Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

JD Enterprises Inc

Founded 1993 • With Angi since July 2008

With over 20 years of experience, Jim Dorko of JD Enterprises Inc. is the proud owner of this family owned and operated business. We specialize in kitchen and bathroom remodeling, but we have many services that we can provide. Give us a call today!

Verified Reviews

4.7

(32) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 32 reviews
Tony C.
5.0
05/18/2019
The work was completed in three days for a very reasonable price. All materials were cleaned up and removed. Everything is completely functional and looks good.
Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel
Category
remodeling
Heather S.
1.0
03/08/2019
It was horrific what JD Enterprises put us through. We thought we hired a trustworthy contractor and he duped us. The bathroom is small under 100 sq ft and was worked on approximately two weeks. We had given him a total of $4,869 dollars over a two week period and our bathroom was still no where near completed. He attempted to make it look like he did more by installing the vanity and flooring, but the walls weren't done being sanded nor painted. Obviously you don't install a vanity and flooring without walls being done so sand and paint don't get all over everything new. He installed the floors over tile because he said it would be cheaper and stuffed shirts where there was no tile to make the floor look even. He wanted an additional $1700 for work for three days which included supplies which seemed pretty expensive since we bought supplies previously. We're pretty sure he stiffed us by claiming supplies were more than we actually needed. He did not have a jackhammer or tile saw to accommodate the job although took the job without us knowing any of this. We had to rent a jackhammer for $50. Into the third week of the job he stated he didn't feel comfortable tiling the shower nor did he have the necessary tools to do the job. Thank God he didn't get to tile we would have lost so much more money. We have since had four contractors come out and tell us all the work he did has to be re-done and with the money we have spent including time in it should have been done or very close to done. All four contractors said the tile floor should have come out before laying down the LVP flooring, bath fan rough in vented wrong, shower would have leaked everywhere with the floor pan being the way it is and drain wrong. The vanity and flooring should not have been installed. Can lights should have been installed in the shower. Thresh hold for shower height is wrong, shower box height is wrong to include one is off by a full inch. Green board in Shower without Kurdi system is wrong. We now have to pay an additional 5K to get it right. We have requested all of our money be returned. BBB and Attorney Generals Office has been contacted with complaints. We are in the process of taking him to small claims court and will be asking for additional money for pain and suffering to include court fees and time we've had to take off of work to find another contractor. PLEASE DO NOT hire him for anything he is dishonest and will charge you $70 hour to do work that seems to never get done and if it is done it could be wrong.
Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel
Category
plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling
Richard A.
5.0
01/19/2018
Jim was personable and and professional. His price was competitive. Our bathroom looks great and the walk-in tub is fantastic. Jim really went above and beyond, for no additional charge he fixed our front door which was sticking. We plan on having him update our other bathroom and kitchen in the near future.
Description of Work
Bathroom (5x8) fully remodeled with walk-in tub, heated floors, new vanity, and lighting.
Category
flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters
Roger F.
5.0
09/27/2016
I got a lower estimate from someone else. Their professionalism stood out.
Description of Work
I got an estimate from them for some interior remodeling.
Category
remodeling
Darrel W.
5.0
11/25/2015
It went great! This is a very reliable, knowledgeable business owner.
Description of Work
Fixed the garage door.
Category
garage doors, remodeling
William T.
5.0
07/06/2014
Outstanding all the way around. By the hour, but fair and quality work. Trustworthy, great attention to detail, knows their limits, understands code...wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.
Description of Work
Bearing wall opening between two rooms, door install and general painting...plus a bunch of other things to help prepare house to sell.
Category
remodeling
Deneen O.
5.0
04/20/2014
JD and his partner were EXCELLENT. We originally called JD Enterprise after seeing the great reviews on Angies' List to remodel our bathrooms and do some painting in our family room. Eventually we hired JD Enterprise to add crown molding and paint to several areas of our home. His work was SUPERIOR, the crown molding completely changed the look of our home. People are totally amazed at what there work. The level of carpentry and skill is unmatched. I am a Realtor, so I have worked with several contractors and they are by far the BEST I have ever hired. Very pleasant to work with, always accommodating, even when I changed something or did not like the outcome of something. They would immediately make it right. Also the price was not crazy...very fair. Again the quality and precision of the work was amazing. Best carpenters and painters and overall finishers I have seen in a LONG time. You can't go wrong with these guys.
Description of Work
Added painted several room and added crown molding and baseboard molding to our living room, dining room, kitchen, breakfast room area, and updated our skylight. Lastly JD Enterprise COMPLETELY remodeled our bar area and hung our new big screen TV.
Category
remodeling, home theater design, skylights, woodworking, interior painters

