Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ShadeTree Canopies – for COOL outdoor living space

Founded 1997 • With Angi since November 2006

4.7

(454) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6317 Busch Blvd

Columbus, OH 43229

Description

Factory direct service. ShadeTree® Canopy Systems are a unique, patented shade system. The canopies can cover LARGE as well as small patios or decks. There are several styles and fabrics to chose from. A patented wind-release mechanisms helps reduce wind damage.The systems are custom-manufactured to each customer’s specifications, then shipped directly to the customer. The systems were designed to be a do-it-yourself-installed product, however, local installers can be referred if customer requests....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/12/2018


Norma P.

Very professional, great quality and easy to order with their directions.

Description of Work
Ordered awnings for my deck.

Category awnings, decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed]! We are so happy to hear you enjoy your canopy!

1.0

01/09/2018


Eugene J.

The canopy was incorrectly installed and never worked. It constantly came apart because it was improperly installed. The company relied on the installer to do a credible job, but he didn't. The company should have sent a representative to check installers' work, but they didn't. In disgust, I eventually hired someone else to simply tear it all down and throw it away. I was never offered a new canopy or a refund by the company.

Description of Work
Manufacture and install canopy

Category awnings, decks

Service Provider Response

We appreciate all feedback from our clients and want everyone that works with us to be completely satisfied with our canopies and our service. We have reached out to you multiple times in an effort to remedy the issues you are experiencing, but have never heard back. If you could give me a call at (800) 894-3801 I would be more than happy to discuss your concerns. We wish you the best and look forward to speaking with you! Sincerely, Wendy, ShadeTree Canopies

3.0

01/08/2018


Dan V.

The first install was done incorrectly by an inexperienced installer. Once the company saw the problem, they quickly acted to correct the problem. I fault them for providing the inexperienced installer, but praise them for quickly taking care of the problem.

Description of Work
Install of patio canopy.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that there was a problem with the initial installer that came to your home to help you. We want every client to have a smooth installation and get up-and-running with his or her new canopy system as soon as possible so you can enjoy it! We are glad we could resolve the issue you were experiencing and hope you are loving your canopy system! If you have any questions or concerns at any time, please give us a call at your convenience. Sincerely, Your ShadeTree Canopies Team

5.0

12/09/2017


Kathy D.

The system far exceeded my expectations. Because of the system, the deck remains cool, as does the south side of the house. Each canopy can be deployed or stored independently, and I can easily vary the arrangement from spring through fall. (All of the canopies are stored under the eave in the winter.) I don't worry about wind damaging the canopies because they "self release" to move as needed if the wind gets too strong. I got Sunbrella fabric for the canopies, and they look like new after almost a decade of sun. Maintenance has been minimal - something I can do myself.

Description of Work
I had ShadeTree's canopy system installed in 2009. It was the best system to install over a south-facing 50-foot long deck on the eave side of the house, where there was no head clearance for a regular awning system.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. We are glad that your canopy helps your deck stay cool and you enjoy using it! We appreciate your recommendation!

5.0

11/21/2017


Robert S.

Great product, great installation. This is a unique patio covering design that provides superior coverage, easy to use, and extremely tolerant to high winds and weather.

Description of Work
Patio custom covering

Category awnings, decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback! We are so glad that you enjoy your canopy!

5.0

11/07/2017


Mary T.

Great! The product has remained beautiful and easy to install and take down each year.

Description of Work
They put a canopy over our deck

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! We are so happy you hear you love your ShadeTree system and find it easy to use!

5.0

07/25/2017


Janice B.

great, they solved our problem and they look great!

Description of Work
awnings made

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thank you, we're so glad we could help!

5.0

06/12/2017


Sixto M.

Person on the phone did a decent job getting everything ordered correct

Description of Work
The only work was on the phone engineering the correct sizes

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

We are so glad that we were able to get you exactly what you were looking for! Thank you for your review!

4.0

04/17/2017


Mary L.

have had no contact with Shade-tree in several years. I do have their canopies and do like them but have reviewed a couple time in the past already.

Description of Work
I had no work done

Category awnings

5.0

04/17/2017


JOANNE V.

Great, loved the sliding canopies. They were a little trouble putting up every spring, but I loved being able to open and close them depending on the weather

Description of Work
we purchased a pergola kit and canopies

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

We are so glad that you enjoy your canopies! Please let us know if you need any assistance with putting them up in the spring! Thank you so much for your feedback!

5.0

04/10/2017


Karen S.

It was all very easy. A contractor from Shadetree came out and measured. We reviewed the on-line site and picked out the style and colors we wanted. The products were shipped and installed. They do a great job and are easy to work with.

