Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

BENCHMARK CONSTRUCTION & DEVELOPMENT

Founded 2003 • With Angi since July 2007

4.4

(8) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3045 E. 5th Ave.

Columbus, OH 43219

Description

Complete Concrete Contractor. Specializing in pool decks, driveways, and patios. Buff wash finish. Colored and stamped....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

01/14/2015


David S.

Description of Work
Stamped stained concrete patio. Weather held them up from original start date. Very nice job.

Category concrete repair

5.0

09/17/2014


HARRIETT L M.

Andy and his crew did an excellent job! Their attention to detail was outstanding. They had to work around our irrigation system, as well as my flower beds and they were very respectful of our property. I would highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Removed old concrete driveway and sidewalk and replaced the same with new concrete.

Category concrete repair,concrete driveways

2.0

09/09/2014


JENNIFER G.

Day 1: The grass was wet and the ground was saturated. Most people wouldn't have driven a heavy mower over it. However, Benchmark decided that their schedule was more important than my property and drove a backhoe back and forth from the street to the back of the house multiple times, demolishing a huge section of lawn and most of a paver walkway. Then, AFTER the damage was done, plywood planks were put down-- too little, too late. This was just the beginning of an experience in which the providers exhibited very little in the way of sound judgment, decision-making or common sense; poor to no communication; a complete lack of understanding (or providing) customer service; and mostly disregard for me, the homeowner. While the little band of Chalfant brothers who make up Benchmark aren't old chronologically, they appear to be throwbacks to a day when companies did what they did--and if the customer didn't like it, tough luck. My questions, concerns and issues with the whole process were met with surprise and even disbelief. The Chalfants couldn't quite grasp why I was bothering them with so many questions about so many details! DUH!! The BBB lists Brian Chalfant as the and quot;principaland quot; of the company. He sells the work, secures the contracts and leads the customer to believe that he will be doing/supervising the work. Not only was that not the case, but Mr. Chalfant, 'Mr. Affable' up until my permission was secured to start the work early (for the benefit of the company's schedule), refused to get involved or even return a single phone call once issues arose. Hire Benchmark and you get a family business, with brothers protecting and covering for each other. No and quot;higher authorityand quot; exists to appeal to. In the end, all you can hope for is for them to finish it up and head off into the sunset as quickly as possible. I would describe the final product as and quot;mehand quot; -- OK, nothing to cheer about. While I clearly wanted a natural, stone-like look (based on a Benchmark website photo), what is actually there looks more like a shiny nickel, due in large part to the type of sealer used. Now I've learned that there are matte-finish sealers--something the Chalfants either don't know about or just don't want to bother offering to the homeowner as a choice. This seems to be another example of having just one way of doing things, like it or not. The property damage was and quot;repairedand quot; in the most cursory ways. The walkway pavers were replaced but the walkway doesn't drain as it did before. Some topsoil and grass seed were placed in the deep, deep ruts left by the backhoe, even though much of the grass in between the ruts has died, too, leaving large brown patches. (And this was all thick, green, weed-free grass that has been nurtured for several years.) and quot;Cleanupand quot; was also fairly minimal, and I have been digging buckets of gravel and large pieces of concrete out of the flower beds ever since. MAYBE things can be restored to some semblance of their previous condition before fall is over... After all this, there was still one final, declarative dismissal of my concerns and dissatisfaction to come: According to Benchmark, and quot;people in million-dollar homes in New Albanyand quot; have never complained... [well alrighty then] Need I say it? BUYER BEWARE: Proceed at your own risk! This was an expensive and irreversible mistake for me...

Description of Work
Installed stamped concrete patio

Category concrete repair,stamped concrete

5.0

01/10/2014


Robert S.

Removed blacktop driveway and concrete garage floor. Reinstalled all with new concrete. Very happy with results.

Description of Work
I used Benchmark Construction & Development.

Category concrete driveways

5.0

07/17/2012


Christopher M.

They were responsive in getting the quote back to me very quickly. They were able to give me my quote within 24 hours. They were prompt, and I would recommend them.

Description of Work
I used Benchmark Construction to give me a quote to sand concrete.

Category concrete repair

5.0

10/07/2011


Charles H.

EXCELLENT

Description of Work
The work done by this group of men was beyond our expectations. WE LOVE our new patio. The design is unique and extremely functional as well as beautiful. We chose the exposed aggregate finish which does require some maintenance over the years, but when the sealer is reapplied the entire patio looks like brand new. EXCELLENT WORK, EXCELLENT END PRODUCT, EXCELLENT PEOPLE TO WORK WITH!

Category concrete repair,stamped concrete

5.0

09/30/2008


Murray G.

