Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Universal Windows Direct of Columbus

Founded 2016 • With Angi since January 2017

4.5

(54) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3563 INTERCHANGE RD

Columbus, OH 43204

Description

Since its inception by co founders William Barr and Michael Strmac in 2002, Universal Windows Direct has lived by the philosophy of CANEI - "Constant and Never Ending Improvement". This philosophy holds true in all aspects of our business, from sales and marketing to installation and service and has catapulted UWD from a small, local home improvement company to one of the largest exterior remodeling companies in the country. Every one of our employees strives continuously to be the best in the business at what they do and provide our customers with only the highest levels of sales, service, and support. We think our company's history speaks to this goal and to the power of what we can accomplish by never settling. Universal Windows Direct of Columbus opened in 2016. Our products feature the exclusive UniShield brand and come with a transferable lifetime warranty on materials and labor. We are a fully licensed, bonded, and insured company and EPA Lead-Safe certified. In addition, a portion of every sale goes to support a growing list of local charities....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/29/2021


Joeline R.

I was very satisfied with the service I received. He was on time, cleaned up any mess that was made and was very professional while he was here. He did a great job installing beautiful windows into an old home! Thank you!

Description of Work
3 dining room windows

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for this feedback, [Member Name Removed]. We are thrilled to hear our team provided you with a great experience. If there's anything else we can help with, please don't hesitate to reach out.^JD
3.0

05/14/2021


Mary T.

I had my windows installed April 28th, 2021. The installers had to leave before my job was completed because of the rain. However, they installed ALL of my windows, and only had the outside trim to complete. The installers were great, and did a great job. I called to schedule them to come back to finish the trim on the outside, but the Install Manager is a Flake. His name is Jacob. He promised to call me 3 different times. He only called me back once, to tell me he would call me in the morning to give me a time for the installers to come back. That was Wednesday, May 12th. He didn't call me yesterday at all. I called them today, May 14th 5 times. They left me on hold for over 15 minutes each time. I STILL did NOT talk to anyone. Not the Install Manager, the General Manager, which I requested to speak to numerous times. Customer Service is of NO HELP, because they just keep putting me on hold. So, as of Friday, May 14th, STILL no response, NO date for completion of the job. Nothing but Frustrated.

Description of Work
Window Replacement

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Hello, thank you for making us aware of your experience working with us so far. We truly apologize for the lack of communication you experienced and appreciate the opportunity to improve your experience moving forward. We are eager to complete your job and will be here if you need anything in the meantime. - MS
1.0

07/03/2020


Valerie H.

Universal Windows totally ruined my mother's condo. She is elderly and trusted them - paying over $8,000 for new windows in her condo. After faulty installation, they immediately began leaking down the entire condo from the 2nd story windows down into the basement. She called and called and called but they refused to fix the windows and would hang up on her. When she asked them to come fix the leak, one representative literally said "You can't tell us what to do". Finally, I had a contractor tear out the drywall to confirm the faulty window installation. They covered up the weep holes in the windows thus causing the windows to take in water and send it inside the house. They send out installers who have no idea what they are doing and refuse to take any responsibility to correct faulty installation or to correct the damage they caused. HORRIBLE COMPANY! STAY AWAY

Description of Work
Replaced all windows

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback. We have shared your experience with our management team for follow up. -UWD Customer Service
5.0

01/29/2020


Ashley L.

I can't say enough good things about the service we received. Ryan C. came out to our home and was so thorough & realistic with us. It was clear he believed in the product. By the end of the evening we felt like we had made a new friend. We also had to work directly with Eric in customer service a few times to make changes to our order and the flexibility and friendliness we received was very appreciated. I highly recommend! Not only is their quality the best, but the customer service was like no other.

Description of Work
Window Replacement

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear about your experience with our team. Please let us know if we can assist with any future projects. Thank you, UWD Customer Service
4.0

12/23/2019


TISH K.

They removed and replaced 12 old windows. They were clean, quick, and did a good job installing. I had to call them back to fix two problems (One window frame was bent and needed to be reinstalled. One window did not come with obscured glass as ordered). They reordered and installed the obscured glass and scheduled a time to fix the bent window frame.

Description of Work
Replaced 12 leaky windows

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Hello, We are so glad that they could efficiently get the concerns taken care of for you. Thank you UWD Customer Services.
1.0

08/25/2019


Daniel M.

Worst experience in 30 years of home ownership. Job not finished in 1 day as promised, then left voicemails with all levels of management for the next 7 days with no response. Outer walls left open for 7 days, with several storms. Finally was transferred to lady who does scheduling, who answered her phone, and started to tell me I needed to understand. I lost all composure, and told her my walls had been open for 7 days, and I had not received a single response to any of my voicemails for 7 days. Again she told me I needed to understand, and I hung up on her. Installation guy showed up the next day, but still took 2 more days to finish. VERY poor communication, poor scheduling. They got their money and moved on. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY

Description of Work
Window Replacement

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for reaching out! We are sorry to hear about your experience and have shared this with our management team to review. Thank you, UWD Customer Service
5.0

04/12/2019


Kristi M.

