Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Grounds By Coffey

Founded 1991 • With Angi since November 1997

4.5

(169) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3655 Walt Ct

Cleveland, OH 44111

Description

3 Employees. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charge.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
ED & DEBORAH T.
1.0
04/23/2022
Called us a day before one of the area's worst blizzards saying he could no longer plow our driveway. We were enraged and had to pay others triple the money because we were left hanging. Don't use these people - cannot be trusted!
Description of Work
They were hired to do lawn mowing and snow plowing - we used them for years - then the owner made up some BS about people quitting and said he couldn't do any work any more. He stiffed us and multiple families in out neighborhood with this fake story.
Category
lawn service, snow removal
Debi B.
5.0
05/20/2019
First time using this company and am very pleased with the results. The crew of 3 men were professional, courteous, addressed concerns and did a wonderful job of transforming my overgrown front flowerbeds by clearing out all weeds, old plantings and added fresh mulch to complete the clean look. The crew worked diligently and professionally, cleaned up after themselves, removed all the debris and were on their way. I would definitely recommend this company and considering plans for my backyard clean up as well. Good work guys!
Description of Work
Flowerbeds cleaned out/ mulch
Category
lawn service, mulch
Stephen A.
5.0
06/11/2018
Very hard workers, polite, cleaned up, and were very professional.
Description of Work
Laid Mulch
Category
lawn service, mulch
Colleen C.
5.0
04/20/2018
They did a wonderful job. Services performed promptly, prices very reasonable.
Description of Work
Mulching, shrub trimming, lawn treatments
Category
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, mulch
Lara P.
1.0
03/14/2018
The original cleanup went ok. I asked for an estimate for a one time spring cleanup for our rental property. I went ahead and hired them. While scheduling he asked if I wanted weekly lawn care which i declined. I paid the original bill in full. I use a different company for occasional lawn mowing when needed. They don't have a contract I just call and they come if we don't have time. A month later I received a bill for $124 for lawn maintenance that they did for a month where I was extremely busy and didn't get a chance to go over and see our rental property. I refused to pay since I never asked him to do weekly maintenance. You should not have to pay for work that was never asked for. I would never hire a contractor who does that it's very shady. Three years later and he is threatening to sue me. He was paid in full for work that I asked for. I will not pay for work that was done without my consent. He also lied and told me he only does work for people who also do weekly maintenance. Other reviews on Angies list show a history of both weekly lawn care and one time cleaning or mulching.
Description of Work
Spring cleanup for our rental property in 2015
Category
lawn service
Debbie M.
1.0
05/23/2017
He didn't do anything he was supposed to do. He really didn't do a job at all.
Description of Work
Sprinkler system
Category
irrigation systems
Robert M.
5.0
04/20/2017
I called Grounds by Coffee to apply mulch to the planters all around the house. I believe this is the forth year that I have had this business apply mulch. John Coffey responded quickly to my call. He is very pleasant to work with and seems very knowledgeable. I asked him to do the mulching. They cut a clean edge along the lawn, cleaned up all debris, applied weed control, and spread 11 yards of shredded bark mulch. They have always done a great job and I have been pleased with the results
Description of Work
Apply mulch to planters around the house.
Category
lawn service, mulch
Joanna C.
2.0
04/19/2017
The work was relatively timely. They removed the rocks. When refilling the hole we had previously asked that the soil be mounded at a slope on top of it so that there would be less of a hole when the ground settled. They packed the soil down but they did not leave extra at a slope. We asked multiple times while the work was being done but they responded they had packed the soil down and it did not require more soil. We showed them the contract saying more soil would be left on top. They begrudging left a little bit more soil but not enough. We let it go for the day and decided to call the owner. A number of weeks later we left a message saying the soil was settling and would they be willing to return in the spring to fill it. We did not receive a reply. We phoned them this spring and the owner said that it was either too much soil or too little soil with people and he wasn't able to fill it without charging us. We weren't sure if we rehired them that they would slope it how we originally had asked and decided just to order dirt ourselves and do the work. The grass that was planted appears to be good quality.
Description of Work
We needed rocks removed from previous work another contractor had done on pipes in our front yard, the hole to be filled in with soil and grass to be replanted.
Category
lawn service
Kelly H.
5.0
03/15/2017
I used them for two seasons. They were very professional that (the first) year and I was happy with their work.
Description of Work
They did snow removal.
Category
snow removal
Kelly H.
3.0
03/15/2017
I don't use them any more and haven't for a couple of years. They started out good the first year but then the second year they really went downhill. I believe it was $300 for the season -- the winter. To do better they could not rush so much. It was kind of a bad winter and when they came the plow just was up and down my driveway very fast. They broke a fence by plowing the snow too fast and at the end of the season they really messed up my neighbor's tree line by driving over it with their plow. They actually finally came and fixed it because I had to call them a couple of times. They could not be so sloppy in their work, I guess. They could take a little more time and be a little more cautious. The best part of the experience was that the price was reasonable. The worst part was the destruction of property. I looked around and it was a pretty good price.
Description of Work
In the past for snowplowing I used Grounds by Coffey.
Category
snow removal
Joanna C.
4.0
11/08/2016
It went well. We had asked for the dirt to be crested in an area of the yard where dirt was settling from previous work on an underground pipe with a different contractor. The individual we discussed the estimate with understood but the men doing the actual work were not cresting the dirt. We asked a few times and showed them the contract and they complied. We were thankful we were present during the work. Otherwise we were very satisfied with the work. There are a few places in which the dirt has settled and there is a dip in the yard but the grass looks terrific. We will wait for the winter to pass prior to hiring more work. I think this organization is satisfactory!
Description of Work
We needed dirt to be removed from the front yard and for the yard to be seeded.
Category
lawn service
Jim D.
5.0
10/14/2016
