Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

MIAMI VALLEY CHIMNEY INC

4.8

(47) Verified Reviews

Founded 1995 • With Angi since June 2008

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

1721 Woodman Center Dr

Dayton, OH 45420

http://www.miamivalleychimney.com

Description

Welcome to Miami Valley Chimney, where for more than 25 years we’ve provided satisfied customers with expert chimney sweeping and duct care and cleaning services at fair and competitive rates. In addition to the thorough inspection and cleaning of oil-, wood-, and gas-burning chimneys, we specialize in the prevention, detection, and correction of chimney and venting system hazards—the kinds of hazards that can endanger the health and safety of your family and home. Our services include: •sweeping and cleaning •inspection •troubleshooting and diagnostics •waterproofing and leak resolution •repairs and restoration We use the latest tools and technology to ensure that your chimney and dryer venting systems are operating at optimal levels. All of our technicians are CSIA-certified specialists—up to date on NFPA standards and state and local codes, and ready to address the particular needs of your home. We provide comprehensive, reliable services that have stood the test of time. With Miami Valley Chimney, you can rest easy, knowing that our primary objective is to make your home heating and venting systems cleaner, safer, and more energy-efficient. In all our years of service we’ve never had a single complaint – every job is a referral....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(47) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

38

4

6

3

0

2

1

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

chimney repair (44)chimney cap repair (14)chimney sweep (13)masonry (12)water heaters (1)
Showing 1-10 of 47 reviews
5.0

02/06/2020


Dan B.

The inspection discovered other concerns. A follow up visit was scheduled promptly and the work was completed effectively.

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning & inspection.

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/04/2020

5.0

08/15/2019


Gary S.

Miami Valley Chimney replaced the cap on my chimney. They also removed an TV antenna that was attached to the chimney. Dave, the owner of this family business, provided a very competitive quote for this work. This work took two days. After the first day I called Dave about some concerns I and questions about the work. Dave came to my house early the next day of work. He satisfactorily addressed all of my concerns and answered all of my questions. When his crew arrived a few minutes later he talked with the crew about what needed to be done. Two crews performed the work on my chimney both did excellent work. One crew included his son. Both crews worked very hard to compete the work in a timely manor and with quality. The both did great job of clean-up before leaving. I would recommend Miami Valley Chimney to my neighbors and anyone needing this type of work.

Description of Work
Replace chimney cap

Category chimney caps,chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/12/2019

1.0

04/05/2019


Steven P.

If you actually want to get the work done, don't use these guys. They canceled the first appointment, and on the second try, they were too late to complete the inspection. When I contacted the owner, I expected to be treated fairly and given an apology. He gave me an attitude and cursed at me instead. He asked me, "Do you want us to do the inspection or not!" and when I said no, He called me an ***hole! I'm not sure how this company is still in business if this is how he treats customers. Stay away from this place!

Description of Work
Chimney Inspection for home purchase

Category chimney repair

Work Completed On 04/05/2019

5.0

10/15/2018


JULIE F.

They are the only company that said I needed to remove the old tiles on the inside of my chimney before putting in a new liner. Other companies said they could “gerryrig” it. No way. They spent a day knocking out the tile and a day doing the lining and brick work. They cleaned up the work site each day. They took the time to show me what they were doing. No, I didn’t climb the scaffolding to see the top! But I looked up the chimney to see that the tiles were removed and then again once the lining was in. They did an excellent job and would definitely recommend them. FYI—They were the highest bid— but not too much over the other bids. But you get what you pay for and when dealing with a chimney, I want guaranteed excellence. And I got it. I took a picture of the crown. Wish I had a before and after— couldn’t get one of the lining—just too dark.

Description of Work
I needed a new lining, insulation, cut out and replace brick on the outside and a 5 inch poured new crown.

Category masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair

Cost $3,495

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/05/2018

Images

Review for MIAMI VALLEY CHIMNEY INC - 1721 Woodman Center Dr, Dayton, OH - 37475778
5.0

06/21/2018


Carol G.

Very good. Quality and price were good

Description of Work
Chimney rebuild - 2 chimneys

Category chimney caps,chimney repair

Cost $4,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/22/2018

1.0

05/31/2018


Gary P.

