Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

CLASSIC HANDYMAN SERVICES

Founded 1996 • With Angi since November 1997

4.5

(217) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

620 TAYLOR STATION RD STE I

Columbus, OH 43230

Description

8 EMPLOYEES. NO SUBS. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. NO TRAVEL CHARGE. DBA: CLASSIC HANDYMAN, WILLIS CLASSIC COMPANIES, LTD. LICENSE #: COLUMBUS- HIC3210, DUBLIN - 05-4047.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/21/2009


NANCY & DAVID T.

Everything was wonderful. They spent a few hours in the morning doing the work, and I found them to be prompt and professional. They can usually come out early in the morning within a day or two of my calling. If there are any parts that I need, they are always willing to make a quick trip to the hardware store. I have been very happy with them and will continue to use them.

Description of Work
I have used them several times in the past, and most recently, they fixed two door problems, reassembled a broken piece of furniture, installed a wall shelf, repaired a ceiling light, and removed a small tree from our yard.

Category handyman service

5.0

12/03/2008


NORMA D.

The prices were reasonable. They were prompt and neat. The cost was actually less than the estimate because they didn't have to do as much work as they thought.

Description of Work
They repaired some water stains in my ceiling caused by a leak.

Category handyman service

5.0

10/27/2008


Kim S.

They were on time, very professional & courteous. They also gave a very accurate estimate upfront so there were no surprises on the cost.

Description of Work
Relocated gas starter line in masonry fireplace & ran electrical wire to fireplace. (Prep work to get ready for a gas log insert).

Category plumbing

5.0

10/17/2008


NANCY & DAVID T.

The service was wonderful as usual. The price includes materials, labor, and tax; I supplied the paint. What I like about them is that I can spend a few moments talking about future jobs that I may need advice on. They are always willing to answer any questions about future work for me, whether they are able to help or if they recommend someone else to do the work.

Description of Work
This company did some interior painting, fireplace mechanical repair, and other basic home repairs.

Category handyman service

5.0

10/15/2008


SETH M.

Everything was very good. He fixed the previous shoddy work from another contractor, and even served as an expert witness when we took the other contractor to court. I have been happy with them, and I would continue to use these guys in the future.

Description of Work
They redid another carpenter s work with the siding on our home.

Category siding

4.0

09/27/2008


ANGELA K.

They have been great and very punctual. He was very knowledgeable and he was giving us advice on how to take care of our things better and he was very good.

Description of Work
They did some odd jobs around the house.

Category handyman service

5.0

07/22/2008


John R.

I checked around and found this company to have a better price. They did a great job. I had a dead line for the fence to be finished and they worked within that time frame, in fact they even worked on a Sunday.

Description of Work
They installed wood fence around the back and sides of our back yard.

Category fencing

5.0

07/18/2008


NANCY & DAVID T.

I asked the guy who did the work to give me an idea if they can repair my fireplace. He called his boss to come out and check it out. I appreciated the fact that he did not just say yes, but he contacted his boss to ensure that they could. I also had a problem with concrete flooring at one time, I asked if they could and once again, the boss came out to assure they were able to complete the work. I really appreciate their honesty and that's why I will have them back in the future to do other jobs. It's really nice to establish a good relationship with them over the years. It's almost like an on-going project. I put all the things that I need to be done on a list and give it to them every year. As a home owner, there is always going to be a to-do list. It's very nice to know that once it's time to get that list completed, I can give Classic Handyman Services a call and start checking off that list.

Description of Work
I have used them before for various jobs around my home. This time they did some painting and basic home repairs.

Category handyman service

3.0

04/03/2008


Tom M.

Follow up was very poor, many attempts have been made to get them back out here and nobody will return phone calls. The personal contact was great they just do not follow up.

Description of Work
Tried to assist us with an air purifier.

Category handyman service

3.0

03/31/2008


LEWIS B.

