Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AGEAN BATH & SPA

Founded 1946 • With Angi since February 2003

4.2

(24) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9756 PRINCETON GLENDALE RD

Cincinnati, OH 45246

Description

DBA: AGEAN MARBLE MANUFACTURING INC. Agean is a family owned business that started in 1946. We are a manufacture of Agean engineered stone. We are one of the largest retailers of Basco Shower Doors, Moen Faucets, Toto Toilets, Kitchen Jewels Cabinets, Maax Spas, Swim Spas, and Finlandia Saunas. We

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

03/11/2018


Marschelle S.

DIY delivery is what you get from Agean. We paid $75 to have our shower base, walls, vanity top and cabinet delivered. We expected to have the items delivered, unloaded and placed where we wanted them. Instead, Agean informed us by phone that “we require another person to be present to help unload the truck.” We were shocked that we were not told this when ordering our pieces. Agean was quick to offer to keep our pieces until we could arrange to pick them up. Or we could pay an extra $25 for an additional person to help unload. Without any other option we agreed to pay the extra money. When the pieces were delivered “only to the garage” they were placed vertically against a wall. If left this way the pieces would warp so we ended up moving the pieces ourselves to a horizontal position on the floor. At the least Agean should refund our entire delivery fee. We didn’t get what we paid for. Secondarily they should inform future customers about their delivery procedure. Customers should know what they are not getting when they pay for delivery from Agean. Customers get a driver and a truck but are expected to help with their own delivery. A vanity top provided by Agean on another job was extremely prone to scratches. Agean said that a coat of car wax would fix the problem but it did not. Replacing any pieces once they are installed is expensive and time consuming. Reconsider using this product.

Description of Work
Fabricated new shower walls, base, counter top.

Category home remodeling

1.0

09/27/2017


Linda M.

When we first started shopping materials, I was concerned over some negative reviews and so I asked about them. Amy seemed quick to blame the customer on all accounts but she pulled it off well so I believed her. This is what you need to keep in mind, once you commit to them, you are their captive..and they know it. You can't find matching products so if something does go wrong, you're stuck. Our first issue occurred when their people loaded our truck. They insisted we take a long piece which prohibited us from raising tailgate. They also assured us the product "will not budge" We are always overly cautious when loading and securing items in our truck and if not for their assurances, expecting them to know best as you do have to worry about uneven stress on product, we would never have traveled like they loaded it. Of course, it budged and shattered. We had no choice but to rebuy product. They even suggested they were "suffering" by ONLY charging us cost (which was barely a discount so hard to believe). This product is very fragile, prone to warping. They don't tell you about that. We had the backsplash in an enclosed deck but not temperature controlled and since that was the last thing installed, it laid flat for a couple months and it bowed. But possible it came that way. The shower floor was also bowed and they claim it was by design. But if this is true, why did the shower installers (their exclusive partner) have to make adjustments and question why it was bowed. If you make it through several mini heart attacks hoping you don't break the product installing it, the end result is underwhelming for the price. It scratches easily and they say that can be buffed out but we have not had success with a scratch that occurred during install. You have to cut this with very little wiggle room for it to look good so scratches are almost inevitable. Then, a countertop was made out of square! They did actually remake that for free but we had to pick up. When we pulled away the plastic covering, a large chip came loose.. back we go worried if they were going to accept responsibility. They did BUT they REPAIRED the chip and forced us to take that with no monetary allowance for what is now a refurbished product. They claim it's good as new but would not guarantee in writing. No other manufacturer is allowed to sell repaired product as new and it makes me wonder how often they pass off their products to unsuspecting customers after repairs were made. I feel the integrity of this product has been compromised and only time will tell. So... three round trips later (almost 3 hrs drive time) they gave us an extra tube of special caulk... the wrong color. They also swapped out a towel rack for two smaller ones and waived the 16.00 price difference. Hardly compensation for our troubles but I'm telling you everything they did so you have the full picture. We also purchased the cabinetry by the only company they work with and I'm surprised how many flaws we have had to deal with. We paid top dollar for all of this and would never use them again. So... if you are "in love" with their product... I wish you well. If all goes smoothly, that's good. But heaven help you if it doesn't.

Description of Work
Entire bathroom remodel - shower, sinks and cabinets

Category bathtub refinishing, countertops, marble & granite, home remodeling

5.0

07/03/2017


DAVID H.

The shower pan was custom made. It's well built and very heavy weight.

Description of Work
I purchased a shower pan for a.new walk in shower.

Category home remodeling

1.0

08/11/2016


Beth C.

