Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AUER KITCHENS

Founded 1968 • With Angi since July 2005

4.8

(38) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8520 WINTON RD

Cincinnati, OH 45231

Description

At Auer Kitchens in Cincinnati, Ohio, we know best how to design and build a custom kitchen or bath; whether it’s new or a remodeling project, in whole or in part. As a long established family business, our philosophy is simple: We strive to exceed our clients’ expectations with unique and

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/04/2017


Rebecca W.

Professional,helpful, made sure job was done to our satisfaction. Only issue was the scheduling. It took 7 months from our down payment until the job was completed

Description of Work
Kitchen Renovation.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review. Unfortunately when you work with custom cabinetry and hundreds of minute details, things can take longer than we (or the homeowner) want them to. Cabinets can take several weeks to be made and our installation schedule can be demanding. In the end, we want to make sure you are absolutely satisfied and it sounds like we were able to do that for you.
5.0

06/08/2015


Dianne F.

Auer was great. From concept to design to every detail of installation. We live in an older home and no corners are square, no two windows are the same size. Auer carefully analyzed existing walls, flooring, electric, plumbing, and our needs. We removed a partial wall and doubled the size of the entry to the dining room. Auer supervised all contractors and every detail of the work. Auer worked with me on final tile, cabinet, countertop and finishing details. They were punctual, professional and pleasant. No question was too small for the attention of the designer Marty Craver and the work supervisor Steve. Both provided me with their cellphones and were always available to answer questions. The result is incredible. .

Description of Work
Took kitchen down to the studs and subfloor. New ceiling, new lighting, new plumbing, new floor, new backsplash. New cabients, new countertops.

Category countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your kind review and pointing out things that we work very hard to achieve which is being punctual, professional, and pleasant. It takes our entire crew to make this work and we're so happy that you are pleased.
5.0

03/19/2015


FRED C.

Auer Kitchens is a high-end contractor for kitchen and bath remodels. Expect to pay a premium price for outstanding craftsmanship and attention to detail. This project exceeded our expectations. Our project was a complete kitchen, laundry room and half-bath remodel, including all the flooring. Basically, everything old came out, everything new went in. The design process entailed several meetings at their store and in our home to assess our needs and review plan options. Once the overall design and costs were finalized (we had considered two other build proposals), construction was scheduled to start about 3 months later. The actual construction process took 10 weeks from demo to finish. Price has been omitted because project scope and individual tastes vary so much, it would not be helpful to include any numbers here (sorry neighbors!). Overall, prices of nearly every project subcategory were over budget, hence the low grade. This was partially due to our own selections, but largely due to sub-contractor overages which get marked up an additional percentage by Auer and passed on to the client. Construction went smoothly and was only slightly over schedule (1 week, but not due to Auer). Everyone was exceptionally professional and courteous. I can?t say enough good things about the entire staff at Auer Kitchens ? these folks are the best I?ve worked with. If minimizing cost is your priority, Auer Kitchens is not your choice. If what's important is having the job done professionally, correctly and with outstanding results? not a just good job? outstanding quality, consider using Auer Kitchens.

Description of Work
Complete kitchen, laundry room and half-bath remodel, install hard-wood floors and tiles on first floor.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you. We take pride in offering the best customer service and overall experience to our customers, which is why we have a stellar staff and subs. Every person who walks in your door knows that they are expected to perform at a high level and that we will tolerate nothing but that. It was a pleasure working for you and exceeding your expectations.
5.0

03/10/2015


Douglas H.