Grounds by Coffey did a very good job. They were timely; reasonably priced and the lawn 4 weeks later is maturing nicely.
Description of Work
Lawn repair: top soil, starter fertilizer, seed for a relatively small area in my back yard.
Category
gutter cleaning, lawn service
Jim D.
5.0
10/14/2016
Company was responsive, showed up on time. Completed the work in a timely and efficient manner and cleaned up afterward.
Description of Work
Lawn repair, back lawn. Including 10 yards of top soil, grading and planting of grass
Category
lawn service, mulch
Pamela N.
5.0
07/09/2016
Mr. Coffey is extremely professional & knowledgeable. The entire crew was amazing with the amount of hard work that was done in a timely manner..great crew..Our lawn looks amazing & we would refer them to family & friends.
Description of Work
Removed damaged landscaping wall, weed beds & debris. Seeded in the areas & it looks great!!
Category
landscaping
Michael H.
5.0
06/30/2016
I called Mr. Coffey and he came out that afternoon for an estimate. I agreed to it and his staff came out at the end of the week . The crew leveled it off, reseeded it, topsoiled it, added starter fertilizer, covered it with peat moss and took the dirt pile with them. Done in less than an hour. I watered it daily over the next couple of weeks and it came back nice and green.
Description of Work
The front tree lawn as had been dug up to repair a water line. A large dirt mound was left afterwards...after a period of time half of it had finally settled in and I was left with the remaining half which needed to be leveled off and seeded.
Category
lawn service
APRIL K.
4.0
10/19/2015
I have done business with coffeys for several years for weekly lawn care, spring and fall clean up and hedge trimming. Overall they are fantastic, dependable, professional and do an excellent job. We have been very happy with all the services they have provided. The only issue that we had was in weekly lawn care. Several times the guys would cut the grass in the rain or when it was wet.. The large mower ended up making muddy ruts in a few areas of the yard. I called John to discuss. He called me back promptly and we were able to work out a plan so this wouldn't happen again. Although I was unhappy about the damage to the yard John was very responsive and we resolved the issue. I have continued to use him for all my yard maintenance. I would recommend highly
Description of Work
Weekly yard maintenance, spring and fall clean up, hedge trimming
Category
landscaping, lawn service
DAN M.
5.0
10/18/2015
Everything went great. I did not meet the first crew that removed the bushes because of living out of town. John knew I was anxious to finish the work by mid October and he was able to schedule the work without my presence. Everything worked out perfectly. When I got back into town in October John sent another crew to plant a variety of new shrubs and perennials. The crew was fantastic. They worked extremely quickly and efficiently and helped me lay out the planting several times to assure that everything was balanced. I hope to bring the crew back in 2016 for spring edging and mulching.
Description of Work
Crew removed about 8 really old and large shrubs and a pine tree from our front yard. The crew cleaned up everything perfectly. They returned several weeks later to plant a variety of new shrubs and perennials
Category
landscaping
Clarann V.
5.0
09/08/2015
They bill monthly. They do a wonderful job. I will continue to use them. They are very reliable and prompt with any request that I have. They are easy to work with and I would recommend them to anyone.
Description of Work
They come every week to maintain my lawn.
Category
lawn service
Ashley C.
4.0
06/20/2015
.
Description of Work
.
Category
lawn service
DAVID & MARY P.
5.0
06/08/2015
It goes all right. They do a good job. They do fertilize and do other things too. Nothing exceptional. I got a couple of contractors that would have done it for a little less money but they don't do fertilizing or they don't do weeds and there's a variety of things that I would rather just pay the $25 for cutting the grass and a little bit more whenever they fertilize it or have the other people to cut the grass, do not fertilize it, and some of the people who do fertilizing and so on, they don't cut. The quality is good. They cut it good. They come around once a week, and sometimes when I've called John when I had a particular problem, he was a boss of them, and he has at least two, maybe three crews out there. He stopped by a couple of times and talked to me and said do this or do that. The one guy, a boss who comes out here he's okay but sometimes I feel like he rushes a little bit, and they just got a couple of crew people that helped him and they seemed to do a pretty good job also.
Description of Work
I've used John Coffey. It's Grounds By Coffey. They came out last summer and they'd come this summer again to cut the grass once a week.
Category
lawn service
Trudi B.
5.0
06/08/2015
He responded to my quote request very quickly and had an estimate to me the next day. The price was good so I scheduled the project. The crew was very professional and polite. They did a great job!
Description of Work
Mulch, edge, remove weeds applied weed & feed to my flower beds
Category
lawn service, mulch
REBECCA H.
5.0
06/02/2015
Mr. Coffey's people do an excellent job with the lawn mowing. They show up promptly every week. They mow, trim and are quick and careful. Our lawn looks good and gets good care. They also trimmed our hedges which were really overgrown.The workers did a great job and the hedges looks amazing. Mr. Coffey's crew is careful and thorough. All clippings are picked up and hauled away and our lawn looks neat and tidy when they leave. The cost is also reasonable. I highly recommend Grounds by Coffey.
Description of Work
Mow lawn and trim. Shrubbery trimmed.
Category
lawn service
SANDRA G.
5.0
05/22/2015
We have fence around the property and they occasionally run into our fence and I get a little bit of damage in the fence but they usually on the most part, come and fix whatever needs to be done. So, outside of not hitting the fence more, that's about it. They're very reliable and I think their price is reasonable. Sometimes they get over loaded.
Description of Work
They come out every week and they do my lawn. In the winter they do drive way cleaning. They do plowing and they do our shrubs. They do complete front and back, they edge, they clean up, they cut the lawn, haul all debris away, that kind of thing they do every week and when I want fertilizers, thing like that, I pay extra for that.
Category
landscaping
Victoria U.
5.0
05/16/2015
John arrived to assess the yard promptly. He explained our options and left us with a written estimate of all of the services we had inquired about. John and his crew did an excellent job cleaning up our yard and fertilizing the lawn. We would definitely use this company again.
Description of Work
Spring clean up, lawn fertilization
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment
patricia D.
5.0
05/02/2015
John and his crew did an amazing job. Cut down weed trees , weeded, trimmed , cleaned out beds, and hauled everything away!
Description of Work
Yard cleanup on my extremely neglected yard.
Category
lawn service, tree service