First, after we had already paid and were walking out, we saw that the salesman had moved and hidden a broken filter cover for the spa on the forklift that he used to bring it out to show us. When we confronted him, he wouldn't admit that he hid it from us and said that he didn't tell us because he was just going to get a new one (even though we were picking it up the next morning). Thankfully the person there the next day made sure one was ordered and shipped to our home. Now, one month after we brought the spa home, it is leaking in our basement. When we picked it up, one of the areas of insulation in the spa was wet and since we were told there were no problems, we assumed it was just wet from being outside or from draining. Now we have come to find that the same area is wet again and there is a leak. Clearly there was a problem from the start. When I called to speak to the owner about all of the issues, he blew me off and basically blamed us for not noticing that something was loose. He would not admit that anything was shady or done improperly. This is because the salesman that already hid things from us is the owners son. Clearly the family is just protecting each other and will not admit any faults. I would never buy a single thing from them again.

Description of Work
We purchased a "used" spa that was used supposedly for two weeks at a home show. We were promised that it was in perfect condition and that there were no issues.

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], we are sorry your hot tub did not work perfectly. Also sorry we did not respond earlier as I just saw your review 9/9/16 on Angie's List. The hot tub was run at the Homearama home show which we disclosed to you. When I brought the hot tub up to show you the actual model you would be picking up the filter lid was cracked. You guys looked at the tub and decided to take the display model. This was instead of waiting to order a new one in or going with the larger model we had in stock. We also did give you a discount to take the display model. After walking out to go home you saw the broken filter lid on the forklift and asked what we were going to do about it. I told you that I would get you a new filter lid. Since I did not have any other of your model hot tub in stock I put a note on the paperwork to order the part. When you called on Monday it was already on order. This tub ran at Homearama and had no leaking or problems. You picked the hot tub up from us and took the hot tub to your house and moved down a flight of stairs to the basement. There is nothing wrong with moving to the basement. After you filled your hot tub you called and said you believe there was a leak. We asked you to look at the half union fitting. You said you bought a new hot tub and you did not want to work on it. We sent a service tech up at the first available time. They talked to your husband. The tub was full of water and it would have to be drained. The problem was with the gasket at the half union. It was a quick and easy fix. It is rare to happen but with movement and bouncing there are times that the half union and gasket have to be re positioned. After talking your husband we believe the problem to be fixed. It was a simple as undoing the half union fitting and adjusting the gasket. We are happy your hot tub is up and working. If you need anything else in the future please do not hesitate to let us know! Thanks, Chris Bolte Agean
5.0

09/22/2015


Jane D.

It went very well, fast, courteous service, doors are beautiful

Description of Work
Installed shower doors and frame

Category glass repair, home remodeling

5.0

05/25/2015


Steve D.

The cultured marble shower base looks fantastic as well as the entire shower and Master Bath. Sales associate Kris was great to work with, answered all of our questions, and sold us a quality product. I am sure Agean will support us if we have a problem down the road, but we certainly don't foresee any issues! A+

Description of Work
We purchased a 36x60 cultured marble shower base from Agean for a Master Bath remodel. We installed the shower base using porcelain wall tiles as an alternative to a cheap fiberglass shower base or a leak-prone tiled base.

Category remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the feedback!
5.0

05/23/2015


RITA S.

The vanity in my master bath is only 17" deep. The sink was badly stained and I wasn't able to find a replacement in any hardware store or online. My handyman recommended I go to Aegean to have a sink custom made for the vanity. The sink looks beautiful and was reasonably priced compared to sink tops of the same length and material that I saw in stores that were too deep to fit in my narrow bathroom.

Description of Work
Made a sink for a vanity in my bathroom.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback!
2.0

05/14/2015


Carol A.

The initial contact left me with some issues (August 2014), Included in my package was something that would make lifting the cover off of the pool easy for me to do (it is very heavy). When they came out and delivered the spa the workers said that the device would not work on my pool/spa. I called Chris at Agean and he said they would work something out with another product. That never happened. My use of the pool/spa is very limited due to not being able to completely remove either half of the cover. This year I again reached out to Chris at Agean and he recommended a product (over a month ago) that cost me around $900. This was for something that was going to do what I was supposed to get included in the price of my pool/spa. I had to pay up front for the equipment and labor. I was told that they would be out within a month to install it. I have called twice this week to question why they have not been out to install the equipment that I have already paid for and also wanted to discuss why I was paying around $900. for something that was going to do the job of something that was supposed to be included in my package. Both times I was told that Chris was not there and I would have to speak with him; and that they would have him call me back. I have never received a call back. So here I sit: out $900. for something that is supposed to do what was supposed to come with my package and I do not even have this equipment over a month after paying for it. I definitely would not recommend Agean Spa to anybody.

