Building Character LLC

About

Founded 1993 • With Angi since August 2014

Anyone can throw a tool box in their truck and call themselves a deck builder. Here at Building Character we are outdoor living specialists one stop for you and your family to create memories. We offer decks, outdoor kitchens, fire features, outdoor fireplaces, water features, stamped concrete and

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Women Owned & OperatedWomen Owned & Operated
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Fire pits & tables

lawn & landscaping

202145140
We will be giving away 2 free whiskey barrel table on a raffle at Sharonville home expo show March 26th-28th. Drawing will be the 28th to see who winners are. All others will be giving away with purchase of projects. Come see us we will be at booth 128&129 See you there.
View project
Fire pits & tables project

Fire pits & tables

lawn & landscaping

202145140
View project

Verified Reviews

4.7

(349) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

273

4

32

3

12

2

14

1

18

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

decks & porches (249)concrete repair (2)stamped concrete (1)deck cleaning (126)pressure washing (92)house painting (21)handyman (18)general contractors (7)woodworking (6)tile installation (5)awnings (5)plumbers (4)
Showing 1-25 of 349 reviews
5.0

01/24/2021


Jan V.

Wonderful! This is a very responsive company and they are so easy to work with,. Their crew came and worked without disturbing us.

Description of Work
Removal of tiny deck and built 14X16’ deck.

Category awnings, decks, electrician

Cost $8,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/23/2021

Service Provider Response

It was a uphill challenge from start just because of the lack of materials everywhere due to covid. However we where able to get it scheduled and installed for you. We thank you and others that worked with us in this difficult time for your patience. Please enjoy your new outdoor living space and let us know if we can help with future projects. Thank you, Jennifer & Jared
2.0

06/10/2020


Benjamin H.

I’m not happy with end product. Patio was smaller than agreed which I noticed after the pour. It was of a higher elevation than we agreed. It did not have a contrasting color that I asked for. It looks cheap. I’m doing the project, a significant portion of my lawn was destroyed, a tree was damaged and several plants were also damaged. Careful car didn’t seem to be taken - instead, big machinery was used and careful attention didn’t occur. I asked owner about potential damage to lawn and they stated it would be minimal. That didn’t end up occurring. They did try to fill in dirt with seed and straw but it looks like a mess and I will be battling with it all summer. I’m just not happy with the end result and would not have done this had I known it would all turn out this way.

Description of Work
Old concrete patio with slate tiles was replaced with stamped concrete.

Category awnings, stamped concrete

Cost $6,800

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/09/2020

Images

Review for Building Character LLC - 9850 Princeton Glendale Rd, Cincinnati, OH - 38633338

+3 More

Service Provider Response

We hear you about the project we just finished. We never said there wouldn't be traffic to your yard during construction. In fact you signed a contract that states this. We don't go out of our way to destroy our customers property in fact we we take great caution not to do so. We even put the project on hold because of the rain because we didn't want to destroy your property and as you can see from your pictures we graded it back out and added top soil, grass seed and straw. The height of the pad had to change to make it to code. The old existing pad and steps were not to code so to accommodate this we raised the pad ever so slightly adding top soil grading to a flush transition. I spoke with you yesterday about the color and said we can come back out to fix it to a color to your preference and you were fine with that but you didn't even give a chance to do so. If you still would like us to come out to fix the color just give us a call.
5.0

06/04/2020


Mohsin Z.

Our new deck looks terrific! We had an old, elevated wooden deck that was likely over 20 years old. We solicited multiple quotes from various deck builders, but Building Character won our business because of their product offering, extensive planning and design service, their competitive pricing, and their personal touch. We had a fairly large deck that spanned the entire house and we wanted a new elevated deck of similar dimensions, using composite decking, metal railing, and a new frame. We are thrilled with the results! They just completed the work this week and the deck looks amazing. Tim and his crew were the friendliest guys and worked diligently, even in some harsh heat/humidity. The crew was very receptive to questions about what they were doing and sought our input if they needed to alter plans. If you want something a certain way, just let them know and they will work hard to make it how you like it. The owners, Jennifer and Jared were very responsive to all of our emails. We would highly recommend Building Character for any deck projects over other local competitors in Cincinnati!

