Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A E Fickert

Founded 1951 • With Angi since July 2006

DBA: AEF Acquisitions Company Inc. We are honored to have the opportunity to serve you and will treat your property like our own.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

3.7

(14) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews
Jim M.
1.0
02/03/2016
At first, Fickert was just so nice and understanding and friendly. But then things drug out longer and longer and longer. The crash occured on June 13th and Fickert didn't line up any subcontractors to start working until October. They naturally blamed the insurance company. The insurance company told us they hadn't received the necessary paperwork from Fickert until the end of September. Once they had the paperwork they immediately approved it. That could have happened in June but for some reason it took 4 months for Fickert to put the estimates together. Then the fun really began. Fickert, as a general contractor is interested in using the cheapest possible labor so that they can maximize their profit and boy did it show. It was so bad we actually had to ask the painting crew (Larry, Curly, and Moe and their supervisor Barney Fife) to actually take switch plates off the walls instead of painting over them. We had to ask them to please put drop clothes over furniture and counters so that they wouldn't spill any more paint on them. They guy they sent out to do the wallpaering in the kitchen told us he'd never done wallpapering before and had watched a YouTube video the night before. That is actually true. We had to demand that Fickert get them off the job. The repair work also involved installing new bookshelves and reconstructing a fireplace that had been destroyed. The cabinets that showed up where the wrong size. The fireplace was built incorrectly and will very likely have to be torn out and completely replaced. What the heck, it's taken them 8 months already, what's another three or four months. The project manager was extremely unresponsive. Doesn't return phone calls. Almost never visits the site to coordinate the work or evaluate progress. Relied on me and my wife to coordinate and schedule workers, deliver messages and so on to the low dollar subcontractors he brought on. Neither one of us is an expert in home repair so it was difficult for us to notice how badly some things had been done until they were finished. That's the project manager's job. He wasn't doing it and we couldn't persuade him to do it and we couldn't persuade his boss to convince him to do it. So we tried and unfortunately, while we learned a lot, and could certainly do a better job next time, this go 'round has been a disaster. Unless you know exactly what you're doing, don't count on Fickert.
Description of Work
Fickert was recommended by Allstate Insurance to be the general contractor on the repairs to damage caused to our house when a drunk driver crashed into it.
Category
electrician, remodeling, water damage restoration, interior painters
Mary M.
4.0
05/06/2015
They were recommended by our insurance company. We had to pay $1000 deductible but the insurance company took care of the rest of it. They were prompt. It was good up until the last day and they were working on the back porch. They had replaced a piece of plywood, it didn't meet the other piece of drywall correctly so they took it upon themselves to decide to fill that gap in with mud and try to make it look even and texture it the way that the plywood was textured. Then they painted over the whole thing. Had they asked me about it, I would have told them to leave it because it wasn't that big of a effect. And the way that they ended up fixing it, they made it so much more obvious. So I wasn't happy with that part but other than that, they were good.
Description of Work
We had some water damage from that bad roofing job and our insurance company recommended A E Fickert to do the inside repair. They replaced the roof of our enclosed porch on the back of the house. Then they replaced a piece of drywall in the roof of the garage, re-taped several pieces, mudded them and painted the ceiling. They also did the same on the roof of the porch.
Category
drywall, roofing, house painters, interior painters
Cynthia L.
2.0
06/23/2014
We were not happy with them. The hardwood floor that was finished had to be done over again. The ceiling had to be done over again. The plastic wasn't tight on the doors and so, the whole house had nothing but plaster dust, so the couch and the carpet had to be cleaned. The biggest thing was they subbed out things and they didn't have anybody supervise them. There was no one to come back and check to see what they were doing and how they were doing.
Description of Work
We did have water damage and they had to dry everything up and they had to pull down a plaster ceiling. There were some damage in the kitchen and the hardwood floor was damaged in the dining room, so that had to be redone.
Category
water damage restoration
Joseph C.
5.0
11/28/2013
Fickert is the absolute best, bar none. I joined Angies list to find a contractor to finish a $28k remodel job on my house. I contacted the TOP 10 contracter's on this list in my area and every one of them gave some excuse about not wanting to do the work. 90% of these guys said they were too busy and did NOT NEED THE WORK!!! OMG TOP rated contractors in DAYTON OHIO DO NOT NEED WORK!!! Welp I gave up and started calling local contractors from the yellow pages. THANK god AE fickert was first on the list. They took care of everything and did the best job I could ever hope for. They went above and beyond all my expectations and I feel like I owe them a HUGE tip!!! They did plumbing, electric, floors, drywall, carpentry...EVERYTHING and were amazing!!! FORGET these other contractors..Fickert is the best and are now my go to guys for any work I ever need!!!!!
Description of Work
They did everything from plumbing, electric drywall and painting.
Category
drywall, remodeling, roofing, home builders, interior painters
Mary M.
4.0
09/26/2013
While impressed with their initial contact, follow-up, punctuality and overall professionalism, on the very last day a mistake was made that I was not happy with and don't feel it was resolved well. I would however, use this company again as all the other work done, from roofing repair, gutter repair, chimney flashing repair, porch ceiling replacement, mold inspections were all done very well. And done on time, within the original estimate and all the different crews were very good to work with, knowledgeable and cleaned up remarkably when the work was completed.