The experience with Auer Kitchens was first class. After a few consultations with Matt Auer and looking at other contractors we chose Auer Kitchens due to their great design ideas and professionalism. After cabinets were set we worked with Emily on countertops, fixtues, flooring, etc and that experience could not have gone smoother. This was our first major remodel so we didn't know what quite to expect but they the crew made it as comfortable as possible. The little things like providing a water cooler and microwave made things easier on the family. The crew itself was top notch and answered all of my questions. The fact that they manage the whole project with the electric, flooring, plumbing, and even painting was a big help for me since I don't have any experience with that. In the end we went with Auer Kitchens and will come back to them in the future is because of the entire crew and process. They were not the cheapest option but I know they were the correct option for what we wanted and expected out of our new kitchen. The last appliance went in on Sunday (a little delay with Lowes) and we couldn't be happier with the kitchen. I want to personally thank Matt, Chip, Joe, John, and Emily for the great work! Thanks, Doug

Description of Work
Complete remodel of the kitchen.

Category countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the nice review. We try very hard to manage your project, along with all of the sub contractors, so that things can run as smoothly as possible. It's takes many years and strong relationships to make that work but we are proud of what we can do and always working to get better.
5.0

01/12/2015


MARK J.

We were very happy with them. I think they were very timely, very responsible; they listened to what to all the changes that we wanted to be made. They did a very good job. They did everything and they were very meticulous about making sure that the work was done according to good standards.

Description of Work
We had our kitchen redone by Auer Kitchens.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working for you and your family. We've done several jobs around the corner from you recently and if you ever need anything please don't hesitate to call.
5.0

10/13/2014


Wayne B.

The company was very thorough in its planning, it kept us up to speed on the project at all times, and it responded almost immediately to any problems or concerns that we had. Furthermore, they did a great job, they cleaned up every day, and the bathroom turned out very nicely.

Description of Work
They remodeled our master bathroom. We used them for a kitchen remodel ten years ago, too.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much! We very much appreciate your kind words.
1.0

05/12/2014


Bruce H.

Initially I contacted Auer in November 2013. Initially, they seemed very courteous and efficient. The original kitchen was installed by them in approximately 1999 by the previous owner and the job was relatively small. I was told that the job might not be completed until late January, which I was fine with. However, January became February, which became March and finally early April. I was given a series of excuses, which I found unprofessional. If I tell a vendor I have a problem, I don't need to hear in response that they have one as well. Finally I had to threaten to take the whole issue to the BBB, the press and Angies List. This small job was then completed almost FIVE MONTHS after the initial meeting. I paid all monies requested in immediately but was forced to chase them many times. Having said that, the work performed was outstanding and the quality impeccable. There was a problem with the floor finishing because one of the new appliances allowed the unfinished floor to appear and they immediately had someone in to touch it up nicely so it would match. So, no complaints about the work (eventually) performed, nor the quality of the same. Both were excellent. I should also point out that the people who performed the installation (including plumbing) were very good at their jobs. Having said that, I would never use them for another job unless I had to (they did the original cabinets so I guess I will have to if anything comes up, until I replace my current kitchen). The process was painful, protracted and inefficient and I feel like I spent a lot of time chasing them down to perform a simple job. The price was high, which I was willing to pay in light of the quality of the cabinets and the AUER name, but in retrospect the whole experience made the price seem exorbitant.

Description of Work
Changed a few doors on existing cabinets, change appliance location and 2 new appliances and one new cabinet set. new hardware on cabinets in basement.

Category plumbing, woodworking, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

There are 3 points that we would like to make regarding this specific job: 1. Though it did take the stated time from first contact to completion, his home was not torn up for that time. We removed only what was required for the custom color matches. The gentleman had a lovely and fully-usable home while that was being accomplished. 2. We did not even request a down payment from him until about half-way through the process, when the color matches were approved and the actual order could be placed, because we were not certain it could be done to everyone’s satisfaction. 3. The work was fully completed within 3 weeks of the arrival of the cabinetry, and began on the very day a unique 5-sided walnut counter top arrived. Once the work began Auer Kitchens stayed on the job daily until it was complete. That said, the situation described is mostly correct. There was a cascade of events that caused multiple delays. We attempted to keep him informed of the scheduling issues, but we understand that being “informed” of yet another setback gets tiresome. Auer Kitchens has learned from the event. We have changed procedures with certain suppliers, and modified some practices within our operation, to prevent anyone else from having an unsatisfactory experience. We are sorry it happened to one customer! As humbling as it is to read such things, we were glad to see that the quality of workmanship was still graded “A”, and that the men who worked in his home did so with skill, efficiency and professionalism.
5.0

04/18/2014


Patricia M S.

