The Waterworks

About

Founded 1935 • With Angi since January 1996

Better care. Better value. Better results. Our well-trained and certified technicians are available to fix all of your plumbing and drain issues, as well as heating and cooling services. We are the drain cleaning and clearing experts. We replace, repair and install everything from toilets and

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

The WaterworksThe WaterworksThe Waterworks

Verified Reviews

4.6

(2611) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

2075

4

194

3

99

2

89

1

152

Rating Details

Price

4.2

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

plumbers (1994)drain cleaning (566)water heaters (195)sewer cleaning (149)well & water pump repair (100)drain pipe installation (80)excavating (44)gas leak repair (40)HVAC Companies (31)appliance repair (31)water softeners (14)handyman (13)
Showing 1-25 of 2611 reviews
1.0

06/02/2022


Jhamari H.

I did not hire this company because they will not give you any idea of pricing or an hourly rate without paying their "service fee". All I needed was a pipe reconnected to its fitting, literally would take 30 min but the company appeared to be sketchy with pricing or even providing a ballpark figure to be able to compare rates with other companies. Do not recommend.

Description of Work
Piping to gas meter reconnected

Category plumbing

Work Completed On 06/02/2022

1.0

02/23/2022


Eric S.

It's an old drainboard sink. The plumber said the new faucet would not work. Could not work because there wasn't enough room underneath to install the mounting shank. Suggested we remove and replace the entire sink. After he left I was able to fit the mounting shank in by turning it sideways, then rotating it once it was in place. $70 for the visit for them to do nothing.

Description of Work
Replacing a kitchen faucet

Category appliance repair, plumbing

Cost $70

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 02/23/2022

Service Provider Response

Good morning~ [Member Name Removed], we are sorry you had this experience and have requested a refund of the call-out fee of $70. Please know we strive for excellence with every day. You may have already received a call from our Customer Service Manager, Jennifer who will be reaching out to you. Feel free to contact her directly at 614-505-8150. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to provide you service again. Best, Joan
5.0

01/28/2022


Beth R.

We paid the tech to come to the house ($70) first thing in the morning. As it turned out, our drain and clog had cleared overnight. So, we didn't really use their services.

Description of Work
Shower drain unclogged

Category drain cleaning

Cost $70

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/27/2022

5.0

01/21/2022


Ryan B.

They are very reliable and available. They the drains all the time

Description of Work
plumbing

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/21/2021

5.0

07/07/2021


Zack G.

Someone from The Waterworks promptly contacted me after I submitted a request through Angi. Bradley showed up right on time and walked me through what he was doing, was very knowledgeable, answered all my questions, and made sure the toilet was re-installed better than it was originally. Thanks!

Description of Work
Toilet Wax Seal Replacement

Category plumbing

Cost $230

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/05/2021

5.0

06/04/2021


Kim I.

Great! Employee was awesome! Very personable! People answering phones are very friendly! Did a great job start to finish. It was my 2nd time using them and I ll call them the next time needed!

Description of Work
Outside faucet needed replaced

Category appliance repair, plumbing

Cost $240

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/27/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], we are truly grateful for repeat customers like you who see the value and level of expertise in our company and technicians! Thank you so very much for the kind words and positive review, and for choosing The Waterworks! Joan
5.0

05/28/2021


Fred V.

Great, Arthur solved all issues expeditiously

Description of Work
Fix toilets, investigate master bathroom leak

Category appliance repair, plumbing

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/28/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so very much for giving our Arthur a high 5 and shout-out. We sincerely appreciate the recommendation! Thank you for choosing The Waterworks. Joan
5.0

05/11/2021


Mark E.

Very well. Our technician was polite, professional, and efficient.

Description of Work
We needed a new sump pump.

Category appliance repair, wells

Cost $688

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/09/2021

5.0

04/27/2021


William M.

My overall experience with this company was great. 100%

Description of Work
They unclogged a drainage issue with my kitchen sink.

Category drain cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/12/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] , we appreciate you taking the time to share your service experience, and should the need arise, will look forward to serving you in the future!. Joan
3.0

04/16/2021


Michael R.

The work was done well and the technician was great, but the cost of the service was grossly overpriced. For context, I had new floors installed and I needed to pull out the old toilet (which I did with no problem). We decided to purchase a brand new one and opted to have WaterWorks install it (since I didn't want to deal with the wax ring and risk scratching the new floors. I scheduled the appointment and asked how much they charge to install a toilet. The lady told me she couldn't estimate it and that the technician would provide a quote when there. There was a $60 service call fee that would be credited towards the work if I accepted the estimate... (otherwise I would be charged the $60 for the service call no matter what) When the technician arrived, the had a standard price list and said that installing the toilet would be $300!?!?!? - So if there was a standard price list, why couldn't they quote me that price before I agreed to the service appointment? The tech did a great job, was professional and good to work with. However he was done in less than 30 min and I couldn't believe I paid $300 to have a toilet installed. This situation could have been avoided if they would have been up-front about the cost when I setup the appointment.