Service Provider Response

J.D. Enterprises thanks you for your review and endorsement.
Michael F.
5.0
03/17/2014
He had to remove an old deck then completely re-grade the area to get the proper level and grade for drainage. After leveling was complete he trenched 2 ditches in the area where the patio was to be laid and installed 2ea 4" drainage corrugated pipes that attach to our downspouts and now carry water from the gutters, under the patio and to a hillside where it is dispersed. He gave us a source to pick out the type of pavers we wanted and then presented us with several choices for the installation pattern. He had a crew that was always prompt, professional and attentive to our situation. Very satisfied with his work.
Description of Work
Built an approx. 500 sq. ft. paver patio. Then a few months later built a paver walkway around two sides of our house that leads from the front door to the patio and also a stone semicircle flower bed that is an extension of the patio.
Category
concrete repair, remodeling, sunrooms

Service Provider Response

J.D. Enterprises thanks you for your review and endorsement.
Robert E.
5.0
03/02/2014
Everything done was first class and clean clean.
Description of Work
Installed a wall including framing, wallboard, baseboard, taping, mudding and paint primer.
Category
contractors

Service Provider Response

J.D. Enterprises thanks you for your review and endorsement.
Laura H.
2.0
11/09/2013
I contacted JD Enterprises to see if they would work on a small back deck project for us. Jim came out to the house and met with my husband. He arrived early and called because we were not there early. My husband did arrive about 5 minutes before the scheduled time to meet. Jim looked at the project and stated that he would provide an estimate of the work to be done. We never heard from him again. I called about 2 weeks after he came out to the house - but he never called back. I feel this is very irresponsible. If he was unable to perform the work or if he was too busy to do the job - he should have just informed us.
Description of Work
I contacted JD Enterprises.
Category
decks
Donald R.
5.0
11/04/2013
They suggested a plan. The estimated the cost. they built it on budget and on schedule to my satisfaction. I was very pleased.
Description of Work
Build a covered porch and deck to match house
Category
decks, remodeling

Service Provider Response

J.D. Enterprises thanks you for your review and endorsement.
Martina M.
4.0
08/12/2013
Estimated $60/hour plus materials, could have been $600 to $800 for the project. States that doors were harder to hang and thus took longer, and replaced the hinges versus using the old ones. I asked for the receipt of the materials, he had them, but did not present them, nor did I insist. I was surprised that two people were needed for the project. My lesson learned is to get a firm price right away. He was very punctual, courteous, quality oriented and cleaned up the site very well. I will use them again.
Description of Work
Replace shed doors and hardware
Category
remodeling, doors

Service Provider Response

J.D. Enterprises thanks you for your review and endorsement.
isaac earl or frieda P.
5.0
03/13/2013
The one that we used last year was JD Enterprises Inc. They were excellent. He came and did the work last July. It was a couple week project. Our neighbor's tree fell on our roof. I think it was between $6,000 and $ 7,000. It was a very good experience. They would explain everything, answer your questions. And if you had concerns they would make sure they were handled. Very reliable.
Description of Work
JD Enterprises Inc did remodeling for us. They repaired the roof and then repaired the gutters and the painting of the exterior house. I have a hip roof, underneath they had to do some repairs.
Category
contractors, gutter repair, roofing, house painters