Description of Work
Tear down old wood deck, rebuild new deck with composite

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2020

Service Provider Response

We thank you for your business and we really appreciate your review. We build hundreds of decks a year and sometimes it's seems difficult for us to get customers to leave reviews. We only ask from real customers and real experiences in using our company. Please enjoy your new space and let us know if we can help you with future projects. Thank you, Jennifer&Jared
5.0

04/19/2020


Gary M.

I couldn't be happier with my new deck and pergola. From the initial quote through project completion, Building Character was easy to work with and provided frequent, clear communication. They helped manage my budget by discussing options and trade offs. The crew was extremely organized, efficient, courteous, and professional, and they kept the job site very clean. They completed the job in just 3 days, with high quality and craftsmanship. Everyone was a pleasure to work with. I highly recommend Building Character for you deck project.

Description of Work
Replaced 20x15 wood deck with composite, built a pergola

Category decks, woodworking

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/09/2020

Service Provider Response

We thank you for your feedback and business. Please let us know if we can help you with future projects. Thank you, Jennifer & Jared
5.0

04/06/2020


Margie B.

Jared, Jennifer & the building crew, who consisted mainly of Tim and Josh, did an outstanding job. The workmanship is top notch & some neighbors have already inquired about who built it. We made some changes along the way during construction, all of which were no problem for them. We are very happy with our Fiberon deck so far & look forward to enjoying it for many years go come.

Description of Work
Deck build

Category decks

Cost $28,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/31/2020

Service Provider Response

We thank you for your business and review please enjoy your new space and let us know if we can help you with future projects. Thank you, Jared&Jennifer
5.0

11/27/2019


Marilyn R.

Very good. They were helpful in the planning and the building it went very smoothly. They completed the job and it did not take long.

Description of Work
Built outdoor deck in back of home

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/07/2019

Service Provider Response

We thank you for your business and feedback. Please enjoy your nee space it was a pleasure woking with you. Thank you, Jared & Jennifer
1.0

11/17/2019


Emily S.

After coming out to my house to take measurements, no one got back to me with a quote or returned my calls. Waste of my time.

Description of Work
Painting and repairing my porch

Category decks, woodworking

Work Completed On 09/16/2019

Service Provider Response

We don’t paint concrete porches nor do we build window flower boxes is the reasons we never sent a proposal. If we would have known that before setting a appointment for estimate. We try to obtain as much information from our costumers before even setting a appointment. We do apologize for inconvenience and look forward to any future projects you may have. Thank you, Jared&Jennifer
5.0

10/25/2019


Dave S.

My wife and I needed to have our deck updated. We didn’t need anything structurally changed, just replace the decaying wood with composite material. We also had a small side porch that was falling away from the house that we wanted to replace. We had 4 estimators come out and provide us with estimates and recommendations. Some were too expensive or recommended work that we just didn’t need to have completed. We let some time pass, then tried again. We contacted 3 more companies, and finally found a good fit for us, Building Character LLC. We called and scheduled an appointment with Jennifer at Building Character. When Jennifer first saw our deck, she immediately recognized our problem. She stated the Behr DeckOver paint (which was applied to our deck by the previous home owners) was destroying out wood. Jennifer stated it is a well-known issue. Well not as well-known as you might think, because Jennifer is the only estimator who recognized or mentioned it to us. As we continued to describe what we were trying to accomplish, Jennifer’s expertise was evident. We discussed the structure of the deck and the improvements we wanted to make. Jennifer let us know what was possible and not possible within our budget. When we finalized our approach, we started to discuss materials (composite boards and railings). Jennifer had sample materials with her and we loved the selection she had. Prior to seeing these materials, we had decided to not use metal rails, as it just didn’t fit our style. However, the metal rails Jennifer showed us were very nice and not metallic looking. Once that conversation was complete and Jennifer left, my wife and I both agreed that if the estimate was within the ballpark of the others, we would definitely go with hers. We wanted quality work, and she gave us the confidence that her company knew what they were doing. Needless to say, we really appreciated her knowledge and guidance. Once we received the estimate, it was in the same ballpark of others, so we scheduled the work. Within a month the crew came out and began the demo. They were considerate and polite, and kept their work area clean. We were surprised how quickly the work was completed. They started on a Thursday and were finished on the next Thursday. One week and we had our new deck and side porch. There were some challenges during the construction, but Chris and Sean spent the extra time and effort to make sure the job was done right! I worked in construction in my younger days and I can tell you these guys take pride in their work. They made sure the lines were straight and square, and the intersections were tight. As the job was wrapping up, one of the owners did a final inspection of the work and made sure we were satisfied. If you need deck work, I highly recommend Building Character LLC!