Description of Work
Install new Toilet

Category plumbing

Cost $313

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/16/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I am so pleased to hear your are happy with the service and our technician was very professional! I am sorry our pricing did not meet your expectations. Our pricing includes not just time on the job, but equipment, tools, and knowledge as well. The exceptional level of expertise displayed by your technician allowed him to complete the job in a timely manner. As you mentioned, providing accurate pricing for our customers is key, and we accomplish this by inspecting the full scope of the job on site. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to provide service to you again! Joan
1.0

03/25/2021


Robin W.

DO NOT HIRE THIS COMPANY. In October they came out to install a battery for my Watchdog battery backup for my sump pump. By March the battery backup began beeping incessantly. I added distilled water and the system kept beeping. I knew that the Waterworks technician had run to Home Depot to buy the battery he replaced. So I a) Called Waterworks who said, sorry, you're out of warranty. and b) Called the Watchdog battery backup company who told me that the Waterworks technician installed the wrong battery type and that it would continue to malfunction as a result. When I asked why the system had worked fine till now, Watchdog said this is typical - but the system will eventually break down. Today Waterworks came back out and told me I was out of luck because they only warranty the parts/work for 90-days. I suppose I should be happy they didn't charge me their $60 fee for visiting my house to tell me I was out of that $300 I paid them to install the wrong battery. I have a lot of plumbing choices. I've used Waterworks for years. NEVER AGAIN.

Description of Work
Replace battery for sump pump backup

Category plumbing

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/19/2020

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I understand your frustration with your Watchdog battery backup. We installed a Basement Watchdog replacement battery for your Watchdog unit in October of last year, 2020. Watchdog has 2 sizes of 12 volt batteries that are compatible with your system. One larger size with a longer run time, and another smaller size with a shorter run time. Both are compatible with your Watchdog product. The “malfunction” you mentioned is actually “low battery power” due to the batteries short run time. We spoke with our Watchdog representative who reassured us that using a smaller battery run time does not “break down” your unit however, It will not run as long. Many customers frequently request the smaller battery size due to the lower cost. We are always very disappointed when a customer is unhappy with our service. Please know that we used a Watchdog brand replacement product that is authorized for your unit. Best~Joan
3.0

03/15/2021


Robert H.

Went with a1 pro services as they responded and were lowest price

Description of Work
Main service waterline teplacemrnt

Category plumbing

Work Completed On 03/15/2021

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], we are glad your plumbing issue was addressed and you are pleased with the service. If we missed your call or were delayed in our response, please accept our apologies. We would have welcomed the opportunity to provide an estimate, however we do not have a record of a call or request to come to your home. Joan
5.0

02/11/2021


Joanne L.

Very pleased with Angel who took my call, set up the appointment and informed me when the repairman would be arriving. Next day service for a non emergency repair. Nathan was very professional & nice, he answered all my questions, explained what he was doing & the cost. I will ask for him specifically the next time I need repairs. Thank you Nathan. Thank you Angie's list for the recommendation.

Description of Work
Toilet Repair

Category appliance repair, plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/09/2021

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the super review! We are thrilled Angel and Matt could come to your rescue. We are appreciative and grateful for your repeat business and will continue to come to your aid when you need us. Thank you for choosing The Waterworks! Joan
5.0

02/11/2021


PAT AND CAREY M.

Great! Even though website said phone lines were down, I was directed to send an email. I was contacted quickly, almost immediately after I sent email, to set up an appointment for the next day. Waterworks called us back and was able to schedule a same day appointment. Peter was wonderful! Real personable, very knowledgeable, and honest. Always have great service from Waterworks!

Description of Work
No hot water

Category appliance repair, plumbing, water heater repair

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/10/2021

Service Provider Response

Mr. and Mrs. [Member Name Removed], It is great to hear our technician, Peter, was able to get to the bottom of your problem. Thank you for taking the time to leave Peter and The Waterworks a great review. We are happy to be at your service for all of your future repair needs! Joan
5.0

01/06/2021


George G.

The whole experience went as smoothly as it could possibly go. Called at night when the problem surfaced, talked with Randy (very friendly and helpful) and scheduled an appointment for the next day in the pm. Next day got an advanced notice call about noon and Dan showed up shortly after. He explained the process and the cost and got busy. About 2 hours later he was done - pulled roots out of the drain line. He answered all of my questions and offered helpful tips for the future - and wore a mask the entire time. Very professional.