Benchmark was one of four contractors who we contacted for estimates. Benchmark's estimate was not only lower than the other three, Brian was very knowledgeable and spent considerable time explaining the job to us and making recommendations. We received his estimate promptly, and once the work began, it was completed on time and to our complete satisfaction. The crew that performed the work did an excellent job, and Benchmark did not add any additional costs beyond what was in the estimate.

Description of Work
Benchmark removed our existing deck and poured a stamped concrete patio.

Category concrete repair

5.0

07/18/2007


HARRIETT L M.

Brian responded quickly to our request for a proposal. He understood what we wanted the end product to look like and had great suggestions on incorporating a small area into the patio that we had not thought of using. The construction crew took extra care working around my established landscaping and exhibited nothing but professionalism throughout the course of the work. I was so impressed with the work ethic of all the people who worked on our project. The artistic skills of the crew is evident in the looks of the patio. Truly a work of art!

Description of Work
The company designed and constructed a concrete, stamped patio for us.

Category concrete repair,hardscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Southern Grove Landscaping

    Why work with us? Southern Grove Landscaping was established nineteen years ago, in 1986, by a graduate from Ohio State University who studied in depth what it takes to achieve perfection in your landscape surroundings. Award-winning landscapes do not just look good for one season -- an excellent landscape should transcend the season with plants chosen for our Ohio climate and accents of stonework and design variation that command attention. That's our specialty. While everyone thinks about flowers in the spring and mowing the grass in the summer, your yard needs special attention throughout the year: during the winter delicate plants should be wrapped or transferred inside; in the spring the landscaping always needs extra special care to make sure the plants and lawn start the year off right. Summer heat means that proper watering and fertilization are important to keep plants healthy, whereas in the fall, trees and shrubs begin to go dormant, so transplantation then preven ts shock to the plant and helps to ensure healthy new growth in the spring. We are pleased to announce our nineteenth anniversary of making Columbus and surrounding areas beautiful. We're humbled by the positive response we've had from our clients and we hope to make many more beautiful landscapes for you and your families to enjoy. Give us a call and we will meet with you for a free consultation at your convenience. ASSOCIATION Better Business Bureau  

    Archadeck of Columbus

    WE DO NOT OFFER DECK REPAIRS. Archadeck is a custom designer and builder of wood decks, composite decks, screened porches, gazebos, pergolas, 3 season rooms, paver patios, outdoor kitchens, fireplaces and firepits. Let us take care of all your outdoor living needs!  

    Offers by Archadeck of Columbus on Angi
    Curt’s Brick & Stone LLC

    Specializing in pavers and stamped concrete. We are patio and driveway specialists. In business since 2002, we have served over 1000 residential customers. We have 6 full-time employees and some seasonal help as well.  

    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    CONCRETE, CAST IN PLACE ARCHITECTURAL CONCRETE, COLORED AND STAMPED CONCRETE, BUFF WASH FINISH CONCRETE, REPLACEMENT OF OLD CONCRETE OR BLACKTOP, POOLS, & COMPLETE LANDSCAPING PACKAGES.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about BENCHMARK CONSTRUCTION & DEVELOPMENT

    How is BENCHMARK CONSTRUCTION & DEVELOPMENT overall rated?

    BENCHMARK CONSTRUCTION & DEVELOPMENT is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are BENCHMARK CONSTRUCTION & DEVELOPMENT open?

    BENCHMARK CONSTRUCTION & DEVELOPMENT is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does BENCHMARK CONSTRUCTION & DEVELOPMENT provide

    BENCHMARK CONSTRUCTION & DEVELOPMENT accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does BENCHMARK CONSTRUCTION & DEVELOPMENT offer free estimates?

    Yes, BENCHMARK CONSTRUCTION & DEVELOPMENT offers free project estimates.

    Does BENCHMARK CONSTRUCTION & DEVELOPMENT offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, BENCHMARK CONSTRUCTION & DEVELOPMENT does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by BENCHMARK CONSTRUCTION & DEVELOPMENT?

    Yes, BENCHMARK CONSTRUCTION & DEVELOPMENT offers warranties.

    What services does BENCHMARK CONSTRUCTION & DEVELOPMENT offer?

    BENCHMARK CONSTRUCTION & DEVELOPMENT offers the following services: CONCRETE, CAST IN PLACE ARCHITECTURAL CONCRETE, COLORED AND STAMPED CONCRETE, BUFF WASH FINISH CONCRETE, REPLACEMENT OF OLD CONCRETE OR BLACKTOP, POOLS, & COMPLETE LANDSCAPING PACKAGES.