Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bockrath Flooring & Rugs

Founded 1959 • With Angi since September 2007

4.9

(154) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5557 Far Hills Ave

Dayton, OH 45429

Description

*We DO NOT install flooring that is not purchased through our facility. We DO NOT do wood resurfacing jobs. We DO NOT do wood repair jobs on floors not originally purchased from us.* Bockrath Flooring and Rugs is a second generation, family-owned and operated business serving the Miami Valley

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

04/20/2021


Paul S.

Excellent overall experience from sales to installation. For anyone not familiar with Bochrath, you may be intimidated as you enter. They have such beautiful displays that those accustomed to buying flooring from big box stores may feel they don’t belong here. The pricing is very competitive, there is no sales pressure, just helpful employees. The installation teams work exclusively for Bochrath. That’s the big difference. Bochrath offers a lifetime warranty on installation issues. Other stores offer one year. Think about that. They have to do it right.

Description of Work
Installed Karastan Vinyl Planks. April 2021.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

01/26/2021


Tony P.

This is an excellent company to do business with. Starting with Lisa our in store sales person, she was very knowledgeable and helped us pick the right flooring for us. She also followed up every step of the way. Chuck our installer was top notch, professional, courteous and a personal touch that we appreciated. We picked Bockrath for their reviews and we are happy to add ours to the many positive ones we read. This is a wonderful company to do business with from start to finish. Tony and Katie Springboro Ohio

Description of Work
Vinyl floor installation

Category carpet installation

5.0

08/11/2020


Donnie A.

Are you looking for a local company to do your floors? Doug and his team @ Bockrath flooring are the best of the best. A company with a big time feel but a small time personal care for there Clients. I would highly highly recommend Bockrath flooring for any of your flooring needs. Shopping at Bockrath Flooring a five star. Customer service was a five star. Installation was a five star. Honest local family owned business, thank you Doug and team for all your hard work and your care for our home. The Allen‘s

Description of Work
500 square LVT flooring Installed

Category hardwood floor, woodworking

5.0

07/29/2020


Sue H.

This company was great to work with. From the sales rep, Lisa to the installation crew. They all bent over backwards to be sure we were happy with our selections and with the completed job. I would recommend them again and again and will not hesitate to us3 them again in the future.

Description of Work
Replace flooring damaged by water. New bathrooms, hallway and family room

Category woodworking

5.0

07/22/2020


James S.

Lisa and Ryan from the store and installers Rich, Alex, and Brandon are outstanding professionals - What a great team!! Highley recommended.... responsive, knowledgeable, hardworking, personable, talented, tidy, customer oriented! Done right, first time, on time!

Description of Work
Bedroom carpets

Category carpet installation

5.0

07/14/2020


William O.

Recently we suffered a flooded basement and our nice Berber carpet was ruined. I checked Angie’s list for recommended carpet and flooring specialist. It was important for us to find a reliable contractor that would do the work for a fair price. A name that topped the list was Bockrath. I messaged Bockrath and was contacted by Doug. He sent Adam to our residence to give us a proper quote on the required project. Adam listened to our requirements and took the measurements of the space. He got back to us during that weekend with a decent quote. We went to Bockrath’s location in Far Hills (Dayton area) to check out the Carpet Showroom. We were met by Tom, who was supper nice and attentive. We told Tom what kind of carpet we were looking for and he showed us a number of samples of various quality and price. Tom also told us more about the company, their history and how they operate. The selection was very extensive, and we found a couple of carpets that we were interested in. We ended up going with the Classical Presence carpet in Daydream, which was in our price range and the closest match to our old carpet. Tom passed on the information to Adam, who sent us an updated quote. After thoughtful consideration we got back to Adam, that we would like to have Bockrath do the project. Bockrath was able to schedule us in pretty quickly for the installation, which was very important to us. We received a confirmation from Ryan with the install date and arrive time of the crew. On the install day, Rich and Alex arrived on time, as scheduled to do the work. They were very friendly and well experienced with a carpet install project such as ours (which included a carpeted stairway). They worked very hard and efficiently. Rich and Alex would contact us at different stages of the work to invite us to see the progress and answer any questions. Because of the extent of the work they had to come out on Saturday to complete the work on the stairs. I should mention that this great install team also did a super job of cleaning up any debris and the space looked great when they were done. There was no hard sales pitches at the conclusion, but they did leave informative materials on how to care for the carpet and possible accessories we might be interested in. Oh…. and our dog liked them as well. The whole process was top notch from the timeliness, professionalism, and knowledge of their craft. I do recommend that anyone planning a Carpeting of Flooring project check out Bockrath Flooring and Rugs.

