Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Ad Kistler & Son Bathroom Specialist

Founded 1965 • With Angi since February 2007

4.7

(23) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3090 Meadow Park Dr

Dayton, OH 45440

Description

A.D. Kistler and Son has been serving the greater Dayton, Ohio area with professional, custom bathroom remodeling since 1969. We offer consultation with experienced designers and a Master Plumber on staff. We specialize in bathroom designs and renovations and have had the pleasure to work

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/30/2015


Billy L.

All the work was very professional. It was completed on time. All work areas were well cleaned. Floors were covered to prevent damage and reduce dust and dirt. Kevin Kistler took the time to meet us at a local home improvement store to make sure we got the correct products.

Description of Work
Installed 1 sliding shower door and a new marble walk-in shower floor with matching border. Installed two sliding bathtub doors.

Category flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, marble & granite, doors

5.0

01/09/2015


Michael B.

They were great with the planning and suggestions pointing out many options that I was not aware of. They were always polite and conscientious, on time, and finished the job on time and on budget. I would give them a 5 star rating and would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone. The saying is true " You get what you pay for".

Description of Work
Updated bathroom and shower. Replaced shower, toilet and vanity.

Category remodeling

5.0

10/23/2014


Julie E.

Description of Work
AD Kistler gets a rating of 5 Stars out of a possible 5 Stars from us! Archie and his son Kevin did a complete renovation of our master bath and updated another of our bathrooms. In each instance, the project began and was completed in a timely fashion, for a fair and reasonable price based on comparison estimates. No surprises. Everyone who worked on the projects was friendly and courteous. We were completely comfortable with welcoming them into our home. The living space immediately adjoining the work area and the outside access path to it were cleaned at the end of each work day. The craftsmanship was of very high quality and receives high praise from virtually everyone who see it. Most recently, we had a plumbing emergency not related to either Kistler renovation project. I called Archie for some advice, but he went way beyond any expectation we had by interrupting his evening to come to our house at 9:00 PM to solve the problem. We intend to use AD Kistler for the future renovation of our other bathrooms and highly recommend Archie and Kevin without any hesitation.

Category remodeling

5.0

10/07/2014


Marlene V.

Description of Work
repaired a leak

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

09/19/2014


Kari H.

The remodel went very well. They did a great job of keeping the work site clean and protecting the rest of the bathroom that wasn't being remodeled. Kevin and his crew were professional and courteous and did a great job of communicating and keeping us updated on the progress. They outsourced the glass for our shower and we were equally impressed with their company of choice. We had priced the glass out on our own with another company and they wanted to charge us 50% more.

Description of Work
A.D. Kistler and son ripped out a ceramic tile shower that was never properly installed from the builder and replaced it with a custom cultured granite and glass doors. I really did not want to do a total bathroom remodel seeing that the house was not that old. They listened to what I wanted and also replaced my double vanity countertop with matching granite and faucets from the shower to tie It all together. They also removed a half wall from the shower and replaced it with glass.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, plumbing, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling

2.0

09/04/2014


Brenda N.

