Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Archadeck of Columbus

4.9

(153) Verified Reviews

Founded 2001 • With Angi since November 2003

Licensed
Trade License Number
City of Columbus HIC02262
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Phone Number

Address

1491 Polaris Pkwy Ste 172

Columbus, OH 43240

https://columbus.archadeck.com/

Description

WE DO NOT OFFER DECK REPAIRS. Archadeck is a custom designer and builder of wood decks, composite decks, screened porches, gazebos, pergolas, 3 season rooms, paver patios, outdoor kitchens, fireplaces and firepits. Let us take care of all your outdoor living needs!...

Verified Reviews

4.9

(153) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

136

4

5

3

1

2

4

1

7

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

decks & porches (140)hardscaping (20)Patios (18)patio enclosures (10)woodworking (9)lawn & landscaping (6)awnings (3)outdoor kitchens (1)lighting (1)deck cleaning (8)fence company (2)excavating (2)
Showing 1-25 of 153 reviews
5.0

11/12/2021


James O.

Archadeck just finished removal and replacement of a two story outdoor stairway and landing. The material that they used was Timbertech. Every person we dealt with was professional and they know their stuff. They crew that was assigned to our project ( Seth and his brother), were a pleasure to work with. A couple of wonderful guys. We are so happy with the work. Be patient, we contracted with them in March. They are very busy.

Description of Work
Outdoor Stairway and Landing

Category awnings,excavators

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/11/2021

5.0

02/19/2021


John M.

Brian was a true professional and very responsive to all questions and comments. His project detail including design and necessary materials, labor, etc., was impressive. I strongly recommend anyone looking to build or replace their deck to consider Archadeck of Columbus.

Description of Work
deck replacement

Category decks

Cost $32,000

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/19/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our business. We appreciate you and hope you enjoy your project for years to come.
5.0

10/28/2020


Tisha J.

Everything went exactly as planned...very professional! Great communication, nice crew who came to our home. Respectful, mindful of our time and money. The project actually turned out BETTER then we thought and/or hoped. Will use them again without hesitation on our next outdoor project.

Description of Work
We had our old deck torn down and removed, a hole under that deck filled in and we had a new deck built with stairs leading to a paver patio with a pergola.

Category decks,excavators,woodworking,foundation repair,hardscaping,patios

Cost $35,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/28/2020

Service Provider Response

I can't say this enough, but you were an absolute pleasure to work with. We asked you day one what your #1 pet peeve was and you said "communication". Judging by your review and comments you have made to us while on the job, it seems we have met your expectations in that regard. It is always important for us to key in on a few areas where your concerns were not met with previous contractors. We do our best to focus on each customer's pet peeves so we can meet or often exceed our customer's expectations. Thank you so much for your business!
5.0

10/04/2020


Christine P.

Very professional ,fast and efficient. Will do business again in near future. The deck looks great. I like how they completed the deck in a timely manner.

Description of Work
Deck build

Category decks,deck cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/02/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the review. We do our best to get our installs done as efficiently as possible. Thank you very much for your business, we look forward to working with you in the future.
5.0

09/23/2020


Nancy H.

Archadeck constructed a really beautiful paver patio for me and I have contracted with them to do some landscaping to finish the project off. Every single employee has been extremely accommodating and the quality of the workmanship is very high. They showed up on time, were efficient, cleaned the workspace at the end of each work day, and helped me design a nice space. A little on the high side pricewise, but I consider it a good investment. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Removal of unsafe steps and concrete patio to be replaced with larger paver patio.

Category awnings,hardscaping

Cost $27,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind review. It was a pleasure working with you. We hope you enjoy your new space for many years to come. Thank you for your business!
1.0

05/31/2019


Stacy V.

We requested an estimate from Archadeck for a new patio paver and composite deck through Angie List. Mr. Aaron Larsen, the design consultant came to our home on 4/24/19 to review the project. We provided him with a desired design of the patio and deck that we wanted. The initial appointment was positive and we made a follow up appointment with him to review the plans and cost estimates. My wife and I took the morning 5/10/19 off from work to meet with Mr. Larsen, however, he was a no show. We called him and he apologized and said that somehow the appointment had dropped off from his phone calendar. He said he would email the design and estimates that evening, which he NEVER sent. My wife texted him on Monday, 5/13/19 to confirm that he had the correct email address to send the design and estimates. Mr. Larsen did not respond. We are comfortable with the poor rating that we gave this company.

Description of Work
Requested estimates for patio paver and composite deck.

