satisfied.

Description of Work
Install 2 block windows

Category glass block

1.0

11/04/2017


Sarah R.

Would not recommend. Lied and stated we didn’t pay (see screenshots of cashed check that he accepted on day of service, along with a written receipt form his employee stating check was paid) all because we left him a bad review. Unprofessional and deceitful business owner. Be careful doing business with this company.

Description of Work
Glass Block. This is a follow up review. I previously left an “F” rating for this company. The owner responded stating we never paid for services, which is a total lie. He gave us an estimate on 10/18. The work was completed on 10/23 and we paid them $380 for those services. They were supposed to install metal window wells the same day but brought plastic ones and told us they would return and never did. The problem with owner Matt Hildebrand’s story that we never paid is that bank statements don’t lie. Unlike him. I’m attaching pictures of our check, which was cashed by 1st Choice Glass Block on 10-23 the day of service. Additionally I have a written receipt from his employee, Steven Foster, stating the job was completed and paid for. This owner is the most unprofessional person I have ever encountered. We left you a bad review bc you flaked on your services, plain and simple. To retaliate by making up stories speaks volumes of your character. Other customers will be able to read your Angie’s List responses and judge for themselves.

Category glass block

4.0

10/11/2017


Danny T.

Schedule was delayed twice by the company and was very inconvenient. They apparently over schedule and come up with weak excuses to reschedule. The installation went very well with quality professional contractors.

Description of Work
Basement windows

Category egress windows, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

We don't service that area you must have use confusion with someone else. I look on the web and their is a glass block company in Cincinnati with the same name you mite give them this review thanks. But if you ever move to Columbus call us to put your windows in.
5.0

07/23/2017


Chad M.

Came out 2 days after agreeing to have the work performed. Very fast service. Work was completed in 2.5 hours from the time they arrived. Friendly staff that is experienced. Would hire again.

Description of Work
Replaced 5 basement windows.

Category glass block

5.0

09/28/2016


Elizabeth G.

1st Choice Glass Block responded to my initial contact within hours. He came that very day to measure and quote us a price. We hired him on the spot. 4 days later, two cordial workers arrived at the appointed time and efficiently installed all three windows in half the time they said it would take. They had assembled the windows at their factory. These windows are beautiful and such an improvement on our old, rotting, broken original windows. They are clean, bright, secure and were reasonably priced. We are very happy and highly recommend this company!

Description of Work
Three 24X30 glass block windows with vents in a 120 year old limestone basement

Category glass block

5.0

09/12/2016


Stephen M.

Project went very smoothly, they did a nice job of cleaning up at the end of the project

Description of Work
They installed an egress window in our basement and replaced our chimney cap

Category egress windows, excavators, masonry, glass block

3.0

04/20/2016


Rachel S.

Windows look great but they left a mess of all the previous material, glass on the floor, dirt etc.

Description of Work
Replaced basement windows

Category replacement windows, glass block

5.0

04/15/2016


Melissa B.

Excellent. Very professional and affordable. Even when there were a few challenges, they were able to accomplish the project fast and for no extra cost.

Description of Work
Basement glass block windows

Category replacement windows, glass block

5.0

04/11/2016


Steve H.

The whole process was wonderful from start to finish. First the estimate was completed professionally and when requested. Installation was completed in just about two hours and everything was cleaned up. I have already recommended Columbus Glass Block to a few other people who are looking to get windows replaced as well.

Description of Work
Replaced two basement windows with glass block windows each with a vent.

Category replacement windows, glass block

4.0

02/28/2016


BRIAN L.

The Egress window went well. The installers were good and the window looks good. The problem was with the communication of the owner. Apparently, the owner is a one person company. He didn't return my calls on the install day. I had to call to find out when the crew was coming out myself. He treated me like a non-pay after the job was over. Maybe this owner has been burned by customers or needs cash fast. I don't know. I would've liked to have been treated better. My intention was to pay him by the end of the day. He needs to work on the professionalism. I wonder how many other customers have gotten the same experience???

Description of Work
Installed Egress Window

Category egress windows, replacement windows, glass block

Service Provider Response

Our company is a small family owned business with six employees; however, the owner is extremely easy to get ahold and returns calls promptly. We are sorry if you feel like the communication was poor or did not have that experience. We have not had this complaint before. Your installation was completed on June 5, 2015. You left prior to our employees finishing the installation and ask our employees to bill you. We typically do not collect a down payment for one day jobs before installation and make it clear that payment is due upon completion of the job. We called you several times to collect payment, you returned our calls five days later and gave us a credit card. We are happy you are satisfied with our product. Sorry if you felt there were any communication errors. Thank you for your business.
5.0

02/25/2016


Deborah N.