The original quote was higher than we anticipated but we had used Archie before for a previous smaller remodeling project and he had good reviews. We decided to spend the extra money to have a quality contractor. Unfortunately, we had many problems with this job and we are very displeased. We are unable to recommend this company. It took 4 months from the date of the signed contract to the start of the job; much longer than we had been told. Archie informed us of where to go to pick out the tile and marble and cabinets. We inadvertently went to a Lowe's he had not recommended. He met us there but was displeased with the employee and said he would order from another store. This later appeared to be a problem, as he went (alone) to another store and ordered the pieces we had previously discussed. However, he ordered 2 mirrors that we had NOT discussed and that were too large to even fit in the allotted space. Our contract clearly says we were to purchase these on our own and not through the contractor. Archie was very insistent that we met with him and a designer at the second store and that we had picked out these mirrors. He initially told us they could not be returned. He was quite argumentative and insistent about us meeting him at this store with the designer and ordering these. We kept trying to drop the subject but he repeatedly brought it up and still was bringing it up (now in writing) 7 months later. We even went so far as to go to the store, talk to the designer and have him sign a statement saying he had never met us before!! Our main problem, however, was with the sloppy design, construction and unprofessionalism that permeated this project. Archie designed a 16 1/2 inch shower opening into our shower! We called him to our home to discuss this prior to the glass being installed. He insisted it would be OK and he proceeded with the installation. It was NOT Ok. My husband couldn't even fit into the shower without turning sideways! This should never have been installed and certainly does not meet code. Archie did not oversee the installation or contact us to check on it. We had to contact him to complain and insist this be corrected. He came out to "look at it" and then agreed that it was unacceptable. The repair involved removing all the glass walls, reordering them and relocating them. They filled the holes that were left in the tile and marble base but these were clearly evident. The tile and marble should have been replaced during the weeks between removing the original shower and installing the new one. We also complained about a protruding "point" they constructed on the knee wall that jutted out from the vanity into the path of entering the shower. This was not on our original design, where the wall ended flush against the vanity. We were told they had to do this because there were "pipes located in the point". There are no pipes located in the point and this appears to have been done as part of someone's "creative design". Even if there were pipes there, they could have been relocated. This is impractical, not in our original design and we have asked that it be changed. Archie has refused to address this. By the time the second shower enclosure was installed, 3 months had passed with us being unable to use our main bathroom. There were week long periods of time when no one was there to finish the work. When the shower enclosure was ready to be put up the second time, my husband told Archie he expected all the work to be completed immediately. This did not happen. The tiles were not replaced and the glass shower enclosure was installed anyway. The glue was never removed. The medicine door had holes in it where the hinges had been incorrectly drilled and not repaired. The knobs were never installed on the cabinet. Additionally, we were told by both Archie and Kevin that we had a credit coming back to us (from the $2500 due). We did not have a credit. Instead we were given a bill for an additional $4975 with no clear itemization of where the extra cost came from. It there was to be this type of increase, it needed to be discussed with us beforehand. To date, (September 4), the job is still not completed. We have repeatedly communicated with Archie telling him to finish the repairs and we will pay him. This is all in writing, with photos attached. We are now told he will come back to make the repairs the first week of October (minus taking out the knee wall point), 10 months after the start of the project. Our shower enclosure will once again have to be completely torn out (re-installed for the THIRD time), with tile ripped off the wall and replaced, marble ripped off the floor and replaced and our bathroom unusable once again. We are very displeased with this contractor.

Description of Work
Archie designed our bathroom renovation, which consisted of tearing down a wall between the vanity room and small bathroom, gutting the area and constructing a new single room bathroom. This involved replacing the tub/ shower combination with a walk in shower, replacing the vanity / sinks, installing new flooring, a knee wall, tile, cabinet and lighting.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling

1.0

08/28/2014


Sharon S.

Description of Work
I contacted this company to see if I could get them to give me an estimate on tile and flooring in my bathroom. I told him that I already had a sink/vanity purchased that I would need installed as well. I was told that he only used his products and indicated he needed to get off the phone and he would call me later. I never received a call back.

Category ceramic tile, home remodeling

5.0

08/04/2014


Laura E.

Very prompt when we had an emergency situation. They came when they said they would and were careful while working. Quality of work looks excellent. All the reviews before this were extremely accurate.

Description of Work
Repaired hole in shower wall. Installed new tile. Reinforced for handicapped bars at my elderly parents' home.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, handyman service

5.0

06/27/2014


Kirk A.

Description of Work
Updated and remodeled the master bath.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

06/23/2014


Dennis S.

Kistler and Son are professional, punctual, meticulous attention to detail. The bathroom is absolutely beautiful.

Description of Work
Total master bath remodel.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

06/04/2014


Eric A.

Excellent service and very reasonable for the emergency response.

Description of Work
I had a drain back up right in the middle of getting ready for Thanksgiving. I called Kistler and they came to the rescue the same day, snaked the drain and saved the day.

Category drain cleaning

5.0

05/31/2014


gregory S.

Description of Work
Installed walk in shower, took out old tub insert, relocated drain to fit new shower, replaced plumbing lines under bathroom sink at my request. Also installed grab bars on unit for my older sister in law who lives with us. Outstanding work, clean up every day before they left, called every morning to tell us when they were coming. Outstanding and professional people, couldn't be happier.

Category plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

03/02/2014


Deb L.

We are very pleased with our hall bath renovation done by AD Kistler & Son. Archie and Kevin Kistler are great to work with and we will not hesitate to use them for our next big project, the master bath. All work was done in a timely manner, although our mid-project addition of new windows, door and woodwork delayed the overall project by several weeks. Kevin always arrived when he told me he would, was always prompt, and would send me a text if he was delayed. Archie and Kevin, along with Greg, Nate and Lisa (tilework) were great working in our house with a high energy labradoodle. They were respectful of our home, cleaning up at the end of each day and very mindful of tracking construction dirt through the house. The bathroom was gutted and they were able to save most of the plaster walls, removing original tile and wallpaper installed without sizing. We used the same bath layout and installed new plumbing, fixtures, lighting, wall and floor tile, custom cabinets, granite countertop, windows, door, woodwork, and accessories. Archie recommended John Bordenkircher, owner of Kircher Design & Build for the custom cabinetry. John was able to match new cabinetry almost exactly to our rustic maple kitchen cabinetry and it's absolutely beautiful. Overall, the workmanship is outstanding and and we are very pleased with the function and look of our new hall bath.

