Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

PRETTY YARDS/LEISURELY PORCHES

Founded 1999 • With Angi since June 2002

10-15 EMPLOYEES. SUBS USED FOR DECK BUILDING. COST DETERMINED BY THE JOB. NO TRAVEL CHARGES.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(26) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 26 reviews
Vickie G.
5.0
07/19/2016
unknown
Description of Work
Great job remodeling our bathroom and kitchen! Very pleased with the quality of work and the attention to detail.
Category
decks
Jason G.
5.0
07/11/2016
John helped design our vision, started the next week, and had it finished in time for Memorial day. Great quality and his team is a pleasure to work with.
Description of Work
Paver patio with pergola and screens. Basic landscaping.
Category
decks
Richard V.
5.0
12/17/2012
The project went very well. It took a bit longer than I expected because of other projects they had going on and of course the weather, but overall the deck turned out to be really nice.
Description of Work
John built a 20 by 20 cedar deck for me. He had 1 or 2 helpers with him for various phases of the project.
Category
decks
Bettine B.
2.0
11/27/2010
They asked for a deposit to pay for the supplies and they never paid for the supplies. They ordered stuff and it was delivered, but they never paid their contractors. We know this because we bought some paver stones that went bad because they were concrete and we had to call in on the warranty. There was no warranty because the paver stones were never paid for. We worked very hard to get this guy to finish the job. They ordered extra supplies, specifically the tiles and we asked them to bring them back because we may use them, but they did not. They may have used them for another job and they seemed to be shady. There was lack of professionalism with them. We would not use them or recommend them to others.
Description of Work
We used Pretty Yards/ Leisurely Porches 2 years ago and they installed a deck for us 2 years ago.
Category
decks, hardscaping
J. T.
5.0
05/03/2010
The owner was straight forward, helpful and prompt with appointments. Services and prices were great and he even gave recommendations for other things we needed. Highly recommended!
Description of Work
9 post holes dug and poles were set for us
Category
decks
STEPHEN K.
5.0
11/09/2009
The representative was incredibly informed and gifted. The only reason we will not be using them is just because their prices are out of our league. I can't recommend him highly enough based on our interaction with him.
Description of Work
We got an estimate to have a deck built. He ended up giving us 3 proposals based on our pricing needs. He took time to come out and really look at our property and what we wanted.
Category
deck cleaning
Nancy M.
5.0
04/17/2009
He was pofesional, on time, and knowledge. He would have been the company we picked if we would have elected to have the work done.
Description of Work
He drew plans, He was very accodemating. He seemed to look at the project more ascetically.
Category
decks
DAVID H.
5.0
01/08/2009
They did a great job. We were happy with the work. They are very friendly. We were going to have them come back to do the side sidewalks but they still owe us money for a bush they ruined with the heaters.
Description of Work
We had them install the back patio and the front sidewalk.
Category
hardscaping
Pat E.
5.0
12/08/2008
They worked in a timely manner. They started and finished the job as they said they would. They were polite and very professional. I am very happy with their work.
Description of Work
They sanded and put two coats of sealer on our deck.
Category
decks
Amy S.
5.0
08/22/2008
They were very thorough and cleaned up after themselves. I felt they were very professional and respectful about being around my house and home. They did forget some some stuff so they are coming out one more time.
Description of Work
Pretty Yards came out and removed our old deck and built us a new one.
Category
decks
Timothy M.
5.0
11/27/2007
I began by getting estimates from different businesses and was surprised to get estimates as high as $24,000 for what I wanted. (A sizable deck with an attached gazebo). John's estimate was less than half of that and even though I did not really want to spend $10,000 for a deck, I found that it was the going rate. John and his crew built me a deck that gets rave reviews from everyone who sees it. It is two tiered with three seating areas and an area for grilling. It is a nice addition to the house and blends in well with the neighborhood. John took my ideas and perfected them for the perfect deck.
Description of Work