    Other local Pros in your area

    The Gutter Boys

    The Gutter Boys Co. works daily to provide a seamless and enjoyable customer experience. Our helpful sales associates can get you a quote for gutter cleaning right over the phone. If you are looking for seamless gutters or protection, we come right to you, and customize a quote specifically for your home and circumstances. We are never pushy. We like to say that it’s a sales experience that your mom would be comfortable with. The Gutter Boys technicians are tenured and knowledgeable. We are proud to provide a high continuity of service by utilizing employees for our installation services. Our techs are rigorously trained and have received Master Installer status with Valor Gutter Guards, which TGB exclusively installs in Northeast Ohio.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    ServiceMyLawnSprinkler.com

    3 Employees. No subs. Charges a flat rate. Travel charges may apply.  

    Angi Certified

    A.G.I. Pro Services

    Formally A "G.I." Window Cleaning. We Specialize in Window Cleaning, Gutter Cleaning, Gutter Guard installation, Soft Washing of Houses, Roof Treatments (removes black streaks over time), Pressure Washing, Deck Restoration, Driveway sealing, Dryer Vent Cleaning, Handyman Services, and Painting.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    15%
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Gutter cleaning, landscaping, lawn & yard work, lawn fertilization treatment, mulch, topsoil, roto-tilling, snow removal & tree care.

    Services Not Offered

    PRUNE/TRIM TREES.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Grounds By Coffey

    How is Grounds By Coffey overall rated?

    Grounds By Coffey is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Grounds By Coffey open?

    Grounds By Coffey is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Grounds By Coffey provide

    Grounds By Coffey accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Grounds By Coffey offer free estimates?

    Yes, Grounds By Coffey offers free project estimates.

    Does Grounds By Coffey offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Grounds By Coffey does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Grounds By Coffey offer a senior discount?

    No, Grounds By Coffey does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Grounds By Coffey?

    No, Grounds By Coffey does not offer warranties.

    What services does Grounds By Coffey offer?

    Grounds By Coffey offers the following services: Gutter cleaning, landscaping, lawn & yard work, lawn fertilization treatment, mulch, topsoil, roto-tilling, snow removal & tree care.

    Are there any services Grounds By Coffey does not offer?

    PRUNE/TRIM TREES.