Dusty Sill and his crew did a great job on my roof from Universal Windows Direct. They were here early to start the job and Dusty and his crew worked together flawlessly. They all went right to work and all knew exactly what they needed to do. They got my roof done in 1 day. They did wonderful work and went above and beyond to make sure they took care of all my roof needs. Thanks again guys for a great job!

Description of Work
I had a new roof installed.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Yay! We are thrilled to hear about your experience. Please keep us mind for future projects. Thank you, UWD Customer Service
5.0

02/02/2019


Jo Ann S.

Kruize was very easy to deal with. He explained everything we needed to know about our new windows. He provided us with a lot of information that we were not aware of. He explained how thing would be done. He answered all of our questions we had and made sure we didn’t have any more before he left. He was a pleasure to work with. He is a very good asset to this company. So glad we chose this company and got to work with him. So excited for our new windows.

Description of Work
New windows

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

That's great! We strive to provide 100% satisfaction and are happy to hear that you had a great experience with us. Please let us know if we can help with anything else. Thank you, UWD Customer Service
5.0

12/20/2018


Becky B.

They were very good. Took them approximately 4 hours to do the work. They were good and quick. Cleaned up everything. I would have them come back and do some work.

Description of Work
They replaced 10 windows.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We are happy to hear that they left your home nice and clean! Please let us know if you'd like to work with those installers again and if you need any help in the future! Have a happy new year! Thanks, UWD Customer Service
5.0

12/19/2018


Timothy A.

I highly recommend Universal Windows Direct. Great service and communication. Installed by a great crew.

Description of Work
Replacement Windows

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the great feedback! Please let us know if you need any assistance in the future! Thank you and have a happy new year! UWD Customer Service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Rosati Windows

    When you're ready to buy replacement windows and price, quality and service all matter, call Rosati Windows. Our custom windows are manufactured in Columbus, Ohio by a skilled workforce using the most modern equipment available. Our technical and engineering expertise has enabled us to produce windows that are backed by the strongest warranty in the industry. And our customer service is second to none. Consumer Choice Award Winner. Additional e-mail: info@rosatiwindows.com.  

    Infinity from Marvin Columbus

    PREMIUM INFINITY FROM MARVIN FIBERGLASS WINDOWS AND DOORS. OUR PRODUCTS: Our complete line of home windows & doors are custom-made for your home using our proprietary Ultrex fiberglass that is 8 times stronger than vinyl. The durability of Ultrex, combined with our timeless designs & finishes, will ensure your windows & doors withstand the test of time. OUR AWARD-WINNING SERVICE: Our goals with every customer are to provide a worry-free process & an exceptional experience. We also back our service up with a Lifetime Service and Installation Warranty. We'll take care of all the details, you sit back & enjoy your new view. ABOUT US: Backed by a company with over 100 years’ experience, Infinity from Marvin - Columbus provides premium Infinity from Marvin fiberglass replacement windows & patio doors for your home.  

    Offers by Infinity from Marvin Columbus on Angi
    Premier Home Exterior

    Premier Home Exterior is a rapidly growing provider in the industry of replacement windows, siding and doors. We provide quality craftsmanship to our customers with our #1 priority in customer satisfaction. We pride ourselves in making homeowners comfortable in their homes. We offer multiple financing options to help fit any budget. All of our work is done by certified and licensed installers.  

    Business Highlights

    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Replacement windows, front doors, patio doors, sliding glass doors, vinyl siding, vinyl shakes & scallops, roofing, gutters & gutter protection

    Services Not Offered

    Glass repair, Window Frame Repair

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Universal Windows Direct of Columbus

    How is Universal Windows Direct of Columbus overall rated?

    Universal Windows Direct of Columbus is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Universal Windows Direct of Columbus open?

    Universal Windows Direct of Columbus is open:

    Sunday: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Universal Windows Direct of Columbus provide

    Universal Windows Direct of Columbus accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Universal Windows Direct of Columbus offer free estimates?

    Yes, Universal Windows Direct of Columbus offers free project estimates.

    Does Universal Windows Direct of Columbus offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Universal Windows Direct of Columbus offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Universal Windows Direct of Columbus?

    Yes, Universal Windows Direct of Columbus offers warranties.

    What services does Universal Windows Direct of Columbus offer?

    Universal Windows Direct of Columbus offers the following services: Replacement windows, front doors, patio doors, sliding glass doors, vinyl siding, vinyl shakes & scallops, roofing, gutters & gutter protection

    Are there any services Universal Windows Direct of Columbus does not offer?

    Glass repair, Window Frame Repair