Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

MAC'S LOCK SHOP

Founded 1965 • With Angi since September 2007

LOCKS FOR HOME, AUTO, BUSINESS, & INDUSTRIAL APPLICATIONS. SAFES & ALARMS.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(60) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 60 reviews
MICHALE M.
4.0
10/02/2015
I bought a big deal for 25 dollars because I wanted my front door rekeyed. Somehow both my front and back doors needed complete new locks. The reasoning was plausible and the cost reasonable - The work was competent and professional and I am not unhappy with it, but why is it ALWAYS a bigger job than I started with.
Description of Work
replaced locks on 2 doors.
Category
locksmith
Thomas M.
5.0
03/12/2015
The locksmith had completed all tasks within about 10 minutes and left.
Description of Work
Locksmith unlocked a large wheeled toolbox that had inadvertently been locked with the key inside. He also inspected and lubricated several antique curio cabinets that have very old locks that tend to be difficult to open. He offered to make additional keys for the antique pieces.
Category
locksmith
elizabeth S.
5.0
02/17/2015
MAC's lock shop was very prompt and helpful in arranging an appointment for me. The repairman sent was very amiable, arrived on time, and completed the repair quickly. He was pleasant and thorough, pointing out future issues we may have with the repaired door. I would definitely use MAC's lock shop again and recommend their service.
Description of Work
Repaired deadbolt on door to outside.
Category
locksmith
Loren S.
5.0
02/02/2015
Perry called before he came to the house each time. The first time he took a look at what we wanted done and gave us some options. The second time he called to say he was on his way. We wanted all the locks to be on the same key so he had done all the set up work on the locks at the shop to save time. It took Perry no time at all, about 30 minutes or less, to do the installation and check his work. He was very professional and quick. The used door sets he sold us look as good or better than the locks he replaced. We were able to pay by credit card because he has a card reader for his iPhone. Within minutes of swiping my card, I has an email receipt. This was not an inexpensive job but we received a good value. The deadbolt locks he installed are some of the best available. We are very happy that we have what we wanted at a reasonable cost.
Description of Work
Changed out two deadbolts and two door lock sets. also supplied 6 extra keys. He gave me a choice of new door sets or good used door sets. It was a good suggestion because it saved me $$$.
Category
locksmith
Vincent D. P.
5.0
01/22/2015
Everything went really well. They arrived on time, were very polite, and cleaned up after themselves. Furthermore, they did a quality job, and they also demonstrated how to use the new locks which we appreciated.
Description of Work
I purchased a deal for them to provide locksmith services. Specifically, they replaced the locks on our front door and the door leading into our garage, and they installed new deadbolts.
Category
locksmith
Caroline W.
5.0
01/22/2015
I'm very impressed with Mac's Lock Shop's service and the quality of the new door knobs and deadbolt locks installed on 2 doors in my home. Owner Perry Jr. was very knowledgeable, professional and personable. Installation was quick. He asked how many keys I needed for my new door locks and then made multiple large (easy to handle) keys in bright colors that I can easily find on my key rings. I would definitely use Mac's Lock Shop in the future and would recommend their quality workmanship to others. Caroline Warner, Euclid, OH
Description of Work
Installed new quality door knobs and deadbolt locks on 2 doors in my home.
Category
locksmith
Jeremy B.
3.0
01/19/2015
It was okay. I already had a deadbolt. They apparently provided it, but I didn't realize that. It took a long time for me to get a hold of them to actually do it. When they said they would call back, they never did. I had to contact them. Plus, I wasn't counting on the extra charges.
Description of Work
They installed a deadbolt for an outside door.
Category
locksmith