Description of Work
We have two areas of our garden covered by shade tree canopies - and we LOVE them. These are fairly large areas. We chose Shadetree canopies because you can push them back for more sun - or close them for shade. We had the first canopies installed in 2013 and the second set installed in 2015. We do take them down every winter (although you don't have to) and put them back up in late spring.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], we always strive to make installing our canopies as easy as possible! We are so glad to hear that you greatly enjoy them! Thank you for your review.

5.0

04/10/2017


Karen S.

These canopies are not inexpensive - but they are worth it. They are lovely and have lasted. This is also a great company to work with. We've had all of our canopies and shades for approximately10 years and have enjoyed them very much. They provide excellent shade that shelters the south side of our home during the hottest hours. The canopies are still in good condition after all this time and are still beautiful. We do remove them in the winter - and reinstall in early summer. I have had occasion to contact the company over some minor issues - and they were excellent at resolving everything to my satisfaction.

Description of Work
We had canopies put on the back and side of our home. We love them - and they make an incredible difference in the summer time and they are lovely, as well. We take them down in the winter.

Category awnings

5.0

04/04/2017


Norma P.

It went well, was difficult to hang but the quality was great!

Description of Work
Ordered canopies for outdoor shading, put in place by my handyman

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you are happy with your purchase and the quality of materials we use. We are sorry to hear you had trouble hanging your canopy. If you have any questions or concerns with your canopy at any time, please don't hesitate to give us a call! We would be more than happy to assist you in any way we can. We hope you're enjoying the shade! Sincerely, Your ShadeTree Canopies Team

2.0

04/03/2017


Eugene J.

Very poor installation. Installer refused to correct problems. Then he suddenly disappeared and no longer worked for the company.

Description of Work
Installed canopy on patio

Category awnings, decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you for speaking with me about your concerns. We are glad we could send an installer out to your property to get your system working properly! If you experience any additional difficulties or need anything else, please don't hesitate to give us a call at (800) 894-3801. We hope you enjoy the shade! Sincerely, Wendy, ShadeTree Canopies

5.0

02/27/2017


Scott C.

The product arrived in good condition, was easy to mount, and served us well as long as we lived in that home. It was the perfect solution to our shade problem.

Description of Work
I purchased a shade canopy for my back deck.

Category awnings

1.0

02/20/2017


John L.

They did not install it to code and the system itself was not designed for the typical winds we have locally. It failed. I had to sue them to get them to return the money I paid them for the system.

Description of Work
Installing their canopy system

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback. We want you to know that we take every review very seriously. We apologize you did not have a good experience with us. We reviewed your account, and see that the contracted installer that we used for this specific project did not install your system correctly, which is why it malfunctioned. We are no longer utilizing his services. We pride ourselves on working with the best installers in every area we operate, and if we hear about situations like this we do everything we can to resolve any issues our clients are experiencing. We want you to have a fully functioning system and enjoy it stress-free. We apologize that you had to go to such lengths to be reimbursed for your system. When you were experiencing these challenges, it was when our company was changing leadership 4 years ago and we believe that your request was unfortunately caught in that process. Our current owners believe in providing the best customer service and quality in everything we do. We don't want any of our customers to have the same experience you did, and we are truly sorry for your inconvenience. If there is ever anything else we can do for you, please don't hesitate to give us a call at (800) 894-3801. Sincerely, Your ShadeTree Canopies Team

5.0

01/31/2017


Barbara B.

we ordered them and they came within an acceptable time frame. we didn't need an installer since these were just replacements.

Description of Work
replacement canopies

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], we are so glad to hear that you were happy with the delivery and quality of your canopy! Thank you for your review!

5.0

01/31/2017


Kathleen M.

Very well, it looks great and really helps keep the sun off the windows

Description of Work
Installed patio canopy systems

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], we are so glad that you are enjoying your canopy! Thank you for your review!

5.0

01/16/2017


Russ W.

The Shade Tree people did a great job, They even came by to check on the arbor contraction, a very good thing as I had made a mistake on my spacing dimensions. Fortunately that was able to be corrected! Once the arbor was done, the installation was fast and professional. Everything worked well and the quality is excellent. It's not an inexpensive system, but is worth the investment for long term enjoyment.

Description of Work
I had the Shade Tree canopies installed on a custom arbor that I had a landscape contractor build just for that purpose.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], we are so glad to hear that your installation went well and you are pleased with the canopy! Thank you so much for your review!

5.0

09/06/2016


Pete S.

Well. The local installer did a great job.

Description of Work
Needed a retractable shade canopy under a pergola.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thank you! We're glad you had a good experience with us!

5.0

09/06/2016


Amaly A.

Wonderful. Really helped cool the patio and house.

Description of Work
Canopy made for very sunny yard.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thank you! We're so glad you enjoy your canopy!

5.0

07/21/2015


Barbara M.