Category decks

Work Completed On 05/31/2019

Service Provider Response

We are terribly sorry that we missed our appointment with you and did not follow up as we communicated to you. We do our absolute best to never let this happen to our customers as we respect your time, especially when taking time off of work to meet with us. Although we are not in the running for your business any longer we would be happy to provide you with the design/quote you were looking for to help aid you in your decision making process. If you would like us to send this over to you please contact us at the office (740-879-3730) to let us know and we will send the design/quote to you in a timely manner. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused.
5.0

05/01/2019


John F.

I recently had Archadeck out for a quote on the repair to our patio pavers. We have an approximately 20 by a 20-foot deck that had started to sag in several spots. The deck is approximately 12 years old. Technology and materials have changed substantially since our deck was originally built. It soon became apparent that the project was going to be much more involved than we anticipated. My wife and I are both in our sixties and looking to downsize shortly. Rather than leave immediately, he stayed, and we talked about workarounds (none of which involved his company) that might accomplish our goals given that we did not anticipate remaining in the house for longer than five years. He provided invaluable information and insight. He gave us ideas that might work for us - none of which involved his company. His product appeared to be a much more durable and longer lasting solution than our immediate needs. We are going to take his advice. My wife and I were impressed with his company, their product and the materials they used for the subflooring under the pavers. At this point, he had nothing to gain except for goodwill. We would contact Aaron and Archadeck again if we wanted to build a first class, longlasting deck. They would certainly be one of the candidates that we would explore.

Description of Work
Repair patio deck

Category decks,hardscaping

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/29/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words! While it would be nice to sell every project we go out to see, that is just not reality. We truly look at ourselves as a "buyer's helper" during our sales process. We find value in helping our customers achieve their needs and wants whether it involves us doing the work or not. We hope that everything works out as planned for you and look forward to the possible opportunity of being able to work together in the future.
5.0

04/09/2019


David W.

It was excellent. The people were very polite. They cleaned up everything.

Description of Work
Install timbertech.

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/16/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review. It was a pleasure working with you and we hope that you enjoy your new space for many years to come.
5.0

04/09/2019


Katalin K.

It was excellent. It went very well. They were very reliable. We're pleased how the deck looked. I rated them B for the price because it wasn't cheap.

Description of Work
Built a new deck.

Category decks

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/15/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your business as well as the great review. You guys were a pleasure to work with!
5.0

02/19/2019


Mark H.

Archadeck was in our pool of companies to install our new Deck. We ended up going with another company. However, Aaron was great during the entire process of quoting out what we wanted and kept in contact during the decision making process. Very professional, timely, and thorough.

Description of Work
Quote for Deck

Category decks

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/19/2019

Service Provider Response

Although we are sad that we couldn't earn your business we do appreciate your comments related to our design consultant. Our employees work very hard, long hours and do their absolute best to deliver on what is requested of us. We appreciate that you took time our of your schedule to leave us this review. We wish you nothing but the best moving forward.
5.0

01/16/2019


Marcia N.

beautiful, meticulous work. really nice crew too. very conscientious, kept the work area clean. thanks!

Description of Work
paver patio and rebuild of a retaining wall

Category decks,hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/05/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We appreciate your comments and the time you took our of your schedule to leave the feedback. We hope you enjoy your project for a long time to come. Thank you for your business!
5.0

07/04/2018


Nancy S.

They did a great job. We have a canteliever on the back of our house (it is not load-bearing), so their architects designed for us a screened porch that is essentially freestanding, featuring deeper footers and a king beam. Other companies who looked at our canteliever were not certain that they could address that challenge properly. Also, the other companies built screened porches but not paver patios. Archadeck does both and they obviously take as much pride in their patios as they do in their porches. The company reps and their crews were all professional, responsive, and very easy to communicate with. Both the carpenters and patio builders who did our project displayed a high degree of craftsmanship. Everything fits precisely and is accurately aligned, which has drawn praise from other contractors who have seen their work. We are delighted with our new screened porch and paver patio and it has been the subject of plenty of compliments from our neighbors. Archadeck is not the cheapest one out there, but their workmanship and materials are top notch. We would definitely use them again, and we recommend them to anyone who is looking for someone who will give them a very high quality product.

Description of Work
They designed and built a cedar-faced screened porch and a paver patio.

Category decks,hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/06/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind review. We hope that you enjoy your porch and are able to make a lot of memories over the years. Thank you for your business. You were a pleasure to work with.
5.0

07/02/2018


Jeanie S.