Description of Work
Replacement Carpet Installed

Category carpet installation

5.0

06/14/2020


Jill M.

This company was outstanding! I cannot say enough about how great the service and final look was. They have a large showroom with loads of samples. They have professional project managers and interior designers to make sure colors are right and come to the home to assure we were comfortable before we committed to the process. The installers, Mike and Chuck were consciousness and very skilled installers. The floor is beautiful and it all fits perfectly. They moved furniture back as they finished rooms and cleaned up every day and at the end of the project. Bockrath also has a fantastic workman who installed all the baseboards as well as replacing our interior doors and casings. He is a true craftsman! This was a great experience and I would use Bockrath again without hesitation!

Description of Work
New flooring throughout house

Category carpet installation, woodworking

5.0

03/01/2020


Rhonda F.

Better that I ever thought it would go. It was so easy for us, the nervous customers. The Bockrath family flooring and Rugs... and its staff is..priceless, like family. Every question, every concern, was addressed, so expertly. I was so worried I would pick the wrong color. Doug Bockrath stated that the floor I choose was a home run! He was right. BUT..I have to really thank the installers, Chuck & Mike.These guys are the best..they went above and beyond. My floor looks amazing. My home looks so beautiful. Would I recommend? 10 fold.

Description of Work
Flooring. Hardwood

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the review.... So glad you LOVE your new floor and the experience 😀. I’ll be calling you to make an appointment to see it. Doug Bockrath
5.0

10/15/2019


Laura B.

Bockrath is top notch. Their customer service is fantastic. Doug came all the way to Cincinnati to quote our job, and he was helpful and patient throughout the entire process. They also employ their own installers...NO SUB-CONTRACTORS. I was thrilled to know this, and Rich and Alex were worth every penny. They did a fantastic job with the installation and even helped move some furniture afterwards so we could plug things back in and arrange items as needed before they left. The job was done right, and we couldn't be happier.

Description of Work
Carpet replacement (1500 sq. ft.)

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your trust and business. We enjoyed working with you and are so pleased that you are happy with the product and workmanship we deliver at Bockrath's We hope to see you again on your next project.
5.0

08/08/2019


Antonio J.

Excellent from the very beginning: measurements, schedule dates, timely installation work, etc. Apartment is aprox. 1000 Sq. Ft. Cleanness in removing old carpet, outstanding. Bare floor was prepare accordingly in particular, baseboard areas. The craftsmanship of both installers, Mathew and Mike is extremely professional. Difficult areas like kitchen, bathrooms(2), laundry where large appliances needed to be remove, was done without problems. And finally Dave’s quarter round installation, excellent. Overall, from 1 to 10 is a 10... Brent, thanks for your professionalism. Great Job.

Description of Work
Replacement of old carpet with luxury vinyl planks

Category flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Hi there !! What a terrific review. It was a real pleasure to work with you and your mom and dad. Thank you for taking care time to mention each and every name of the people that worked on your home. i hope I can take a look at your new beautiful home some day . Please stop in when you are in the area ! Brent Severson Project Manager/ Designer
5.0

07/21/2019


Pam C.

Based on Angie's List ratings and visiting Bockrath's, it was obvious that this was the company to install my vinyl flooring. Doug Bockrath, the owner, was very helpful in determining what flooring would be best for this project. The installers, Matt and Mike Youngerman, were professional, timely, neat, and exceeded my expectations. They actually needed to spend an additional day on the install to correct an old issue and went out of their way to make sure everything was going to be a top notch installation. I could not be any happier with the expertise, knowledge, and professionalism shown by everyone associated with Bockrath. I highly recommend them for your flooring needs!

Description of Work
Old flooring in master bedroom, bath, and closet removed and replaced.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

06/17/2019


Lisa F.

Gary Bockrath did an AMAZING job. The folds are gone and we can not see or feel any seams. He was timely, professional, friendly and did high quality work. The carpet is older but we were not ready to replace so this was the perfect solution. Great price for how long and hard he worked. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND FOR CARPET REPAIR!!

Description of Work
Carpet stretching

Category carpet installation

5.0

09/19/2018


Marlin M.

