Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Greater Dayton Construction Group

Founded 1987 • With Angi since July 2006

4.4

(67) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4197 Research Blvd

Dayton, OH 45430

Description

Greater Dayton Construction, LTD. Is Dayton, Ohio's premier commercial, residential and insurance general contractor. Over the last 25 years our three construction divisions have built, restored or custom constructed 20,000 commercial businesses and residential homes from Columbus to Cincinnati. We

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Jennifer B.
1.0
02/14/2017
Victor came to my house, we discussed what I would like to have done and a general idea of what types of products I would like to use. After sending an email stating that he would follow up within 7-10 business days and a follow-up email from me, I never received a quote. Based on the conversation while Victor was at my house, my renovation cost (probably 20-40K) would not be worth their time as they are the TOP general contractor in the area. The lack of providing a quote when stating he would follow up with one and complete disregard that my renovation was not worth their time is unacceptable. I know of 2 others who have used them and thought that their service would have been better.
Description of Work
I reached out to Greater Dayton to provide a quote on renovating my kitchen and creating a better layout with my Living Room/Dining Room and possible Family Room.
Category
remodeling
Thomas B.
5.0
04/04/2016
Everything went well. Schedule went a little long but we expect that from most re-modelers. Good quality materials and management. Cost was on the high side including extras but I guess you get what you pay for.
Description of Work
Remodel master bath, family room, kitchen, master closet, rear deck and many other smaller improvements including many repairs which had been deferred.
Category
closet systems, remodeling, home remodeling
Roberta M.
3.0
02/23/2016
They didn't do a very satisfactory job. I had used them before. There was a problem with the guy that was the supervisor of the job. The siding job I did with them wasn't even good. They didn't finish it. There were somethings that they did well. It depended on which painter came out. There was one that was very messy and one that was very neat. I still have paint splattered on different things that I have to clean-up. They took woodwork off and then didn't put it back. I ended up with all of the woodwork in the garage and I'm not sure how to put it back. It's not usable. That didn't work out well. The guy that took over the project tried to get things worked out. My insurance paid for it, but they were higher on price. When they said that they were going to be here, they generally were.
Description of Work
Greater Dayton Construction Group repaired the roof, a chimney, and another place in the brick where there was some cracking in the mortar. They painted the interior of the house. They painted the ceilings and most of the walls.
Category
masonry, roofing, chimney repair, interior painters
Derek W.
5.0
02/11/2016
Troy, Richard & mouse highly skilled basement looks like a magazine. High end insurance job done, right by true professional.
Description of Work
Full tear out & replace water damaged basement with code up grades.
Category
basement waterproofing
Andrew W.
5.0
02/02/2016
Prompt service, accommodating to my schedule, project completed on time.
Description of Work
Repair closet, carpet, base board, laundry room as result of water damage.
Category
carpet installation, closet systems
Marie C.
3.0
12/18/2015
My house was damaged due to a fire. Greater Dayton was brought in by ou insurance company to secure our house the day of the fire. We chose to let the rebuild and remodel our house. My biggest problem with Greater Dayton was a lack of communication within their company. When we told them the finishes we wanted, the information was not communicated to the person ordering the items. This did not happen with every single item, but definetly happened too often. We felt like we had to call, email, or text them daily to make sure the house was finished the way we wanted. The Greater Dayton employees were all very nice to us. I have been told that the communication breakdown will be fixed within the company. If that happens, this will be an awesome company to work with.
Description of Work
Re-build/remodel of our home
Category
remodeling
Aaron D.
5.0
12/06/2015
Brad showed up on Monday morning as promised. Told me his plan and the work was completed on time and on budget. Rooms were vacuumed and wiped down. Great job!
Description of Work
Repaired plaster on ceilings due to water damage.
Category
plastering, water damage restoration
Sara H.
5.0
09/09/2015
They came to do the work when they said they would and finished in a timely manner. They cleaned up as they worked so there was no debris left behind.
Description of Work
The company repaired storm damage and installed new siding. They were fast and efficient. We would definitely use them again They were recommended by our insurance provider..
Category
remodeling, siding
Logan L.
5.0
08/26/2015
The project manager came to the house within 24 hours and arrived on schedule. He quickly assessed the damage and what would be needed to correct it. The contractors who performed the actual work were always on time and extremely skilled and professional. Greater Dayton Construction has done work for me before and is my first choice when work is needed that is beyond my abilities.
Description of Work
Repaired water damage to bedroom and bathroom ceilings, inspected roof and repaired roof vents to prevent further leaks.
Category
drywall, remodeling, roofing, water damage restoration, home remodeling
Sean C.
5.0
08/18/2015
Dave Sisson, proj. manager, personally ensured timely, quality work. Even took his own time to help move furniture back into place. Awesome.
Description of Work
Drywall repair, painting, carpet cleaning and re-tacking.
Category
carpet cleaners, interior painters
Jennifer R.
1.0
04/14/2015
