Ohio Basement Authority

About

Founded 2009 • With Angi since July 2011

Ohio Basement Authority, founded in 2009, is a subsidiary of Groundworks, a family of companies that offers superior, proven solutions for your foundation repair, structural repair, crawl space encapsulation, dehumidification, and concrete leveling needs. They currently maintain offices in Cincinnati and Columbus. Ohio Basement Authority is a recognized accredited member of the Better Business Bureau and devotes its years of experience, industry knowledge and specialized training to help customers protect their homes or commercial buildings from water damage, concrete sinking, and foundation failure....

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+9 more images

Verified Reviews

4.8

(515) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

464

4

24

3

9

2

7

1

11

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

foundation repair (304)basement waterproofing (217)drain pipe installation (69)well & water pump repair (111)concrete repair (68)plumbers (63)basement remodeling (28)mudjacking (23)excavating (21)insulation (13)egress window (11)radon mitigation (8)
Showing 1-25 of 515 reviews
5.0

07/12/2022


Christine L.

Kenan T. Came to the house to thoroughly explain what OBA can do and gave me a quote on May 23. I agreed to use the company and gave him a down payment for the work and the work was scheduled for June 22 and 23. But I was notified June 21 to reschedule because of a problem with the permit. After several phone calls to the city permit office by me, work was approved for June 23. Brandon and Jabari did a nice job, others came from OBA to help with the plumbing and inspect the work. There were a few problems after the work was done (no hot water, leak in the faucet that does to the washer) that were addressed by OBA the next day or the next week. I really appreciate OBA and the follow up that they provide to make things right, Jeremiah was very helpful. It is a messy job but they cleaned up the area very nicely after they were finished.

Description of Work
Waterproof unfinished part of basement, Install new sump pump with backup battery, and shield around the walls, moved water heater and washer and dryer to be able to do the work

Category concrete repair, plumbing, basement waterproofing

Cost $9,950

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/23/2022

5.0

06/07/2022


Bert S.

Completed an assessment and are analyzing our options presented by Ohio Basement Authority.

Description of Work
We have several cracks in our basement foundation.

Category concrete repair, excavators, basement waterproofing, foundation repair

Cost $3,200

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/06/2022

5.0

04/25/2022


Terri G.

We appreciated the thoughtful analysis of our issue and the recommended solution for stabilizing a porch that had shifted. Our project manager, Charlie Lawson, was responsive at every turn. The team of experts that executed the work (described as "a lot like heart surgery") took great care in communicating how the project would ensue. Levi, Tommy and Branden were efficient, professional, and careful. The outcome exceeded our expectation.

Description of Work
Porch foundation stabilization

Category foundation repair

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/30/2022

Service Provider Response

Hi! Thank you for trusting us to provide your home with a solution to keep your home safe! We appreciate your feedback on how we were able to deliver great results. We take tremendous care during every project. - Ohio Basement Authority

1.0

04/24/2022


Earl J.

Live in our house with my parents and this company totally lied and stole our money. We had to redo the work with another company. Stay away

Description of Work
Basement waterproofing

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 12/30/2021

Service Provider Response

Hello. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Can you please provide us with more information via email at feedback@groundworks.co? We will investigate any issues that occurred. - Ohio Basement Authority

5.0

04/21/2022


Alexis D.

I had the best experience with Ohio Basement Authority and Daryl! I was really worried when I saw a crack forming in my wall upstairs. I called Ohio Basement Authority and they scheduled an inspection for three days later. Daryl was on time and actually walked us through his entire inspection, explaining everything he found and what to look for when it came to potential problems in the future. He did discover the problem, showed us exactly what was happening, and walked through all of our options. He even took the time to walk us through photos of what could happen in the future and other problems he often finds in houses. He was straight forward, honest from the start, and really cared about us and our house. I couldn't have asked for a better experience!

Description of Work
Foundation Inspection

Category foundation repair

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/21/2022

Service Provider Response

Hello! We're glad you had a great experience and appreciate your review. - Ohio Basement Authority

5.0

03/18/2022


Laura W.

I cannot describe in full detail how happy I am how happy we are with the Ohio Basement Authority specifically our crew from today. Services like this can be a homeowners nightmare from the time Francis did our assessment in February to get a schedule from March to tell us that we would have the best crew out here he wasn’t lying. Today we had the honor of Mike D., Jameson C., Jamie H., and Chase P seriously help us out from 830 till about 230 both jobs knocked out in one day - totally efficient highly professional every single one of them with a strong sense of humor - kept it easy kept fun and kept it stress-free. This crew is the reason why Ohio Basement Authority is rated so highly great group of people. You all killed it THANK YOU and we are so happy and impressed by each of you. Thank you for helping us out today.