Description of Work
They delivered and set up a pool/spa in my yard.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], I just got off the phone with you. I wanted to follow up on Angie's list also. First, I am sorry you are unhappy. Our goal is to make our customers have a fun experience while getting a great value. We delivered your swim spa about a year ago. It was a challenging crane delivery where we had to do pre-site inspections. When we did the pre-site inspections your area where the swim spa was going to sit, was not started at that point. At the time of delivery, the lifters would not work because there was not enough clearance. I know we talked during the year and you were very happy with the swim spa but the cover was a challenge for you to get off. On April 10, 2015 you stopped into the showroom with pictures of your backyard/ swim spa and we talked about the cover lifter options. We determined a covermate 3 and cover shelf would work for your application. We let you know we would do install when we were in the area and estimated 3-4 weeks out. You paid for the lifters and install when you were in the showroom. We had you pay because you wanted to use a credit card and often the delivery/ service crews do not have a credit card reader. You called recently and spoke to someone with Agean about when the job was going to be completed. I am sorry your call was not followed up. Agean made a mistake. We both thought the other person followed up. After speaking to you today and finding out that we had already included a covermate easy lifter with the original purchase. We instantly credited you back $300. I am sorry I had no idea you we had already had included a covermate easy with your original purchase. I did not pull you paperwork. There are different lifters and are normally are a option. I thought we brought lifters out and determined they would not work and did not charge you anything. I did let you know we will have a service tech out by next Friday to get your lifters installed. After speaking to you I believe you will be happy with the product and service. Please let me know if I can help you with anything else.
5.0

01/26/2015


Denise M.

They were excellent. Hot tub was installed very professionally. I had concerns about getting tub inside to covered porch and they made it happen without damadge to anything. The workers were all courteous. A few weeks later when I had questions about draining tub and refilling, the father, who is the primary owner. gave me good directions that were clear and easy. I am glad I bought this tub from a family owned business.

Description of Work
Sold me a hot tub and Installed hot tub.

Category plumbing, pool cleaners, home remodeling

4.0

01/12/2015


JIM A.

Fixtures are Moen and I like. Installed myself

Description of Work
Purchased shower fixtures

Category plumbing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

(removed member name), thanks for the review. I there anything we could of done better to get a A overall rating?
5.0

08/05/2014


Connie A.

It went great! The showroom was laid out great and the salesman, Kristopher, was very professional and patient with us while we selected the items. We are very happy with the products that we selected. We ordered a custom size vanity and when our contractor completed the tear out of our bathroom it was determined that we could possibly go with a larger vanity and Agean was more than willing to work with us to make the switch in order to make us happy. We appreciated their willingness to work with us but decided to stay with what we had ordered. We have already recommended Agean to others who are considering a bathroom remodel and will recommend to others in the future.

Description of Work
Agean manufactured our shower pan and walls. Plus we purchased the faucets, vanity, medicine cabinet from them.

Category home remodeling

5.0

07/30/2014


Patricia S.

He did a very good job. My wife took care of it. He did what he was supposed to do. She was really happy with them. The cabinets look more organized. It's a lot easier to slide out the doors and get what she needs. He did what he said he would do. He was on time. He was very professional. He was very cordial, courteous and polite.

Description of Work
He did a good job on the cabinet making.

Category custom cabinets

5.0

04/22/2014


Dianne & James M.

No problems at all.

Description of Work
Supply marble shower panels.

Category home remodeling

5.0

04/10/2014


Walter & Peggy G.

After ordering the bathroom items from Agean Bath and Spa in early January, Mapes Builders began work in early February and finished after two weeks of construction time. During this period, it was obvious that Mapes Builders and Agean Bath and Spa fostered a great working relationship. As Mapes Builders needed the various bathroom items for the rebuild, Agean would have them ready for pickup at the agreed upon day. Except for the extremely cold and snowy conditions that occurred during this time-frame, Mapes Bulders and Agean Bath performed as I would expect and delivered my newly renovated bathroom on time, and within the agreed upon costs. No surprises! When we renovate our guest bathroom in the future, Agean Bath and Spa will be our parts provider.