They were excellent. I can't say not good things about them. They were professional and cleaned at the end of the day. Their work was very professional and I like the end result. We had new cabinets and countertops. They did plumbing, faucet and everything.

Description of Work
I used Auer Kitchens for remodeling and rebuilding of our whole kitchen.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the review. We work very hard to please our customers and always appreciate the positive feedback. We look forward to working with you on projects in the future!
5.0

11/13/2013


Linda T.

We could not have been more pleased with our experience working with Auer Kitchen. I have been waiting 10 years for a new kitchen, and had many comparison quotes to choose from. Auer impressed us from the first meeting with Matt Auer in which he came out to look at the challenge, to the final cabinet adjustments. Matt listened to our ideas on renovating the space (had to take out a butler's pantry in order to enlarge the kitchen and join it to the breakfast room) and not only used all our ideas but came up with many great suggestions of his own on the design and project implementation. Price was higher than most, but not the highest we were quoted. The work started when they said it would, and workers were here every day but two (and we had advance notice that they would not be at our home that day). The project completed exactly when they said it would including the painting of the renovated space. The materials used were of highest quality and mostly made in North America (this was one of our criteria). The workers, to a man, (subcontractors or not) were professional, polite, hard working and always cleaned up after each day's work. Very few subcontractors were used. The very few issues we had were addressed immediately and thoroughly. The finished product is breathtaking to us who were used to a 28 year old dark, closed in kitchen. We highly recommend Auer and would use them again in a heartbeat.

Description of Work
Gut and revamp kitchen, breakfast room and powder room.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for stellar review! We thoroughly enjoyed seeing your kitchen change so dramatically and love that you are enjoying it. We really appreciate the positive feedback and hope that you'll contact us in the future for other projects.
5.0

05/11/2013


Peter S.

Auer was highly recommended by a neighbor. We found Auer's work to be very meticulous. They were able to install a large section of granite with only one joint. The joint is nearly invisible because they took the trouble to put pigments in the joint epoxy that matched the various adjacent colors in the granite. They refused to put a joint in a long section of cherry ceiling molding and ordered a long single piece because of concern that the adjacent pieces would not age to the same color. They made a slight error in the location of pulls on two drawers. We were willing to accept as-is, but they insisted on replacing the drawers. They were careful to enclose the work area and protect other parts of the house. The workmen were all very pleasant and helpful. They delivered the old cabinets to our daughter's home. They put our old refrigerator in the basement for our use for the duration of the project and took it back out and delivered it to our daughter when the project was over. They spent many hours with us developing a layout that would work and then going to suppliers to select tile, granite, plumbing fixtures, drawer pulls, etc. They were not inexpensive, but the quality of their work justified the price. We are very happy with the result.

Description of Work
Complete tear-out of old kitchen. New cabinets, ceramic backsplash, granite counter tops, draft hood venting, electrical, plumbing, refinish oak floors in kitchen and foyer. All new appliances were installed by Auer, but not purchased from Auer.

Category flooring contractor, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We so appreciate the positive feedback about your kitchen remodel. We work very hard to create a smooth, enjoyable process from start to finish for our clients. We hope to work again with you in the future!
5.0

03/13/2013


Sue S.

See above - the overall experience with Auer Kitchens was absolutely perfect.

