Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Jim Carver & Sons

Founded 1968 • With Angi since August 2003

4.8

(257) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8400 Beechmont Ave

Cincinnati, OH 45255

Description

Jim Carver & Sons is a second generation home remodeling company founded in 1968. We specialize in full service home improvement projects that require expert design and impeccable installation. Our dedication to customer service enables us to serve our current and future clients using quality
Bathroom Remodel project
Bathroom Remodel

home remodeling

2022

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/12/2022


S. E. B.

With every job they've done in my home, they have impressed me with the punctuality, work ethic, and professionalism of every crew member. They arrived on time. They were respectful. They cleaned up at the end of every day. They involved me at every step (e.g., Is this grab bar at the right height? Do you prefer narrower grout lines for this wall tile?). Unlike so many horror stories in which contractors simply vanish after doing only half the work, the Carver team shows up every day until the job is finished. The materials have all been high quality and beautiful. Their work has always been worth every penny. I have recommended Carver to multiple people, and would absolutely work with them again.

Description of Work
Complete gut-job remodels of kitchen and 2 bathrooms, plus handyman work

Category handyman service, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words. Having customers like you make doing business easy! Again, thank you. Sincerely, Jim Carver and Sons Home Improvement
5.0

02/14/2021


BARBARA B.

They finished the work around August of last year. I did have a loose end with the bathroom door that I had to hire a handyman for, and I did not like that. But many months later when I'm ready to do more renovation work, I realize that the new bathroom Jim Carver created for me has been my favorite room in the house, and I also realize, after working with contractors for the near 30 years that I've lived in my home, that none of them compare to the quality job that Carver did for me. Its been several months now, and everything -- absolutely they did works fine and looks amazing.

Description of Work
Wanted to turn a small closet into a shower

Category home remodeling

5.0

11/25/2020


Cynthia H.

We had an excellent experience with Jim Carver and Sons. Replaced shower, tub, vanity, toilet topper, lights, some electrical, and plumbing fixtures. The designer, Brian, was great - listened to our ideas, not pushy, budget sensitive, and came up with great suggestions that led to a bathroom design that is just what we wanted. Installation work was very professional. Contractor, Cameron, had the integrity to let us know if a part came with a scratch or dent (instead of covering it up) and replaced items. He also took the time to precisely select and layout the patterned tile. Carver assembles all items for the job before starting which really helps to move the job along. We had Carver also order all items for the job which simplified things as well. They have a range of suppliers so we could get the materials we wanted. We also had this job done during COVID. Contractor took multiple precautions (sealed off work area, wore masks, ran vent fan, opened windows) and no one got sick. They cleaned up the work area every day and laid cloth or plastic protective coverings on carpets and stairs. Good communication (e-mail and phone), stayed in touch, and someone at the business location always answers the phone.

Description of Work
Full remodel of master bath

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for reviewing out company. It really helps us find nice people to work with, just like you!
5.0

09/11/2020


Anna C.

We can’t say enough positive things about working with Dave, Gary and the rest of the crew from Jim Carver and Sons. We spoke with three contractors prior to starting on the project and Dave worked within our budget to provide an excellent outcome. The crew was prompt every morning, they stayed on the timeline and now we have a beautiful kitchen to enjoy for years to come. We were referred to Jim Carver and Sons and I will gladly pass along the information to others who are looking to do a remodel. We have other projects which we need done in the future and will definitely consider working with Jim Carver and Sons again. Thank you for being a family owned, local business who stands by your name with quality work and customer service.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for selecting us as your remodeler for your home. It is our pleasure to work for such great people and we look forward to working with you in the future!
5.0

07/03/2020


Bruce A.

Adam was a pleasure to work with. He helped design the kitchen and both bathrooms. Will only use them for further remodeling projects

Description of Work
general remodeling including gutting and rebuilding kitchen and two bathrooms

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you again for working with us. We hope to work with you in future!
5.0

07/03/2020


Bruce A.

excellent job. no problems. very professional . cleaned up afterwards. did not even damage the slate. Highly recommend

Description of Work
needed to replace 30 year old siding on old house with difficult angles and a slate roof

Category siding

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review and we appreciate working with you again. Always our pleasure!
5.0

07/01/2020


Tim M.

We hired Jim Carver & Sons to do our kitchen and half bath in 2020 after using them to remodel both of our bathrooms last year. Here is what we like about this company.... They are professional, they plan everything out for you, from the delivery of your appliances to the scheduling of the flooring contractor. We did not have to worry about a thing. We visited Dave Carver on a Saturday morning and had everything picked out in 2 hours. The crew of Jeremy, Chis and Gary were unbelievable. They cleaned up every day and willingly did some extra work that we added on at the last minute. They even came back after the job was completed to install the instant hot water heater that the counter top crew drilled the wrong size hole. Remember, you get what you pay for. For us, it was all about getting a quality, stress-free job done in the time that was stated. Mission completed! I am a big fan of Jim Carver & Sons, and I know you will be too Tim

Description of Work
Tear out a 1986 style kitchen, removing pantry and remodel half bath

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

It is a pleasure doing work for your family. It make me so happy to work for you people like you. Warmest regards, Dave
3.0

06/30/2020


Karen O.