John Koster & Crew helped me design and then built for me a deck and gazebo.
Category
decks
CHAR R.
5.0
04/13/2007
From start to finish, this was a great experience. Pretty Yards got me an estimate immediately and although they were slightly more expensive then the other companies I contacted, I decided to go with Pretty Yards. John promised my job would be completed within 2 weeks (weather permitting) and it was done on time. I now have a beautiful new deck and arbor that can be enjoyed for many years. The guys were professional and timely. I would definitely recommend Pretty Yards.
Description of Work
Pretty Yards tore down my existing deck and arbor which were in horrible condition and replaced with a beautiful new deck and arbor.
Category
decks
Candy J.
5.0
12/11/2006
I called several companies for estimates on the yard work I had planned, but chose Pretty Yards based on my interview with John (the owner). He seemed to get exactly what I wanted and came in with a fair bid. Despite some problems with the delivery of materials (NOT Pretty Yards fault!) they did exactly what they promised and even came back out to address some concerns I had for no extra charge. Everything turned out exactly as I wanted and all the neighbors came over to compliment my new yard. I will definitely call them again in the future.
Description of Work
Re-worked retaining wall in the front yard, reshaped flower beds and installed soil and mulch in various places.
Category
landscaping
Candy J.
5.0
12/11/2006
I called several companies for estimates on the yard work I had planned, but chose Pretty Yards based on my interview with John (the owner). He seemed to get exactly what I wanted and came in with a fair bid. Despite some problems with the delivery of materials (NOT Pretty Yards fault!) they did exactly what they promised and even came back out to address some concerns I had for no extra charge. Everything turned out exactly as I wanted and all the neighbors came over to compliment my new yard. I will definitely call them again in the future.
Description of Work
Re-worked retaining wall in the front yard, reshaped flower beds and installed soil and mulch in various places.
Category
hardscaping
CHAD C.
5.0
11/20/2006
In two separate projects over nine months (fence and deck in Fall '05 and Paver Patio in summer of '06), Pretty Yards helped transform our back yard into a space we are proud of and enjoy every day. His crews do tend to have some turn over, but his constant is his crew leader, who goes by the name of "Pee-Wee" (interesting name, but the guy knows his stuff, has an awesome work ethic, and accepts only quality work from his crew). They put in our paver patio this summer during the 3-day stretch where the temps were near 100 degrees with high humidity. They took breaks accordingly, but didn't allow the fatigue they surely felt negatively impact the job. They even cut beds for us in ten minutes that would have taken me two hours. John Koster and Pretty Yards offered us creative deck and patio designs, built with quality workmanship, at a fair price. We'll use them again and would recommend them to others.
Description of Work
John designed and his crews built for us a 4-foot scalloped picket fence around the perimeter of our back yard, a unique and spacious deck with grill bump out, sweep rails and custom handrail, and a paver patio with a 13' circle pattern blended into a "muster K" pattern. Everything looks great and is well-built, the prices were fair, and we are very pleased with the work. In the next year we expect to hire them again for some additional work around the patio (arbor, privacy fence, etc).
Category
decks, fencing
JENNIFER S.
2.0
03/30/2006
The service provider seemed to only be interested in a large job. Maybe he should have mentioned that before he wasted his time and ours.
Description of Work
We got an estimate on a paver patio/deck repair and explained to John that we wanted to keep the project and price simple and reasonable. We were very clear about this; however, he came back with a very nice (but much more than we needed per our request) project. Apparently, it was not very important to him what our needs were, he did not listen to us.
Category
hardscaping
SHERYL R.
5.0
06/15/2005
JOHN WAS VERY RESPONSIVE AND CAME OUT WITHIN A FEW DAYS, WAS HERE WHEN HE SAID HE WOULD BE! AND GAVE SOME SUGGESTIONS FOR OTHER OPTIONS FOR OUR BACK YARD, OTHER THAN JUST REBUILDING THE EXISTING DECK WHICH IS IN PRETTY POOR CONDITION. THIS LOOKS LIKE IT MAY END UP BEING A BIGGER PROJECT THAN WE PLANNED ON (AND MORE EXPENSIVE), SO WE HAVEN'T MOVED FORWARD AS WE ARE STILL CONSIDERING OUR BUDGET & OPTIONS. WE WILL LIKELY HIRE JOHN, THOUGH, BECAUSE OF THE FOUR COMPANIES WE CALLED THREE WEEKS AGO, HE IS THE ONLY ONE THAT HAS BEEN OUT HERE.