Description of Work
Insulation and a deck/wall patch

Category concrete repair, insulation, remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/18/2022

Service Provider Response

Hello! Thank you for trusting us to provide your home with a solution! We are glad everything went well and we appreciate you taking the time out of your day to share the experience you had with us. - Ohio Basement Authority

5.0

03/02/2022


Ron B.

Brett, Josh, Derrick, and Breyten, were all very courteous, professional and friendly. They made sure everything was covered to protect from dust and did their best to keep the door to the outside closed when they were not going in and out, due to the brisk temperature. The finished product looks very professional and blends in well with the existing structure. This was a very extensive undertaking and I am very impressed they were able to accomplish in just 2 days! Highly recommend Ohio Basement Authority.

Description of Work
Sump pump was not running because there was no proper drainage in the basement. Water was building up on the outside of the basement walls.

Category concrete repair, excavators, plumbing, basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2022

Service Provider Response

Hi! We're glad our team was able to show you an awesome experience and appreciate your review. We'll be sure to share with each team member! - Ohio Basement Authority

5.0

02/26/2022


Jason L.

I definitely recommend OBA. We had a tiny bit of water accumulate in one corner of the basement after a heavy rain last summer (‘21). Not wanting to ignore the problem, I contacted OBA for a free estimate. Daryl was out soon after and he was extremely professional and courteous. But what I appreciated most of all was his honesty and not pushy. We ended up taking advantage of every service they offer (water proofing, reinforcement of a slightly bowing wall, finishing crawl space, new sump, new outside drain). While I’m never crazy about such a financial commitment, I feel that it was well worth the investment. The actual crew headed by Miguel was just as professional, doing an amazing job. His manager Zach was extremely responsive, working around our availability after the job was mostly finished, to tie up some final details. Go with OBA. You won’t regret it!

Description of Work
Basement water proofing, reinforcement of a slightly bowing wall, finishing crawl space, new sump, new outside drain

Category concrete repair, basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe, foundation repair

Cost $23,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/07/2021

Service Provider Response

Hello! Thank you for trusting us to provide your home with a solution! We are glad everything went well and we appreciate you taking the time out of your day to share the experience you had with us. - Ohio Basement Authority

5.0

11/21/2021


PETER M R.

Very well! Very professional group. Atilio, Brayan, Jose, and Josh were great to work with!

Description of Work
Clean up and seal shallow crawl space.

Category concrete repair, basement waterproofing

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/18/2021

Service Provider Response

Hi! Thanks for leaving us such a great review. Our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your kind words! - Ohio Basement Authority

5.0

11/10/2021


Nathan P.

I contacted Ohio Basement Authority to look at my foundation. Caleb Watkins was nothing but professional and courteous. He answered all my questions and put my mind at ease.

Description of Work
Check of my foundation

Category concrete repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/10/2021

Service Provider Response

Hello! Thank you for this stellar review. We are glad he provided you with a great inspection. - Ohio Basement Authority

5.0

10/07/2021


Matt D.

Mitchell Spurlock, a Service Technician, came to service/check the sump pump battery backup and system and provided an excellent service. He was very knowledgeable and thorough. He was concise in determining what was needed (a new battery). He promptly replaced the battery and tested and retested the system. He took the time to keep me informed, while making me familiar to the process. Great job!

Description of Work
Sump Pump System

Category concrete repair, basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/07/2021

Service Provider Response

Hello! Thank you so much for this stellar review. We are glad he provided you with an excellent service. – Ohio Basement Authority

5.0

09/28/2021


Jennifer R.

Initially I met with Jordan Wilson who walked me through every aspect of the proposed work and the contract. He answered all my concerns and was professional. Jordan was accessible during the various phases of the work. Justin & his crew were responsible for the drain install, the carbon fiber straps and the sump pump. They arrived on time each day and outlined the planned work for the day. They were efficient and professional. David Reid was the lead for the crew that would tear out the basement foundation wall and rebuild the wall. Each day David would explain what work was planned for the day. David’s crew Larry Greathouse and Brad Ferguson were professional and always courteous when answering and explaining their work. They were diligent in managing the debris each day on site and mindful of safety and security.