Everything started out well. Owner showed up on time and explained why my chimney was leaking. Contract was written and the work was to be done within 2 weeks from 4/17/18. I haven't heard from the company since that time.

Description of Work
Repair chimney leak

Category chimney repair

Cost $900

Work Completed On 04/17/2018

Service Provider Response

Customer got lost in he shuffle.Called and apologized next morning and said we had a crew on standby, to please call.No one had called, not even to cancel.
5.0

03/01/2018


Richard G.

Very impressed with the workers. Arrived on time and took care to ensure the work was accomplished safely and efficiently. Kept me informed of the process as they proceeded.

Description of Work
Replaced a chimney lining with a stainless steel lining

Category chimney caps,chimney repair

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/15/2018

5.0

10/05/2017


Mike F.

The work, performed 8/30/2017, is entirely satisfactory.

Description of Work
When we needed to replace our hot water heater (gas), we discovered that its flue (exhaust pipe) was clogged. Mid-Valley did the work, for $176, in a timely and professional manner, providing the certification the water heater vendor (Home Depot) required.

Category water heater repair

Cost $176

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/30/2017

5.0

09/06/2017


Michael K.

Very well done. Broken bricks at top of 50+ year old chimney removed and replaced with concrete cap. Good bricks that were removed were used to replace broken ones elsewhere. Tuckpointing from roof up. Chimney power washed. Looked very good when finished.

Description of Work
Chimney repair

Category masonry,chimney repair

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/19/2017

4.0

08/05/2017


Pat C.

We got a quote from them for rebuilding our chimney. But then we found out it wasn't needed. They came out and he seemed to be very knowledgeable about chimneys. He told us a lot of different options we had for rebuilding our chimney. So in that respect he really seemed like he knew what was going on. I'd give them a "B" overall because of the whole not needing it thing. I thought the price was a little high. He came out very quickly.

Description of Work
Quote to tear down old chimney and put up a new one and replace all the flashing.

Category chimney repair

Cost $3,000

Services Offered

SPECIALIZING IN CHIMNEY REPAIR, CHIMNEY RE-LINING, AND CHIMNEY REBUILDS! WATERPROOFING & LEAK RESOLUTION, REPAIRS & RESTORATION, REBUILD FIREPLACES, REBUILD CROWNS, INSTALL CHIMNEY CAPS, SWEEPING & CLEANING, INSPECTION, TROUBLESHOOTING & DIAGNOSTICS,

Services Not Offered

ANIMAL REMOVAL

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check
Senior Discount
YES
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about MIAMI VALLEY CHIMNEY INC

How is MIAMI VALLEY CHIMNEY INC overall rated?

MIAMI VALLEY CHIMNEY INC is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

What days are MIAMI VALLEY CHIMNEY INC open?

MIAMI VALLEY CHIMNEY INC is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

What payment options does MIAMI VALLEY CHIMNEY INC provide

MIAMI VALLEY CHIMNEY INC accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check

Does MIAMI VALLEY CHIMNEY INC offer free estimates?

Yes, MIAMI VALLEY CHIMNEY INC offers free project estimates.

Does MIAMI VALLEY CHIMNEY INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

No, MIAMI VALLEY CHIMNEY INC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Does MIAMI VALLEY CHIMNEY INC offer a senior discount?

No, MIAMI VALLEY CHIMNEY INC does not offer a senior discount.

Does MIAMI VALLEY CHIMNEY INC offer emergency services?

Yes, MIAMI VALLEY CHIMNEY INC offers emergency services.

Are warranties offered by MIAMI VALLEY CHIMNEY INC?

Yes, MIAMI VALLEY CHIMNEY INC offers warranties.

What services does MIAMI VALLEY CHIMNEY INC offer?

MIAMI VALLEY CHIMNEY INC offers the following services: SPECIALIZING IN CHIMNEY REPAIR, CHIMNEY RE-LINING, AND CHIMNEY REBUILDS! WATERPROOFING & LEAK RESOLUTION, REPAIRS & RESTORATION, REBUILD FIREPLACES, REBUILD CROWNS, INSTALL CHIMNEY CAPS, SWEEPING & CLEANING, INSPECTION, TROUBLESHOOTING & DIAGNOSTICS,

Are there any services MIAMI VALLEY CHIMNEY INC does not offer?

ANIMAL REMOVAL