The windows are awesome. It made a world of difference in the appearance of my garage.

Description of Work
installed glass block windows in my garage

Category glass block

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your business and your kind comment!
5.0

02/18/2016


BECKY & JOHN H.

Matt and his guys were focused on efficiently completing contracted work. They were willing to explain installation options and accommodate my preferences. I am pleased with the results and would hire again.

Description of Work
Excavated 16x 4 foot well and built retaining wall; cut 2 holes in block foundation, installed egress windows,

Category glass block

5.0

10/19/2015


Jennifer W.

We got all we needed - design ideas, materials samples, help with Historic approval submission. The work was perfect - we've had people stop and ask us many times who did our wall. Matt even went so far as to buy up the materials we would need in advance of any payment - because the supply in the area was running low. The work was done efficiently, with quality.

Description of Work
Designed and installed retaining wall Paved Driveway

Category masonry, hardscaping

1.0

08/22/2015


Jill B.

I am very sorry to say that it did not go well. Since we had used Rosati Windows in the past, I called them to ask about basement windows and get an estimate. The gentleman at Rosati explained that there is not a huge thermal savings by using double pane windows in the basement and he suggested we look into glass block. I asked who they recommend and he said 1st Choice. After checking out 1st Choice on Angie's List, I called Matt Hildebrand. I wasn't too concerned about the negative reviews in that one must leave room for error on both the part of the company and the person hiring the company. When Matt arrived we went to the basement and he looked at the 2 windows. This is pretty standard work for them, so he began to tell me what the would do. I had reviewed the comments on Angie's List, I noted that 2 of the most recent problems occurred during the last 6 months. And water leakage around a glass block window was one of the concerns. So I mentioned that I had read the reviews and asked what would happen if the glass block window leaked. This question was like "poking a bear." He came back with asking me if that review was from the "crazy Asian lady?" I had no idea since names are not used on Angie's List. Then I was told that for "every 10 thousand jobs we do, if I p*** off 2 people, then I call that a win." Then I asked about the insulation around the windows. At that point he said, "I do not want to do this job. It is going to be more trouble than it is worth." And he left. I have since gone back and read the reviews again. It seems to me that when a job goes well, then hooray. But if anyone questions the work, then watch out. His responses to the customer who writes a negative comment are not in the spirit of cooperation or apologetic. It will be interesting to see what he has to say about my review. I suggest to anyone who reads this and is considering using 1st Choice, to be very careful. I would check out the A RATED companies first.

Description of Work
I was getting an estimate to replace 2 basement windows as a surprise for my daughter at her house. We belong to Angie's List in Cincinnati and she belongs in Columbus. Matt Hildebrand came out to give us an estimate on replacing 2 basement windows with glass block.

Category replacement windows, glass block

Service Provider Response

This member is using Angie's list wrong with in 3 minutes of being in her home . We decide not to give her an estimate or do her work. She was simply looking to have a bad experience. We left asap after her attack. If you read this and cant tell she is nuts please don't call us for an your services. Over 15 year and 150000 happy customers and 2 not happy that A+ service on our end we stand behind proudly behind our ratings .
5.0

07/23/2015


Denise S.

I called on Tuesday and they came out on Wednesday with a quote. They installed on Thursday afternoon. Brought in 6 basement windows and a nice size window for my kitchenette. They were friendly, worked quickly, and treated me with respect. I was appreciative of all the guys who worked hard, cleaned up and let me razz them. It was a long afternoon with the kitchenette window as it was up high and very heavy. Basement windows were done so quickly that I couldn't even tell you how long it took.

Description of Work
Thanks for coming out so quickly and putting in my basement windows in my rental. They look amazing. Thanks for a beautiful new kitchen window that brings in beautiful light and keeps the weather at bay. I enjoyed working with you all and you are all amazing. I will be calling again for more windows.

Category replacement windows, glass block

3.0

06/29/2015


CURT B.

We had to have another contractor fix the problems incurred by 1st Choice.

Description of Work
window

Category replacement windows, glass block

Service Provider Response

I wish you would of called us. Mabe we could of helped you out.
5.0

06/28/2015


Theodore F.