Description of Work
Auer Kitchens remodeled our kitchen, master bath, butler pantry and laundry room. Efficient is an understatement. Every day they showed up on time, had a notebook of what was to be done, performed the tasks, cleaned up and left on time. Excellent, excellent service from both Marty (the design person) and from Mark Auer. The owner visited our site a couple of times to make certain all was well. They have a design team to help with tile selection, knobs, paint color etc and Emily was terrific. We cannot say enough good things about this company and are truly thankful everyday when we walk into our kitchen.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review. We really try to make an effort to be organized and efficient both on our jobs and in the design process. Working with such a nice family certainly makes it easy! The result was beautiful.
5.0

01/19/2013


Mary Jo A.

The entire experience from start to finish was excellent. From the designer to the installers to the contractors for the plumbing, electric and tile. It started with a call and visit to Auer Kitchens. Marty Craver the designer spoke with us then came out to our home to talk even further and to see the design of our then current kitchen. After a few hours of Marty listening he came up with a few thoughts and a rough estimate. He made us feel comfortable and didn't try to push us towards something we did not want or need. After a few more meetings with Marty and a look at the contract we signed on with Auer Kitchens. We had talked with another company and even though the price was very similar we felt like we were part of the Auer family and not just another remodel job to be added to the list of work to be done. As part of the contract we had available to us someone, Emily, to help with picking the flooring, backsplash, counter top and anything else we would need assistances with in regards to our kitchen remodel. She was available when we were and returned our calls in a timely manner. It was nice to know if we needed help it was only a phone call away. The installers and contractors were pleasant, on time and cleaned up after themselves. Everyone of them did good work. We knew what to expect day to day and who was going to be there day to day. The scheduling went like clockwork. Steve Sansone and Chip Luken kept us in the loop every step of the way. If we had questions we got our answers immediately. If one person did not know the answer they would find someone who did and get back to us asap. I could go on and on about our job and how happy we were with the process and the finish product but I think by just saying that we would recommend Auer Kitchens to anyone who is thinking about a kitchen remodel. My husband and I check out everyone that does work in our home and there were times that we didn't get what we thought we were getting but that was not the case with Auer Kitchens. We got what we were expecting and then some.

Description of Work
Complete kitchen remodel

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate the positive feedback and will share it with the whole crew!
5.0

12/20/2012


ALAN & LESLEY H.