This company is a top notch organization. Top to bottom their personnel really did a great job. When I went in to the showroom to look at hardwood flooring the owner, Doug Bockrath, personally talked with us over the many different options available. We took several samples home to help decide which we liked best. Next the designer, Brent Severson, came to our house along with a team lead installer and helped nail down the remaining questions. Lastly, the lead installer Matt Youngerman and his brother Mike showed up on the install date and an outstanding job laying down our engineered hardwood flooring. We had a particularly tricky spot and Matt's knowledge and expertise was fantastic. The floor looks unbelievable and Bockrath Flooring is responsible. If I could rate them A+++++ I would.

Description of Work
Install engineered hardwood flooring

Category flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the positive review and your comments. We strive to please our clients and it sounds like we accomplished that with your flooring installation. We look forward to serving you again on another flooring project. Sincerely, Doug Bockrath
5.0

07/17/2018


kefu X.

Excellent job! Particularly, Matt and Mike, did a perfect job in the wood floor installation. They are very skillful installers and took great care in installation details. Their work ethics are the best of all. Make sure, you ask for Matt and Mike to install your wood floor. They are the best in Bockrath. Thanks, Brent, to work with us for the scheduling change due to the delaying of paint job.

Description of Work
change carpet and wood floor

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for this wonderful review. This makes us feel so good. Your trust in Bockraths and me is appreciated. We enjoyed working with you and your wife and I hope that when you need a rug or any other flooring item I am here to help. Sincerely, Brent Severson
5.0

06/25/2018


Teresa C.

I reached out based on their Angie's List rating and they did not disappoint. The end result is beautiful and I enjoyed the experience. If you are tired of your flooring, go see Doug Bockrath and Brent Severson at their massive showroom, as they are ready to assist! They also offer interest free financing available through Synchrony, and their own experienced installers. So go for the highest quality product, from a quality-dedicated team, and enjoy the improvement!

Description of Work
Floor replacement

Category flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thanks for this terrific review. It was a pleasure helping you. We truly enjoyed our experience working for you. We hope to see you again on the next flooring project. Brent Severson Doug Bockrath
5.0

04/17/2018


Judith D.

Very appreciative of their expertise, knowledge and professionalism.

Description of Work
Their trained technicians made a rug for my client and also installed carpet.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

01/26/2018


Yvette D.

We met with Brent to discuss our needs in carpeting, explaining our concerns for durability since we have two large dogs and one cat. Brent was the most knowledgeable person we've spoken with about carpet, had a great sense of humor and was a joy to work with! He was patient and really listened to us and not pushy. We decided on Karastrand SmartStrand and also explained we had new living room furniture on order, to which Brent suggested we take the samples we were considering to that store to compare against the fabric we'd selected; this helped us finalize our color selection. Brent promptly came to our home to measure and diagram the room/hall layout to minimize the amount of seams and decide the best placement. Joe and Brian were our installers and they were prompt, courteous and professional. Joe was very knowledgeable with many years in the business and answered all of my questions, even giving us helpful information about the proper handling of our grandfather clock when he and Brian moved it in and out of the room! They both were very pleasant to work with, cleaned up completely and took superb care moving our furnishings. Brent told us Karastrand cleaned up very well by simply using water and dabbing with a clean cloth until the mess was gone and he was right. One of our dogs became ill and got "sick" two nights in a row and I couldn't believe how well the carpet came clean without using any chemical spray, just water and paper towels and there's no trace of a stain or odor! We highly recommend Bockrath and will only use them in the future for our flooring needs.

Description of Work
We recently purchased a new home and wanted to replace the carpet in the living room and hallway.

Category carpet installation

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for a wonderful review ! This took time and thought and we really appreciate it. It was a real pleasure working with you on this project and I would love to see it sometime. When we have pets that are well loved it is something that should be considered when purchasing new flooring and SmartStrand by Karastan has been a real performer. One more rug to go ! Thanks again, Brent Severson Sales and Design
5.0

01/15/2018


Paula B.

They were the correct size and were bound and surged nicely.

Description of Work
I had two area rugs made

Category flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate your business and we hope to see you again when you have more flooring needs. Bockrath Flooring and Rugs.
5.0

10/17/2017


Michael W.

Once the floor covering was selected, Doug worked with us on selecting a date that met our requirements. As great as the carpet selection process was, the installation was also tremendous. The installers, Joe and Brian, were professional, neat, timely and prompt and exceeded our expectations when is came to the furniture moving. We are very pleased with the carpeting and installation that we purchased from Bockrath.