Service Provider Response

J.D. Enterprises thanks you for your review and endorsement.
Joseph D.
5.0
02/11/2013
A plumber had told me that the line to the shower was leaking and causing the water to go to the toilet drain (gravity feed) in the bathroom, but they did not want to deal with the situation because of the drywall and other carpentry involved. It was recommended that I find a General Contractor, which I did through Angie's List. We got back to the shower line, but it turned out that 1. The shower line was not leaking, 2. If the shower line was leaking there was no floor immediately below the shower line (went straight to the basement) to catch water and drain it over to the toilet area. (The relatively new toilet has already been checked 3 times, so we knew it wasn't the culprit.) Jim Dorko asked me to indulge him and he opened the cabinet to the kitchen sink and sure enough one of the drains was leaking badly and the gravity feed was drawing it back to the toilet area in the bathroom right behind the kitchen sink. While his associate fixed the kitchen sink, Jim fashioned a panel for the wall leading to the shower line, so we could access it again in the future without cutting drywall again. Jim and his associate were very nice, clean, and practical. If I had something already lying around, then that's what we used. We did have to go to Lowes and get a few things, but he got me 5% off of the materials. Jim was very knowledgeable about many things, we had a good conversation on several areas of my house and he enhanced my knowledge on how some smaller projects might be done. Finally, he mentioned that if I need any help on the projects to give him a call. He and his team would be ready to help with whatever project I needed to have done.
Description of Work
Inspection of shower water line. Confirmation that a plumber was incorrect on the shower line being the problem. Creation of panels in wall behind refrigerator to readdress issue if it ever come up. Identification that the kitchen sink was causing the problem. Fixed kitchen sink. Also reviewed a few other items and made some free suggestions and let me know his team could handle the issues if I needed them to.
Category
appliance repair, plumbing, remodeling

Service Provider Response

J.D. Enterprises thanks you for your review and endorsement.
Kip S.
5.0
12/03/2012
They were very nice and did great work, best part they cleaned up all their mess every night before they went home for the day. Will most defiantly use them in the future for other home projects.
Description of Work
We had ceramic tile installed in the master bathroom, new toilet and fresh coat of paint. Kitchen walls smoothed out, sanded and painted Wood work installed above the fire place
Category
ceramic tile, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters
Susan R.
5.0
11/26/2012
Overall the project went very well. The contractor did great work. The project started on the date scheduled and completed in the 6 days. The workers promptly arrived on time each day and worked very hard. They installed the drywall, tub, 3-piece tub surround, new shower head and valve, vanity, mirror, toilet, floor trim, HVAC vents, floor, and wall cabinet. The contractor brought in an electrician that did a great job on wiring. He also fixed a few things at no cost (these were things I new needed to be repaired prior to his arrival). The contractor also installed plumbing for the washer hook ups. Overall, the bathroom looks great and the hooks ups for the washer and dryer are installed that will allow the laundry to be easily accessible. I should also note that I asked a lot of questions on how and why things were done. Jim took the time to answer my questions. We are very satisfied and would use them again for other projects.
Description of Work
The bathroom in an elderly family members home was in need of renovation. The contracted was hired to complete renovation of small 3 piece bathroom (remove and replace everything) and install wiring and plumbing for new washer and dryer hookups on the main floor in 6 days. The $5,000 dollars includes cost of materials and labor.
Category
electrician, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

J.D. Enterprises thanks you for your review and endorsement.
Jim D.
5.0
06/01/2012
A+++ My experience with JD Enterprises was positive from the very beginning.... starting with the estimate. Jim was prompt and professional. He answered my questions honestly. He offered suggestions with no pressure whatsoever to adopt them. The price he estimated was reasonable compared to other quotes I had obtained. The project started as scheduled. The crew arrived each day on time, they were friendly, they could be trusted, and they met the timeline for completion. They were neat and organized. They were skilled. They did some extra improvements other contractors would not have done. Our finished deck looks great and we have received many compliments! We are super pleased with the workmanship. We would definitely use them again for home remodeling projects.
Description of Work
Our 20 year old deck was in disrepair. JD Enterprises tore down the old deck and replaced it with a new beautiful, well-built, custom deck. The new deck is over 400 sq ft and has a geometric design. They worked hard and completely satisfied our high expectations for quality workmanship along with the unique design we requested. They were a pleasure to work with.
Category
decks, remodeling, deck cleaning, home builders