Description of Work
Deck Reskin and Side Porch Replacement

Category decks

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/24/2019

Service Provider Response

We thank you for your feedback! The Behr product could be a great produt uin the future like Trex when it first came ourt didnt do so well but now with the technology its a great product. Trex where the pinoneers in composite but their are other great composite companies now. Like the Fiberon we installed on yours. Our approach is that if we can save you money without sacrifesing qulaity or saftey we will do so. Please enjoy your new space and let us know if you have any future projects we can help you with. Thank you, Jared & Jennifer
5.0

10/24/2019


Joe S.

Very good! We were pleased with the work, definitely pleased with the pricing and we were satisfied.

Description of Work
They build us a deck.

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/03/2019

Service Provider Response

We thank you for your business and review. Enjoy your new space and please let us know if we can help you with future projects. Thank you, Jared & Jennifer
5.0

10/21/2019


Mike H.

They did a great job in a timely and efficient manner. Also a great price compared to other estimates for the same work.

Description of Work
Replaced old wood deck with composite and metal rails.

Category awnings, decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/11/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and review. Happy to hear we have a happy costumer and we try to keep our pricing in line and honest without sacrificing quality. Please let us know if we can help you with future projects. Thank you, Jennifer & Jared
5.0

06/08/2019


Bret S.

I am a meticulous person who spent over a year researching deck builders in the Cincinnati area. My research and excel spreadsheet led me to Building Character LLC and let me say they exceeded my expectations from day one. Jennifer (owner) came out for the original estimate and I could tell right away she was honest and knowledgeable about deck building. The crew of Tim, Josh, Rob and Justin were incredible. They are very talented in building decks and let me tell you the deck they built me was as solid as a tank and beautiful to look at. They worked with me every step of the way and answered every question I had with a smile and without making me feel stupid. I found them to be men on integrity and character and they made my wife and I feel like friends. Tim has gone above and beyond anything I would have expected checking back to make sure everything was ok. Jared the owner came out the last day to walk over the deck and make sure I was pleased and he is so picky about the final product being perfect that he and Tim spent a couple of hours removing small parts of mortar that no-one else would have seen. If I could give them 10 stars I would. I can't say enough good things about Building Character LLC or the deck. I wish I could include a video in this review because the photos don't capture how beautiful this 1100 square foot deck is.

Description of Work
Replace old wooden deck with new composite decking and stone pillars

Category decks

Cost $45,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/07/2019

Images

Review for Building Character LLC - 9850 Princeton Glendale Rd, Cincinnati, OH - 37918956

+2 More

Service Provider Response

We thank you for your feedback and business! It is our goal to build the trusting relationship with our costumers and deliver the costumers vision. We are not perfect but working progress on each and every project! the feedback helps us grow and that is Building Character!! Enjoy your new space! Thank you, Jared & Jennifer
5.0

05/27/2019


Penny T.

From my first phone call to inquire about an estimate to my last email I found everyone to be responsive, courteous, and prompt. Jennifer came out within one week of my initial phone call to look at our deck and help us make selections. We had an estimate within one week. The job was completed in a timely fashion and the cleanup was immaculate. I can't find any remnants of our old deck anywhere. Today I sent Jared an email regarding a final detail we discussed and within 2 hours his crew was here to take care of it. The finished deck and railing look beautiful and I am very pleased.

Description of Work
Replace surface of existing deck, railings, and stairs with Fiberon Bungalow decking, and Preferred aluminum railings.

