Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

BETTER WAY GARDENING

Founded 1993 • With Angi since August 1997

4.0

(26) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3325 WILLIAMS RD

Columbus, OH 43207

Description

MOBILE# 519-3516

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/21/2005


LARRY S.

BETTER WAY IS A VERY SMALL FIRM, SO IT IS SOMETIMES HARD TO GET HOLD OF SOMEONE. ONCE WORK BEGAN, THE OUTCOME WAS VERY GOOD AND PROCEEDED REASONABLY. WE ORIGINALLY HIRED THEM FOR FRONT PORCH AND SIDEWALK. WE WERE PLEASED WITH THE WORK AND HAD THEM COME OUT AGAIN FOR THE STAIRS.

Description of Work
REMOVED CEMENT SLAB AND SIDEWALK AND INSTALLED FRONT PORCH AND WALKWAY WITH PAVERS. ADDED STONE WALL AND BORDER AROUND PORCH. INSTALLED LARGE STONE STAIRS ON SLOPE ON SIDE OF HOUSE.

Category hardscaping

2.0

07/16/2003


DAVE B.

THE OVERALL PLAN AND DESIGN WAS AN A. THE INSTALLATION OF THE TREES AND PLACEMENT OF SHRUBS I WOULD GIVE THEM A C. HE TOOK SOME EXISTING PLANTINGS AND REPLANTED THEM, I WOULD GIVE HIM A D ON THAT. HE DUG HALF A WHOLE AND BARELY PLANTED THEM, THEY ENDED UP DYING ON ME. ON THE PAVER PATIO, SIDEWALKS, HE DID NOT FOLLOW THE MANUFACTURER RECOMMENDATIONS ON HOW TO COMPACT THEM. HE DID NOT PUT A PROPER BASE IN. HE DID THE SAME FOR THE RETAINING WALL. HE DID NOT FOLLOW THE MANUFACTURERS SPECIFICATIONS. HE WAS VERY SHORT HANDED, PRETTY MUCH DID THE JOB HIMSELF. IT TOOK HIM MUCH LONGER THAN ANTICIPATED TO GET THE JOB DONE. HE BROUGHT HIS KIDS TO THE JOB WHICH I THOUGHT WAS PRETTY UNPROFESSIONAL. HE CUT A LOT OF CORNERS JUST TO SAVE MONEY. I AM NOT HAPPY WITH THE JOB HE DID. AS FAR AS THE LABOR. I FORESEE PROBLEMS IN THE SIDEWALKS, PAVER PATIO AND RETAINING WALL. HE SEEMED TO GET VERY SHORT AND DISGRUNTLED BY THE END OF THE JOB.

Description of Work
COMPLETE LANDSCAPE JOB, CONCRETE PAVERS, RETAINING WALLS, PLANTINGS, TREES, PERENNIALS, ANNUALS. THEY ALSO DID THE DESIGN WORK. HE WAS VERY PROFESSIONAL AT THE BEGINNING BUT TOWARDS THE END IT JUST SEEMED HE WANTED TO GET OUT OF THERE. I THOUGHT HIS PRICING WAS FAIR FOR THE DESIGN, BUT FOR THE INSTALLATION I FELT IT WAS POOR BECAUSE HE WAS CUTTING CORNERS. I WAS NOT HAPPY WITH SOME OF THE LOPSIDED TREES.

Category landscaping

2.0

07/16/2003


DAVE B.