Don’t waste your time. On May 29, 2020 Brian came to my home took measurements and collected $300.00 for a estimate and 3D drawing. I had to call him to check on the status of the estimate and the drawing. He tells me he believes the estimate is outside of our budget. I tell him we don’t have a budget. Give me an estimate and drawing so that we may see and make our decision. On June 29, 2020, I go to the office to get my estimate and 3D drawing. Brian gives me back my check and tells me he believes it is outside of my budget. Keep in mind we don’t have a budget. This I’d extremely offensive. They would not even provide an estimate. I am wondering if that I’d because I am black. I hope not.

Description of Work
Finish Basement

Category awnings, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

I appeciate the comments. We do have a different perspective on this, and the money was returned to you for the design fee. I do hope you get the basement you want and will love. Good Luck!
5.0

06/16/2020


Carol T.

Great experience with this company. From the initial consult with Dave Carver through the selection process and the remodel team, every aspect was professional and the team delivered a quality job. Would highly recommend this company and will use them on future projects.

Description of Work
Partial kitchen remodel

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

It was our pleasure to work with you. I thankful for the referral and hope to work with you in the future. Warmest regards Dave
3.0

04/08/2020


Vernon L S.

Estimates way out of my price range

Description of Work
Remodel kitchen and family room

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Sorry we did not meet your price point on your project. You were not charged a design fee, so there was not an out of pocket expense for you. I appreciate the oppourtunity to quote the project for you and show you the potential of the space. I hope you got the kitchen and the price you wanted and if the kitchen was not done yet, good luck with getting it done.
5.0

03/25/2020


Richard M.

I was completely satisfied with the installation. The people were knowledgeable honest and fair in their pricing. The workmen and subcontractors were expert, on time, careful and put our interest at the top of the list. I would insist on using them again without taking prices.

Description of Work
Kitchen counters replaced with Granite

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, plumbing, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Nothing but a pleasure working for you and your wife. We hope that you keep in touch and very much enjoyed the converstations that were shared during this project. I hope to hearing from you soon. Warmest regards, Dave
5.0

02/21/2020


Julie G.

Absolutely outstanding in every regard- customer service, pricing, craftmanship, all amazing! TmWe were a bit anxious, as this was our first home remodel, but Dave was kind, professional and knowledgeable. The crew who worked on our home was highly skilled and wonderful to work with. Working with this company was a true pleasure and we will be using them again for future projects without hesitation!

Description of Work
We renovated the first floor of our home and Jim Carver and Sons did our kitchen and powder room.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

I know this remodel was a long time coming for you and we appreciate you trusting us with your home and we look forward to working with such wonderful people again.
5.0

02/20/2020


Brent V.

Very well, they were very professional and always prompt. John is very detailed oriented which we very much appreciated. Dave really listened to us and designed our dream kitchen. Everything is perfect.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel

Category custom cabinets, countertops, drywall, electrician, handyman service, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

I can not wait to take pictures of your project and have them for our portfolio of work. This is one of my favorite projects of the year and I look forward to working you in future.
5.0

12/28/2019


Gary O.

Great work, very professional, could not have gone better.

Description of Work
Complete Kitchen Remodel

Category ceramic tile, electrician, plumbing, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review and working with us again. It is our pleasure working with such great people.
5.0

11/16/2019


Ed E.

The project went extremely well. Dave created a design that captured our priorities. The crew did a masterful job with installation. They were professional, efficient, and very trustworthy. They kept us up-to-date and were friendly in doing so. The finished project looks great! This is our second major remodeling with Carver & Sons - their work is top-notch.

Description of Work
full remodel of master bathroom

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks for working with us again. It always nice doing business with people you like and look forward to seeing again. Warmest regards, Dave
5.0

11/07/2019


Seth K.

I had a great experience. Steve did a great job on educating us on our options with no pressure to act. Installers were on time, thorough, and communicated with us clearly. An extremely well run operation with top notch people.

Description of Work
Windows were replaced and door and replacement of front door.

Category replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review and it was a pleasure working for you. Thank you for your business, Steve Carver
5.0

08/13/2019


FRANCES & FRANK A.

Everything. When they came and clean up at night. Did exactly what I want it. Gave suggestion too.

Description of Work
remodel kitchen

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank for working with us and we hope to work for you again in the future.
5.0

06/27/2019


Tammy D.

Steve came out and worked up an estimate, we talked about the work and what needed to be done. The crew showed up at the agreed upon time on a Monday morning, the entire project was completed by Thursday.

Description of Work
Replaced wood siding on the back of the house with vinyl siding, and replaced a side door and frame.

Category siding, doors

5.0

06/27/2019


Tammy D.

Excellent experience, professional work completed in a timely fashion.

Description of Work
Exterior door replacement and siding on back of house.

Category doors

5.0

06/25/2019


Chris` M.