We never got a quote or asked for one from this company, my last post was posted here incorrectly. Archadeck is a fine company with an excellent reputation and we should have called them instead of other company

Description of Work
I am trying to remove my last review on here dated 7/1 but the system won't let me. Somehow this got posted wrong!!! We never had this company come out or asked for a quote from them.

Category decks

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/02/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the kind words. After our conversation on the phone we look forward to meeting with you to see if we can help you out!
5.0

06/07/2018


Nanci D.

We would definitely recommend Archadeck of Columbus. We LOVE our beautiful deck! (Built in April 2018) From the start, owner Rob Mitchell was more responsive than other companies we called. Rob aims to please & is certainly the most professional person we met with. He’s experienced, knowledgeable, and very personable, too. Construction manager Phil Sluss never failed to return our calls/emails. Our builder, Hoyt, not only did a beautiful job, but he left the work site in great condition every single day. He was also accountable, which is a trait that can be can be difficult to find. There were a few minor issues upon completion that are still in progress, but we are confident that Rob will make sure we’re completely satisfied.

Description of Work
Built a deck

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/27/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you guys very much for leaving us this kind review. We are overjoyed that you are so happy with the build as well as the process of doing business with us. We hope you enjoy your new deck for many years. Thank you for your business!
1.0

03/25/2018


Angie D.

We scheduled time for a sales person to come out to our house to discuss a 3 season room. He took measurements and we talked through our wants and timing of the project. We scheduled a follow up meeting for two weeks later in which we would go over the estimate. Sales consultant had to cancel due to illness but emailed us an overall estimate and photos of the project. We asked for an itemized list of the estimate, along with the dimensions of the project. After a week of not hearing back we phoned the company and was told he would get us the detailed estimate within a couple of days. We didn’t get the itemized estimate after a couple days so followed up with another email and never received the additional information. At that point we gave up and decided if we couldn’t even simply get an itemized estimate from this company, then why would we want to hire them for a major project. We were strongly considering going with this company, just glad we figured out sooner then later that their follow up is non-existent.

Description of Work
Estimate for a 3 season room

Category sunrooms

Work Completed On 02/19/2018

Service Provider Response

We apologize that you did not receive the quote that you were looking for. I spoke with the design consultant that you dealt with and he felt horrible about the situation. With being sick and getting behind with his workload he simply forgot. I know that he went ahead and forwarded the quote to you even though you don't have any further interest as stated above. We are truly sorry for not getting back with you. We hope that you might give us another chance in the future.
5.0

10/06/2017


Mary K.

Aaron came to our home and throughly went over the benefits of composite decking. Then we discussed the overall look we wanted to achieve. Looking through a variety of pictures of their completed job sites, we selected the railings and colors that would work. Rich was our installer and we appreciated his eye for detail and perfectionism. Phil was the project manager and kept us informed of progress. The new decks are a great improvement to our outside living area. We have already recommended Archadeck to our neighbors and friends.

Description of Work
Our two wood decks, steps and railings needed replacing.

Category decks

Cost $27,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the nice comments. We hope you enjoy your deck for many years to come.
5.0

09/03/2017


Bahram G.

They did a great job from the beginning to the end, respectfulness, professionalism, workmanship,knowledge and punctuality was impressive. After tow years we had an issue with patio, after we called them they came and evaluated the problem and they noticed some other things needed to be done which we were not aware of and repaired free of charge. At the beginning we had about five different estimates and theirs was few thousand dollars less. Anybody who needs to know more about our experience with this company can call us at (614)899-6403 or stop by to see their work or take pictures, our address is: 5727 Medallion Dr. E Westerville,Oh. 43082

Description of Work
They replaced our old wooden deck and designed and build new deck and patio

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/03/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind words. We want our customers to be happy, not only when we are done with the project, but years down the road as well. We stand by our warranties and will always make things right if something goes wrong. Thanks again!
5.0

07/20/2017


Kristi H.

Everyone I had contact with was professional and courteous. The project manager explained the building and payment processes clearly, outlined each step involved and they kept to the timeline I was given (except where weather made it impossible). The deck installation crew was polite and friendly, their workmanship was excellent (very detail oriented) and they completely cleaned up after themselves each day. We now have a beautiful deck that we will enjoy for many, many years to come.

Description of Work
We had a deck built

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/08/2017

Images

Review for Archadeck of Columbus - 1491 Polaris Pkwy, Columbus, OH - 35869062

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your kind words. You were a pleasure to work with and I am glad you had such a good experience. We do our absolute best to provide the best service and construction possible. We hope that you enjoy your new deck for many years to come.
2.0

07/02/2017


Janice C.