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/27/2019

Service Provider Response

We thank you for your business and feedback! We take customer service very seriously and try to take each concern like it’s our own. We have awesome craftsmen that wake up each morning with the love for building decks it’s almost like they sleep and eat this stuff. Our mission is to be better then the next company or any company when it comes to customer service, pride in our work and the time from start to finish. We would love to say each and every job goes smoothly but that would be false statement and no one can offer that. So customers feedbacks help us learn where we can be better and to grow. After all our Name speaks for its self Building Character and this is just what we do!! Thank you, Jared&Jennifer
5.0

05/10/2019


Christen P.

Hiring Building Character was an excellent experience. I’ve talked to and worked with many deck contractors and Building Character are the only ones who provided 3D computer renderings of proposed deck plans, and they’re the only ones who showed up when they said they would and completed the job in record time. They even worked in the rain! Unprecedented. They were respectful of my home and trustable in every way. Their carpenters are highly skilled and able to problem solve any issues that might come up over the corse of a project. The finished product is gorgeous. It’s the most beautiful deck I’ve ever seen. And I’m very picky. Don’t make the mistake of hiring anyone else for your project. I will not hesitate to contact them in the future for any Building or carpentry needs.

Description of Work
Built a 800-900 square foot deck

Category decks

Cost $16,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/08/2019

Service Provider Response

We thank you for your business and review. Costumers feedback is very important to us good and bad as we learn to strive for excellence. Building decks is like a hobby to us we live to build them. Enjoy your new space and let us know if we can help you with future projects. Thank you, Jared&Jennifer
5.0

04/04/2019


noreen M.

I got 4 bids and their's was the most expensive but included a lot of extras that the other companies were not going to do. They replaced the entire structure of the deck including the footers . The screened in area was completely rotten and they re-framed it in the composite that they used for the deck . So I never have to worry about replacing it again. 4 guys showed up everyday and worked all day. They easily have 80 hours of work into this job. They were very nice, very professional and obviously were very skilled. They were not just workers, they were craftsmen. They treated my home with the utmost respect and left my yard spotless when they were done. I have to say that I am absolutely thrilled with my deck. I am so glad that I used this company for the job . I would highly recommend them to anyone who is interested in having quality work done . I had a couple really minor issues when they were finished and they returned the very next day and corrected everything

Description of Work
My entire deck needed to be replaced

Category decks

Cost $23,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2019

Images

Review for Building Character LLC - 9850 Princeton Glendale Rd, Cincinnati, OH - 37801804

+9 More

5.0

03/05/2019


Katie E.

I just had a deck built by this company and I’m very pleased with their work. There were a few delays along the way, but they were not the company’s fault. The delays were due to the bad weather and the fact that the lumber company had delivered some damaged, unusable wood which needed to be replaced, and that took extra time. But overall I’m very happy. They need to return in 3 months to complete the job because I opted to have them stain the finished project, and there is a 90-day waiting period to stain treated wood. They also will be installing the screen at that time, and only then will the job be complete. I was told that they’ll need to return in the next week or two to finish a few small things, including replacing a few floor/ decking boards that have knots in them. But their attention to detail and the friendliness of their workers really impressed me. They are very professional, and easy to work with. I had a small moment of confusion at the beginning of the project where it seemed there was a misunderstanding about what I wanted, but Jared resolved that for me, and moving forward I haven’t had any problems. I’d definitely recommend this company to anyone who wants a deck built or replaced. The main thing about this company that made my decision easy to make, was the fact that they work year-round, and I wanted mine built in February so by the time summer gets here my deck will be 100% complete and ready to enjoy- and this company accommodated that for me.

Description of Work
Deck Construction

Category decks, roofing, woodworking

Cost $35,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/07/2019

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your feedback in your review. We would love nothing more then each and every job to go smoothly but that isn’t always the case. We have to stay on top of our suppliers to make sure the quality of materials is there. We have to be our own weather men. As we are installing we have to make adjustments to bring out the beauty of finish product. We most certainly once a job is started stay on that job until complete and costumers are happy. With this great team we have Communication is key! After all this is how our country was built. At the end of the day we live to build decks , screen rooms all your outdoor living all one stop shop!! Enjoy your new space for the next 90 days and writhing a weeks time it will all be 100% complete all to yourself. We thank you for your business!! Thank you, Jared & Jennifer
5.0

02/03/2019


Douglas B.