Starting out they were very responsive until the sale was made. After that the communication was extremely poor with the construction manager. He would show up periodically while the workers were on the roof but did not keep us updated on the work on when they would be coming out. After the work was done we had a few strong rains and the ceiling started leaking. It came through the roof and the attic and all the way into our family room. The ceiling is now cracked from the leak. When we had them out (multiple times) they blamed us for the leak and told us that they were not responsible for the wood paneling under the roof shingles during the roof replacement - only the shingles. Even though when we were sold the roof we were promised by the sales department that any old wood would be replaced (and there were even some wood sheets they had available on the site that they did not use). After the fact they told us we would have had to ask for them to be replaced and it would have cost extra. This went on for months and they came out multiple times but certainly didn't seem in any way like they wanted to make it right. They were more interested in putting it back on us as if it was our fault. I have never been so unhappy and insulted by a service provider in my life. I would never hire them for a job nor would I recommend them to anyone for any job.
Description of Work
Greater Dayton was hired to put a new roof on our house due to storm damage.
Category
roofing
Carl W.
5.0
03/01/2015
Troy, the roof and ceiling pro, treated my home as it was his. Professional all the way.
Description of Work
Roof leak damage. Fixed/replaced roof tiles as required. Repaired ceiling in family room to like new condition.
Category
handyman service, plastering, roofing
James H.
5.0
01/13/2015
Their project manager and coordinator was very helpful through the entire process.
Description of Work
Repaired and replace roof and inside ceiling.
Category
carpet installation, basement waterproofing
James R. W.
5.0
01/10/2015
Everything went as planned. Reasonably priced & professional.
Description of Work
Reconstructed kitchen after fire.
Category
home remodeling
THERESA D.
5.0
12/14/2014
Everything went well and the finished product looks great. We've only run into minor snags with the carpet portion of the repair but Greater Dayton has been very responsive and professional with addressing our concerns and getting the snags fixed. This was a great company to work with and the crew was professional and courteous. I would definitely recommend them and I plan on using them in the future for other home improvements/remodeling.
Description of Work
Our finished basement flooded (5"-6") in Apr 20014 due to sump pump failure and we needed a company to repair the damage. Greater Dayton replaced the drywall (from floor to 32" up the wall), completely painted all walls, replaced floor trim, and stretched carpet. These repairs were due to basement flooding so only the lower portion of the walls needed to be remodeled/repaired.
Category
carpet installation, drywall, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, water damage restoration, basement waterproofing, interior painters, basement remodeling
Michael D.
5.0
12/10/2014
They are our go to repair guys. Have been for years
Description of Work
Repaired the damage from a leaking water heater
Category
plumbing, remodeling, water heater repair
Krystal F.
1.0
11/28/2014
I made an appointment to have a ventless fireplace removed because it is installed on an exterior wall with an open hole directly to the outside that lets in the cold/external air. I was hoping to have the fireplace removed before tempatures dropped below freezing.. Representative arrived on-time and we had a very good consultation. I was told the estimate would be worked up and I would be contacted in about 2 weeks. I was anxious to have the work performed, but never heard back.
Description of Work
Came for initial consultation, never contacted me again.
Category
remodeling
Lynette B.
5.0
11/05/2014
Contacted the company on Oct 23 for an appointment which was set for Oct 28. Company called to confirm the day before. Designer/project manager arrived on time and was equipped to answer questions, take measurements, incorporated my design choices. Set date for review of initial design follow-up meeting in a timely manner. Provided references of recent work and offered more if we need to see them. I had been dealing with another local contractor who has been jerking me around for more than 6 months so I was impressed by the professionalism of Greater Dayton.
Description of Work
Initial consultation for major master bath remodel.
Category
remodeling
Jon B.
1.0
09/16/2014
Contacted them about work on my daughter's house. They came and look at scope of work and said would have estimate within a week. After two weeks they emailed saying they were working on estimate and would be done soon. Emailed them next day asking when we could expect the estimate. Never heard from them again.
Description of Work
Contacted them about work on my daughter's house. They came and look at scope of work and said would have estimate within a week. After two weeks they emailed saying they were working on estimate and would be done soon. Emailed them next day asking when we could expect the estimate. Never heard from them again.
Category
remodeling
Suzanne M.
5.0
09/11/2014
These people were awesome. We were so impressed with their responsiveness and with the quality of their work.
Description of Work
Repaired our roof, house and garage from damage caused by a storm.
Category
remodeling, roofing
David T.
3.0
06/10/2014
In the fall of 2013 initial inquiries for our project were prompt and professional. In the Spring of 2014 when we were ready to make the decision as to who we were going to use for our addition there was extremely poor communication. We asked for a few changes to the original estimate and then we waited a month to give them time to make the revisions. We spent the next month calling, texting or e-mailing a few times a week trying to get information. Three months after contacting them for the revised estimate we still haven't received the information.
Description of Work
Cost estimate for second story addition and remodel.
Category
remodeling
Sonia R.
5.0
06/10/2014
Prompt service from the time the home owners insurance got contacted to end of project[one week].
Description of Work
Roof shingles replacement, water leakage and inside ceiling.
Category
remodeling, roofing
Jim B.
5.0
05/20/2014
GDCG did a great job. They responded quickly to my call, evaluated the damage, worked with our insurance company, and repaired and repainted everything. It was all done on time. The people at GDCG with whom I dealt were terrific.
Description of Work
Repaired damage from a pipe burst above garage (behind laundry room).
Category
plumbing, remodeling
Cheryl L.
5.0
04/28/2014
The Greater Dayton Construction Group employees and subcontractors were very professional and performed high quality work.
Description of Work
Complete restoration due to ice dam.
Category
remodeling
carol C.
5.0
04/28/2014
Went very well. The company and employees are very professional.
Description of Work
Paint the exterior of the house
Category
remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Block Tite of Cincinnati