After no follow up and no show for two weeks I called them and they said they were waiting for the weather to break. He was apologetic for dropping the ball, but I would expect some type of call.

Description of Work
After receiving several estimates I had an agreement with them to replace my siding.

Category siding

Service Provider Response

WE COMMUNICATED TO THIS CUSTOMER THAT WE WERE 2 WEEKS OUT ON OUR PRODUCTION SCHEDULE AND WOULD CALL HIM AS SOON AS WE COULD GET A BREAK IN THE WEATHER TO SCHEDULE HIS EXTERIOR WORK. WHEN HE CALLED US BACK AFTER APPROXIMATELY 2 WEEKS, WE EXPLAINED THAT WITH THE SPRING "MONSOONS" WE WERE UNABLE TO GET HIS JOB SCHEDULED. HE MENTIONED THAT WE SHOULD HAVE CALLED HIM, WHICH I AGREED AND APOLOGIZED FOR "DROPPING THE BALL" AND NOT TOUCHING BASE ON THE STATUS OF HIS JOB IN OUR QUEUE. I WILL REMIND THIS CUSTOMER THAT HE ALSO "LOST" THE FIRST ESTIMATE WE PROVIDED AND CALLED TO ASK THAT WE RESEND ONE TO HIM. I GUESS NO ONE IS PERFECT AND AS A WISE PERSON ONCE SAID "TO ERR IS HUMAN..." : ) MICHAEL
5.0

11/21/2007


Terry B.

They were punctual, clean, and efficient. It did not take very long at all and I am happy with the service.

Description of Work
They snaked the main sewer line through the basement.

Category drain cleaning

5.0

11/01/2007


NANCY & DAVID T.

I have used them before and will use them again. They were very professional. (Price includes materials). I cannot drive and I really appreciate that the guy comes over and finds out what I need, and then goes out to home depot and finds the right supplies for me.

Description of Work
Repair a hand rail, hang a shelf, repair two doors, secure kitchen cabinets to the wall, and some other plumbing repairs to sinks.

Category custom cabinets, contractors, plumbing

2.0

10/25/2007


Jessica M.

Michael did not come to my house to look at the project. He gave me an estimate over the phone/email based on my description of the project. His price was high. ($3300.)

Description of Work
Install bathtub, toilet and vanity.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

I PROVIDED THIS CUSTOMER WITH A DETAILED ESTIMATE BASED UPON A DESIGNED SERIES OF QUESTIONS ASKED OVER THE PHONE. THE PRICE RANGED FROM $2,100 TO JUST OVER $3,000 DEPENDING UPON OPTIONS AND FINISHING MATERIALS SELECTED. WE WERE PROMPT WITH HER REQUEST, GAVE HER AN ACCURATE QUOTE AND PROVIDED A DETAILED WRITTEN ESTIMATE VIA EMAIL THAT EXPLAINED ALL THE WORK TO BE PERFORMED. I AM SORRY SHE THOUGHT OUR PRICES WERE TOO HIGH, BUT THIS IS A VERY COMPETITIVE PRICE IN COMPARISON WITH OTHER PROFESSIONAL, REPUTABLE REMODELERS IN TOWN. BEST REGARDS, MICHAEL WILLIS
4.0

10/19/2007


HEATHER H.

The electrician first determined if there was an electrical problem since the existing fixtures stopped working. It turned out to be a wiring issue within the fixtures. New ones were installed and tested.

Description of Work
Replaced outside light fixtures with new ones. Also helped me figure out what some of the fuses in my electrical box went to. It turned out that they were for outlets.

Category electrician, lighting

1.0

10/19/2007


MOLLY D.

Estimate experience was fine. Interaction with guy in charge was a nightmare. Didn't start on agreed upon day. I had to contact them to figure it out! Things happen & I can be understanding. Things only went downhill. Two of three workers were friendly. Third didn't seem to have a clue about personal skills and how to interact with customers. Another worker even apologized for him! I felt uncomfortable about having him in my home (especially when I couldn't be there 100% of the time). When I called to complain, I received apologies, but never resolved the issue to my satisfaction. Work moved slowly and took much longer than anticipated; not a good thing with this being the only bathroom available. Room was supposed to be ready for painting when finished but wasn't. Got to the point where I just wanted them done and gone! A horrible experience!