We had used Auer in 2009 to remodel our kitchen so it was a no-brainer to have them back for the bathroom. The job was fraught with several issues and problems so we were happy we had worked with Auer before. The first problem was coming up with a design in an awkward space where we did not want to go into the expense of moving the existing closet walls. This made for limited options with what to do with the tub. The design we agreed on was one we felt resigned to as the best option in our circumstances. Had money not been an issue I'm sure we might have entertained other ideas. The second issue that occured before the job started was that the designer I worked with on the kitchen was on maternity leave. She had been very helpful since I am not design oriented at all. Also, the wife of one of the owners suddenly and unexpectedly passed away before the start of the job and it was just unforeseen and unfortunate. I ended up making a snap decision on cabinets early on because the manufacturer was due to have a price increase which I wanted to avoid. So we purchased cabinets (saving only about $36) and then I just got stuck. I am not a granite person and could not find a counter top that I liked. When I did find something it was a manufacturer which Auer did not have a relationship with and could not guarantee. I had trouble coordinating tile, accents, countertop and lights. I did not know how to ask for help consequently I floundered for many months as the project start date was delayed by my indecision. The design person I was assigned was extremely lovely but I needed someone to ride herd on me and offer more help than I received. In the end it was JP Flooring, an online lighting source from California and Keidel Plumbing that helped me finalize the many choices of tile, fixtures and plumbing. After that and many months I began to feel like the project was coming together. A start date was scheduled and I began to clean out the bedroom and closets in preparation. I had to go out of town before the project started. I was still removing and organizing materials from my bedroom in a separate area of the house. I came back from out of town to find the project had started early. Auer had called with permission to begin a week early and my husband said yes. The upshot of the project starting early before I had a chance to remove and put items where I knew they were was that for the entire length of the project and several months after it was completed it was difficult to find anything I needed and my life was constant chaos. It was more upheaval than when the kitchen had been remodeled. This was not Auer's fault at all. My husband could not have appreciated the effect of his moving the rest of the items from the closets and bedroom and the chaos it would create. This single factor put the biggest shadow on this project for me. I had not initially realized before choosing to remodel that I would need to remove most things from the bedroom and closet which were affected and I'm not sure this was mentioned because it might have been taken for granted. One of the things I love about Auer is how smoothly the work progresses. There is hardly any downtime. Company contractors came and went at the perfect times to complete the job. Their electricians and plumbers are superb. While the plumber was at our house he also fixed several other things which saved us money in the long run. The mess in the work area was minimal. Every detail was taken care of including cutting a notch in the vent cover in the bathroom because the builder had sloppily put it partially under a door. There was one hold up with the tub fixture but we were able to work with Keidel to get a replacement that I actually liked better which was in stock. I ended up with a granite countertop which was a compromise from other choices. It was selected from remnants at Stoneworks in West Chester where I found knowledgeable help from the owner there. One of the other things I love about Auer is how they help me to stay in budget and keep me informed about how choices will affect my bottom line. When Auer has done work for us they allow us to do the painting finish work as my husband likes to do this and it saves us money. I elected to pay extra for only one item and that was the ogee edge to the inside cut for the sinks. Since I didn't like the stark undermount bowl look this softened the bathroom look to one of elegance and I was happy with the result. Also, Auer allowed us to purchase our shower door and have it installed and guaranteed by the manufacturer which saved us several hundred dollars. In the final assessment we were $52.55 over budget which was amazing. We had one problem after the job was finished which was the toilet seat. We had ordered one without being able to see it or test it. It turned out to be uncomfortable. Auer went the extra mile and replaced the lid with one that we picked out as a better look and fit. Overall I am extremely pleased with the bathroom. Initially I had found the design only satisfactory and it took some time to get used to a higher bathroom counter. What took no time at all to assimilate to was the beautiful new and easy to clean shower and the much more functional and less water-wasting tub. In fact, I now use the tub much more than I had with the previous one which was too big and took too much time to fill. I am able to access a corner bank of windows now which previously had to be reached by kneeling on a deck after climbing over the tub. It is much easier to keep the bathroom clean with the tile floor and the linen closet adds much needed storage for blankets and big items. As usual Auer paid attention to the lighting details which I never think about. The room has several lighting options now to create various moods. If I had to go through the problems that I did with this job I am glad it was with Auer. Cathy Osborne is a top notch designer even though sometimes I have to see the final result to appreciate that I should have trusted her. The team at Auer are responsive and professional and the result is stunning without the super high price of some remodel companies. We are extremely happy with our new bathroom and what we paid for it. We cannot recommend Auer enough.

Description of Work
Complete full service remodel of our master bathroom. Garden tub and deck ripped out and smaller soaking alcove tub installed. Access panel in closet for old whirlpool tub drywalled over. Carpet ripped up and ceramic tile floor laid. Old shower with plastic tray flooring removed. Shower retiled with tile floor, new doors and wall niche installed. New vanity with mirrors. All new fixtures and lighting. New linen closet built. Upgraded exhaust in shower area.

Category home remodeling

5.0

01/15/2012


BRENDA T.

Excellent work from start to finish. While I might have found someone cheaper, the quality of the product (Brookhaven Cabinets), the design work with Marty & Emily, and the installation by Tom was outstanding. During the process, I would come home after work and be delightfully surprised. The work site was immaculate each day. Brookhaven did an outstanding job of matching the finish of my 18 year old cabinets that were not being replaced. You cannot tell which are the old versus new. Marty & Emily were extremely patient with me during the process of picking out granite & knobs.

Description of Work
Kitchem remodel design; replacement of cabinetry; installation of new appliances & countertops.