    Cincinnati Ohio's Largest Distributor of American-made Pittsburgh Corning Glass Block. Block-Tite is locally owned and operated. We offer the strongest and most tested glass block on the market. We build and install using TypeS masonry cement (not silicone) All of our vents have dual pain glass sashes and are top of the line.  

    Angi Certified

    Footprints Floors of Columbus

    At Footprints Floors in the Columbus area, we're a step above the rest! We are a one-of-a-kind family owned and operated flooring installation and restoration business. We have spent the past decade mastering the installation and restoration of hardwood floors as well as the installation of laminate, vinyl, tile floors, backsplashes, staircases and baseboards. From small repairs to large refinishing and installation projects, we specialize in hardwood floors in Columbus and we pride ourselves on offering top quality workmanship at a fair price. One of the ways we keep our costs low (without compromising the quality of our services) is by completely eliminating the need for any type of showroom - decreasing our overhead, logistics, and staffing requirements and passing those savings directly onto you, our valued customers. For your next flooring project, make sure to impress with Footprints Floors Columbus. At Footprints Floors Columbus, Great Floors & Great Impressions are what we are all about!  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    MP Pressure Washing

    Give us a call or click to request a free quote today!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial general contracting, roofing, structural drying, mold remediation, fire damage repair, crime scene clean-up, structural collapse tree removal, sewer backup, drywall, remodeling, renovations, siding, water extraction, smoke damage, odor removal, wind damage, lead abatement, flooring, gutters, painting & hail repairs.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Greater Dayton Construction Group

    How is Greater Dayton Construction Group overall rated?

    Greater Dayton Construction Group is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Greater Dayton Construction Group open?

    Greater Dayton Construction Group is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Greater Dayton Construction Group provide

    Greater Dayton Construction Group accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Greater Dayton Construction Group offer free estimates?

    Yes, Greater Dayton Construction Group offers free project estimates.

    Does Greater Dayton Construction Group offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Greater Dayton Construction Group offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Greater Dayton Construction Group offer a senior discount?

    No, Greater Dayton Construction Group does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Greater Dayton Construction Group offer emergency services?

    Yes, Greater Dayton Construction Group offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Greater Dayton Construction Group?

    Yes, Greater Dayton Construction Group offers warranties.

    What services does Greater Dayton Construction Group offer?

    Greater Dayton Construction Group offers the following services: Residential and commercial general contracting, roofing, structural drying, mold remediation, fire damage repair, crime scene clean-up, structural collapse tree removal, sewer backup, drywall, remodeling, renovations, siding, water extraction, smoke damage, odor removal, wind damage, lead abatement, flooring, gutters, painting & hail repairs.

    Are there any services Greater Dayton Construction Group does not offer?

    Ask for details.