Description of Work
We were referred to this company by our homeowner's insurance, USAA for repair of water damage due to an improperly installed roof by The Gutter Truck. This company inspected for water damage and mold. They inspected the roof, gutters, chimney flashing, porch ceiling, an area of the basement ceiling that had leaked due to improper chimney flashing. Provided a thorough documentation of all damage and repairs that needed to be done. Set a date for repairs to be done and completed all repairs. The stated cost, was our deductible, I'm not sure of the final amount USAA paid this company.
Category
roofing, water damage restoration, house painters
Paula B.
5.0
06/15/2012
Because of the widespread damage caused by the hail storm, it took a awhile to get all of the work completed. The delay was understandable and they did inspect the damage and put a patch on the roof to prevent leaking in the interim. The work was all well done. The only issue that we had was quite a bit a very sloppy caulking which was a little unsightly - I let them know about the problem and they sent someone out within a day or two to work on the issue. I found them to be very friendly, helpful and responsive.
Description of Work
Fickert did all of the repair work for hail damage to our home. This included a new roof, new siding, new gutters and building a new room addition.
Category
remodeling, roofing, siding, water damage restoration, home builders
John M.
5.0
05/25/2012
The did a great job. It was covered by insurance. They were pleasant and easy to work with. They were pretty much readily available. They were working with a lot of people and I was very happy with them. I still use one of the gentleman working with me on other projects.
Description of Work
I used A E Fickert & Son replaced the roof, windows, railing around my deck and siding on two sides of my house, rebuilt my shed after a big storm came through here.
Category
remodeling, roofing, siding, water damage restoration
John B.
1.0
04/16/2012
The compay's first crew came out and removed the roof, damaging alot of our siding. A second crew came out and then did not return as they had stolen all of the equipment. The third crew worked for over a week finishing a relatively small roof. 18 monthes later our roof started to leak in 4 different parts of our building. We called A E Fickert and did not get anyone to come out for 2 monthes. Said they were too busy. They came out and repaired one area of the roof. It started leaking there approximately 6 weeks later. They came out again 2 monthes later and made another repair. This started leaking a month later. A E Fickert then said the roof was out of warrenty ( they had a 2 year warrenty) and refused to come out again. A different roofer came to our office repaired what they could of the original job costing us over $3,000. They said there were no flashings on any part of the roof. There was a 1 inch gap around our chimney and the shingles are spaced too far apart to keep the roof from leaking.
Description of Work
The company removed 3 layers of roofing, put down sheething and replaced our roof shingles.
Category
roofing
Linda L.
5.0
09/16/2011
They were kind and courteous. They cleaned up after themselves. The roof looks good.
Description of Work
We had a lot of hail damage so they did a whole new roof for us, downspout soffits, and window wraps.
Category
roofing, water damage restoration
Sharon M.
5.0
03/30/2011
They were very conscientious. They came back to the house several times to check to see how the dehumidifying and the fans were doing. They actually saved all our carpet so we were very pleased. He was a very personable gentleman and really cared about what he was doing even though he was doing several jobs at once, he still kept in contact with us and wanted to make us happy. We were going through a stressful time and he made it much easier. We didn?t get anybody else to come on for pricing because it was such a short notice.
Description of Work
We used A E Fickert to do restoration on our basement because we had an overflow on our sump pump.
Category
water damage restoration
Gail C.
1.0
08/30/2007
A bad experience for us in hiring these people to do basic drywall and painting. Everyone was in an extreme rush to complete the job with an eye on the clock so they did not work past 3:30 each day. One worker complained constantly through out the entire job and voiced his disagreement with the work order every chance he got. My new door would not close properly and had to be adjusted several times. It was also cut too short. My walls and ceiling are not square which created a problem when my new cabinets and counter was installed. The worker who did the drywall finish was the worst. He was in a rush to complete the job and set up a fan to dry the mud quickly which blew dust all over my house. He was trying to complete a two day job in one day. He also left globs of drywall mud at the wall base and other areas were skimmed imperfectly. I would not use this company to build a house for my dog.
Description of Work
Employees of AE Fickert removed and installed drywall on two walls, covered ceiling drywall with new drywall, skim coated drywall on remaining walls, installed a new door, and painted walls.
Category
drywall, remodeling, house painters, doors
5.0
07/31/2006
THE GUY I WORKED WITH TOOK CARE OF ANY PROBLEM I WAS HAVING AND TOOK CARE OF IT IMMEDIATELY. THEY REPLACED CARPET, WALLS AND DOORS. THEY PAINTED THE WHOLE HOUSE.
Description of Work
A E FICKERT TOOK CARE OF THE WATER DAMAGE IN OUR HOME FROM ICE DAMS ON THE ROOF.
Category
water damage restoration
4.0
07/31/2006
THE SIDING TOOK A LITTLE LONGER THAN EXPECTED, BUT BESIDES THAT EVERYTHING WENT OFF WITHOUT A HITCH. THEY WERE VERY RESPONSIVE TO THE QUESTIONS I ASKED. THEY DID AN EXCELLENT JOB OF PAINTING.
Description of Work
THEY DID SOME FINISHING WORK IN THE GARAGE, AND PUT ON A NEW ROOF AND SIDING. THEY ALSO REPAINTED INSIDE THE HOUSE AND PUT IN SOME FRENCH DOORS.
Category
remodeling, roofing, siding, interior painters, doors
5.0
07/31/2006
THEY SHOWED UP ON TIME AND WORKED VERY FAST, AND EVERYTHING WORKS. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY. THEY WERE VERY PROFESSIONAL AND VERY PERSONABLE. I THOUGHT THE PRICES WERE EXTREMELY FAIR.
Description of Work
FICKERT INSTALLED TWO CEILING FANS IN MY KITCHEN AND A LIGHT FIXTURE IN MY BATHROOM.
Category
electrician

