Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

HOME REMEDIES

4.9

(232) Verified Reviews

Founded 1998 • With Angi since December 2005

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Licensed
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

771 FRANKLIN AVE

Columbus, OH 43205

Description

OWNER OPERATED. SUBS USED FOR PLUMBING. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. NO TRAVEL CHARGES. EXTRA CHARGE MAY APPLY FOR AFTER-HOURS SERVICE...

Verified Reviews

4.9

(232) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

208

4

11

3

2

2

2

1

9

Rating Details

Price

4.9

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

drywall (129)interior painting (66)handyman (56)home remodeling (39)electrician (35)lighting (34)woodworking (32)plumbers (30)tile installation (28)door installation (22)flooring (22)basement remodeling (17)
Showing 1-10 of 232 reviews
5.0

06/16/2022


Ryan R.

These guys are fantastic. Had them out for an estimate and scheduled with them shortly thereafter. Scott was prompt and professional. They did great work and were very flexible with us when it came to changes on the fly. Going to have them back out to work on our other bathroom as well!

Description of Work
Basement Remodel and Bathroom addition

Category ceramic tile,drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,handyman service,insulation,plumbing,remodeling,home remodeling,interior painters

Cost $36,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/08/2022

5.0

03/03/2021


Jess M.

Scott & Doug were amazing to work with. We needed a full basement remodel following water proofing. They exceeded our expectations and have provided us with a beautiful, warm and cozy new living space in our home. Full scope of project entailed framing, insulation and drywall, electrical outlets and new panel (they contacted electrician for panel), installing new and reconfiguring can lighting, glass block window repair, skim coating the ceiling, painting walls and rebuilding staircase to reduce creaking. They arrived everyday between 8-8:30 and left as the days project required. They were both such a pleasure to have in our home. Our dogs looked forward everyday to greeting them. We look forward to working with them on our bathroom projects in the near future.

Description of Work
Basement remodel

Category drywall,electrician,insulation,lighting,interior painters,basement remodeling

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/23/2021

Images

Review for HOME REMEDIES - 771 FRANKLIN AVE, Columbus, OH - 39225150

+5 More

5.0

01/04/2021


J R.

This is the 2nd time that I've used Home Remedies. Each time Doug responded to my calls for help and was out to do the jobs that day or the next. He is professional and friendly. The cost were very affordable. I met Scott, he wasn't able to fix the problem with my hot water tank, so he suggested that I contact a plumber. I liked his honesty , professionalism and friendliness, too. thanks guys!

Description of Work
replacement of handrail

Category handyman service

Cost $100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/12/2020

5.0

12/09/2020


Ken S.

Scott is great. Very skilled and knowledgable. He takes his time making sure things are done right, but still works at a quick, steady pace. He was here every day once he started and even helped out by picking up a door we could not fit in our car. His work is amazing and everything was done perfectly. Our only regret was not hiring him for previous work we already had done.

Description of Work
Framed and finished our basement

Category bathtub refinishing,basement remodeling

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/09/2020

5.0

12/03/2020


Lisa S.

Doug did a nice job with replacing our rotted wood siding. He was friendly, respectful and reliable. Thank you!

Description of Work
Wood siding replacement

Category woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/03/2020

5.0

11/15/2020


Corey B.

Home Remedies did a fantastic job renovating a loft area into a second bedroom in our German Village home. This involved installing a transom window, installing drywall, adding a closet, and painting. They did additional work outside, with repair of a wooden fence, and wood repair and painting on a roofline. They did excellent quality work at a great price, and in a short time frame. Doug Schifer and his staff were great to work with. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Renovation Of A Loft Into A Bedroom

Category closet systems,drywall,fencing,remodeling,house painters,interior painters

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2020

5.0

11/14/2020


Henry C.

Scott & Doug were great to work with and the basement looks great!

Description of Work
Basement Remodel

Category bathtub refinishing,basement remodeling

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/23/2020

5.0

10/21/2020


Erich H.

We looked at several contractors prior to settling on Home Remedies—guys in slick vans with branded polo shirts. Most either passed up on our work for bigger jobs or quoted us outrageous prices. Scott and Doug, on the other hand, were fairer and more professional toward toward us at every step despite being just a 2-man shop. They guys did a solid job with our attic, especially for the price and considering how many moving parts the job had (framing, drywall, window replacement, painting, etc.). They were courteous, efficient, and shared lots of information throughout the project, which was great for us as new homeowners with lots of questions. They stuck to their timeline. And when something wasn't quite right with the work after the project (some drywall mudding didn't set properly), they came back and fixed it—no fuss, no delay, no questions asked. They made it right. They're good, honest, all-around contractors. We would absolutely hire them again.

Description of Work
Cape Cod attic renovation

Category closet systems,drywall,remodeling,interior painters,doors

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/06/2020

Images

Review for HOME REMEDIES - 771 FRANKLIN AVE, Columbus, OH - 38965524
5.0

08/26/2020


Rod E.

The quality of the work is outstanding. The work was performed quickly, expertly, and without problems. Home Remedies has my highest recommendation.

Description of Work
Interior painting, installation of tile and crown molding, and related home improvement work.

Category handyman service,remodeling,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/06/2020

5.0

08/03/2020


KATE L.

Scott and Doug were a pleasure to work with. They were knowledgeable about the work we needed to have completed, responsive throughout the entire process, and flexible with our requests. We are getting our house painted this summer, and they were very accommodating with our timetable. Doug and Scott were thorough and reliable, and we will absolutely use them again when the need arises.

Description of Work
Replaced and primed rotting wood around exterior windows, replaced and primed wood trim around exterior garage door, and replaced and primed the risers on our deck staircase.

Category woodworking

Cost $1,650

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/20/2020

Services Offered

HANDYMAN, HOME REMODELING, INTERIOR & EXTERIOR PAINTING, WALLPAPER REMOVAL, GUTTER CLEANING, YARD CARE.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about HOME REMEDIES

How is HOME REMEDIES overall rated?

HOME REMEDIES is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

What days are HOME REMEDIES open?

HOME REMEDIES is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

What payment options does HOME REMEDIES provide

HOME REMEDIES accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Does HOME REMEDIES offer free estimates?

Yes, HOME REMEDIES offers free project estimates.

Does HOME REMEDIES offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, HOME REMEDIES offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Does HOME REMEDIES offer a senior discount?

No, HOME REMEDIES does not offer a senior discount.

Does HOME REMEDIES offer emergency services?

Yes, HOME REMEDIES offers emergency services.

Are warranties offered by HOME REMEDIES?

Yes, HOME REMEDIES offers warranties.

What services does HOME REMEDIES offer?

HOME REMEDIES offers the following services: HANDYMAN, HOME REMODELING, INTERIOR & EXTERIOR PAINTING, WALLPAPER REMOVAL, GUTTER CLEANING, YARD CARE.

Are there any services HOME REMEDIES does not offer?

Ask for details.