Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Custom Air Conditioning & Heating

Founded 1976 • With Angi since October 1999

4.8

(296) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

935 Claycraft Rd

Columbus, OH 43230

Description

A Tradition of Comfort in Heating and Cooling Custom Air Conditioning and Heating has been providing both commercial and residential heating and cooling solutions for Columbus and Central Ohio for over 40 years. Our team of professionals are experts at helping you make the right choice when it’s time to purchase a new furnace or air conditioner. Every Custom Air client rather large or small, benefits from responsive service backed up by nationally recognized heating and cooling products. Custom Air services all makes and models of furnaces, as well as air conditioning equipment, with each of our service technicians capable of most needed repairs on the spot. 117 employees. No subs. Cost determined by the job....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/27/2021


Kathy K.

excellent. have used them for several years and am happy with the services they provide

Description of Work
inspect air conditioning and heating equipment

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Hello, Thank you for the five-star review! We appreciate your continued business, and look forward to working with you again. Thank you, McKenzie C. Inside Sales Support
5.0

11/28/2020


Beth R.

They did a pretty good job of working with our old house and yard needs. They were courteous and professional. They wore face masks while working inside, since this was during the pandemic.

Description of Work
installed new Mitsubishi split-type air conditioners

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Hello, Thank you for your A rating! We appreciate the trust that you placed in our company with your recent home project. We look forward to the opportunity to work with you again. Thank you, McKenzie C. Inside Sales Support
5.0

04/01/2020


Susan D.

Excellent. Corey and Ryan were punctual, professional and very pleasant. They divided the work so it could be completed as quickly as possible. Our sales person, Scott, worked with us to provide a virtual quote and was wonderful to provide excellent options with vital information. We are customers for life.

Description of Work
New furnace, air conditioner, humidifier and media filter.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Hello, Thank you for your A rating! We appreciate your business, and look forward to working with you again in the future. Thank you, McKenzie C. Inside Sales Support
5.0

01/22/2020


Jane W.

They have been excellent in terms of the installation and in terms of their annual maintenance. I would highly recommend them and would use them again. .

Description of Work
They installed my HVAC system and have serviced it since.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Hello, Thank you for your A rating. We appreciate your long-standing business, and look forward to continuing to work with you. Thank you, McKenzie C. Inside Sales Support
1.0

11/13/2019


JILL S.

I have worked with Custom Air for the past 5 years. I have 10 units that they have maintained. Even though the are much more expensive than comparable companies I have continued using them. My furnace stopped working Sunday evening. I called first thing Monday morning and was scheduled for appointment for Wednesday between 8 - 10am. I took off from work in order to be here during this timeframe. At 9:30 am Wednesday Kim from custom air called and told me they would not make it at this time. She wanted to reschedule me for an afternoon appointment but I would need to give her a 5 hour window. Unfortunately, I have children that need to be picked up from school and can not rearrange child care on a whim. I have gone 72 hours without heat, took off work and I am unable to get Custom Air to schedule a reasonable appointment time. Kim told me I can schedule a" first appointment of the day" (which I was scheduled for today) but it will be two weeks before they can make it out. I have contacted Bryant Heating and cooling and was scheduled same day with a 1 hour window.

Description of Work
Furnace replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We are very sorry to not have met the customer’s expectations. The weather was extremely cold and we were trying to respond to “no heats” as best we could. We did try to accommodate both hers and our schedules, but we failed to do so. Here is what happened on our end: We talked to the customer on Monday morning and offered her an appointment for Monday afternoon with a 1/2 hr call before we send a technician. She told us she didn’t have time on Monday. We then offered her service on Tuesday however she was only going to be home at 1:00 p.m. and had to leave at 3:00 p.m. That was too tight of a window for us in light of the weather circumstances. We then told her let’s try for Wednesday morning even though she had to leave no later than 11:00 a.m. Our dispatcher called her Wednesday morning letting her know that we were running behind and could not meet her deadline. In this case we may deserve an “F” for punctuality but for Quality, Responsiveness and Professionalism we don’t deserve an “F”. Again we apologize for the inconvenience we have caused. Thank you, Pat Halaiko President
5.0

10/16/2019


Elizabeth H.

The guys who came out were so helpful and nice. They were thorough and explained what was going on with my system and gave me the options before moving forward with the solutions. I will have them check my system twice a year to keep everything working!