Description of Work
AD Kistler & Son (locally owned small family business) remodeled our 1954 hall bath.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, wallpaper removal, replacement windows, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, doors

5.0

02/05/2014


Patricia M.

.

Description of Work
Gutted bathroom of 160 year old house. Added insulation to walls. Installed ceramic tile tub/shower enclosure. Installed ceramic tile floor. Installed new pedestal sink. Installed new faucets, shower head and grab bars. Installed towel racks, robe hook. Replaced all galvanized plumbing lines to bath and kitchen and from access point in basement.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, insulation, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

11/15/2013


Cheryl J.

Mr. Kistler has basically redone our entire home and yard. He does amazing work! They are very honest and trustworthy, and really go out of their way to make sure we are happy and the project is done to our standards. They make recommendations as they go along, and are very accommodating to any changes we might want to make as well. No matter what project we have, they will be able to do it for us, and if they cannot, will help us find the best companies to the work for us. They have been our go to remodeling company for over 13 years, we do not bother to go with anyone else, as we know the quality of work is top notch. Long story short- Anyone in this area that needs a job done and done well, you cannot go wrong with Ad Kistler & Son Bathroom Specialist. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for any home need! Many thanks to Art & Kevin and all of ther employees and a beautiful home, inside and out!

Description of Work
I recently hired Ad Kistler & Son Bathroom Specialist to redo my entire upstairs of our house. Mr. Kistler and crew are doing a massive amount of work which includes plastering, painting, sanding, installing a new ceiling fan and lighting, redoing the ceiling, installing a new rail for a very steep staircase, taking care of our squeaky floors, among other things.

Category flooring contractor, lighting, plastering, remodeling, woodworking, ceiling fans, interior painters

1.0

12/03/2012


Priscilla A.

see above

Description of Work
Called for an estimate and they were not interested in coming to our home to look at the job or give an estimate. We were having our bath remodeled and tiled and the said they did not do what we were looking for even though it is in their profile.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

07/05/2012


Chris W.

We got the names of 3 or 4 different companies in the area that did bathroom remodeling and obtained estimates from them all. A D Kistler and son was able to start the work right away which is what we wanted since my husband was off work for several weeks, so we chose them. They were very professional and kept us informed about when each step of the process was going to take place. Archie told us exactly where to go to pick out tile and it was ordered within a few days. They ordered the base of the shower to be made to match the tile. The work went quickly and the entire project was finished within 2 weeks from start to finish. It is beautiful.Each person that worked on our bathroom was excellent at their work including the drywall people and the tile installer, Tony. Each of them also took great care to clean up at the end of each day and to protect our floors while moving supplies and such in and out of the house. We couldn't be happier with the end result.

Description of Work
Gutted the shower in the master bath so that moldy drywall could be replaced. Fixed plumbing from original builder. Installed ceramic tile and molded base of shower with shower head, and handheld shower. Extended the size of the shower by about 1 foot. Painted the walls of the bathroom outside the shower. Installed/re-installed towel bars. Repaired ceiling by skylight. Installed shower curtain rod and was careful to get the heights of everything (in and out of the shower) just right. Each person checked with us about every step to make sure it was the way we wanted it.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

4.0

09/12/2011


Isaac H.

This contractor came fairly highly recommended to us by a few people and I am sure they do excellent work. Unfortunately I did not have the best experience in obtaining a quote. I contacted them by email through their website and they were not very responsive, as it took several days to even respond to me. When they did respond it took quite awhile to have someone come out and give an estimate. When they finally did schedule they had to call and cancel at the last minute for unclear reasons and ended up rescheduling on me. The subsequent quote bordered on outlandish in price and time requirments. The quote ended up being double what I eventually paid, they wouldn't have started for 2 months and told me it would take 3 weeks. The project eventually was started (by another contractor) the next week, was finished in less than a week and cost me so much less than this quote I could have added a nice used car to my bathroom project. My actual dealings with this company were fine and they were professional, but I am not so sure about the pricing. They were aggressive about insisting that I use certain suppliers which were clearly costing me a ton extra.