Description of Work
JOHN CAME OUT AND GAVE AN ESTIMATE FOR REBUILDING OUR DECK ($5200).
Category
decks
HEATHER W.
4.0
09/22/2004
OUR OVERALL EXPERIENCE WAS GOOD. JOHN, THE OWNER, WAS VERY HELPFUL AND HAD GOOD IDEAS ABOUT OUR UNUSUAL DECK DESIGN. WE WENT FORWARD WITH THE PLAN IN AUGUST AND IT TOOK A LITTLE LONGER THAN THE EXPECTED TIME, BUT IT WAS WORTH IT. THE COMMUNICATION BETWEEN CREWS WAS MARGINAL AT TIMES, AS WE HAD TO VOICE OUR CONCERNS THROUGH JOHN AND SOME OF OUR CALLS WERE REPEATEDLY MADE. THE CREW OVERALL WAS A LITTLE MESSY AND SOME OF THE WORK WAS UNSATISFACTORY, BUT WHEN IT WAS BROUGHT TO THEIR ATTENTION THEY FIXED THINGS ACCORDINGLY. THE END RESULT IS SOMETHING WE LOVE AND ARE USING ABUNDANTLY. IT'S LIKE ANOTHER ROOM TO OUR HOUSE. THE ARTISTIC CURVES TO OUR DECK MAKES IT A TRUE ORIGINAL AND WE HAVE MANY COMPLIMENTS ALREADY! WE'RE VERY HAPPY!
Description of Work
THEY BUILT A DECK, WE DESIGNED, IN OUR BACKYARD.
Category
decks
ANSON & CHARLOTTE A.
5.0
01/11/2004
JOHN KOSTER IS INCREDIBLY KNOWLEDGEABLE AND SKILLFUL AS A CARPENTER, AND HE IS HIGHLY PROFESSIONAL IN HIS BUSINESS DEALINGS. JOHN HAS SEVERAL CREWS OF CARPENTERS THAT ARE ALSO HIGHLY SKILLED AND VERY HARD-WORKING. THE HIGH LEVEL OF COOPERATION AND TEAMWORK AMONG THESE CREW MEMBERS IS ESPECIALLY EVIDENT WHEN SEVERAL CREWS WORK TOGETHER ON A LARGE PROJECT SUCH AS OURS. SOME DAYS JOHN HAD TEN CARPENTERS WORKING SIMULTANEOUSLY TO GET THE WORK DONE ON TIME. IN OUR EXPERIENCE, THE WORK GETS DONE WHEN JOHN SAYS IT WILL GET DONE, AND IT IS DONE PROPERLY.
Description of Work
INSTALLATION OF A 1200 SQUARE FOOT MULTI-LEVEL DECK COMPLEX WITH BENCHES, PLATFORMS, AND STAIRS. THE DECK WAS CONSTRUCTED OF TREX WITH CEDAR RAILINGS AND COPPER CAPS ON ALL 60 UPRIGHT POSTS AND INCLUDED THE INSTALLATION OF AN 8'X 8' SPA INTO A DESCENDING SET OF STAIRS AS WELL AS BUILDING A 14' X 16' CEDAR PERGOLA WITH A LARGE TRELLIS. THE PROJECT INVOLVED INTEGRATING THE DECK WITH A NEW STONE PATIO AND EXISTING STONE WALL ON A FAIRLY STEEP GRADE. THIS WAS A PARTICULARLY CHALLENGING JOB AT THE OUTSET OF THE PROJECT BECAUSE THE SOIL IS MADE MOSTLY OF LIMESTONE ROCK AT THE BUILDING SITE NEXT TO THE SCIOTO RIVER.
Category
decks
EILEEN C.
5.0
11/17/2003
JOHN WAS GREAT! HE MET WITH US AND MADE SUGGESTIONS OF HOW WE COULD DO THE PROJECT THE MOST COST EFFECTIVE FOR US. WE ADDED A BRICK PAD FOR THE HOT TUB, THUS NOT LOSING ANY SPACE ON OUR DECK, AND PUT A ROOF OVER IT TO KEEP OFF THE SNOW. HIS CREWS WERE PUNCTUAL AND EVEN WITH THE IFFY WEATHER, THE JOB WAS DONE BEFORE THINGS GOT TOO COLD. WE WERE VERY PLEASED WITH THE RESULTS AND WOULD DEFINITELY USE JOHN AND CO. AGAIN AND WOULD RECOMMEND HIM TO OTHERS.
Description of Work
WE NEEDED TO EXPAND OUR DECK TO ACCOMMODATE A NEW HOT TUB, AND WE WANTED IT COVERED SO WE COULD USE IN WINTER.
Category
decks
TONYA C.
5.0
07/24/2003
THE OWNER, JOHN KOSTER, IS EXTREMELY PROFESSIONAL AND WAS GREAT TO WORK WITH. HIS CREW FINISHED MY DECK IN FIVE DAYS. I RECEIVED A BEAUTIFUL, HIGH QUALITY DECK THAT WOULD LIKELY COST ME SEVERAL THOUSAND MORE DOLLARS IF BUILT BY ANOTHER COMPANY. I HAVE TO STAIN THE DECK MYSELF THOUGH, BECAUSE THE COMPANY DOES NOT STAIN THEM. THIS IS A MINOR INCONVENIENCE, THOUGH, CONSIDERING THE LOVELY DECK THAT I RECEIVED FOR SUCH A REASONABLE PRICE.
Description of Work
BUILT NEW DECK
Category
decks
STEVE H.
5.0
03/31/2003
GAVE US THE QUOTE THE DAY AFTER WE CALLED, AND THEN STARTED WORK 3 DAYS LATER. FINISHED IN NO TIME. VERY PROFESSIONAL, PUNCTUAL, COURTEOUS, TIDY. MADE SUGGESTIONS AND IN TUNE WITH OUR NEEDS. WOULD HIRE AGAIN.
Description of Work
JOHN AND HIS CREW BUILT A HUGE, BEAUTIFUL PERGOLA OVER OUR EXISTING PAVER PATIO.
Category
decks
LYNNE C.
5.0
07/17/2002
THERE ESTIMATE BEAT EVERYONE ELSES BY AT LEAST $2,000. THE ONLY THING THAT WAS DIFFERENT WAS THAT THEY DID NOT STAIN THE DECK WHICH I CAN DO FOR A FEW HUNDRED DOLLARS OR LESS. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THEM. THE JOB WAS COMPLETED WITHIN 5 DAYS.
Description of Work
BUILT A 16 X 20 DECK
Category
decks
ELAINE Z.
3.0
07/12/2002
DID NOT HAVE ENOUGH SOD TO COMPLETE THE LAWN. THEY ONLY DID SOD ON PART OF THE JOB. WAS ORIGINALLY TOLD IT WOULD BE APPROXIMATELY $250 BUT WAS GIVEN A FINAL BILL OF $1500.
Description of Work
SOD AND RE-SEEDING
Category
landscaping
SAM S.
5.0
06/09/2002
THE OWNER, JOHN KOSTER, WAS FRIENDLY, PROFESSIONAL, AND TAKES PRIDE IN HIS WORK. GOOD SENSE OF DESIGN. I WOULD ABSOLUTELY USE HIS COMPANY AGAIN.
Description of Work
DESIGN & BUILDING OF A PERGOLA AND TRELLIS OVER AN EXISTING PATIO.
Category
decks