Description of Work
In November of 2013 my wife and I visited Agean Bath and Spa to seek ideas and potential costs for renovating our early 1990s master bathroom containing a shower, soaker tub, toilet and double sink with cabinet. Chris Bolte was extremely helpful and spent considerable time with us in selecting a marble whirlpool tub and surround, glass enclosed shower with marble walls, TOTO toilet and a replacement marble double vanity and cabinet. Moen fixtures were selected to finish off the renovation. Chris gave me 3 business cards for contractors working in my area. Several contractors visited my home, reviewed the renovation requirements and submitted bids. Mike Mapes, from Mapes Builders reviewed the bathroom renovation job and submitted the winning bid of $20,196.50. Included in the Mapes bid was the $14,000 amount Agean Bath and Spa would charge for the above described items supplied by them.

Category home remodeling

5.0

03/11/2014


Nicki M.

All items were made ahead of schedule in a very timely manner. It is all very beautiful just like you see in the showroom. We had a slight problem with a crack in the pan. I contacted Agean on a Saturday night. They returned my email Sunday morning and called on Monday morning. They were very accommodating and quickly made me a new pan which was perfect and at no charge to me. We are very satisfied and look forward to checking out Agean's tubs.

Description of Work
Agean made for me a 54X36 shower consisting of a manufactured granite pan, a granite shower seat, and 2 - 72 in tall shower walls made of manufactured tile look marbled with a strip of granite as trim. The other 2 walls of the shower and the door were made of glass from a glass company. They also made me a matching manufactured granite sink top and vanity top.

Category glass repair, marble & granite, home remodeling

5.0

01/25/2014


Sheryl K.

Very well. The men were very nice got to work right away.They cleaned up everything took their garbage with them.

Description of Work
They installed a basco shower door.

Category home remodeling

5.0

05/15/2013


Sandy S.

The whole process was smooth! So happy with my new glass enclosures :-)

Description of Work
We replaced our master shower enclosure and added a glass door to kids bath with Basco doors. We first went straight to Basco thinking the price might be less if we went directly to the company that makes the doors....and we live in Mason, they're located in Mason.... WRONG!!! Agean Bath and Spa was SUBSTANTIALLY LESS than going to Basco directly. Don't understand how, but I'll take the discounted price from Agean!! Basco still comes out to measure, order product and even install!! Another plus about going with Agean was seeing 3 generations working together. Amy was helping me when the phone rang and she turned and said to an older gentleman, "can you get that Grandpa?" So sweet! That aside, they have the best price that I could find and love the thought of supporting a local family run business!!

Category home remodeling

5.0

05/09/2013


Edna K.

Cannot recommend enough. Great quality and fantastic customer service!

Description of Work
I cannot rave enough about Agean! Yes, the price is a little higher (not over the top) but you are going to pay for quality especially in the bathroom industry. They made us a marble tub and wall surrounds and also a granite countertop and all are absolutely stunning! They also ordered us cabinets from Jasper cabinets in Indiana and they are top quality and beautiful. i also have to say Amy was great to work with. She had a ton of fantastic ideas.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, marble & granite

5.0

04/12/2012


Christopher W.

They kept in touch, found fincancing to fit out needs, installed the tub on time with no problems, and we have kept in touch ever since. We often stop by just to say hello and see what new items they might have. It is nice to work with a family owned business where we are on a first name basis. I would highly recommend Agean and any of their knowledgable staff.

Description of Work
We met Chris at the Cincinnati Home & Garden Show and purchased a hot tub. Since we weren't prepared to have it installed, they kept the tub in their warehouse until the electrical work had been completed. When we were ready, they delivered and installed the tub and explained all that we needed to know.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

02/17/2012


Laureen W.

They are the ones who put in the products for us. I am going down to their store to pick up samples and they are always very helpful. They are family owned. I went to them a lot in the beginning because I wasn’t sure about things. They were very good about talking to me and they took time to explain things to me. There was couple of things that were ordered incorrectly. I don’t blame even the contractor or Agean and it was miscommunication between all 3 of us. They went ahead and took care of it. I would highly rate them on fixtures but about the material I don’t really have anything to compare it with. They were the only people that we really looked at. When the kitchen counter top came and it’s a 2 week job and they rushed on it and got it done within a couple of days. I would use then again in the future.

Description of Work
I used the services of Agean Bath and Spa in September of 2011. We bought the kitchen countertop, vanity top and the materials for the shower and the fixtures for the shower and the tub.

Category bathtub refinishing, countertops, home remodeling

5.0

11/18/2011


Dave S.

Our old hot tub developed multiple bad leaks at 13 years of age and wasn't worth fixing. After a lot of research and shopping, we decided on a MAXX tub purchased at Agean. They were very knowledgable and actually steered us to the less expensive of the two models we were considering. They set up delivery for us as well as disposal of the old tub. This was a MAJOR job as we had built a privacy fence around the old tub, which required bringing in a crane to lift out the old tub and drop in the new one. The job went fast and smooth, and we are VERY pleased with the new tub. Chris was very thorough as to helping me set up the new tub, chemicals, etc. and was available for any followup or support. Overall a good experience.

