Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Hicon Inc

4.8

(160) Verified Reviews

Founded 1977 • With Angi since January 2002

No License Required for Trade
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
Closed

Phone Number

Address

93 Caldwell Dr St A

Cincinnati, OH 45216

www.hiconinc.com

Description

HICON Inc. is a construction service company formed in 1977. The firm is comprised of three operating divisions: HICON Masonry, HICON Paving and HICON Restoration. HICON Masonry provides unit masonry services for the new construction building market. HICON Paving installs paving stones, brick pavers and segmental retaining walls for homeowners, builders and general contractors on new and existing properties. HICON Restoration furnishes masonry and concrete repair and maintenance services to homeowners, and owners of light commercial properties....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(160) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

127

4

16

3

8

2

2

1

7

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

masonry (126)chimney repair (36)hardscaping (28)chimney cap repair (12)decks & porches (8)foundation repair (5)fireplace services (1)concrete repair (12)lawn & landscaping (6)stone & gravel (4)stucco (2)garage building (2)
Showing 1-10 of 160 reviews
5.0

09/30/2021


Bruce H.

While the estimate was professional and timely, it was on the high end.

Description of Work
Old masonry wall topped by fence. Some bulging, some mortar missing . Mostly stones are all there.

Category masonry

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2021

5.0

03/08/2021


Alain H.

Steven Parrot was my sales representative I work with, and the retaining walls was excellent, quality wise, attention to details was excellent, and I consider the price to be fair. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Replaced the retaining walls on the side of my driveway

Category drywall

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2020

5.0

08/31/2020


Lori P.

Excellent! I had read the many great reviews here and submitted an inquiry through Angie's List. The estimator responded the very next morning. He and the entire crew were very professional and easy to work with. I would highly recommend Hicon and will definitely use them for any future needs.

Description of Work
Travertine pool decking/coping and travertine paver patio installation.

Category garage builders,hardscaping

Cost $36,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/14/2020

5.0

11/19/2019


Sylvia J.

All projects were completed with beautiful results. Their masonry division and pavers division both employ professional, seasoned crews who are assigned to the project with experienced foremen. With all of the projects there was meticulous care taken with the work, and they communicated with me about matters that came up along the way. The company was very easy to work with in negotiating the agreement, reviewing details, and getting responses to various questions along the way. There was a small group of stones, intended for capstones on a wall, that were not of the quality of the other stone, and they replaced those for me. Dan (masonry division & company) and Marty (paver division), division managers and senior managers of the company, offer careful review of their respective divisions' work and of the overall projects, and clearly care about their customers. The onsite foremen (John - masonry) and Rob (Pavers) were very careful with the details and the progress of the projects. They brought a lot of positive energy and enthusiasm to the work every day. In one instance a section of the drive wasn't to Rob's liking, and they pulled up that section and redid everything. They were careful to adjust the angles for drainage on the driveway, and were attentive to details that a lesser company might not pay attention to. They will purchase the quality of pavers/stone requested by the customer, and the Unilock pavers I chose to have installed both look beautiful, and appear to be durable also. They were attentive to protecting my home from construction dust, as I had requested, covering windows and doors in the vicinity, and cleaned up well after their work. I had a landscape design created for the overall plan for renovating the exterior of my home, and they comfortably worked with that design in establishing the dimensions of the various paver projects. I thought that the front area and driveway would look very nice as planned but it looks even better than I had hoped. Neighbors, and even the mail carrier have commented upon the awesome work; it is nice when one's neighbors can also enjoy and appreciate the results of a home project. Early in the planning stages I was deciding upon whether I was going to use HiCon's services for this work or another contractor. What tipped the balance was some advice from another contractor I had working at my home, who has had occasion to see HiCon's work over time because of the work that they do; their comment was that they thought I should contract with HiCon because their work is excellent and really holds up over time. Where this other contractor might see a more amateurishly constructed patio start to show signs of wear after a few years, the HiCon structures they have had occasion to see are often there many years later, still in good shape. I couldn't be more pleased with the work.

Description of Work
I had several projects completed over several months time. A back yard patio was rebuilt/reconstructed with pavers, along with a small wall. The front driveway's foundation was reconstructed and a paver driveway installed on top. In addition the front porch was paved, and a step was added at my kitchen door. There was also a paver terrace installed in the area around the front porch; the terrace adjoins the driveway. There were also two small garden walls constructed from stone in the front yard. In addition to the paver work, HiCon also did a significant masonry project; they cleaned, performed repairs, and sealed the brick on the exterior of my home.

Category masonry,hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/05/2019

5.0

03/27/2019


Marilyn B.