Category home remodeling

5.0

01/13/2012


Cynthia E.

Marty and the team from Auer were professional and responsive from the beginning. They arrived exactly when they said they would, worked diligently every day and did superior work in our home.

Description of Work
Auer Kitchens replaced our laminate counters with granite and installed a tile backsplash in the kitchen.

Category home remodeling

5.0

12/29/2011


Brian L.

In the future, if I need broader general contracting for a bigger job, I would definitely call Auer.

Description of Work
I contacted Auer Kitchens for a quote on replacing our countertops with granite and installing a tile backsplash in our kitchen. I spoke to Cathy who was extremely knowledgeable and actually took the time to explain that for such a job, it would be more cost-effective for me to work directly with the granite fabricators and tile company, she even suggested local contractors to contact to have the work done. It is rare to find a company willing to turn down work to do the right thing. Thanks!

Category home remodeling

5.0

08/28/2011


Bart K.

smooth...responsive...2 month project

Description of Work
kitchen and family room remodel

Category countertops, drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

07/05/2011


Monica L.

They went very well. They are a respectful name in Cincinnati. They did a beautiful job. I would highly recommend them and would use them again.

Description of Work
They installed our granite countertops.

Category countertops

4.0

04/25/2011


Nancy B.

We chose not to use it because it was more then what we wanted to spend.

Description of Work
They gave us an estimate on a remodel for our kitchen.

Category home remodeling

5.0

02/22/2011


Matthew S.

Auer kitchens did an outstanding job from start to finish. They were responsive and timely, and worked closely with us throughout the project. Their entire crews were professional from start to finish. Kathy provided the initial design, and had some excellent ideas, but at the same time, was open to incorporating our suggestions. We are extremely happy with the design and the finished product. They also provided direction and help in choosing paint colors, counter top designs, hardware choices, etc., which was very much welcomed. All of Auer's crews were very professional. They showed up on time each day, were very friendly and communicative, and gave updates at the end of each day, as well as cleaning up each day. Several unexpected snags occured during the job, all not their fault (power outages, discovery of a "faulty" door header). They handled them well, and let us know immediately what the new plan would be. All of the demo occured after we bought the house, but before we moved in, and they sent regular picture updates via e-mail, as we were still living in our old home in Minnesota. This provided great piece of mind. I would highly recommend Auer kitchens.

Description of Work
Auer did a complete remodel of our kitchen. The provided the initial design, estimates, demo, consultation on selection of materials and appliances, and installation.

Category home remodeling

5.0

02/21/2011


jill C.

It was wonderful. They are talented, professional, prompt, and they follow through. It is a family business. They are very personable. Their follow up is excellent. They are very responsive and they do amazing work and they have the best carpenter. Tom does amazing work. They also have a lovely show room.

Description of Work
They installed our the kitchen and all the cabinets in our house. They did everything.

Category countertops, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

01/05/2011


William I.

They showed us how to pick out granite. It turned out great. The installations went great. They knew exactly how to handle the existing Woodmode cabinets. Pricing was fair.

Description of Work
Bought and installed Wolf cooktop, microwave and oven and a dishwasher. Reinstalled old stove in garage in a cabinet. Replaced old countertop with granite. Had to reorganize a large set of Woodmode cabinets in order to fit oven in. We had tried to get others to do this and no one knew what to do. These guys figured it out in five minutes. They also had to get some electrical done and organized that very well.

Category countertops, electrician, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

10/09/2010


LISA C.

They assisted us with planning, did all the work, and were responsive in the infrequent instances when things went wrong (for example when our bathroom cabinet door malfunctioned.) I cannot recommend this company enough. I put "B" for price not as a criticism, but to make the point that they may not be rock-bottom in terms of prices, but they are fair. Having gone through numerous headaches in my life with contractors of various types, I would rather pay a little more and get high quality, responsiveness, professionalism and lack of headaches. Auer has done that for us.