Description of Work
Purchase and delivery/installation of hot tub.

Category pool cleaners

2.0

04/01/2010


TOM S.

We were very pleased with the countertops themselves. One countertop fit between two walls. The other countertop was typical for a bathroom. They have a back splash built in. The side splash in not built in and was put on separately. We had three side splashes, three separate pieces. They did not conform to the curvature of the back splash. After the countertops were installed there were gaps. It would not have looked right so I brought them back. Their solutions was to tell I could grind them down. Basically I have to resolve the problem myself.

Description of Work
I purchased some countertops from them.

Category countertops

Service Provider Response

First I am sorry you were unhappy with the side splashes. The side splashed you purchased from us were the standard molded side splashes. That product is an item that requires finish work on installation. Our company is a manufacturing and retail company. We did not provide installation work. The side splashes do not require a lot of work to install. A belt sander, grinder, or even a sheet of sand paper and wood would have given the homeowner the ability to install themselves. I feel that giving us a "d" rating is not very fair. With your review you even said "We are very pleased with the countertops themselves." The side splashes were 9% of the cost of the job. Each side splash was $26.25. We do offer custom splashes that cost a little more but it is recommended to sand the splashes on the job site in case your walls are out of square or plumb. Please consider our "A" Better Business Rating, other reviews, our company being in business since 1946, or the thousands of other Cincinnatians that have Agean engineered stone in their houses. Please feel free to call 513-874-3331 with any questions.
5.0

10/08/2008


Richard M.

The cultured marble was ready to pick up when they said it would be ready.

Description of Work
Purchased manufactured cultured marble shower walls and base. We went into the store and picked out the style color etc, that we wanted and they gave us the price. We also bought a shower door, corner seat and the fixtures. Mapes Builders picked up the product after it was ready and transported it to our house for installation. The price above was included in the installation price

Category marble & granite

5.0

02/27/2003


KENNETH M.

Description of Work
SHOWER MARBLE

Category marble & granite

    Other local Pros in your area

    Transformed Interiors

    As an award winning Interior Design Firm, our mission is simple: To use our passion and our creativity to transform your home into a haven. - Transformed Interiors, LLC Established 2009  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Transformed Interiors on Angi
    Craftsman Electric Inc

    Full service, award winning electrical contractor licensed in Ohio, Kentucky and Indiana. 90+ employees allow for prompt service, including 24-hour emergency service. 10% discount for Angi members.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Valentino HVAC and Electrical Contracting

    At Valentino Contracting, we take great pride in our ability to provide our customers with the best products and services in the industry. Our skilled technicians will quickly diagnose your problems, and provide you with the most cost effective repair available. If it is determined that replacement may be a better, or the only option, we will provide you with the knowledge you need to select equipment and materials that will give you the best return on your investment. There are no high pressure salespeople to contend with, and we will actually encourage you to take your time making such an important decision. While our peers in the industry think we are crazy for leaving a home without forcing a contract, we are more than confident in our pricing, and have no problem allowing our customers the opportunity to get multiple quotes. If you are looking for a company that will treat you with the respect you deserve, look no further.  

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    SALES OF MARBLE BATH TUBS, SHOWERS, & TOPS, HOT TUBS, SHOWER DOORS, SAUNAS, CABINETS, FAUCETS, & TOILETS.

    Services Not Offered

    INSTALLATION.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about AGEAN BATH & SPA

    How is AGEAN BATH & SPA overall rated?

    AGEAN BATH & SPA is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are AGEAN BATH & SPA open?

    AGEAN BATH & SPA is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does AGEAN BATH & SPA provide

    AGEAN BATH & SPA accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does AGEAN BATH & SPA offer free estimates?

    Yes, AGEAN BATH & SPA offers free project estimates.

    Does AGEAN BATH & SPA offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, AGEAN BATH & SPA offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does AGEAN BATH & SPA offer a senior discount?

    No, AGEAN BATH & SPA does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by AGEAN BATH & SPA?

    Yes, AGEAN BATH & SPA offers warranties.

    What services does AGEAN BATH & SPA offer?

    AGEAN BATH & SPA offers the following services: SALES OF MARBLE BATH TUBS, SHOWERS, & TOPS, HOT TUBS, SHOWER DOORS, SAUNAS, CABINETS, FAUCETS, & TOILETS.

    Are there any services AGEAN BATH & SPA does not offer?

    INSTALLATION.