Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

General Pest Control

Founded 1937 • With Angi since February 2000

4.8

(136) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4520 West 160th St.

Cleveland, OH 44135

Description

Family owned three generation pest control company serving Northeast Ohio since 1937.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/19/2020


Jennifer M.

It went great Chuck from Patriot Pest control answered my call and came out. Great guy.

Description of Work
I needed a flea exterminator

Category pest control

5.0

04/17/2020


B S.

I contacted the company via email and received a prompt reply to all of my questions. It was nice to receive a quick response! The work was completed on the date scheduled and the service technician was friendly and professional.

Description of Work
I needed the house foundation treated/sprayed to keep insects/bugs out.

Category pest control, animal removal

5.0

10/05/2018


CAROL M.

He was prompt, friendly and professional.

Description of Work
Eliminate yellow jacket hive

Category pest control

5.0

09/06/2018


Barry G.

Very well. No remaining yellow jackets

Description of Work
yellow jacket nest

Category pest control

5.0

09/05/2018


Dale F.

Excellent job. Very professional. Very punctual. Cost was very reasonable. Tech sprayed second floor nest (which was inside the roof structure) from ground with powerful sprayer. Indicated that wasps would be eradicated within 2 days - and they were. Had one follow-up when 1 lone wasp was seen / the company juggled their schedule to make a tech available the day I called to puff-spray from the inside - and that took care of the problem. Excellent follow-through. Great job and will definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Eliminate yellow jackets which had bored their way into the house

Category pest control

5.0

07/10/2018


Eric C.

Prompt service. Called us late in the day to let us know they had identified the type of insect and recommended ways to avoid in the future. Great people.

Description of Work
Treatment for insects in house

Category pest control

5.0

07/04/2018


Mark W G.

In both instances, the services were scheduled quickly, the employee sent to the home was friendly, professional, assessed the situation and efficiently handled each problem. I was very happy with the service and impressed that the work had a 60 day warranty. Thanks, everyone.

Description of Work
Week 1: removal of two wasp nests under the eaves of the roof. Week 2: dealing with a newly discovered large yellow jacket nest under a hedge.

Category pest control

5.0

06/19/2018


Sharon T.

I recommend General Pest Control very highly. Their technician Brett responded quickly when I called about finding carpenter ants. He explained the treatment to me, and clearly was an expert. Brett even came back for a follow-up visit to verify the ants were gone. I plan on looking into a seasonal contract with them - great service, and I recommend General Pest Control highly.

Description of Work
Carpenter Ant Treatment

Category pest control

5.0

01/03/2018


Catherine W.

Very professional and knowledgeable. Will retreat if needed but so far so good.

Description of Work
Treat for ants in kitchen

Category pest control

5.0

10/11/2017


Gregory C.

The technician, Gene, was a great guy. He was very personable, knowlegeable, and professional. I wouldn't hesitate to have him come back to my home to perform future pesticide services, should the need arise. He'd be the first person I'd call.

Description of Work
Extermination of gnat infestation in first floor bedroom, kitchen, and bathroom.

Category pest control

5.0

09/22/2017


SAM R.

I had ants here for the first time this spring. They put out an ant trap that didn't bite. They sent someone back out here and he said he's an ant expert and he will get rid of them and he did. He did a good job. The only thing I didn't like was one time I cleaned my windows and they came that Monday and sprayed around windows and messed them all up again. Besides that one time, they do good we have a contract with them.

Description of Work
Pest control.

Category pest control

5.0

08/07/2017


Jennifer A.

It went well, he arrived the same day I called and also checked the house and blocked any entry points where pests could possibly get into the attic.

Description of Work
Pest control

Category pest control

4.0

06/14/2017


Kristin P.

Good, but the first appointment was a Saturday no show. I called to complain and was excellent after that point.

Description of Work
Ant invasion

Category pest control

2.0

04/27/2017


Tina D.

Used this company last year for emergent situation and they were wonderful! But, when I attempted to price and schedule service for this year, the employee that I spoke with appeared almost disinterested. I was told that the individual that I needed to speak with had stepped out and would call me back. two days later, I phoned again and was then told that they were booked until the end of the next week. Having family with extreme bee allergies, we chose to go with another company. Very disappointed because the technicians are wonderful!!