Description of Work
We have used Auer for one kitchen job and two bathroom jobs. We were thrilled each time and plan to use them every time we need this type of remodel.

Category countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, home remodeling

5.0

09/28/2010


Wayne B.

They are excellent. They are known in the area for doing only high-end kitchens, though our kitchen wasn't high-end. They have a great reputation. The kitchen turned out beautifully. I would definitely recommend them. Everything just went like clockwork. They were pleasant, personable people. They were skillful at what they did.

Description of Work
They remodeled our kitchen.

Category countertops

5.0

09/02/2010


ALAN & LESLEY H.

Remodeling our kitchen was such a daunting task in terms of the cost and the hassle that we had put it off for years not knowing who to trust with the job. We obtained 3 estimates from different companies and chose Auer. The first company was definitely lower in price but used standard order cabinets which we thought might limit our design possibilities. The second company wouldn't really commit to an estimate until we put down money and then they would begin the design process. Auer had been recommended to us in the past by an architect we had hired so their name was on our radar. Auer's designer, Cathy, worked patiently with us through several designs until we finally hit on a design that we liked and thought would work. She had the courage to tell us when she thought what we wanted was poor kitchen design and why but with her creativity we were able to accomplish all of our goals. Auer's use of kitchen design software helped us to better visualize what the space would look like with each design. They invested several months of time and effort on us before we finally agreed on the final design. At that point budget and allowances were drawn up and we had to make our first payment. We knew we had to stay under $60,000 for our budget and so Auer guided us through the various choices of materials, hardware, sinks and cabinets to help us make choices that would keep us in our budget. We were able to use some of our old cabinets for the mudroom and the basement laundry areas which provided some savings. We also elected to do our own painting to save money and were happy that Auer allowed us that option. We happened to remodel right when Auer was developing a new relationship with Shamrock Cabinets in Indiana so we did get a special price on our cabinetry and saved some additional money there. The process of remodeling went like clockwork. We were kept fairly well informed of who would be coming each day to do what. The down time was very little and the actual work took about 6 weeks total and encompassed 3 areas of our home. We were impressed with the crew many of whom had loyally worked for the company for years. They sealed the site and kept it cleaned up each day when they finished so we experienced very little dust. Since the molding and other pieces had to be cut to fit Auer set up a carpentry shop in our garage. Before tearing out the original kitchen the crew made sure we had a "temporary kitchen" set up and we functioned fairly well for the several weeks when we were without a stove and sink. The plumbing and electrical contractors who worked with Auer did fantastic work. We were especially impressed with the skills of the carpenter who did the detail molding and trim work. Everyone was professional and courteous. Although we had purchased our appliances separately, Auer handled the delivery and installation so they were seamlessly delivered just as the crew was ready to install them. Our calls were always promptly returned and any problems taken care of. The end result was a kitchen that utilizes the space much more efficiently and actually gives the illusion of being bigger than it is. It is easier to function and move around in the space. The removal of the laundry to the basement (although many friends advised against this) freed up the corridor entry from the garage for use as a mudroom with coats, boots and slop sink giving a spacious feel to that entry. The laundry remodel was minimal by our choice but is simple and extremely spacious. The message center was the new location for the phone and accomplished one of our original kitchen goals which was to remove the paper clutter that accompanied the original phone/calendar area. Although we did choose small upgrades here and there Auer had done such a good job helping us stick to our budget that in the end we were only $200 over our original estimate. One other item is that we have several cats all of whom reside indoors. We didn't have a single pet issue or problem and the Auer crew was very careful about shutting doors and preventing animals from getting out. We were tremendously pleased from start to finish with this company. They were a pleasure to work with and we cannot recommend them highly enough. After our experience with Auer we were sorry to have waited so long to redo our kitchen given the benefits of space and efficiency we now enjoy. Thanks Auer! P.S. We have now lived with our kitchen for a year and have had no problems or regrets for the money we spent. We truly feel we got more than our money's worth with this company.