Description of Work
Remodeled only bathroom in our home. Removed existing fixtures and installed new fixtures, electrical outlet, tub surround, toilet, pedestal sink, lighting and recessed medicine cabinet.

Category electrician, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

.
5.0

10/14/2007


MELISSA M.

I originally called for an estimate to replace the two gates and two small fence sections. However, Michael's estimate to replace all the fencing was quite favorable, so that's what I decided to do. The man who did the actual work, Tom, was excellent. Very detail-oriented, and very good quality of work. The work was delayed a day and half because of rain, yet Tom showed up on a Saturday to close off the gates and one other section of fencing so the dogs could run around in the yard all weekend!!! It's these kind of extras that make it easy to recommend Classic Handyman.

Description of Work
Replace two gates, and the shadowbox fencing around the back yard.

Category fencing

4.0

07/11/2007


RAMONA I.

They were pretty good and guarantee their work.

Description of Work
Installed cabinets in the kitchen.

Category custom cabinets

1.0

07/05/2007


MARIE H.

They lady I talked to who set up the appointment said the handyman that would come would have everything on the truck they needed to make the repairs. This was not just an estimate he was coming to do the work. When Leslie came today to do the work, he was only here for ten minutes and left telling my husband on the way out that he would call me at 3:30. I ended up calling when I never heard from him that afternoon and talked to Leslie, and he said he didn't know what was to be done. He knew, as well as the lady I spoke to on the phone, and my husband, who was home at the time, all knew what work was to be complete. This was lousy service, and I would not use this company again. Leslie was also supposed to be at my house this morning at 8:30, which was the first time slot for the day, but showed up at 10:45 saying he was caught up at another job.

Description of Work
They were supposed to come out today and patch some drywall in an upstairs hallway, as well as at the bottom of the stairs. There were water stains on the ceiling of a couple of bedroom that needed to be determined if there was a leak and where. They were to check out the insulation in the attic and tell if it was adequate or not. Outside I needed some wood repaired on the front porch. The last thing on the list was a bit of stucco repair.

Category handyman service

4.0

05/23/2007


DAVID R.

They were on time, did a great job and all of the debris was removed. I thought it was a little pricey. Mike the owner met me later that afternoon, to look at several areas in my home, that needed interior work. He said that he would email me the estimate in two to three days, at the latest, but it is past that time and I haven't heard from him.

Description of Work
Removed one light pole and removed another steel pole with a basketball hoop.

Category handyman service

5.0

05/22/2007


RUSSELL T.

When I use them I always ask for Sean. I like his work and he's very easy to get along with. The company as a whole is very versatile. I have no problems with them and they do excellent work. They are very prompt and stay in contact, I think they are very professional. If I need any work done I usually call them.

Description of Work
They repaired a floor and did some vinyl siding and worked on some doors. They do quite a bit of things.

Category flooring contractor, handyman service, siding, doors

1.0

05/16/2007


LILLIAN G.

He said he was doing his best. I told him he should have told me he would not be able to fix it. As of right now the door is still not repaired and my inspection is in 15 minutes. With this door not being fixed when he said he would fix it I'm going to fail my inspection which means I'm going to have to close our doors until it is fixed. I have a 24 hour daycare center with 300 children and their parents are going to be out of a place.