Description of Work
My wife and I needed our whole house re-carpeted. Our previous carpeting was 25 years old and it was showing a lot of wear. We visited Bockrath Carpet and met with Doug Bockrath. Doug is one of the best flooring professionals that I have ever met and worked with. He discussed our needs with us and helped us select a carpet that met our goals. It is the plush that we were looking for and he helped us get the color match we wanted. We are sure that it will last us another 25 years. Any future flooring needs that we have will be supplied by Bockrath Flooring & Rugs.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], It was so nice working with you. We enjoy helping people make their homes look their best. Please drop by whenever you might be considering more flooring. Thanks for the excellent review. Sincerely, Doug Bockrath
5.0

09/08/2017


Donald E.

Dave the installer did a fantastic job. He did not rush the job, actually spending an extra day on the install, which resulted in a first class installation. i would definitely use Bockrath again for future flooring projects.

Description of Work
Material and labor to install LVT in kitchen and laundry room, including removal of old vinyl flooring, skim coat, and removing and resetting shoe mold.

Category flooring contractor, woodworking

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] Thanks for the great review for Bockrath's and our installers. We wish you many happy years enjoying your new floor. Please stop in when you need more flooring. Sincerely, Bockrath Flooring
4.0

08/20/2017


amy B.

They contacted us right away. When we had questions, they got back to us right away. Their customer service was great.

Description of Work
Water damage repair for my floor. They installed laminate in about 1000 square feet of my house.

Category flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the positive review. We enjoyed working with you and we hope to see you again when you are doing more flooring or rugs. Thanks Bockrath's
5.0

07/11/2017


Ed J.

Superb. We were having a hard time deciding between hardwood floor/engineered floor, and carpet. If carpet, what brand - grade? Had been to Big Box and 3 floor specialty store before Bockrath. Brent at Bockrath was deciding factor in who did our floor as well as what we would do--he first took time to understand our need and situation before recommending anything. He had the most thorough knowledge of the industry of anyone we had discussed with and quickly helped us understand that KARASTAN "smartstrand" carpt was the ideal choice for our pet situation as well as particular home requirements. He personally visited to layout the carpet to minimize seaming before ordering; and quite importantly to us helped us coordinate new paint color for our walls with carpet color based on new furniture we were getting. Installation by dedicated Bockrath installers was very professional as well, they obviously took extra care and time to make sure the install was as perfect as possible.

Description of Work
New Carpet, Master Bedroom and Closet

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for this wonderful review . I really enjoyed working with you and Diane. The carpet you choose is beautiful and I would think it looks beautiful in your master bedroom. We hope to see you again when you are ready to tackle another room. Thanks again for this review and your trust you placed in Bockrath's and myself. Brent Severson Sales and Design Team
5.0

07/04/2017


Charles K.

Our sales rep, Brent Severson, took time to discuss carpeting options, and make recommendations. Our final selection was Karastan carpeting. Brent measured all the rooms and entry way and was prompt in presenting a proposal. He ordered the product and scheduled installation. Installation teams were on time and professional. Brent also followed up during and after installation to make sure we were satisfied. When shopping, we checked with other carpet/flooring companies, and Bockrath's had the best price. We are very happy with the carpet, entry way, and the service received from Bockrath's.

Description of Work
Recarpet home, 1600 Sq feet, and retile entry way

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the positive review. We appreciate the confidence you placed in Bockrath's and myself. I know you will make many happy memories enjoying the new carefree carpet and tile. Thanks again, Brent Severson Bockrath Flooring and Rugs
5.0

06/12/2017


barbara S.

Punctual, professional and did very

Description of Work
Recarpet living room, stairs, and hall

Category flooring contractor

5.0

06/12/2017


Karen S.

Bockrath Flooring and Rugs was recommended to us by the interior decorator with whom we were working. Our experience with this company from beginning to end was excellent. Our first contact was with the Sales Representative, Mr. Tom Kenney. He came to our home to measure the rooms and discuss the work that would be done by the installers. He was very professional, personable, and friendly as well as knowledgeable about the work the installers would be doing and the quality of the carpets and related materials. Mr. Kenny promptly followed up his visit with an email with a Quote/Sales Order for our approval. We visited the Bockrath Flooring store to finalize our order and pay the deposit. We found the personnel that we dealt with in the store to be friendly and personable and the store was extremely clean, neat and organized. Two installers, Matt and Brandon, arrived promptly on the agreed upon two days to prep and install the carpets. They both moved the heavier furniture carefully and did an excellent job while prepping and installing the new carpets. We found both to be personable, friendly, very knowledgeable and dedicated to a job well done. You could tell that they were interested in doing the best job they could and took pride in doing it right the first time. Upon finishing the job, they spent time cleaning up the work areas, and moving the heavy furniture back into place. Before leaving, they provided us with a folder of materials that address the guidelines for the proper care of both the Karastan Enhanced Beauty and the Philadelphia commercial carpet that they installed.

