Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Northern Appraisal Services

Founded 2003 • With Angi since October 2003

4.9

(31) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

808 High St Ste 1

Columbus, OH 43085

Description

2 employees. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. Travel charges may apply....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

04/11/2017


Rebecca C.

Very fast, almost too fast. He checked each piece and he did it right then and there in front of me. There was a lot of jewelry. It was mostly costume jewelry, but needed appraisals for attorney. He was friendly and easy to work with. I feel it was expensive, but I have nothing to compare with, because I have never had a jewelry appraisal before. So, I am not sure if it was fair or not. I would hire him again.

Description of Work
Appraisals of a lot of jewelry that my mother left to me.

Category jewelry appraisal

5.0

04/11/2017


Rebecca C.

Northern Appraisal Services went through each piece with me and got it all appraised in a couple of hours. I was very pleased.

Description of Work
I had three small plastic tubs full of jewelry that I received from my mother's estate that needed to me appraised for probate.

Category jewelry appraisal

5.0

10/03/2014


Carol P.

It was a great experience. Mitchell was friendly & explained what he was going to do. He made me a copy & one to take to my insurance company. I learned a lot about jewelry & would certainly use him again.

Description of Work
He appraised 2 pieces of diamond jewelry for me.

Category jewelry appraisal

5.0

10/21/2013


David R.

Wow! Mitch is great and really knows his stuff. Mitch is a self described gem n*** - He's the type of guy you want doing your jewelry appraisal work. Mitch is extremely knowledgeable about diamonds and other gemstones. He explained exactly what he was doing and I felt confident in his work.

Description of Work
Mitch performed two services: 1. Verified that the diamonds in the engagement ring I purchased were real, matched the description I was sold, and the AGSL cert. 2. Provided an appraisal for insurance purposes

Category jewelry appraisal

5.0

10/10/2013


ELIZABETH C.

Beautifully. Mitch was responsive to my call and made an appointment with me the same week. When I needed to move the time he was accommodating. During the 2 1/2 hours I was in the office, Mitch interacted with me professionally about my pieces. He asked answered my questions and gave advise on pieces I might not want to spend the time/$ on a full appraisal with. He showed a genuine interest in and love for the work he was doing, without prying. At the end I have 2 copies of printed, signed documents on the appraisals. I requested an electronic copy as well, which he gladly sent. The price seems like a lot to pay, but i have peace of mind now that this is done.

Description of Work
Appraised 11 jewelry/watch items for my family and advised us on about 10 others.

Category jewelry appraisal

5.0

10/07/2013


SHERRY G.

Felt comfortable leaving jewelry for several hours while appraisal being done. Very professional. Had a diamond engagement ring appraised previously at a large local retail jewelry store, and later realized he had also done that appraisal. With the increase in metals and precious stones, worth the cost for insurance purposes.

Description of Work
Appraised jewelry. Cheaper with quantity.

Category jewelry appraisal

5.0

07/29/2013


Todd T.

Service provider was very friendly, honest, up front. Evaluated our late mothers jewelry collection, We had no idea what we had, which wasn't much. Service provider made recommendations and gave options on where to take it if we decided to sell

Description of Work
Evaluation of inherited jewelry collection

Category jewelry appraisal

5.0

12/10/2012


georgette H.

It went very well. Mr. Dustin photographed the pieces and examined them thoroughly, giving us his replacement value estimates for insurance purposes. He also looked at several additional pieces and gave us informal estimates of their value as well at no extra charge. Within about a week we received the formal statement presented very professionally with full color photos of each piece, "maps" of the large diamonds, and detailed narrative descriptions of the pieces in a nice binder with copies of everything for my files. Mr. Dustin was very qualified, knowledgeable and very pleasant and interesting to talk to. He has a fine reputation and I would definitely recommend him.

Description of Work
Mr. Dustin came to our home to appraise a brooch and an antique ring a watch. Forget how much he charged exactly, but it was around $250. - very fair.

Category jewelry appraisal

5.0

11/27/2012


RANDALL G.

Excellent, he's a fine gentleman that knows his business.

Description of Work
Charged by the hour, looked and many pieces I bought in hastily but professionally (didn't waste any time), and gave me very good sound advice on my merchandise.

Category jewelry appraisal

5.0

01/11/2011


TERESA M.

MItch was great - professional, easy to talk to, thorough and honest (I had a previous replacement cost appraisal on one of the 3 insurance items and he was within 1% of the same valuation). If you need jewelry appraised for any purpose, I would highly recommend Northern Appraisal Services.

Description of Work
Insurance appraisals for 3 pieces of estate jewelry, verbal descriptions and fair trade value of another 10 pieces, along with advice on selling them.

Category jewelry appraisal

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Insurance & estate appraisals on jewelry, loose diamonds & gemstones, antique jewelry, watches, & sterling silver flatware in office or on location, and verification of authenticity is also available.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Northern Appraisal Services

    How is Northern Appraisal Services overall rated?

    Northern Appraisal Services is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Northern Appraisal Services provide

    Northern Appraisal Services accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal

    Does Northern Appraisal Services offer free estimates?

    Yes, Northern Appraisal Services offers free project estimates.

    Does Northern Appraisal Services offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Northern Appraisal Services does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Northern Appraisal Services offer a senior discount?

    No, Northern Appraisal Services does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Northern Appraisal Services?

    No, Northern Appraisal Services does not offer warranties.

    What services does Northern Appraisal Services offer?

    Northern Appraisal Services offers the following services: Insurance & estate appraisals on jewelry, loose diamonds & gemstones, antique jewelry, watches, & sterling silver flatware in office or on location, and verification of authenticity is also available.

    Are there any services Northern Appraisal Services does not offer?

    Ask for details.