Description of Work
He was supposed to come out and fix my door on my commercial property yesterday. I informed him that if he could not fix it to let me know so I could get someone else out here so I could pass my inspection. He came out to the daycare center and said that he would have to get a new part for it. I asked him at that time if he would be able to get it fixed, if not I could get someone else out. He stated he would call me back, he never did. I called him about 10 times. He finally answered the phone at about 5 and I told him that I needed the door fixed, he shouldn't have held me up all day long. He said that he contacted the store that had the part but they opened at 7:30 am. I asked if he was going to go by there at 7:30 to get the part. He said he would. I called him at 8 because I had not heard from him and he stated that they're still not answering the phones. I asked why he didn't go by there to pick up the part instead of calling.

Category doors

Service Provider Response

I TAKE GREAT ISSUE WITH THIS FEEDBACK. THE CUSTOMER CALLED EXPLAINING SHE HAD A BROKEN DOOR AND HOW QUICKLY COULD WE CHECK IT OUT. WE SENT ONE OF OUR GUYS THE SAME DAY & DETERMINED THAT PARTS WERE REQUIRED TO FIX THIS COMMERCIAL DOOR. WE MADE EVERY REASONABLE EFFORT TO LOCATE PARTS (SAME AFTERNOON & NEXT AM) SO THE REPAIR COULD BE MADE. HOWEVER, THE CUSTOMER WAS UNDER SOME SORT OF DEADLINE FOR AN ISPECTION AND WE COULD NOT MEET HER UNREASONABLE TIMEFRAME. I ATTEMPTED TO APOLOGIZE FOR THE DELAYS (WHICH WE HAD NO CONTROL OVER), BUT WAS PROMPTLY HUNG UP ON.
4.0

04/14/2007


KARIN D.

Communication was excellent. Brad and Hugh were on time and worked very hard to get this job going. Unfortunately, we ran into extras in terms of repair, scraping, and painting on the garage, which added another $1000 to the total cost - yikes. Brad always okay'd everything with me before going ahead with the extra work. Things started to spiral down by week's end once Brad was called to another job. At that point the communication disintegrated. Due to this, garage clean-up was not thorough. The basement painting went well. Not the neatest job, but a better clean-up than outside. As ever, my compliments to Michael Willis, the company's owner. He is very professional and completely responsive. Brad and Hugh make a great team -- my compliments to them. Overall, we are certainly happy that the jobs are now completed.

Description of Work
Paint garage exterior and paint basement interior.

Category house painters, interior painters

Service Provider Response

THANK YOU FOR THE FEEDBACK. SINCE I TOOK OWNERSHIP OF THIS BUSINESS EARLIER IN THE YEAR, I HAVE REALLY FOCUSED ON LEARNING AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE FROM OUR CUSTOMERS. WE ARE STRIVING DAILY TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE & PERFORMANCE IN ANY AREAS WE MAY HAVE A WEAKNESS, WHILE MAINTAINING OUR STRENGTHS. I WILL CERTAINLY SHARE THE FEEDBACK WITH BRAD & HUGH. REGARDS, MICHAEL WILLIS
4.0

04/14/2007


KARIN D.

Well...the neighborhood woke up to loud sounds of sidewalk removal of my next-door neighbor's sidewalk, rather than mine. Thank goodness, our neighbors have a sense of humor and a lot of patience. Their sidewalk was replaced by Classic Handyman at no charge. We are all still wondering how the workman didn't remember our address after having worked there the week before. As far as our sidewalk goes, it was not laid according to my specifications (just barely), and I'd call the job a sloppy one. The workman, Tom, who did the actual concrete work used our wheelbarrow instead of the company's -- without bothering to ask if that was OK. Communication was difficult & clean-up on the sidewalk job was poor. Michael Willis, the company's owner, was the saving grace throughout. He was careful to respond appropriately to several conundrums caused by his crew, so that in the end, I hope he'll do all right in this business. We won't be calling him again though.

Description of Work
10 x 3 foot area of sidewalk to be removed & replaced. gutters and a downspout pipe were installed on the garage exterior to help with drainage issues.

Category concrete repair, gutter repair

1.0

04/09/2007


MICHAEL O.