We spent about 1.5-2 hours with the Sales rep from Archadeck. We were told we would receive quotes on the various deck options we discussed within the next one or two days. This did not happen. We reached out by email, text and phone to the sales rep. He assured us he would send the quotes "later this evening." We still haven't received them nearly one month later. Very disappointing to realize we wasted our time and have nothing to show for it.

Description of Work
We wanted to replace our deck (salt-treated lumbar) with more durable materials. We were open to either replacing existing deck or increasing size of the deck depending upon the input we received.

Category decks

Cost $8,000

Work Completed On 06/07/2017

Service Provider Response

Our records indicate that this homeowner was given two separate quotes and then requested a third. Our Design Consultant recieved a phone call (while on vacation) from the homeowner asking where the third quote was. He replied letting them know he would "try" to get back to them later that evening, which he was not able to do. He was on vacation. We do apologize that you never received the third quote you requested. If you are still interested in receiving it please let me know and I will make sure that the Design Consultant contacts you immediately. Rob Mitchell, Owner Archadeck of Columbus 740-879-3730
1.0

06/17/2017


david N.

terrible. absolutely horrible customer dervice

Description of Work
did not return multiple phone calls.

Category decks,hardscaping

Work Completed On 06/17/2017

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Here at Archadeck of Columbus we appreciate every single phone call that we get. So much so that we have developed a system of tracking all phone calls, potential customer leads, etc... because we don't want things like this to happen. We are human, therefore I am sure we have missed a phone call here or there over the years. We have gone back though our phone logs from the past month. We do not have your name, phone number or address in our phone logs. I would like to invite you to call me personally so we can discuss. We certainly have not ignored anyone on purpose as that would be bad business and we don't want that kind of reputation. Please feel free to call me on my personal cell so I can get more information from you (phone number, dates of phone calls made etc..) so that we can investigate and hopefully find out what went awry. You can reach me at 614-554-4666. I look forward to your reply. Rob Mitchell, Owner Archadeck of Columbus UPDATE: Multiple weeks have passed and I still have not received a phone call from Mr. [Member Name Removed]. UPDATE #2: Customer ended up contacting us through our online consultation request a little over a month after posting this review. We set up a meeting at his request not realizing who we were setting a meeting with. During the drive to his house I recognized his name as the one who posted the above review. The meeting went well, we discussed his project, timeline and budget. At the end of the meeting I asked if I could address a different subject to which they were agreeable. When I asked them if they had posted a negative review recently on Angie's List they said "yes". I then asked them if they realized it was me who they wrote the negative review about and they said "oh, we didn't realize that". Through our discussion it was evident to me that they were confusing my business with someone else. A week later this customer called me and told me they selected another company based upon their construction schedule not being out so far. I replied thanking them for letting me know they selected another company and I wished them "nothing but the best" in my reply email. I also stated a couple points that bothered me about why he wrote the review as things just didn't make sense to me. The customer replied again and contradicted himself on multiple points. Here is the bottom line. If we make mistakes we own up to them, apologize and correct the situation. I wouldn't spend the time I have spent writing replies if I was wrong in the first place. It is truly unfortunate that the review was written in the first place. It is frustrating that Angie's List allows false reviews to stay online without doing more than calling the Customer and ask if they meant to write it about the company they wrote it about. If it wasn't for the contractors they would be out of business because the businesses are pretty much their only source of income since they started giving out free memberships.
5.0

05/15/2017


JANE C.

We worked with Aaron Larsen from Archadeck. He was very helpful, had good ideas, planned out everything we wanted to do and came back to show us in 3-D on the computer what our deck and porch would look like when completed. He was responsive, helpful, prompt and very willing to make changes. Because the first estimate was so high, we asked that several things be changed in an effort to get the estimate in a range we could afford. Aaron was again very helpful and responsive. He made all the changes requested and came back with new 3-D renderings on the computer. Unfortunately, the cost was still much more than we had budgeted, so we were unable to hire Archadeck to do the work. I have to commend Aaron for all of his help and responses to our requests. He was great.

Description of Work
Asked for estimate on deck and screened in porch.

Category decks

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/03/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the kind words. Aaron is a tremendous asset to our company for those qualities you described. I am sorry we couldn't work together this time, but if there is anything we can do for you in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out.
5.0

05/07/2017


Sam C.

This company was very responsive, timely and professional. The pergola looks great.

Description of Work
Pergola Installation

Category decks

Cost $8,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/07/2016