Everything came together beautifully. We went from an unused patio to our favorite space for most of the year. My only problem .. I am 5' tall and have some difficulty locking and unlocking the shades. It does take a bit of force at an angle. My 6' husband has no problem. we do keep the shades full during the summer for a sun block for the house and open for the winter. So no need to open and close but twice a year

Description of Work
we did have the frame built by our own contractor as he was also doing other remodeling. Shadetrees was happy to work with him to get the correct dimensions. Shadetree then came out to install the shades

Category awnings

5.0

01/22/2015


Barbara J. F.

I only had to pay for shipping them back to them and of course for the return to me - great product and service

Description of Work
They were great - I sold the house and don't need them anymore - but the manufacturer replaced the shades when they were damaged in a bad wind storm.

Category screen repair

4.0

01/13/2015


Thomas T.

Because the deck is an unusual shape it took considerable communication, but the finished product is exceptional. It provides shade, cools the house, looks good and is easily retractable. The company offers contact with local installers, but we chose to use a carpenter we've used before. We had the canopies installed in May/June 2011 and after four years are still completely satisfied with how well the fabric has held up.I would use this provider again in the future.

Description of Work
Shade Tree constructed fabric canopies and framework for our deck to my specifications.

Category awnings

5.0

11/06/2014


Marlene S.

We were able to assemble the awnings ourselves. My husband primarily dealt with the company. The product is very nice and still works fine to this day.

Description of Work
I purchased some awnings and the experiment to go with it.

Category awnings

    Other local Pros in your area

    Southern Grove Landscaping

    Why work with us? Southern Grove Landscaping was established nineteen years ago, in 1986, by a graduate from Ohio State University who studied in depth what it takes to achieve perfection in your landscape surroundings. Award-winning landscapes do not just look good for one season -- an excellent landscape should transcend the season with plants chosen for our Ohio climate and accents of stonework and design variation that command attention. That's our specialty. While everyone thinks about flowers in the spring and mowing the grass in the summer, your yard needs special attention throughout the year: during the winter delicate plants should be wrapped or transferred inside; in the spring the landscaping always needs extra special care to make sure the plants and lawn start the year off right. Summer heat means that proper watering and fertilization are important to keep plants healthy, whereas in the fall, trees and shrubs begin to go dormant, so transplantation then preven ts shock to the plant and helps to ensure healthy new growth in the spring. We are pleased to announce our nineteenth anniversary of making Columbus and surrounding areas beautiful. We're humbled by the positive response we've had from our clients and we hope to make many more beautiful landscapes for you and your families to enjoy. Give us a call and we will meet with you for a free consultation at your convenience. ASSOCIATION Better Business Bureau  

    Flores Landscaping Services Inc

    Flores Landscapes is dedicated to exceeding the expectations of clients though high integrity and accountability. We understand that your home is likely the most valuable asset you will ever own - both financially and sentimentally. Flores will enhance the outdoor aesthetics of your home, while making the process smooth and professional. Additional email: info@FloresLandscapes.com.  

    DLG Property Services, LLC

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Product is custom-designed to specifications submitted. In-house computer designers prepare features. Once a plan is approved by customer,system is manufactured and shipped direct to customer’s address. Measuring and installation can be arraigned with local contractors. The systems were designed to be a do-it-yourself-installed product, however, local installers can be referred if customer requests assistance. Any installation fees are paid by customer directly to local contractor.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ShadeTree Canopies – for COOL outdoor living space

    How is ShadeTree Canopies – for COOL outdoor living space overall rated?

    ShadeTree Canopies – for COOL outdoor living space is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are ShadeTree Canopies – for COOL outdoor living space open?

    ShadeTree Canopies – for COOL outdoor living space is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does ShadeTree Canopies – for COOL outdoor living space provide

    ShadeTree Canopies – for COOL outdoor living space accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does ShadeTree Canopies – for COOL outdoor living space offer free estimates?

    Yes, ShadeTree Canopies – for COOL outdoor living space offers free project estimates.

    Does ShadeTree Canopies – for COOL outdoor living space offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, ShadeTree Canopies – for COOL outdoor living space does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does ShadeTree Canopies – for COOL outdoor living space offer a senior discount?

    No, ShadeTree Canopies – for COOL outdoor living space does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by ShadeTree Canopies – for COOL outdoor living space?

    No, ShadeTree Canopies – for COOL outdoor living space does not offer warranties.

    What services does ShadeTree Canopies – for COOL outdoor living space offer?

    ShadeTree Canopies – for COOL outdoor living space offers the following services: Product is custom-designed to specifications submitted. In-house computer designers prepare features. Once a plan is approved by customer,system is manufactured and shipped direct to customer’s address. Measuring and installation can be arraigned with local contractors. The systems were designed to be a do-it-yourself-installed product, however, local installers can be referred if customer requests assistance. Any installation fees are paid by customer directly to local contractor.