Description of Work
Tear out basement foundation wall, install sump pump, install drain system, install carbon fiber straps

Category excavators, basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe, glass block, foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/27/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for this stellar review! We're glad our team was able to show you a 5-star experience and we'll be sure to share with the team. - Ohio Basement Authority

5.0

09/21/2021


Johnie M.

Ivan and his crew were exceptional. They did great work, took care of my house, and finished on time. Very enjoyable experience.

Description of Work
Crawlspace encapsulation

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2021

Service Provider Response

Hello! Thank you for trusting us to provide your home with a solution! We are glad everything went well and we appreciate you taking the time out of your day to share the experience you had with us. - Ohio Basement Authority

5.0

09/21/2021


Rick W.

Project went very well. Very professional and knowledgeable.

Description of Work
Waterproof basement and repair crack.

Category concrete repair, basement waterproofing

Cost $1,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2021

Service Provider Response

Hello! Thank you for trusting us to provide your home with a solution! We are glad everything went well and we appreciate you taking the time out of your day to share the experience you had with us. - Ohio Basement Authority

5.0

09/21/2021


Nancy F.

There were several delays due to bad weather (storms and lots of rain), but the team did a great job and were very pleasant and easy to work with. They also pointed out some things I was not aware of that I'll need to take care of in the future.

Description of Work
N/A

Category concrete repair, excavators, wells, foundation repair

Cost $15,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/27/2021

Service Provider Response

Hi! Thanks for leaving us such a great review. Our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your kind words! - Ohio Basement Authority

4.0

09/21/2021


Kent M.

fairly smoothly. Did a nice job, cleaned up the area afterwards AND very professional!

Description of Work
N/A

Category concrete repair, basement waterproofing

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/22/2021

Service Provider Response

Hi! We're glad our team was able to show you an awesome experience and appreciate your review. We'll be sure to share with each team member! - Ohio Basement Authority

5.0

09/21/2021


Kathy B.

Excellent job. Recently had 2 yr inspection. Tech cleaned sump screens, repaired crawl space lining.

Description of Work
Braced walls, basement drainage, encased crawl space and installed sump pumps.

Category concrete repair, basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2021

Service Provider Response

Hi! Thank you very much for taking the time to share this review. We're glad we were able to provide you with a great experience. - Ohio Basement Authority

5.0

09/21/2021


Wilma M.

They were very efficient, timely, and answered my concerns. Hope it stays level.

Description of Work
N/Are paired garage foundation inside and out.

Category concrete repair, mudjacking, foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/03/2021

Service Provider Response

Hi! Thank you for providing this stellar rating! We appreciate you taking the time to rate your experience with us. - Ohio Basement Authority

5.0

09/21/2021


Jay T.

It went very well! After they were done with the work, the crew did a nice and thorough job of performing spotless and tidy cleanup. They were also very respectful and careful with the home, putting down drop cloths and tarp to protect the floor, carpet, and stairs. We were truly impressed and are very happy with the work!

Description of Work
Basement wall repair and shoring up

Category foundation repair

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/20/2021

Service Provider Response

Hi! Thanks for leaving us such a great review. Our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your kind words! - Ohio Basement Authority

5.0

09/21/2021


Steve C.

We had a leaking basement. They came and did the work quickly and professionally. We are so pleased to now have a dry basement

Description of Work
Waterproof basement

Category concrete repair, basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2021

Service Provider Response

Hi! Thank you for giving us this feedback. We're glad we were able to provide you with a solution for your home. - Ohio Basement Authority

5.0

09/21/2021


Nan L.

What a great experience! This is not something anyone looks forward to doing, but Basement Authority made it pain-free. My sales person was Francis Purcell who gave us a ton of information, and answered all of our questions. Our basement team was Matt Huges, Ahmed Francis and Chavaughn Williams. They were on time, hard working (surprisingly quiet for having jack hammers), and they kept us informed every step of the way, including when they would be arriving and leaving, and any issues, however minor, that came up. I can't say enough about our experience. We used them due to we know several people who have, and had the same great experience, and I run across them in the mortgage business, and all experiences have been great as well. You guys know how to run a company!!!

Description of Work
drain tile put around entire permiter and sump pump installed.

Category concrete repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2021

Service Provider Response

Hi! Thanks for leaving us such a great review. Our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your kind words! - Ohio Basement Authority

5.0

09/18/2021


Fritz R.

Andrew Rothenberger was honest, professional and explained OBA’s encapsulation process thoroughly. He went the extra mile in letting me know that my flooding issue was sewer related and not foundation related. Thanks again Andrew!

Description of Work
Foundation inspection

Category foundation repair