THE OVERALL PLAN AND DESIGN WAS AN A. THE INSTALLATION OF THE TREES AND PLACEMENT OF SHRUBS I WOULD GIVE THEM A C. HE TOOK SOME EXISTING PLANTINGS AND REPLANTED THEM, I WOULD GIVE HIM A D ON THAT. HE DUG HALF A WHOLE AND BARELY PLANTED THEM, THEY ENDED UP DYING ON ME. ON THE PAVER PATIO, SIDEWALKS, HE DID NOT FOLLOW THE MANUFACTURER RECOMMENDATIONS ON HOW TO COMPACT THEM. HE DID NOT PUT A PROPER BASE IN. HE DID THE SAME FOR THE RETAINING WALL. HE DID NOT FOLLOW THE MANUFACTURERS SPECIFICATIONS. HE WAS VERY SHORT HANDED, PRETTY MUCH DID THE JOB HIMSELF. IT TOOK HIM MUCH LONGER THAN ANTICIPATED TO GET THE JOB DONE. HE BROUGHT HIS KIDS TO THE JOB WHICH I THOUGHT WAS PRETTY UNPROFESSIONAL. HE CUT A LOT OF CORNERS JUST TO SAVE MONEY. I AM NOT HAPPY WITH THE JOB HE DID. AS FAR AS THE LABOR. I FORESEE PROBLEMS IN THE SIDEWALKS, PAVER PATIO AND RETAINING WALL. HE SEEMED TO GET VERY SHORT AND DISGRUNTLED BY THE END OF THE JOB.

Description of Work
COMPLETE LANDSCAPE JOB, CONCRETE PAVERS, RETAINING WALLS, PLANTINGS, TREES, PERENNIALS, ANNUALS. THEY ALSO DID THE DESIGN WORK. HE WAS VERY PROFESSIONAL AT THE BEGINNING BUT TOWARDS THE END IT JUST SEEMED HE WANTED TO GET OUT OF THERE. I THOUGHT HIS PRICING WAS FAIR FOR THE DESIGN, BUT FOR THE INSTALLATION I FELT IT WAS POOR BECAUSE HE WAS CUTTING CORNERS. I WAS NOT HAPPY WITH SOME OF THE LOPSIDED TREES.

Category hardscaping

1.0

10/28/2002

MR.PABST HAS A GREAT PERSONALITY, APPEARED SO KNOWLEDGABLE RE: LANDSCAPING SERVICE, THE SELECTION OF THE PLANTS APPEARS TO HAVE NOT BEEN GIVEN THE GOOD JUDGEMENT EXPECTED.

Description of Work
FRONT YARD PLANTS

Category landscaping

2.0

08/29/2002


WILLIAM F.

PABST ASSURED US THAT THE WORK REQUIRED NO PERMITS. HE WAS WRONG. 50% ADVANCED PAYMENT AND 50% PAYMENT UPON COMPLETION AGREED TO. BUT PABST BADGERED US FOR ADDITIONAL PAYMENTS. UPON FIRST INSPECTION OF COMPLETED WORK PABST REFUSED TO CORRECT MISPLACED TREES AND TREES PLANTED LOPSIDED. WE EXPECTED MATURE PERENNIALS ($20 EACH) AND RECEIVED SEEDLINGS. FINALLY AFTER FINAL PAYMENT WAS MADE BY US IN DISGUST, PABST RETURNED AND SUBMITTED ADDITIONAL INVOICE FOR OFFICE WORK ($700 FEE TO OBTAIN THE $75 PERMIT) AND FOR ADDITIONAL TOPSOIL. WE CONTACTED JONES TOPSOIL TO FIND THAT PABST OVER BILLED US FOR SOIL NOT DELIVERED. AFTER WE THREATENED TO CANCEL CHECK PABST WITHDREW ADDTIONAL BILLINGS. PABST NEVER CORRECTED PLANTINGS

Description of Work
CONSTRUCT A LINEAR 3 FOOT HIGH STONE WALL ALONG 80 FOOT PROPERTY LINE. BACKFILL ALONG THE WALL TO LEVEL BACKYARD TERRAIN. PLANT 30 MATURE TREES, BUSHES AND 2 DOZEN PERENNIALS AND MULCH AREA.

Category landscaping

2.0

08/29/2002


WILLIAM F.

PABST ASSURED US THAT THE WORK REQUIRED NO PERMITS. HE WAS WRONG. 50% ADVANCED PAYMENT AND 50% PAYMENT UPON COMPLETION AGREED TO. BUT PABST BADGERED US FOR ADDITIONAL PAYMENTS. UPON FIRST INSPECTION OF COMPLETED WORK PABST REFUSED TO CORRECT MISPLACED TREES AND TREES PLANTED LOPSIDED. WE EXPECTED MATURE PERENNIALS ($20 EACH) AND RECEIVED SEEDLINGS. FINALLY AFTER FINAL PAYMENT WAS MADE BY US IN DISGUST, PABST RETURNED AND SUBMITTED ADDITIONAL INVOICE FOR OFFICE WORK ($700 FEE TO OBTAIN THE $75 PERMIT) AND FOR ADDITIONAL TOPSOIL. WE CONTACTED JONES TOPSOIL TO FIND THAT PABST OVER BILLED US FOR SOIL NOT DELIVERED. AFTER WE THREATENED TO CANCEL CHECK PABST WITHDREW ADDTIONAL BILLINGS. PABST NEVER CORRECTED PLANTINGS