We just completed a kitchen remodel and we could not be happier with the result. Very professional and detailed. The workers left our home every night as if it were their own, Great attention to detail and follow up. Dave and his crew were wonderful to work with and I would highly recommend them to anyone looking to remodel.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind words. My crews also thank you for the nice gift you got them after the project was finished. I can't wait to take after pictures soon. Dave
5.0

05/18/2019


Roger Z.

Working with the people from Jim Carver & Sons was a great experience all the way around. Steve Carver came out to the house and thoroughly assessed our need for replacement french doors in our basement, noting some special considerations that had to be taken into account due to the house structure, requiring custom-built doors. He gave a full description of the necessary work and materials, as well as informative background on the company and employees. He was prompt in getting back to me with an estimate, and although it was not the lowest bid I received, I'm very glad we went with them. The guys who actually did the work were super professional and did a fantastic job. It's been over five months since I had the work done, so this review is late, but I'm still very happy with what we had done and would definitely choose Jim Carver & Sons again.

Description of Work
replacement of french doors

Category doors

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the great review. It was a pleasure working for you. Thank you, Steve Carver
5.0

04/22/2019


Lukas M.

We worked with Dave from Jim Carver and sons for our kitchen remodel. He was the utmost professional and worked within our budget. He never once tried to "sell" us on anything, only gave us options and his opinion. We were unsure about keeping our current cabinets or taking the plunge and getting new ones, and he worked with us to make a design that complemented our cabinets instead of trying to convince us to get new ones. He was very flexible as we change our minds about details more than once! The entire project was completed within the stated time frame. Our kitchen looks beautiful! We also want to thank Ajax for all his handyman work in prepping our kitchen ahead of time and working with the flooring company!

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category countertops, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words and we very much appreciate working with such nice people. Hope to work with you in the near future. Warmest regards, Dave
5.0

02/20/2019


Pamela S.

Was a great experience from getting the estimate, picking out products to the actual renovation. Barb, Greg and Aaron were great to work with and we love how everything turned out!

Description of Work
Had two bathrooms remodeled.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. It was a pleasure working for you. Thank you for your business, Steve Carver
5.0

10/25/2018


Carl H.

Serviceman was right and time and did a very efficient and effective job. It was obvious from the moment we explained what we needed done that he knew what he was doing and then proceeded to show us that he did.

Description of Work
Door sweep replaced on front door.

Category home remodeling, doors

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the great review and thank you for working with us.
5.0

10/24/2018


Kelly D.

I hired Jim Carver & Sons for a kitchen remodel. The project required the removal of two small walls to open up my floorplan and the wall removal required re-routing of several HVAC vents. At the initial meeting, my kitchen was measured and photographed. About 1 week later, my new design was ready for review. We signed the contract in April and the project began in June. The bulk of the project only took 5 days (demo and new cabinet installation). We were given a temporary sink for 2-3 weeks while we waited for the counters. Once the counters were installed, the sink and dishwasher were installed that the backsplash was laid. The project was painless and even came in under budget. I'd hire Jim Carver & Sons again in a heartbeat. Adam Kelley was my rep and Gary was my crew leader. Both were fantastic to work with!

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for allowing our company to work for you and for such a great review. We look forward to working with you in the new near future!

    Other local Pros in your area

    Windows and More The Glass Block Guy

    Windows and More has been owner operated and serving Cincinnati customers for 10 years! We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers by Windows and More The Glass Block Guy  on Angi
    Defender Glass Block

    Glass Block Windows and Walls for Residential and Light Commercial. Over a decade of experience in the Cincinnati and Dayton Area. Highest quality installation for the best price in the city. Family owned and operated. We love our city, it's people, and glass block.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers by Defender Glass Block on Angi
    Block Tite of Cincinnati

    Cincinnati Ohio's Largest Distributor of American-made Pittsburgh Corning Glass Block. Block-Tite is locally owned and operated. We offer the strongest and most tested glass block on the market. We build and install using TypeS masonry cement (not silicone) All of our vents have dual pain glass sashes and are top of the line.  

    Angi Certified

    No License Required for Trade
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Kitchens. Cabinets. Countertops. Baths. Windows & Doors. Siding.

    Services Not Offered

    Concrete Work. Room Additions.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Jim Carver & Sons

    How is Jim Carver & Sons overall rated?

    Jim Carver & Sons is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Jim Carver & Sons open?

    Jim Carver & Sons is open:

    Monday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Jim Carver & Sons provide

    Jim Carver & Sons accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Jim Carver & Sons offer free estimates?

    No, Jim Carver & Sons does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Jim Carver & Sons offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Jim Carver & Sons does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Jim Carver & Sons offer a senior discount?

    No, Jim Carver & Sons does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Jim Carver & Sons?

    No, Jim Carver & Sons does not offer warranties.

    What services does Jim Carver & Sons offer?

    Jim Carver & Sons offers the following services: Kitchens. Cabinets. Countertops. Baths. Windows & Doors. Siding.

    Are there any services Jim Carver & Sons does not offer?

    Concrete Work. Room Additions.