Other local Pros in your area

DLG Property Services, LLC

Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Flores Landscaping Services Inc

Flores Landscapes is dedicated to exceeding the expectations of clients though high integrity and accountability. We understand that your home is likely the most valuable asset you will ever own - both financially and sentimentally. Flores will enhance the outdoor aesthetics of your home, while making the process smooth and professional. Additional email: info@FloresLandscapes.com.  

Angi Certified

Curt’s Brick & Stone LLC

Specializing in pavers and stamped concrete. We are patio and driveway specialists. In business since 2002, we have served over 1000 residential customers. We have 6 full-time employees and some seasonal help as well.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

496 UXBRIDGE AVE

Columbus, OH 43230

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

PRETTY YARDS/LEISURELY PORCHES is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

PRETTY YARDS/LEISURELY PORCHES is open:

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

PRETTY YARDS/LEISURELY PORCHES accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, PRETTY YARDS/LEISURELY PORCHES offers free project estimates.

No, PRETTY YARDS/LEISURELY PORCHES does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, PRETTY YARDS/LEISURELY PORCHES does not offer a senior discount.

No, PRETTY YARDS/LEISURELY PORCHES does not offer warranties.

PRETTY YARDS/LEISURELY PORCHES offers the following services: BUILD DECKS, PAVER PATIOS, PERGOLAS, ARBORS, LANDSCAPING, RETAINING WALLS & WATER FEATURES. LAWN MAINTENANCE, LAY SOD. LANDSCAPE DESIGN. DECK MAINTENANCE IN THE FALL.