Description of Work
CONSTRUCT A LINEAR 3 FOOT HIGH STONE WALL ALONG 80 FOOT PROPERTY LINE. BACKFILL ALONG THE WALL TO LEVEL BACKYARD TERRAIN. PLANT 30 MATURE TREES, BUSHES AND 2 DOZEN PERENNIALS AND MULCH AREA.

Category hardscaping

5.0

04/17/2002


JULIAN L.

NICE WORK, FRIENDLY PERSONNEL, KNOWLEDGEABLE, NEIGHBOR USED THEM

Description of Work
PLALNTING, TRANSFER PLANTS, EDGING, CREATE FLOWER BEDS, MULCHING

Category landscaping

5.0

10/31/2001


JULIAN L.

Description of Work
LANDSCAPED FRONT AND MOVED PLANTS FROM FRONT TO BACK

Category landscaping

5.0

05/14/2001


Syd M.

THEY DID AN OUTSTANDING JOB. THEY NEED TO DO A BETTER JOB AT ESTIMATING WHEN THEY WILL BE STARTING THE PROJECTS.

Description of Work
INSTALLED A WATER GARDEN AND LANDSCAPING AROUND THE WATER GARDEN.

Category landscaping

5.0

11/20/2000


HENRY & CAROLINE B.

Description of Work
DESIGNED AND PLANTED LANDSCAPING

Category landscaping

1.0

04/13/2000

POND LOOKS BAD AND ROCKS ARE PILED ON TOP OF EACH OTHER. THE POND IS LEAKING AND I CAN'T GET THEM BACK OUT.

Description of Work
HAD THEM RE-DO A POND

Category hardscaping

1.0

10/29/1999


MARY H.

THEY HAD A GREAT LANDSCAPE PLAN, BUT THE FOLLOWUP WAS BAD. MEMBER CAN'T GET THEM OUT FOR THE APPOINTMENTS. SHE IS TRYING TO FIND A NEW COMPANY.

Description of Work
NONE.

Category landscaping

5.0

09/15/1999

THE DID A WONDERFUL JOB LANDSCAPING. OUR DECK LOOKS BEAUTIFUL. WE

Description of Work
LANDSCAPING AND PATIO.

Category hardscaping

5.0

09/15/1999

THE DID A WONDERFUL JOB LANDSCAPING. OUR DECK LOOKS BEAUTIFUL. WE

Description of Work
LANDSCAPING AND PATIO.

Category landscaping

5.0

08/05/1999


Shaun B.

LANDSCAPING DESIGN INSTALLATION. VERY FRIENDLY TO WORK WITH.

Category landscaping

5.0

07/27/1999

DID A GREAT JOB. THERE WERE PUNCTUAL!

Category landscaping

5.0

07/26/1999

SOMETIMES HARD TO CONTACT WHEN GOING THRU ANSWERING SERVICE. LANDSCAPE DESIGN & INSTALLATION.

Category landscaping

5.0

07/26/1999


ROBERT & KATHY H.

TOTAL LANDSCAPING FRONT & BACK YARD & PUT POND IN. EXCELLENT WORK-VERY PROFESSIONAL WORK & WOULD DEFINITELY USE AGAIN & HAVE TOLD OTHERS ABOUT THEM.

Category landscaping

1.0

07/08/1999


SHARON P.

NEGATIVE REPORT: MEMBER HAD THEM BUILD A FENCE. HAD TO COME BACK SEVERAL TIMES TO DO REPAIRS. COMPANY RESPONDED TO NIA, BUT DID NOT RESOLVE THE PROBLEM TO THE MEMBER'S SATISFACTION. 5/21/99

Category fencing

1.0

05/06/1999


LARRY and Linda C.