Description of Work
1.Complete kitchen remodel tearing out to the studs. Removal of a soffit, corner pantry, and L countertop. Installation of semi-custom frameless cabinets, crown molding, under cabinet molding, granite countertops, new sinks and fixtures and a center island with overhang. Bumped out a portion of wall so that the refrigerator would appear counter-depth. Vent installed so that hood above stove could vent to outside. Custom tile backsplash installed. In the eating area adjacent to the kitchen a floor to ceiling custom bookcase/cabinet combination was built. New applicances installed, oak wood floor was patched and refinished. 2. A sliding door closet between the kitchen and dining room was removed and butler pantry/message center was installed with glass doored upper cabinet and lower filing cabinet drawers. Relocation of phone jack. 3. Removal of 1st floor garage entry laundry to basement space and installation of a stand alone utility sink next to the laundry appliances. 4. In the vacated laundry space a mudroom was installed with a cabinet and drop in utility sink. An open closet bar + shelf was installed. Installation of vinyl flooring in the mudroom and the new laundry area in the basement. Gas plumbing for dryer and new stove + plumbing for utility sinks in mudroom and basement laundry area. New lighting in kitchen and interior lighting in the two glass doored cabinets + under cabinet lighting. 5. New water saving toilet installed in the 1st floor 1/2 bath and a few other home plumbing issues fixed while contract plumber was on site.

Category countertops, electrician, lighting, plumbing, woodworking, home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Pete Arnold & Co Painting Contractors LTD

    Pete Arnold and Company Painting offers full-service painting to the Greater Cincinnati, Hamilton, Northern Kentucky, and South Dayton areas. We have over 19 years experience and all our services are guaranteed. We serve the residential and commercial markets, providing both interior and exterior painting. Pete Arnold and Company Painting uses only the highest quality materials including Sherwin Williams paint. 6 employees. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. Award wining. Cost is determined by the job.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers by Pete Arnold & Co Painting Contractors LTD on Angi
    Turner Painting Company

    Your local Interior/Exterior Residential and Commercial Painting experts! We provide many painting services such as: Interior/Exterior Re-paint, New Build Paint, Cabinet Refacing, Deck Cleaning/Staining, Pressure Washing, and others. If you want a service that is proficient and professional, look no further than TPC! Don't forget to ask about our Senior and Military Discounts!  

    Angi Certified

    Wulfhorst Painting and Remodeling LLC

    Giving your home an amazing makeover with top-of-the-line painting is what we love doing at Wulfhorst Painting. When you're looking for a reliable team of painters to perform a fabulous transformation for your surroundings, you've come to the right place. We pride ourselves on delivering unparalleled workmanship with every project while maintaining open communication throughout the duration of the project. With our combination of industry knowledge, use of high-quality paints and materials, and dedication to delivering exceptional service, you can rest assured you're in the best of hands for any cabinet painting, exterior or interior paint job. We're proud to serve clients in Cincinnati, Dayton, Anderson County, and surrounding areas. Contact us today to begin your next project.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    KITCHEN & BATH REMODELING & DESIGN SERVICE.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about AUER KITCHENS

    How is AUER KITCHENS overall rated?

    AUER KITCHENS is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are AUER KITCHENS open?

    AUER KITCHENS is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does AUER KITCHENS provide

    AUER KITCHENS accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does AUER KITCHENS offer free estimates?

    Yes, AUER KITCHENS offers free project estimates.

    Does AUER KITCHENS offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, AUER KITCHENS offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does AUER KITCHENS offer a senior discount?

    No, AUER KITCHENS does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by AUER KITCHENS?

    Yes, AUER KITCHENS offers warranties.

    What services does AUER KITCHENS offer?

    AUER KITCHENS offers the following services: KITCHEN & BATH REMODELING & DESIGN SERVICE.