Service Provider Response

J.D. Enterprises thanks you for your review and endorsement.
Claudia D.
5.0
05/24/2012
JD was professional and courteous on the phone, prompt in coming out for the estimate, and available the next day to do the work. They showed up when they said they would, had everything they needed, I signed their work ticket and they went to get the lumber & screws. They were diligent and hard-working all day, and finished up as expected. No surprises. Very pleasant experience. I would highly recommend them to anyone.
Description of Work
Provide estimate for installing railing on an old backyard deck, including removal of existing built-in bench. Carry out the work upon approval of estimate. Estimate included trimming edges of deck boards back to line up with structural members, buying pressure treated 2x4 and 2x6 lumber, balusters and coated screws, cutting away supporting members for bench, cutting and installing railing, and disposal of trash. Estimate was approved, and JD Enterprises carried out the work. At end of deck work, we discussed a dead tree I needed removed, and they took it down and cut it up for firewood, charging only their hourly rate.
Category
contractors, decks, hauling services, landscaping, remodeling, home builders, dumpster service

Service Provider Response

J.D. Enterprises thanks you for your review and endorsement.
william K.
5.0
10/21/2011
The overall experience working with Jim was very good. He works very closely with you to help you custom build exactly what you were envisioning. We started out wanting to do this project in 3 parts... deck, covering and then patio, but doing it all at once was going to be more cost effective. Jim was very receptive to all of my "Ideas" that came to my wife and I as the project progressed and in the end we got a beautiful deck that turned out much better than we imagined.
Description of Work
Contracted requirements - Demolished old deck and hauled away debris - Created new cement footers - Built deck - Built covered area on deck - Installed new electrical circuit to power 3 outlets they installed around deck - Installed spot lights for deck and patio - Installed ceiling fan with light Above and beyond tasks (no extra charge) - Installed Tyvek on exterior walls of pre-existing enclosed wall area - Rebuilt and shingled small pre-existing roof area that showed wood decay and improper shingling - Replaced pre-existing outdoor electrical outlet that was loose with current code compliant model - Installed ice-guards around all pre-existing door and window openings - Engineered the build so that it would be easy to enclose in the future
Category
concrete repair, decks, electrician, hauling services, lighting, remodeling, roofing, siding, ceiling fans, outdoor lighting
Deborah F.
4.0
10/18/2011
The workers were polite and knowledgeable. We had one issue with a firring strip but it was resolved. They cleaned up appropriately when the work was completed and made a few recommendations on some other small items they noticed on our house itself. Definitely would recommend getting a quote from them if you are in the market for some small home repairs involving carpentry / woodworking / porches.
Description of Work
Company tore out an old porch railing on the front porch steps. (It had become rotten because the previous owners of our house used untreated indoor wood for the railing.) The builder replaced a spindly, run-down railing with a nice, sturdy railing that should last a long while. We did appreciate the fact that this company is a company who typically handles large jobs but they were willing to do this small job for us. The company was also the first to respond of the three we called. We would use them again.
Category
decks, remodeling, home builders

Service Provider Response

J.D. Enterprises thanks you for your review and endorsement.
Cynthia F.
2.0
10/12/2011
I provide a list of the jobs I need/want to have done and explained that I was looking for a general contractor to handle/oversee it all. I also explained that I was expecting an estate distribution that would cover anything within reason, and made sure he understood that the neighborhood wouldn't support him retiring off my jobs. I asked for paint, stamped concrete, basement windows and landscaping. The kitchen and bathrooms also need work and we discussed that for the future, but i wanted to get a jump on the outside work before the weather got bad. He came back with samples of siding and roofing and a cryptic drawing whcih included decks and no concrete. It's as if he didn't hear me, and didn't read the list of things I had printed for him, but wanted to sell me what he wanted to sell. Maybe he had left over wood from another deck job? Maybe he was getting a great deal on siding, but not passing any savings on to me? Maybe he's got a roofer he owes a favor? I felt like there was no communication and therefore no trust. I explained my vision again of how I have always enjoyed walking out the back of homes, even when I was a kid, onto concrete with a patio cover. He asked me if I was looking to "recapture my youth". I found him to be a lousy listener, I found him to be rude, and his estimate was way over what the house and neighborhood would support, and based on work I didn't ask for to be done. I have now made arrangements with a painter, a concrete company, a landscaper, and a window contractor, and I'll manage it all myself while working a full time job and being a single parent.
Description of Work
A drawing was provided which was not detailed at all and inlcuded decks and landscaping. It didn't include any of the work I wanted. Brochures were provided for materials I didn't need and hadn't asked for. He provided a very high estimate that included a lot of work I didn't ask for.
Category
remodeling, home builders
Michael K.
5.0
09/01/2011
The contractor showed up Saturday morning, assessed the job, gave me a firm estimate and then came back Saturday afternoon with a qualified electrician. They removed a pendant light, installed the vent fan in the existing opening, attached it to the duct work, and then installed the pendant light in a kitchen light outlet over the sink. The jobs took about 2 hours to complete and were performed very professionally.
Description of Work
Installed a bathroom vent fan in an existing frame and duct and relocated a pendant light from the bathroom to the kitchen area.
Category
electrician, lighting, remodeling, home builders, ceiling fans