I CALLED HIM TWICE AND HE DID NOT RETURN EITHER PHONE CALL.

Category landscaping

5.0

04/27/1999


DAVID & KATHY W.

EASY TO WORK WITH AND SEEM TO BE GOOD PRICES WE ARE EXPECTING TO SIGN CONTRACT NEXT WEEK IF INSTALLATION IS AS EASY AS WORKING WITH JOHN THEN WE WILL BE VERY PLEASED

Category decks

5.0

03/29/1999


GARY & MARYANN M.

DID PLANTING MULCHING & DID A GREAT JOB FOR US. HE'S COMING BACK TO DO SOME MORE WORK IN THE BACK OF OUR HOUSE. NEW BEDS, FLAGSTONE. WHENEVER WE CALL W/ A QUESTIONS HE ANSWERS ALL OF THEM!

Category landscaping

5.0

03/29/1999


GARY & MARYANN M.

DID PLANTING MULCHING & DID A GREAT JOB FOR US. HE'S COMING BACK TO DO SOME MORE WORK IN THE BACK OF OUR HOUSE. NEW BEDS, FLAGSTONE. WHENEVER WE CALL W/ A QUESTIONS HE ANSWERS ALL OF THEM!

Category hardscaping

5.0

04/07/1998


MIKE P.

COULDN'T BE HAPPIER WITH WORK. PUT UP SPLIT RAIL FENCE ITS VERY SOLID AND STURDY. GREAT JOB

Category fencing

5.0

08/19/1997


JOHN M.

WE HAD A PAVER PATIO DONE: REASONABLE PRICE, EXCELLENT JOB!

Category decks

    Other local Pros in your area

    Triple-X Xtreme Xterior Xperts

    We are a full service hardscape design build company. We install pavers and concrete patios complete with pavilions, seat walls multi-level areas, fire places and pits, outdoor kitchens and pizza ovens. We also install all LED lighting and landscape associated with the construction of your outdoor space. We are BBB A+ accredited  

    Angi Certified

    Southern Grove Landscaping

    Why work with us? Southern Grove Landscaping was established nineteen years ago, in 1986, by a graduate from Ohio State University who studied in depth what it takes to achieve perfection in your landscape surroundings. Award-winning landscapes do not just look good for one season -- an excellent landscape should transcend the season with plants chosen for our Ohio climate and accents of stonework and design variation that command attention. That's our specialty. While everyone thinks about flowers in the spring and mowing the grass in the summer, your yard needs special attention throughout the year: during the winter delicate plants should be wrapped or transferred inside; in the spring the landscaping always needs extra special care to make sure the plants and lawn start the year off right. Summer heat means that proper watering and fertilization are important to keep plants healthy, whereas in the fall, trees and shrubs begin to go dormant, so transplantation then preven ts shock to the plant and helps to ensure healthy new growth in the spring. We are pleased to announce our nineteenth anniversary of making Columbus and surrounding areas beautiful. We're humbled by the positive response we've had from our clients and we hope to make many more beautiful landscapes for you and your families to enjoy. Give us a call and we will meet with you for a free consultation at your convenience. ASSOCIATION Better Business Bureau  

    Angi Certified

    Curt’s Brick & Stone LLC

    Specializing in pavers and stamped concrete. We are patio and driveway specialists. In business since 2002, we have served over 1000 residential customers. We have 6 full-time employees and some seasonal help as well.  

    Angi Certified

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No

    Services Offered

    WOOD FENCING. OFFERS ORGANIC PLANTS AND LANDSCAPING.

    Services Not Offered

    DECKS

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about BETTER WAY GARDENING

    How is BETTER WAY GARDENING overall rated?

    BETTER WAY GARDENING is currently rated 4 overall out of 5.

    Does BETTER WAY GARDENING offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, BETTER WAY GARDENING does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    What services does BETTER WAY GARDENING offer?

    BETTER WAY GARDENING offers the following services: WOOD FENCING. OFFERS ORGANIC PLANTS AND LANDSCAPING.

    Are there any services BETTER WAY GARDENING does not offer?

    DECKS