Description of Work
Sanitary drain backup

Category appliance repair, drain cleaning

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/05/2021

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], thank you for your kind words about our technician Dan ! We will share with him as our team loves to get feedback! We are very pleased that you are pleased with our services and the repair was to your liking. Thank YOU for choosing The Waterworks. Best~ Joan
3.0

11/27/2020


Scott J.

Their call center and tech were very professional but they charged $214 for 20mins of work and that was all labor. Very expensive.

Description of Work
Unclogged a kitchen drain.

Category air duct cleaning, drain cleaning

Cost $214

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/16/2020

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], I am so pleased to hear our call center and technician were very professional! I am sorry our pricing did not meet your expectations. As noted on your Google My Business review last week, our pricing includes not just time on the job, but equipment, tools, and knowledge as well. The exceptional level of expertise displayed by your drain technician allowed him to complete the job in a timely manner. I am pleased the technician applied a $30 discount coupon to your invoice bringing your actual cost for the service call to $184. Thank you for your previous patronage and we hope to provide service to you again!
5.0

10/19/2020


Del F.

Twenty-minute email response (on a Sat.). Work scheduled for Mon. Repairman on schedule. COVID-19 protocols observed. System thoroughly inspected and cleaned. All concerns explained and addressed. Very professional. Very pleased with the service. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Sump pump and pit inspected and clean.

Category plumbing, wells

Cost $180

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/05/2020

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Your technician, Christopher, is a super technician! We are proud of his thoroughness and professionalism! We are glad that you noticed it too! Thank you for choosing The Waterworks for you plumbing needs and taking the time to share your kind words about our company! Thanks - Rhonda
5.0

10/12/2020


Marcie M.

They had to return twice to finish the repairs.

Description of Work
I had 7 gas leaks in the basement and my oven was leaking CO.

Category gas leak repair

Cost $985

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/11/2020

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the A review! I am sorry in took 2 visits to take care of your issue but we stand by our work and keep at it until we get it right! Thank you for choosing The Waterworks for your repairs and we are here for you for all of your future needs. Thanks, Rhonda
5.0

10/07/2020


Jennifer J.

I have been waiting for a long time to find a plumbing company to be my “go to” and now The Waterworks is it! Best service experience I have had in a long time. First technician came to reinstall the toilet after it leaked and flooded. He did that and discovered the drain was blocked He called out the drain technician who was there in 30 minutes. Both were knowledgeable, professional, friendly and did their work and did it well. And the cost was very reasonable! I highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Fixed a toilet and cleaned out a blocked drain

Category air duct cleaning, drain cleaning

Cost $316

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/06/2020

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], We are thrilled to be your "go to" plumbing company. Your technicians, Keven and Michael, can come to your rescue whenever you need them! Thank you for taking the time to give us the great feedback and choosing The Waterworks for you plumbing needs! -Rhonda
5.0

09/28/2020


diane C.

The plumber was friendly, caring and completed the job in one afternoon even though it was complicated and interfered with his getting off work on time.

Description of Work
New water heater

Category plumbing, water heater repair, air duct cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/25/2020

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Your technician, Mark, is certainly caring and thorough! Thank you for pointing that out! We are so glad he was able to solve you problem in one afternoon and get you back on your way. Thanks for choosing The Waterworks! Best, Rhonda
5.0

09/22/2020


Garcie B.

Waterworks came within a few hours and quickly diagnosed the leak which I couldn’t find. Kevin quickly made the repairs and while he was there he took care of some other issues I had on my to do list..... the wife doesn’t need to know!

Description of Work
Leaking water Pipe

Category plumbing, air duct cleaning

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/18/2020

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed]~ Loved the very last line of your review. Perfection! We always say ...D.I WHY?...you get it! Take that Honey-Do list straight to The Waterworks. Thank you for the kind words and shout-out for Kevin. We appreciate and are grateful for your posting and review! Have a great day! Jean
5.0

09/15/2020


Donna M T.

The repair was made. Bradley was very knowledgeable he explained everything he needed to do to complete the job. He was professional and very pleasant.

Description of Work
Leak in the kitchen sink behind the wall

Category plumbing, air duct cleaning

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2020

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed]~ Good morning and thank you for your kind words about our technician Bradley! We will share with him as our team loves to get feedback! We are very pleased that you are pleased with our services and the repair was to your liking. Thank YOU for choosing The Waterworks. Best~ Jean
1.0

09/06/2020


Jacki B.

Service was terrible. Serviceman tried and tried to sell us a new disposal, told us a small part was the problem, looked on his phone briefly to find the part, couldn't find it, told us if we can find one he will come back and put it in. Another plumber came out, put a snake in the pipes, and fixed it. We will never call Waterworks again.

Description of Work
Kitchen sink was clogged up

Category air duct cleaning, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/06/2020