Phone

Address

2908 Springboro Rd W

Dayton, OH 45439

Service Categories

Other Information

Services offered

Remodeling & Renovation - Damage, Fire, Smoke, Water, Flood, Emergencies, Hail, Vandalism & Graffiti

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard

FAQ

A E Fickert is currently rated 3.7 overall out of 5.

A E Fickert is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

A E Fickert accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

Yes, A E Fickert offers free project estimates.

Yes, A E Fickert offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, A E Fickert offers emergency services.

Yes, A E Fickert offers warranties.

A E Fickert offers the following services: Remodeling & Renovation - Damage, Fire, Smoke, Water, Flood, Emergencies, Hail, Vandalism & Graffiti

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Owner-operated company serving Columbus and Dayton surrounding areas. We are a full-service provider of interior and exterior painting. We have built our stellar reputation by providing quality painting services, expert customer service and reliability to our customers.  

Dans Drywall Repair

Angi Certified

Dans Drywall Repair

We have been proudly doing business for more than 40 years and carry full insurance to protect our customers. While being located in Middletown, Ohio we service all of the surrounding areas of Butler, Warren, and Montgomery Counties. We've worked on thousands of area homes and businesses.  

Giving your home an amazing makeover with top-of-the-line painting is what we love doing at Wulfhorst Painting. When you're looking for a reliable team of painters to perform a fabulous transformation for your surroundings, you've come to the right place. We pride ourselves on delivering unparalleled workmanship with every project while maintaining open communication throughout the duration of the project. With our combination of industry knowledge, use of high-quality paints and materials, and dedication to delivering exceptional service, you can rest assured you're in the best of hands for any cabinet painting, exterior or interior paint job. We're proud to serve clients in Cincinnati, Dayton, Anderson County, and surrounding areas. Contact us today to begin your next project.