They were excellent and very professional. Their price was close to half of what other estimates were. We would highly recommend them and we would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
They did chimney repair for me.

Category chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2018

5.0

11/14/2018


Raye Ann S.

They did an excellent job period. The stone was cut and matched really well to the rest of the stone. Except for the sound of the equipment and the breaking of stone I hardly knew they were there. The worksite was always neat, and everything was cleaned up when they left. They did not ask for any money up front and were very pleasant and professional. This is such a specific type of work that requires a very special skill set that I was afraid I wouldn't find anyone able to do this type of repair or willing to work on a relatively small job. But they did it, and did it well!

Description of Work
We needed the top of a stone retaining wall repaired. It was crumbling and some of the stones were loose.

Category masonry

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/14/2018

5.0

10/09/2018


Jennifer M.

My wife and I used HICON Hardscape/Paver division and we are amazed at the work that was done. We have a very tricky landscape with many cuts needed to shape around walkways etc. The HICON team took their and made sure every last detail was perfect. We could not be more happy with the way it looks. Thank you HICON for an amazing job, quick and painless service and a very reasonable price.

Description of Work
Removing Concrete Patio Pad & Steps and resetting pavers throughout entire backyard

Category masonry,hardscaping

Cost $9,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/18/2018

5.0

09/26/2018


Jon B.

This was a very large job that I knew would be expensive. I requested quotes from 3 contractors through Angie's list and only 2 responded. Hicon was very responsive while it took me a couple of weeks to get the second estimate. The other contractor would only bid it time and materials and was 3 times the cost of the Hicon's fixed price bid. It took the Hicon crew a couple of weeks to complete the job. I was impressed that they took there time and produced a craftsman like job on all aspects of the work. On a couple of occasions I asked them to make some small changes which were handled immediately without any complaint. They showed up on time, were always courteous, and left the job site cleaned up every day. I cannot think of any complaints with their work.

Description of Work
I have approximately 200 feet of concrete pavers that are 15 years old. Some of the pavers had moved and almost half of the edging had come out of the ground. The old sand between the pavers was missing in spots and were filled with weeds. Hicon reset the edging and fixed the those pavers that had moved out of place. They then cleaned, replaced the sand and sealed all the pavers.

Category masonry,hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/17/2018

Images

Review for Hicon Inc - 93 Caldwell Dr, Cincinnati, OH - 37427612

+1 More

5.0

11/25/2017


Charles S.

We could not be more pleased. It is so wonderful to have some steps back and it will be much easier this winter. All the neighbors came by to compliment us. It is so much more welcoming. This was a complex job and HICON figured out the complexities and provided us with both a set of stairs that is functional and beautiful as well. As am additional note, they did follow-up to make sure there was no washing away of sand. Really nice and professional guys to work with. It is great to finally have our steps.

Description of Work
We had HICON dig into our existing retaining walls and create about 11 steps leading down to the sidewalk. This ended up about 6 feet on the Top and spanning out to 8 feet on the Bottom Step, using Concrete Blocks. They used about 4 concrete blocks across. They also used limestone gravel as part of the job. We also had them fix some cement blocks that had started to come loose near our driveway as an additional job. It was $10,670 for the new steps, and an additional $760.00 for repairing the loose pavers.

Category masonry,hardscaping

Cost $10,760

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/25/2017

5.0

09/07/2017


Fanchon S.

They did an excellent job. And they actually didn't write in their contract that they were going to paint it when they were done, they did it anyway without charging me extra.

Description of Work
Installed new support rod in my garage

Category garage builders

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/07/2017

Services Offered

Masonry restoration, chimneys, concrete & clay pavers, segmental retaining walls for homeowners & builders, Masonry, concrete repair & maintenance. Stone walls and walkways repaired or rebuilt.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Check
Senior Discount
5%
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Hicon Inc

How is Hicon Inc overall rated?

Hicon Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

What days are Hicon Inc open?

Hicon Inc is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

What payment options does Hicon Inc provide

Hicon Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Does Hicon Inc offer free estimates?

Yes, Hicon Inc offers free project estimates.

Does Hicon Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

No, Hicon Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Does Hicon Inc offer a senior discount?

Yes, Hicon Inc offers a 5% senior discount.

Are warranties offered by Hicon Inc?

Yes, Hicon Inc offers warranties.

What services does Hicon Inc offer?

Hicon Inc offers the following services: Masonry restoration, chimneys, concrete & clay pavers, segmental retaining walls for homeowners & builders, Masonry, concrete repair & maintenance. Stone walls and walkways repaired or rebuilt.