Description of Work
Quote for bathroom remodel

Category home remodeling

3.0

12/17/2010


Shelly O.

We never ended up and got the estimate. He was supposed to send us one within a few days. We had to call him back and he told us it was too far for him to drive, but he never called us and told us that. The professionalism was fine. I didn't care for the man, but that is just personal preference.

Description of Work
I tried to get an estimate from Ad Kistler & Son Bathroom for a bathroom remodel.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

05/02/2010


Kelly G.

good

Description of Work
I actually met with Art twice, to inquire about services and to get an estimate. He was very professional, very knowledgable and punctual. The estimate was a little high compared to another I received. I ended up going with the lower estimate but I have nothing but good things to say about my experience with their company. Very thorough and professional.

Category home remodeling

5.0

02/01/2010


John S.

The team of Kistler and Son were punctual, courteous, considerate of my schedule, cleaned as they worked, left with no debris behind, attended to detail in woodwork required, over achieved in the clean & replace silicon caulk, polite & smelled good!!!

Description of Work
Remove & replace lavatory and cabinet - 3 drawer banjo top with bowl - culture marble, hand-held shower, new lavatory & bath faucet.

Category home remodeling

5.0

01/25/2008


John S.

We were kept informed of exactly what was being done and why. The work was done quickly and the site was cleaned up very well. Archie and Kevin Kistler took care to see that there was a minimum of disruption to us or the rest of the house. The result was exactly what we had wanted.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel. Tore out old tub, toilet, sink and vanity. Installed new framing and drywall to widen and install over sized shower. Repaired previous termite damage to wall framing. Put in new sink, medicine cabinet and marble shelving. Installed new toilet. Installed extra wide door to accommodate wheel chair. Did drywall and painting. Installed grab bars.

Category contractors, drywall, plumbing, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

02/05/2007


KYM C.

Went smoothly, told us step by step what would happen. Even gave us a referral for drywallers. We just love the finished product.

Description of Work
They put in a full bathroom with closet into my basement. Ceramic tile, big shower, pedestal sink, had to add waterlines by jack hammering the concrete ground to make way for the plumbing. Also in another area in the basement they ran plumbing for a wet bar with high quality cabinets and countertop.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, plumbing, home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Dayton Property Solutions

    With over 10 years of general contracting experience, we offer you total property solutions: From handyman service to total remodel. 10% discount for cash payments!  

    Angi Certified

    Stauffers Painting Systems LLC

    Owner-operated company serving Columbus and Dayton surrounding areas. We are a full-service provider of interior and exterior painting. We have built our stellar reputation by providing quality painting services, expert customer service and reliability to our customers.  

    Angi Certified

    Wulfhorst Painting and Remodeling LLC

    Giving your home an amazing makeover with top-of-the-line painting is what we love doing at Wulfhorst Painting. When you're looking for a reliable team of painters to perform a fabulous transformation for your surroundings, you've come to the right place. We pride ourselves on delivering unparalleled workmanship with every project while maintaining open communication throughout the duration of the project. With our combination of industry knowledge, use of high-quality paints and materials, and dedication to delivering exceptional service, you can rest assured you're in the best of hands for any cabinet painting, exterior or interior paint job. We're proud to serve clients in Cincinnati, Dayton, Anderson County, and surrounding areas. Contact us today to begin your next project.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    -Consultation with Experienced Designers -Complete Bathroom Remodeling Service

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Ad Kistler & Son Bathroom Specialist

    How is Ad Kistler & Son Bathroom Specialist overall rated?

    Ad Kistler & Son Bathroom Specialist is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Ad Kistler & Son Bathroom Specialist provide

    Ad Kistler & Son Bathroom Specialist accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Ad Kistler & Son Bathroom Specialist offer free estimates?

    Yes, Ad Kistler & Son Bathroom Specialist offers free project estimates.

    Does Ad Kistler & Son Bathroom Specialist offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Ad Kistler & Son Bathroom Specialist does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Ad Kistler & Son Bathroom Specialist offer a senior discount?

    No, Ad Kistler & Son Bathroom Specialist does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Ad Kistler & Son Bathroom Specialist?

    No, Ad Kistler & Son Bathroom Specialist does not offer warranties.

    What services does Ad Kistler & Son Bathroom Specialist offer?

    Ad Kistler & Son Bathroom Specialist offers the following services: -Consultation with Experienced Designers -Complete Bathroom Remodeling Service