Description of Work
Spraying for bees/wasps.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I am sorry this happened. All of our customer service reps can price and schedule work right over the phone with you, as you would have experienced last year. I am not sure why they would not have done this with you this year. While we cannot make up for the poor customer service you experienced with us we will use this as a training experience with the staff. John Gedeon
5.0

10/05/2016


Jay S.

dusted once in the rain. returned 3 days later per our request to redust. seems taken care of.

Description of Work
wasp removal

Category pest control

5.0

07/21/2016


Heidi A.

Great! Once again I am more than impressed with this company. This is the second time I used them (first ended up being a squirrel, which they don't actually deal with, but see my other review for how that visit went). This time I had rodents in the home. The inspector looked around, confirmed that it was rats and not mice, set some traps, and left. Within an hour after he left, I heard a trap snap; we had caught a rat. He came back the next day to remove the dead animal, and while he was there I happened to mention that I had an ant problem after he saw an ant crawling on me in the house. I was trying to deal with that on my own for a few weeks, using ant poison from Target as I had in the past, but had not yet been successful in eliminating them. He promptly went to his truck and came back with a different type of trap with professional ant poison for me to place in the bathroom, and also treated the outside of the house, at no charge. A few days later, my ant problem was gone. Meanwhile, there has been no further rat activity, so that problem is eliminated as well. In short, not only are they effective, the customer service is outstanding! You can't go wrong hiring them.

Description of Work
Eliminate a rat problem.

Category pest control

5.0

07/19/2016


MIKE B.

Great! Glenn was on-time, polite, and professional. Thanks so much!

Description of Work
Removed bald-faced hornet nests from yard.

Category pest control

5.0

09/16/2015


Heidi A.

Fantastic! He was very polite, professional and helpful. And, in spite of having done the complete inspection and helping me with the entry points, there was no charge! General does not handle larger animals and thus no additional treatment was possible, so he didn't charge me a thing. I was fully prepared to pay for the inspection and his time.

Description of Work
I had scheduled an inspection and treatment for rodent control, having heard scurrying in my ceiling. The technician came out, did a full inspection, and ended up concluding that I did not have small rodents, and nothing in the house, and it was probably a squirrel or similar size animal that was only in the cavity above the ceiling. He placed newspaper in some gaps in the eaves that are the likely entry point; I can watch to see if it is disturbed to verify that is where something is getting in and out, and then add a more permanent screen in the future.

Category pest control, animal removal

5.0

09/15/2015


Kim D.

We contacted General Pest to come and spray our cedar siding house. They came and quickly gave us quotes on different services they offer. We opted for a seasonal spray which covers a treatment in the spring and one in the summer along with any needed additional sprays through the summer season. We only need the 2 standard treatments but the service was well worth it. We did not have any excessive insect activity and for the August visit General Pest came without us having to schedule an appointment. I am very satisfied.

Description of Work
Seasonal pest spray on our home

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

[Member name], I am glad you are satisfied with the service you have received thus far. I have activated the online account access and you should be able to login from now on. If you need any assistance with that please give us a call. Thank You. John Gedeon
4.0

03/07/2015


John R.

Fine! Nice people. I will know more if and when I need them to do actual work.

Description of Work
Inspectiono as agreed.

Category pest control

5.0

01/23/2015


Brian M.

When we have issues on the inside of our house, they come out. The price is average. Their service is good.

Description of Work
I use General Pest Control. They sprayed on the outside of our new home.

Category pest control

5.0

01/23/2015


Brian M.

It was a Big Deal purchase. There was no extra charge. It was a good service. The price was average.

Description of Work
They sprayed on the outside of our home.

Category pest control

5.0

08/29/2014


Constance K.

Wonderful as always! We have used General Pest for over a decade. They are always prompt, professional and they take care of the problem!

Description of Work
Sprayed for spiders and crawling insects.

Category pest control

5.0

08/03/2014


Barbara D.