Excellent. Matt was prompt and professional providing the quote. He had us on his schedule two days later with a very good, competitive, quote. Two days later the crew showed up cheerfully on a rainy day just a little bit after the promised time. They did the work professionally, explaining to me each step of the way what they were doing. They were very conscientious about mud and dirt on a rainy day so they were careful to have one inside worker and one outside worker. The outside worker didn't come inside until they were almost finished with the whole project. The work appears to be exactly as promised and I was very surprised at their punctuality, professionalism, and quality of work. I very much recommend 1St Choice.

Description of Work
Replaced four basement windows (wood frames) with glass block and installed one window well.

Category replacement windows, glass block

4.0

06/24/2015


Gary R.

Job went well. Guys worked in difficult area.

Description of Work
Removed and replaced all basement windows

Category replacement windows, glass block

5.0

05/21/2015


Deana P.

Both the estimate and the installation process went smoothly. I have a hard work schedule for availability and they accommodated without hassle. They were in and out in less than an hour and the work was amazing!

Description of Work
installed glass block window with vent in basement

Category replacement windows, glass block

5.0

05/01/2015


Kevin P.

They provided a very reasonable quote and timely built the egress. I look the step that was built into the retaining wall blocks and my children enjoy it too. Overall a very nice job. I painted it just this week and it looks great.

Description of Work
Installed a large egress with retaining wall blocks.

Category egress windows, glass block, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review.
2.0

03/24/2015


Huachun Z.

The glassblock repacement in my finished basement went smoothly. They look nice afterwards. However after the installation, I noticed cold air flow into the basement. I called the company and complained the leak. They sent someone back to check after a week and said it was caused by the broken trim between the window block and the wall. It was not there before they installed the glassblock. I checked the leak and the edge of the board was damaged when they replaced the window. Matt, the owner said it was not their responsibility!! Though he can fix it with caulking since he has plenty of it but I need pay him extra $150 and have to wait another week or two. Now I have to either fix their damage by myself, or pay extra to him and the extra heating bill during the waiting time! I will not use this company again! And I won't recommend this company to anyone if you want the job done correctly, unless you have someone handy at home to fix the damage or want to pay extra afterwards!

Description of Work
Replaced three basement window with glassblock in a finished basement

Category replacement windows, glass block

Service Provider Response

This person extorted us to do work not in our contract and we did not do the extra work. And now we have a bad review from them. We have all most all A 's And Angies List calls us weekly to advertise because of our rateings.
5.0

03/16/2015


Roger M.

They did a fantastic job and it didn't take long for them to take out the old windows and put in the new ones. I would defiantly recommend them.

Description of Work
They replaced two regular sized cheap basement windows with beautiful glass block.

Category replacement windows, glass block

Service Provider Response

Thank you! We appreciate your kind words.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Archadeck of Columbus

    WE DO NOT OFFER DECK REPAIRS. Archadeck is a custom designer and builder of wood decks, composite decks, screened porches, gazebos, pergolas, 3 season rooms, paver patios, outdoor kitchens, fireplaces and firepits. Let us take care of all your outdoor living needs!  

    Offers by Archadeck of Columbus on Angi
    Flores Landscaping Services Inc

    Flores Landscapes is dedicated to exceeding the expectations of clients though high integrity and accountability. We understand that your home is likely the most valuable asset you will ever own - both financially and sentimentally. Flores will enhance the outdoor aesthetics of your home, while making the process smooth and professional. Additional email: info@FloresLandscapes.com.  

    Plant Masonry

    Family owned. Additional contact name - Jerry Plant. Additional email - jerryplant@plantmasonry.com.  

    Offers by Plant Masonry on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Windows, custom walls, glass block shower enclosures & egress windows, masonry repair, paver patios, & retaining walls

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about 1st Choice Glass Block LLC

    How is 1st Choice Glass Block LLC overall rated?

    1st Choice Glass Block LLC is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are 1st Choice Glass Block LLC open?

    1st Choice Glass Block LLC is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 AM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 AM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 AM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 AM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 AM

    What payment options does 1st Choice Glass Block LLC provide

    1st Choice Glass Block LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does 1st Choice Glass Block LLC offer free estimates?

    No, 1st Choice Glass Block LLC does not offer free project estimates.

    Does 1st Choice Glass Block LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, 1st Choice Glass Block LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does 1st Choice Glass Block LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, 1st Choice Glass Block LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by 1st Choice Glass Block LLC?

    Yes, 1st Choice Glass Block LLC offers warranties.

    What services does 1st Choice Glass Block LLC offer?

    1st Choice Glass Block LLC offers the following services: Windows, custom walls, glass block shower enclosures & egress windows, masonry repair, paver patios, & retaining walls