Description of Work
They came to check my HVAC system. I have a new house almost 100 years old. The Thermostat needed replaced and also the water drainage needed replaced as the line was clogged.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Hello, We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with your service! Thank you for your A rating, and we look forward to working with you again in the future. Thank you, McKenzie C. Inside Sales Support
5.0

07/12/2019


Kenneth C.

Very good! They're professional, friendly and they are very quick.

Description of Work
Heating and air service.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Hello, Thank you for your A rating! We appreciate your business. Thank you, McKenzie C. Inside Sales Support
5.0

05/23/2019


ROBERT L.

They came out twice. The first time, May 15, was to give the AC a spring check-up. The second, May 23, was to replace a leaking coil. The technician was on time, polite, professional, and helpful. He seemed to know what he was about. He confirmed the AC coil was leaking and said he could refill the system and see how long the Freon lasted, but he recommended replacing the coil. Another company had already found the leak, but I brought in Custom Air because of some concerns I had about the first company. He took the info back to his manager who called me with a cost for the job (half the price of the first company). He determined the coil was under warranty which saved me $500. He also willingly sent me a full quote in e-mail. The technician came out and provided professional service again. They told me in advance how long he wold be on site and they were finished early. I'd use this company again. They also have a high Yelp rating.

Description of Work
AC check and replaced air conditioner coil

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice, and detailed review! We are happy to have you as our a customer! Thank you, McKenzie C. Inside Sales Support
5.0

08/14/2018


steve P.

I liked their service. It was excellent! Their pricing was reasonable.

Description of Work
They serviced inside and outside heat pump. They adjusted the thermostat and they also found some problems on the furnace and they immediately fixed it.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with our services and our team! McKenzie C. - Inside Sales
5.0

08/07/2018


Kathryn and Michael K.

They are very responsive and they do a good work.

Description of Work
I have a contract with them for maintenance of our heating & air conditioner unit and they come out twice a year.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Apex Plumbing Pros

    We pride our company on reliability, great communication, integrity, and quality work. We are experts in our trade, and will do our best to keep you as educated as we can on your particular task or project. We look forward to earing your business! Book with us online or feel free to give us a call today.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Apex Plumbing Pros on Angi
    Jack L Woods Plumbing Co Inc

    Approx 20 employees. No subs. Charges by the hour. Travel charges may apply. No service fee. Extra charge for after-hours service. May contact via phone or email. Award winning.  

    Discount Drains

    Thank you for choosing Discount Drains. We are a family owned company serving all of Columbus and surrounding areas for all of your plumbing and drain cleaning needs. We pride ourselves on quality installations, customer service and great communication at unbeatable prices.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available, American Express
    Senior Discount
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Natural Gas & Propane Furnaces, Central Air Conditioners, Heat Pumps, Roof Top Systems, Unit Heaters, Tube Heaters, Ductless Split Systems, IAQ Indoor Air Quality Products, Humidifiers, Dehumidifiers, Geothermal Systems, Zoning Systems & Oil Furnace

    Services Not Offered

    Duct Cleaning, Attic Fans Boiler & Hot Water Tanks Replacement

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Custom Air Conditioning & Heating

    How is Custom Air Conditioning & Heating overall rated?

    Custom Air Conditioning & Heating is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Custom Air Conditioning & Heating open?

    Custom Air Conditioning & Heating is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Custom Air Conditioning & Heating provide

    Custom Air Conditioning & Heating accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available, American Express

    Does Custom Air Conditioning & Heating offer free estimates?

    Yes, Custom Air Conditioning & Heating offers free project estimates.

    Does Custom Air Conditioning & Heating offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Custom Air Conditioning & Heating offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Custom Air Conditioning & Heating offer emergency services?

    Yes, Custom Air Conditioning & Heating offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Custom Air Conditioning & Heating?

    Yes, Custom Air Conditioning & Heating offers warranties.

    What services does Custom Air Conditioning & Heating offer?

    Custom Air Conditioning & Heating offers the following services: Natural Gas & Propane Furnaces, Central Air Conditioners, Heat Pumps, Roof Top Systems, Unit Heaters, Tube Heaters, Ductless Split Systems, IAQ Indoor Air Quality Products, Humidifiers, Dehumidifiers, Geothermal Systems, Zoning Systems & Oil Furnace

    Are there any services Custom Air Conditioning & Heating does not offer?

    Duct Cleaning, Attic Fans Boiler & Hot Water Tanks Replacement