Service Provider Response

You purchased a "Big Deal". (50% off a service call charge) The "fine print" within that deal clearly stated that any and all new parts must be purchased from the service provider. We're all for giving a great deal with great service, but we simply can't stay in business doing jobs for $25.00 when the part alone (not counting any labor, taxes, installation, and whatnot) costs MORE than what you paid for the deal....In fact, Mac's Lock Shop doesn't get ANY of the $25.00 you paid to Angie's List! In addition, you were given an EXTRA discount for being a former US Military member. The "Big Deal" was designed for AL members to be connected with service providers at a discounted price, while the service provider got a new client. Small businesses simply CANNOT stay in business without profit. In fact, NO business can. A "good deal" is only good when it's mutually beneficial. For further reference, please be SURE to UNDERSTAND what you're buying BEFORE you buy a Big Deal.
Marjorie L.
5.0
01/15/2015
It was great. The guy came out and took a look at it. There was a piece broken off from the lock fortunately he had a piece in his truck. He fixed it in about 15 minutes. I paid him and it was great. It was very reasonable. He came out on time and did the job. He had a guy with him who was learning the job and it all went perfect.
Description of Work
He replaced the lock on my front door.
Category
locksmith
Catherine W.
5.0
01/09/2015
Great! He was prompt, very nice on the phone, and completed the work successfully.
Description of Work
I had a key that broke off in the lock, and he came to replace the lock.
Category
locksmith
Annapurna V.
5.0
12/30/2014
Seemed to know a lot about locks. Was easy to reach and prompt in his responses.
Description of Work
Repaired a lock for the door that leads to the outside from our family room.
Category
locksmith
Susan L.
5.0
12/26/2014
They responded to my request very promptly and came out within a couple days. The technician was pleasant and courteous. He did a good job of matching the new knob and lock with the finish of the knobs in the rest of the house.
Description of Work
He checked a broken dead bolt lock, and replaced with a new one.
Category
locksmith
BEVERLY B.
5.0
12/09/2014
I had a "smart Key" lock by Kwick from Home Depot - it jammed within 2 weeks of installation in the new door! Mac's lock fixed the problem quickly, and at a fair price - he re-keyed the jammed lock and checked some other lock things for me. Professional. No complaints
Description of Work
re-keyed 2 locks
Category
locksmith
Doreen K.
5.0
12/04/2014
He called when he was close to say he was en route. Came in and reviewed what I needed. He needed to get the new lock and worked very hard to accommodate my schedule- came back the same day and did the work. He was neat, fast, and pleasant to deal with.
Description of Work
Fixed it so my deadbolt works; put in a new and better quality lock; rekeyed that lock so I only need one key for all three of the locks at my house.
Category
locksmith
TED T.
1.0
12/02/2014
They showed, inspected a left. I had several locks to change and there would’ve been significant amount of work. I never heard back from him again!
Description of Work
Bid Deal : $25 for a Locksmith Service Call
Category
locksmith

Service Provider Response

You were asked to CLEAN your house before calling us back out. We could not even access the doors to be worked on due to debris (junk) being literally stacked up in front of the doors. We never heard from you telling us the items were removed from the work area. On a side note, it was very pleasant to see a single home have over 30 cats/kittens in it ;)
kkaren C.
2.0
11/19/2014
The service provider was unresponsive initially. We did make an appointment and he missed the first appointment in October, he called and said he was busy and would call me back to schedule. He never called back, I had to call him and we agreed he would come out Saturday November 15, and he would call before he came. He never called and never showed up that day at all.
Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal $25 for a Locksmith Service Call
Category
locksmith

Service Provider Response

No actual appointment day/time was set up. I did however try to contact you numerous times via phone and Angie's List messaging to set up a service call. I left voicemail ( along with my personal cel phone to contact me personally) , and even spoke with you direct. The time we actually spoke, you we're to call me back because you were in a meeting....no call back, no AL message. I have no problem doing your service call...even now. I just think there was a lack of communication, as well as a misunderstanding. The fact that you thought we had a Nov. 15, service scheduled does bring up some issues, as Saturday service calls are limited. I'm thinking you may have me mixed up with another service provider....
Ann R.
4.0
11/02/2014
He was responsive, pleasant and professional. He said the locks were a little unusual, but he was able to rekey them. I thought it was a little pricey.
Description of Work
Rekeyed 3 doors
Category
locksmith
Lois A.
3.0
10/30/2014
The provider gave inaccurate information about our city's code for installing deadbolts in a residence. We trusted him and therefore did not get the kind of deadbolt we were hoping to get. When we called our city afterward we were very disappointed. The provider did not bring any kind of equipment to clean up after himself so we had to clean up after him. We used him because we got this deal through Angie's List, but may have to be more discerning in the future about these deals.
Description of Work
Installed a deadbolt
Category
locksmith
Raymond G.
4.0
10/13/2014
Seemed kind of expensive... $85 plus the deal I bought. Overall good though.
Description of Work
Rekeyed and some small repairs.
Category
locksmith
Jay W.
5.0
10/05/2014
The provider showed up as schedule, explained what needed to be done, and completed the repair quickly.
Description of Work
Replaced the handset on an old lock.
Category
locksmith

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing Mac's Lock!
Evelyn F.
5.0
09/15/2014
He responded quickly to my e-mail. Work was completed quickly. Glad I didn't try it myself on these old doors!
Description of Work
Re-drill door to replace two locks.
Category
locksmith
Elva B.
5.0
08/18/2014
He was able to come out the same day I called. Turns out the locks I had questions about were fine - I hadn't understood how they worked. Had a deadbolt that had gotten messed up as well, & he gave me good advice on how to replace it, which we did. He took a key with him to rekey the new lock, came back shortly after & in a matter of minutes made the switch. Much impressed with their honesty - asked about other deadbolts I have in the house, & he told me I was fine as I was. Checked the other locks, & told me likewise. Mac's is one of the oldest businesses in our neighborhood; it's good to know you have a reliable honest company like this nearby!
Description of Work
Had bought a service call "Deal" & had them come in to check locks I thought I was having problems with.
Category
locksmith

