Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

DLM Engineering

Founded 2000 • With Angi since September 2010

DLM Engineering is a small structural engineering consulting firm specializing in inspection and certification work.

Verified Reviews

5.0

(41) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 41 reviews
susan H.
5.0
03/05/2019
Dale was very polite and knowledgeable he answered all of our questions. He also gave suggestions on how to make small corrections and was very good at explaining things.
Description of Work
Structural inspection
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review my service. Dale Mickey DLM Engineering
Anna P.
5.0
02/04/2019
Arrived on time, was honest about the work that he can and can't do, and provided the information I needed at a good price. He looked at a sagging porch pillar and let me know what would be needed to fix it, as well as looked at adding a door opening on a load-bearing wall and what that would require to properly support it.
Description of Work
Structural Review/Evaluation for Opening a Load-Bearing Wall and Porch Pillar Repair
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you for reviewing my service
Andrew T.
5.0
07/23/2018
Very accommodating. Professional, thorough, and fairly priced.
Description of Work
Foundation evaluation
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review my service. Dale Mickey / DLM Engineering
SANDRA F.
5.0
05/22/2018
Very satisfied. Dale quoted his cost in advance, showed up on time, inspected the situation and made his recommendations. I also requested the written report, which he provided quickly. Very much put my mind at easy regarding the severity of the problem. Recommended the approach for seeking quotes from qualified contractors. Had the recommended repair successfully performed by contractor.
Description of Work
I had a block basement wall that was beginning show cracks with a very slight inward deflection. Dale assessed the situation, wrote a report with his recommendations, and responded to follow up questions.
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review my service.
Dan K.
5.0
03/07/2018
Dale came to my home and reviewed 2 walls that we had been considering for removal on an upcoming kitchen renovation. He spent the time to review the structure in both the basement and the attic in order to evaluate the load points that supported the roof of our ranch style home. He was very thorough and explained different considerations. He also was able to provide a certified letter that we can use when submitting for a permit. He was a great low cost choice for the inspection, would definitely use again!
Description of Work
Load Bearing Wall Assessment
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review my services.
Ryan C.
5.0
12/23/2017
Dale was very knowledgeable and informative about what he saw with the house. Very professional and would hire again.
Description of Work
General structural inspection of home
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review my services
David L.
5.0
12/07/2017
Prompt and helpful. Pertinent report also prompt. Would hire again for inspection, building issues, solutions needed.
Description of Work
Inspect basement water issue including outdoors.
Category
basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review my services
Trevor C.
5.0
10/11/2017
Responded immediately, on time for appointment, very knowledgeable, gave great info
Description of Work
Inspection and recommendation of basement wall crack/settling
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review my service
John K.
5.0
10/10/2017
Dale was extremely knowledgeable and professional! He assessed our situation, provided a good understanding of the issues and made tangible recommendations. I highly recommend his services!
Description of Work
Structural Consultation
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
jeffrey M.
5.0
09/17/2016
Dale was great. Inspected the house paying special attention to concern areas. Very happy with his recommendations. They were reasonable and consistent with those of our contractor.
Description of Work
Foundation inspection
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review my service
Ingrid F.
5.0
02/24/2016
Wonderful experience. Mr. Mickey arrived promptly at our appointment time and was very polite and courteous. He was extremely knowledgable about our home's structure before even going to our basement to take a look. We have an MI track home and were beginning to notice several changes in the floors and basement walls, which was concerning to us. We had already had contractors out to assess what was going on, but after receiving very large quotes for work we weren't sure REALLY needed done, we decided to call DLM. Mr. Mickey did point out a couple repairs we should make, however they were nothing even close to what the contractors and been trying to sell us. It's not that the contractors weren't knowledgable or that I was worried they wouldn't do a great job, they also had great reviews and came highly recommended. However, at the end of the day, they get paid more the more work we have done. I'm really glad we decided to get the advice of a neutral third party, someone who is an expert and who has no incentive to sell us something we don't need. Mr. Mickey gets paid the same whether your house is in perfect condition or whether it's falling down. In our case there wasn't much wrong, but even if he had given us bad news, I'm confident my review would be the same. He knows what he's talking about and he'll be honest with you. And it is more than worth his fee to get piece of mind and know exactly what's going on with your house (especially if your contractor is quoting you thousands of dollars worth of work, what's a couple hundred to be sure?). We had originally asked for a signed structural report. However after our inspection Mr. Mickey was honest enough to tell us it probably wasn't worth it, he'd do it if we wanted it for our records, but in the end he saved us a $100. He could have easily gone back to his office and whipped up what probably would have been the smallest report in his entire career and taken as easy $100 for it, but he didn't. I think that's an excellent quality and if we were need help again, we will definitely be calling DLM. To anyone worried about their home's integrity or considering having work done: call Mr. Mickey. He is extremely knowledgable and will tell you exactly what you need, nothing more.