I called them about a significant number of flies. They asked me to describe the flies, I did. They spent the time to explain I needed to find the source. Through talking to them, I remembered there was a dead bird in my yard several weeks prior. They told me to get rid of the source, which I hac done already. They indicated there was no need for them to come out and no need for me to spend any money. They were absolutely right. I was so pleased with how helpful they were.

Description of Work
They advised me that how to deal with my issue without them having to come out. They could have wasted my time and money and came out, but advised me that I could correct my situation on my own!. I will be calling them again if I ever have a need for an exterminator again!

Category pest control

5.0

07/31/2014


Nicholas P.

Technician arrived promptly at appointment time. Was extremely professional and helpful. Good communicator. Explained everything in detail. Made helpful recommendations. Discussed potential treatments with me and we jointly decided on the course of action based on the options offered and my preferences. Couldn't be more pleased with the visit and peace of mind knowing that with our very reasonably priced annual contract (we received a late season discount) the company will provide follow-up visits both at regularly scheduled times and also will make special appointments in between regular visits at our request if any issues arise. Technician was very careful to look out for our home-grown herbs and any other potential food sources which his spraying could adversely affect. Good at explaining safety issues and letting me know when it would be okay to work in the yard after spraying. Very respectful of my home. Very pleased with this company and the highly professional, knowledgeable technician (Kieran). Also very pleased with the helpfulness of the woman who took my initial phone inquiry -- she provided detailed information about their services and scheduled a technician to visit us within 2 days of my call (sooner than expected!).

Description of Work
Seasonal contract/first visit. Conferred regarding existing and potential pest issues, examined premises (both external and internal), offered information about issues and how to resolve, sprayed outside of home for both prevention and treatment of pests, set traps for mice in crawlspace and garage, "bombed" garage attic, identified and fixed a potential mouse entry point in hvac hookup, advised about another potential entry point, provided detailed information about new annual contract and services.

Category pest control, animal removal

    Other local Pros in your area

    DBugz Pest Control, LLC

    D-BUGZ Pest Control LLC provides safe and effective insect and rodent pest control services. Whether you have mice or rats in your attic or at your business location; bed bugs at home, or bees in the backyard, our certified and trained pest management specialists provide discreet and efficient pest control at reasonable rates. We have over 25 years of pest control service experience and the best customer service. We also provide quality service using the best product for each job to give our customer a peace of mind.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    A.G.I. Pro Services

    Formally A "G.I." Window Cleaning. We Specialize in Window Cleaning, Gutter Cleaning, Gutter Guard installation, Soft Washing of Houses, Roof Treatments (removes black streaks over time), Pressure Washing, Deck Restoration, Driveway sealing, Dryer Vent Cleaning, Handyman Services, Painting, and Now are offering Pest Control.  

    Angi Certified

    Allied Exterminating Inc

    Locally owned & operated. Additional DAB - Allied Exterminating. Additional phones - (330) 453-3479, (330) 535-4800, (419) 624-8000, (440) 277-7141, (440) 324-2277, (440) 324-6592, (440) 899-7500, (440) 946-4850 & (440) 967-4000.  

    Angi Certified

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    Listed
    Trade License Locale
    Ohio
    Trade License Authority
    Ohio Department of Agriculture
    Trade License Expiration
    09/30/2021
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Pest control, insect, rodent control, bees, wasps & yellow jackets.

    Services Not Offered

    Major wildlife and Animal Removal

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about General Pest Control

    How is General Pest Control overall rated?

    General Pest Control is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are General Pest Control open?

    General Pest Control is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:30 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does General Pest Control provide

    General Pest Control accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does General Pest Control offer free estimates?

    Yes, General Pest Control offers free project estimates.

    Does General Pest Control offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, General Pest Control offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does General Pest Control offer a senior discount?

    Yes, General Pest Control offers a 5% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by General Pest Control?

    Yes, General Pest Control offers warranties.

    What services does General Pest Control offer?

    General Pest Control offers the following services: Pest control, insect, rodent control, bees, wasps & yellow jackets.

    Are there any services General Pest Control does not offer?

    Major wildlife and Animal Removal