Description of Work
Removed 4 rooms of old carpet and padding, prepped and replaced with new padding and carpets.

Category flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for your kind review of our business! We are pleased that you found your experience to be professional and friendly. We thank you for doing business with Bockrath and look forward to serving you in the future with any of your flooring needs. Sincerely, Heather Howell Marketing and Social Media Director

    Other local Pros in your area

    Fabulous Floors of Cincinnati

    Resurfacing only 99 cents per square foot! This remarkable Fabulous Floors ® system brings back the beauty and character of your hardwood floors by gently buffing minor nicks and scratches in your floor's finish, without sanding away precious wood. Then adding a protective polyurethane finish to bring out the natural color and shine. Your home is a reflection of you. Your taste! Your Style! By restoring your hardwood floors to their original luster, you add beauty and value to your home. We also offer traditional refinishing and installation at discounted rates.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Teasdale Fenton Cleaning & Property Restoration

    Teasdale-Fenton is Cincinnati based, but people throughout Greater Cincinnati, Northern Kentucky and Dayton know our name and—judging by their feed back—really like us. It's amazing how far a little old-fashioned respect, honesty and hard work goes. We want you impressed with your results, satisfied with the price and happy to call us the next time you need cleaning or restoration. Also, keep us in mind if you have a fire, smoke or water damage emergency. Our 24-hour disaster response team is quick to arrive. Years of experience have made us the area's experts on that kind of large loss. Limited Liability Company (LLC). Owned by Mr. James L. Olmstead. In case of fire or water damage emergency, 24-hour disaster response team available. Award winning. We specialize in Carpet, steam, floor, upholstery, drapery, auto, tile & grout cleaning, pet stains, grout sealing, vinyl strip, air duct cleaning, mold removal, basement waterproofing, fire & smoke damage restoration. 10% off for military personnel and senior citizens!  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    OCD Cleaning

    Residential and commercial cleaning services offered, also help with laundry and any other special requests. Have over 15 years of experience. I supply all the cleaning materials.  

    Angi Certified

    No License Required for Trade
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Carpet, Rugs, Hardwood, LVP (Luxurious Vinyl Plank), Ceramic Tile, Full Installation packages along with our Lifetime Installation Warranty. * Our Rug Studio provides any size, any shape, any style to create your one of a kind Rug!! 6 different Serging and Binding options, Fringe, and The Rug Studio also offers Repair and resizing of Rugs.

    Services Not Offered

    Bockrath Flooring does not *refinish hardwood floors- Bockrath Flooring does not *Install flooring not purchased from our store.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Bockrath Flooring & Rugs

    How is Bockrath Flooring & Rugs overall rated?

    Bockrath Flooring & Rugs is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Bockrath Flooring & Rugs open?

    Bockrath Flooring & Rugs is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM

    Monday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Bockrath Flooring & Rugs provide

    Bockrath Flooring & Rugs accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing

    Does Bockrath Flooring & Rugs offer free estimates?

    Yes, Bockrath Flooring & Rugs offers free project estimates.

    Does Bockrath Flooring & Rugs offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Bockrath Flooring & Rugs offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Bockrath Flooring & Rugs?

    Yes, Bockrath Flooring & Rugs offers warranties.

    What services does Bockrath Flooring & Rugs offer?

    Bockrath Flooring & Rugs offers the following services: Carpet, Rugs, Hardwood, LVP (Luxurious Vinyl Plank), Ceramic Tile, Full Installation packages along with our Lifetime Installation Warranty. * Our Rug Studio provides any size, any shape, any style to create your one of a kind Rug!! 6 different Serging and Binding options, Fringe, and The Rug Studio also offers Repair and resizing of Rugs.

    Are there any services Bockrath Flooring & Rugs does not offer?

    Bockrath Flooring does not *refinish hardwood floors- Bockrath Flooring does not *Install flooring not purchased from our store.