I did not use the services of Classic Handyman. I took an afternoon off work to get this job done. I already had a plumber scheduled but Classic Handyman gave me a better estimate. So I went with them. Apparently, while I was at work, Classic Handyman showed up at my house in the morning to do the job. I received a call from them wondering what had happened. I told them I was scheduled at 1pm because I was working in the morning. They told me they would send someone at 1pm. However, no one showed up at that time. I called Classic Handyman 1 hour later and spoke with Michael. He said someone had come in the morning and now they would have to reschedule me. I chose not to reschedule with them.

Description of Work
I was going to have some leaking plumbing and water damaged dry wall repaired.

Category handyman service

5.0

03/23/2007


KIMBERLY G.

This is a follow-up report re: the plumbing repair- after informing the owner that the faucet was still not working properly- he promptly refunded my money and also promptly returned to fix it right this time!

Description of Work
Replace a faucet cartridge.

Category handyman service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Absolute Integrated Solutions LLC

    Give your home a new look with a fresh coat of paint! We provide painting solutions to residential and commercial customers throughout Columbus and Central Ohio. Tailor-made proposals customized to each project ensure that you are getting the best services for your needs and quality results, without all the upcharges later. We specialize in interior painting, using drop cloths, plastic and tape so that paint only ends up where it belongs. The best paint finish is made with the best preparation. We provide drywall and water damage repair to give you that flawless finish. Call us today to give your home a fresh new look or find out more at absoluteintegratedsolutions.com!  

    Offers by Absolute Integrated Solutions LLC on Angi
    Knl Construction

     

    No Pressure LLC

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    ALL HANDYMAN SERVICES, REMODELING, KITCHEN, BATH, BASEMENTS & GARAGES, ELECTRICAL, PLUMBING, CARPENTRY, PAINTING & WALL PAPER, CERAMIC TILE, CONCRETE, ROOFING, STRUCTURAL REPAIR, BEAMS, FLOOR JOISTS, ROTTED TRIM, SAGGING FLOORS, APPLIANCES, CABINETS, COUNTERTOPS, DECKS, DOORS, DRYWALL, FENCING, FLOORING, GUTTERS, & WINDOWS.

    Services Not Offered

    HEATING & COOLING & CONCRETE DRIVEWAYS.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about CLASSIC HANDYMAN SERVICES

    How is CLASSIC HANDYMAN SERVICES overall rated?

    CLASSIC HANDYMAN SERVICES is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are CLASSIC HANDYMAN SERVICES open?

    CLASSIC HANDYMAN SERVICES is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does CLASSIC HANDYMAN SERVICES provide

    CLASSIC HANDYMAN SERVICES accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does CLASSIC HANDYMAN SERVICES offer free estimates?

    No, CLASSIC HANDYMAN SERVICES does not offer free project estimates.

    Does CLASSIC HANDYMAN SERVICES offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, CLASSIC HANDYMAN SERVICES does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does CLASSIC HANDYMAN SERVICES offer a senior discount?

    No, CLASSIC HANDYMAN SERVICES does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by CLASSIC HANDYMAN SERVICES?

    No, CLASSIC HANDYMAN SERVICES does not offer warranties.

    What services does CLASSIC HANDYMAN SERVICES offer?

    CLASSIC HANDYMAN SERVICES offers the following services: ALL HANDYMAN SERVICES, REMODELING, KITCHEN, BATH, BASEMENTS & GARAGES, ELECTRICAL, PLUMBING, CARPENTRY, PAINTING & WALL PAPER, CERAMIC TILE, CONCRETE, ROOFING, STRUCTURAL REPAIR, BEAMS, FLOOR JOISTS, ROTTED TRIM, SAGGING FLOORS, APPLIANCES, CABINETS, COUNTERTOPS, DECKS, DOORS, DRYWALL, FENCING, FLOORING, GUTTERS, & WINDOWS.

    Are there any services CLASSIC HANDYMAN SERVICES does not offer?

    HEATING & COOLING & CONCRETE DRIVEWAYS.