Description of Work
Completed a structural inspection of our home.
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you for writing a review on my consulting service. If you have further questions on the structural condition of your home, please call me. Dale Mickey DLM Engineering
Alan and Ann W.
5.0
01/24/2016
Went very well. Dale is thoroughly professional, and gave excellent recommendations, as well as recommending several contractors for the support work.
Description of Work
provided an evaluation of cracks in the foundation of our house, and cracks that appear in the interior walls above the foundation area in question. Included recommendations for repair/reconstruction work.
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you for writing a review on my consulting service. If you have further questions on the structural condition of your home, please call me. Dale Mickey DLM Engineering
Peter W.
5.0
12/18/2015
Dale came right at the time of appointment. I'm pretty sure he rang our door bell right at 1pm. He was extremely professional, friendly and put our minds at ease. My husband and I are putting in a bathroom addition in what use to be a large walk in closet. Our plumber came in and started drilling holes for the pipes in four of our five joist! After a lot of online research we were sure we compromised the structural integrity of the second floor bathroom and would have a very expensive fix on our hands. Dale came in and assured us we could find a solution. He evaluated the plumber's work and explained all the variables that impact in the overall evaluation. All in all it was a great experience. He gave us a manageable solution and offered to write a note on our receipt that states we will have a structurally sound room with his recommended remedies.
Description of Work
Inspected a bathroom addition to ensure we were structurally sound before moving forward with our city inspections.
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review my services. If you have further structural questions about the floor joist reinforcement recommendation, please call. Dale Mickey DLM Engineering
Dan A.
5.0
12/10/2015
He came in and looked at the great room and throughly explained the structure of the trusses in the attic. He reassured me that where the cracks where in the ceiling was just superficial. He also checked out the cracks around our windows in the great room and they were superficial as well.
Description of Work
Checked our great room out for structural issues.
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed], thank you for taking the time to review my services. If you have further structural questions about the drywall cracks, please call. Dale Mickey DLM Engineering
Sarah W.
5.0
12/03/2015
He was on time, polite and knowledgeable. He checked for any structural concerns. I had a crack in my bedroom ceiling and it was associated with a dip so I was worried.
Description of Work
check for structural problems
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review my services. If you have further structural questions about your ceiling cracks, please call. Dale Mickey DLM Engineering
Evan L.
5.0
12/01/2015
Mr. Mickey was great. He was punctual, very professional and took time to answer all of my questions. I waited a long time to contact him because I wasn't sure if my "peace of mind" would be worth the money - but I am SO HAPPY that I did. He gave us some very tactical recommendations to aid in maintaining the structural integrity of our house and also took a look at recent remodel pictures to ensure the remodel was done correctly. I am so happy we gave him a call.
Description of Work
Mr. Mickey came to our Upper Arlington house at my request to take a look at cracks we had in some walls, sloping floors, and cupping wood floors. He provided his expert opinion on the structural integrity of the house and also provided reasons and recommendations to fix my concerns.
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review my services. If you have further structural questions about your home, please call. Dale Mickey DLM Engineering
Joseph B.
5.0
10/14/2015
Dale came out on short notice to do an assessment of our foundation and provide a structural report. He came out, checked out the basement, let me know what needed to be done and provided a list of contacts. He provided the report within a day! It was impressive.
Description of Work
Structural Report
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review my services. If you have further structural questions about your foundation, please call. Dale Mickey DLM Engineering
Amy G.
5.0
08/07/2015
We had been noticing some sediment/stone on our basement floor and wanted to make sure everything was okay. Dale came over and listened to all of my concerns. He reassured me that it was okay and my house was on solid ground (which felt really great to hear). He checked all of the basement and pointed out the areas that needed some care with specific suggestions on what to do. I really appreciate his professionalism. I messed up our first appointment and he was understanding and able to still work with me. I appreciate his help and expertise.
Description of Work