We had an existing deck and wanted to make a few modifications. Joshua did a fantastic job. The quality of the work was great and he made a few suggestions to make the project look even better than we hoped. I would definitely use again.

Description of Work
New desk steps and rails

Category decks, handyman service

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and review. I encourage each and everyone one of my guys to go extra [Member Information Removed] using their heads along the [Member Information Removed]. It is our mission for this to be a one in a kind experience for our costumers. We look forward to helping you with future projects. Thank you, Jared
5.0

01/16/2019


Richard C.

It took about a week to build. They are not quite finished. They need to pressure wash the deck and underside of the roof. One panel on the siding near the roof of deck is painted flat back instead of a gloss or satin finish like the other panels. The weather is cold and snowy so I understand the delay. We like the crew and the work they did. We would have them back.

Description of Work
Remove and build a new deck(10' X 16') with composite wood plus add metal roof

Category decks

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/11/2019

Images

Review for Building Character LLC - 9850 Princeton Glendale Rd, Cincinnati, OH - 37661061

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business! Have metal on truck and one not so slippery day will come and take care of the two items. We appreciate your feedback and will see you soon! Thank you, Jared
5.0

12/28/2018


eric D.

The crew that we had worked very well together, professional and handled the permit. They completed in the time they said it would take, plus a couple weather days. Very reasonable! We opted for composite decking and alum railing. Our house is 102 yrs old and our deck needed to start at a back door and wrap around with 2 sets of steps. The quote included drawings and dimensions and the design has an oval bump out for extra room too. Highly recommend!

Description of Work
They built our deck

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/19/2018

Images

Review for Building Character LLC - 9850 Princeton Glendale Rd, Cincinnati, OH - 37628934

Service Provider Response

We thank you for your business! We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to know areas we need to grow or keep things the same. It was a pleasure working with you and here’s to years of memories on your new outdoor living space! Enjoy!!! Thank you, Jared & Jennifer
5.0

11/24/2018


MARCIA J.

Jennifer was so helpful in helping design a desk with the features I wanted. Tim and his son Justin did an amazing job constructing the new deck. They kept me informed every step of the way and were very friendly. they left the area neat and clean after efficiently constructing the deck. I am very pleased.

Description of Work
take down old deck and replace

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/23/2018

Service Provider Response

We thank you for your business!! We are proud owners when we hear our guys deliver what we trained them to do! Enjoy your new space!! Thank you, Jared & Jennifer
5.0

09/29/2018


Peter S.

Will most likely Begin the project later in October

Description of Work
Deck railing replacement. Aluminum

Category decks

Cost $5,300

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/23/2018

Service Provider Response

We thank you for your business!! Someone should have followed up with you with the after experience!! Thats what we look for!! Thank you, Jared & Jennifer
5.0

08/26/2018


Dan W.

A bit of delay in the project start due to permit issues with the county, but once begun, work performed every day through completion. Did many little 'extra' things to enhance their work. Very pleased with the end result!

Description of Work
Replaced a wood deck with a composite deck, replaced a wood fence around pool

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

We apologize for the delay in permit office of getting your project started. However they dont always make our job easy. The flow of your new outdoor living space is one that anyone could enjoy. Well thought out and adding more space to the underground swimming pool. We hope plenty of enjoying memories are made there. Please contact us with any future projects you may have. Thank you, Jared
5.0

05/29/2018


Catherine C.

We needed a deck built to replace the one we removed as the old one had become unsafe. I called this company and Jared came out to give me a quote. I wanted a simple deck which he quickly sketched out and then showed me samples of materials. He got the quotes to me quickly for both a wood and a composite deck. We went with the composite. The crew that installed the deck was great! They were on time, everyday, and were always professional. They did a stellar job with the install. They cleaned up the work area when finished to the point that you would never know they had been there. We are so pleased with the results that we are having Jared quote us for a replacement fence.

Description of Work
New deck built

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/18/2018