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the GLOWING review~!
CAROL F.
4.0
08/15/2014
My purse with extra keys was missing and I was not comfortable waiting to have the lock replaced.
Description of Work
.
Category
locksmith
Carol B.
5.0
08/01/2014
Mac's Lock Shop kindly agreed to accomodate my work schedule and came out in the early evening. The originally scheduled work was the replacement of a single lock which was broken but after hearing my concerns about replacing all of the locks, the locksmith (and I am so very sorry I have forgotten his name) took care of that as well, then and there. I was impressed first that he came at a time I could accomodate, and secondly with the courtesy and efficiency with which he accomplished the job (all the while patiently answering my questions and offering tips). Finally I was impressed with the price - I had taken advantage of an Angies list big deal coupon for a reduce rate service call, so there was that savings, but even without that I feel the work was competetively priced. I would not hesitate recommend this locksmith.
Description of Work
Installed one new knob/lock and rekeyed 5 existing locks .
Category
locksmith

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review, [removed member name]! Regards, Perry Jr.
Robert S.
5.0
07/10/2014
I bought a big deal: $25 for a locksmith service call. Perry Prine contacted me and arranged to come out to my place that same day. It only took an hour to rekey 6 keyholes. He really knew his stuff. He was very friendly and gave me a couple of valuable tips on maintaining my locks. He also noticed and fixed one of my locks that was missing a little spring.
Description of Work
Rekeyed the locks for my house.
Category
locksmith
arthur S.
5.0
06/16/2014
I was pleased with this and they did fine. They repaired a broken front door lock. They were pleasant and efficient. The price was fair as they made two or three visits to get it finished.
Description of Work
I purchased a big deal for $25 for a Locksmith Service Call.
Category
locksmith

Service Provider Response

Yes, your lock certainly was a challenge, wasn't it, Art?! That lock wasn't about to get the best of me! I'm just glad we were able to fix it, instead of a costly replacement on an extinct lock! Thanks for choosing Mac's Lock Shop, Art!

Other local Pros in your area

24-7 Available Locksmith, LLC

24-7 Available Locksmith LLC, is a trusted service when you need the best locksmith in the greater Cleveland area. Our superior service provides you with all your needs from lock replacing or rekeying, fresh dead bolt installations, high security locks from MULTI LOCK. We also offer commercial locksmith solutions, with repair or replace of all major brand locks and crash bars, master rekeying and smart key control that employees cant duplicate. If you lost your car keys, we can have a replacement key made in no time. We can program new keys and remotes. We also fix or replace worn or damaged ignition cylinders like the Ford focus models, GM, Chrysler, Toyota and many more. Give us a call today and talk to an experienced locksmith.  

Angi Certified

ADT

ADT home security systems are backed by more than 145 years of experience. As the leader in home security, ADT can help you customize a home security system with easy-to-use equipment and special security features to meet your safety needs. We have service centers nationwide that can install an ADT home security system within 24 hours in most areas. Once your home is equipped with our top-of-the-line system, it is connected to a network of ADT Monitoring Centers nationwide which deliver non-stop security monitoring 365 days a year. All of our installation technicians are internal employees, and not third-party contractors. You can count on your Security Advisor to take the time to set up your system properly, help you understand how the system works, and help make sure your home and family are thoroughly protected.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

TechVrse, LLC

TechVrse is a full-service IT consulting and Digital Marketing firm providing services to businesses and homeowners in the Northeast Ohio area. TechVrse provides top-of-the-line Web design and hosting, Search Engine Optimization, Pay Per Click advertising, and best in class IT support services like home automation, custom-built computers, and more for businesses and homeowners. TechVrse is your one-stop-shop for this digital and connected world. We pride our company on reliability, great communication, integrity, and quality work. We are experts in our trade and will do our best to keep you as educated as we can on your particular task or project. We look forward to earning your business! Book with us online or feel free to give us a call today!  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Phone

Address

15702 WATERLOO ROAD

Cleveland, OH 44110

Other Information

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
PayPal
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

MAC'S LOCK SHOP is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

MAC'S LOCK SHOP is open:

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

MAC'S LOCK SHOP accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, PayPal

No, MAC'S LOCK SHOP does not offer free project estimates.

No, MAC'S LOCK SHOP does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, MAC'S LOCK SHOP does not offer a senior discount.

No, MAC'S LOCK SHOP does not offer warranties.

MAC'S LOCK SHOP offers the following services: LOCKS FOR HOME, AUTO, BUSINESS, & INDUSTRIAL APPLICATIONS. SAFES & ALARMS.