Created a report on my basement.
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Member, thank you for taking the time to review my services. If you have further structural questions please call. Dale Mickey DLM Engineering
Teresa L.
5.0
06/04/2015
Dale was great to work with! He took his time to look at all of the areas in the home that we had concerns with. He explained everything that he thought was going on with our home. His conclusion was that there was nothing wrong with our foundation and the wall movement was minimal and to be expected with normal variations in the soil. His written report gave us a huge peace of mind! He was a little late getting the report to us (honestly we didn't even realize it) and he reached out to us to apologize and reduced his fee by $25 without us even asking. Very professional to work with...would definitely recommend!
Description of Work
Performed visual structural inspection of walls, floors, beams due to concerns we had with nails popping and a few new drywall cracks in a 30 year old home.
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to review my service. If you have further questions regarding your home's framing and/or foundation movement, please call. Dale Mickey / DLM Engineering
Brian T.
5.0
05/26/2015
Dale was very quick to respond to my request. He provided a complete evaluation and report, including a number of pictures, regarding the condition of the foundation of a home prior to purchase. Dale was easy to work with and provided comprehensive suggestions for resolving the issues.
Description of Work
Dale evaluated cracks/settling in a poured concrete foundation and confirmed repair recommendations provided by another vendor.
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed], Thank you for taking the time to review my service. If you have further questions regarding your home's foundation please call. Dale Mickey / DLM Engineering
Yong H.
5.0
04/15/2015
Dale is very professional and friendly. He even gave me a brief consultation before I hire him. I definitely recommend Dale for future service.
Description of Work
Foundation wall cracks inspection
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], Thank you for reviewing my service.
Patrick H.
5.0
02/15/2015
Dale was prompt and friendly, he was able to explain several items by looking at the walls. He recommended putting an additional beam in for added support of one of the bowing walls.
Description of Work
Examined bowing walls in the basement and looked inside and outside for any further structural damage.
Category
structural engineer
DAVID L.
5.0
01/31/2015
First, he responded quickly after I initially called him - then was able to come and do the inspection the next day -- which was great as I had to halt work in the basement until I knew there weren't any issues. t had a great experience with working with Dale on structural questions in my basement that's being redone -- then general questions around the house about a remodel I'm thinking of doing. Not only did he evaluate the areas of concern, he explained it clearly.
Description of Work
Checked the structural integrity of the basement walls.
Category
structural engineer
SUZAN B.
5.0
01/24/2015
Mr. Mickey was very professional and knowledgeable and easy to deal with. He also prepared a written report with his findings.
Description of Work
We asked Mr. Mickey to look at a crack in our basement wall. He came over promptly and inspected our basement. He let us know that there was not a problem with the structural integrity of the foundation but also discussed the causes of the crack and recommendations on things we can do to waterproof the area and reduce water build up outside the house.
Category
structural engineer
Jared K.
5.0
10/06/2014
Dale was a true pleasure to work with - punctual and efficient. I called him, left a message and he called me back within a few hours. 3 business days later he was at my property, a great experience!
Description of Work
Came to my house to confirm if I could remove a wall separating the kitchen and living room.
Category
structural engineer

Other local Pros in your area

B-Dry Basement Waterproofing Systems

Additional dba names - RDM Inc. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

Angi Certified

EverDry Waterproofing of Columbus, Inc.

EverDry Waterproofing specializes in basement water proofing and foundation repair. Our method is patented, safe and 100% effective. With a lifetime transferable warranty.  

Angi Certified

Hydra Basement Waterproofing

Hydra provides honest and expert information on any basement or crawl space problem you may be experiencing. If a problem does not exist we will tell you, and if it does we will provide a fair estimate for repair. Our services include basement waterproofing, foundation repair with our very own patented "Smart Brace", and crawl space encapsulation. Veteran and family owned with no high pressure sales. Call two of our competitors, then call us, you'll see the difference.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

260 Pampas Ct

Columbus, OH 43235

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Construction Repair Work

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
PayPal
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

DLM Engineering is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

DLM Engineering is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 2:00 PM

DLM Engineering accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

Ask DLM Engineering for details on free project estimates.

Yes, DLM Engineering offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, DLM Engineering does not offer a senior discount.

No, DLM Engineering does not offer warranties.

DLM Engineering offers the following services: Structural design & inspections for residential and commercial properties.