Service Provider Response

J.D. Enterprises thanks you for your review and endorsement.
Richard A.
5.0
08/14/2011
The entire process was very smooth. I placed a call to Jim and set up an appointment for an estimate. He came out and surveyed the damage. Jim provided a written estimate and a time frame for the repairs. Jim took care of all the details. My landscaping was covered before work began which ensured that my plants were not damaged. The crew was very friendly and always arrived on time to begin the work day. The work was completed in a timely manner while still paying attention to the details. They even swept my yard 3 times with magnets when they were done to make sure there were no nails left behind. My entire neighborhood was damaged by hail, so I was able to compare the work of JD Enterprises to what went on with my neighbors, so I know I made the right decision. The crew was not some random group of subcontractors and JD clearly did a better job than some of the crews my neighbors hired. The whole experience was very pleasant and I will defiantly be calling them again for my future needs.
Description of Work
After storm damage the following needed repaired: Roof was replaced, including new plywood. Gutters were replaced new roof vent Garage door replaced Window shutter replaced Window screens replaced.
Category
garage doors, gutter repair, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, home builders, doors, hurricane shutters

Service Provider Response

J.D. Enterprises thanks you for your review and endorsement.
Alison C.
5.0
04/27/2011
Overall, we are very satisfied with these services. They were very professional and thorough.
Description of Work
Energy audit on our home.
Category
home builders

Service Provider Response

J.D. Enterprises thanks you for your review and endorsement.
Natalie M.
5.0
11/16/2010
Jim (JD) was always punctual and he stuck by his estimate. He did not try to haggle me after the fact. He was always respectful and professional to me (I'm a single woman) and to my home. The job site was always cleaned up at the end of the day.
Description of Work
He built on a deck with stairs and a screened in patio as well as fully landscaped the property. He also fixed a water drainage problem in my yard that he did not even charge for which solved my leaking basement problem. The additional patio blended in with my home's decor but made it modernized.
Category
contractors, concrete repair, decks, concrete driveways, fencing, landscaping, remodeling, siding, replacement windows, garage builders, home builders, skylights, woodworking, doors, sunrooms

Service Provider Response

J.D. Enterprises thanks you for your review and endorsement.

Other local Pros in your area

CITY WIDE FENCE CO

Chain Link, vinyl, aluminum and wood fence installation  

Angi Certified

Mama & Papa Bears Painting

Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a local family owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

Angi Certified

Turner Painting Company

Your local Interior/Exterior Residential and Commercial Painting experts! We provide many painting services such as: Interior/Exterior Re-paint, New Build Paint, Cabinet Refacing, Deck Cleaning/Staining, Pressure Washing, and others. If you want a service that is proficient and professional, look no further than TPC! Don't forget to ask about our Senior and Military Discounts!  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

7670 Bigger Rd

Dayton, OH 45459

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

JD Enterprises Inc is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

JD Enterprises Inc is open:

Sunday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

JD Enterprises Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

No, JD Enterprises Inc does not offer free project estimates.

No, JD Enterprises Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, JD Enterprises Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, JD Enterprises Inc offers warranties.

JD Enterprises Inc offers the following services: Remodeling, Kitchen and Bathroom Remodeling, Drywall, Interior & Exterior Painting, Framing, Landscaping, Roofing, Window, Siding (including installation of James Hardie products), and Door Repairs