Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Portman Electric Inc

Founded 1988 • With Angi since December 2011

4.8

(90) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 876

Chesterland, OH 44026

Description

Portman Electric is a full service electrical contractor and a factory authorized dealer of Generac generators. We have factory certified generator technicians who perform service and warranty repairs. The President of Portman Electric, Inc., Jeffrey Portman, has been an electrician since 1978. He is licensed by the state of Ohio as an electrical contractor ~ Ohio License #18634. For the past twelve years Jeff has volunteered as a CYO basketball coach, and most recently coached the Notre Dame Cathedral-Latin twelfth grade team. In his spare time, Jeff enjoys bass fishing and competing in bass tournaments on Lake Erie. He established Portman Electric in 1987 to provide quality electrical service for the community and has since expanded the company to include commercial and industrial electrical work. Portman Electric was contracted for ten years by Sea World of Ohio to provide electrical service for their park until it closed. Portman Electric currently serves other commercial and industrial clients, including Pentair Filtration in Chardon, Ohio which has been a client for the past fifteen years. In 1998 Portman Electric began selling Generac generators and is currently a Generac Elite Dealer and recently became Northeast Ohio's first Five Star rated Elite Dealer....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

02/10/2021


Brian S.

Technician repaired issue with generator. However, apparently, since I wore a mask when he came into my house to test it (as I should during a freaking pandemic), that makes me "scared" of COVID. The unprofessional little *@?# doesn't know my situation of having to take care of elderly in-laws, which means I have to be extra careful. He wrote on the work order to send me the bill because I was "scared of COVID." This shows a failing on multiple employees, as I'm sure that the person sending invoices is not the same person doing service calls. Additionally, I sent the copy of the work order in with my payment asking if they thought that was a proper way to treat customers. I did not receive a reply, but they cashed my check. So, I have my answer and they have their review. Looks like I will be giving the Generator Pros at Shepp Electric my business going forward. Too bad, I planned to do a 22kw replacement next year too. Also, one of their techs was very condescending to my wife on a previous occasion. So much so that she refused to deal with them.

Description of Work
General maintenance and repair

Category electrician

1.0

12/16/2020


steve K.

Had made plans with an employee who did previous electrical work to have a ceiling mounted garage heater installed at my home. I told him I'd call them when the heater arrived at my home. When it arrived, I called them and told the employee who answered the phone that the heater had arrived. He said he'd tell the person in charge of scheduling and they'd call me to make an appointment for installation. I waited three weeks and didn't receive a call. I called and asked what had happened. He said I (my work order) must have got lost in the shuffle. He said the person in charge of scheduling would call me the next day or the day after that. That was over a week ago. Never got a call.

Description of Work
Ceiling garage heater to be installed

Category electrician

5.0

10/29/2020


Jeff G.

Very well, all work was completed on time and on budget. Very professional and great communications.

Description of Work
All types of electrical work in my industrial building.

Category electrician

5.0

10/27/2020


Terry S C.

It is always good with Portman Electric. A very professions staff all the way through. Always a good price, and very flexible to your hours of operation. I could not say enough good about this team.

Description of Work
Many Electrical Jobs over the course of probably 25 years

Category electrician,lighting

5.0

10/16/2020


Cindy G.

The service was wonderful, the technician was highly intelligent, very professional, and communicated very very well, followed all safety protocols and precautions, I was very impressed.

Description of Work
Annual Tune up of the power generator

Category electrician

2.0

10/11/2020


chip J.

Installed 10 years ago. Never works more than 1 year without breaking. They just came out in summer 2020 for most recent repair. Guess what, October unit is not working. $180 for every visit

Description of Work
generator installation and maintenance

Category ceiling fans,generator service

Service Provider Response

We were never informed of the dissatisfaction of service. The unit was installed in 2012 and the customer requested annual service to be done every other year. Upon each maintenance, the technician performed the required tests and insured the unit was operational at that time. Portman Electric takes pride in our service and customer satisfaction. We would have done everything possible to rectify the situation.
5.0

06/24/2020


Brad S.

I had a challenge finding an electrician to do this type of work (structured cabling) for a reasonable price. Portman electric charged time and materials, with me providing the majority of the materials. This ended up being far cheaper than other places charging by the job or per drop. I am happy with the job they did. They were professional and got the wires pulled quickly. There was one person within the company, Tim that has a lot of low-voltage experience. The electricians on site could talk to him whenever things came up that they were not sure about. If I were doing the project again, I'd terminate all the jacks myself. This was more time consuming than I expected it to be and could have saved a bit on the overall project cost. I asked them to help make the wiring look neat and tidy at the end and it looks ok.

Description of Work
Wire house with Cat6A cable. 22 drops, 12 locations. Move one coax jack. Add grounding to network rack, fix minor issue with light fixture.

Category electrician

5.0

06/18/2019


Anne C.

They are absolutely excellent. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
I have been using them for electrical needs for about 10 years.

Category electrician

5.0

06/02/2019


Joshua S.

I needed another electrician to hook up my pool heat pump, and people I knew recommended Portman. I called, and electrician came in the same day to review the work. He had never done a pool heat pump before, but he was knowledgeable enough to know exactly what he needed to do. He jumped right in, not to the pool it was still cold, and started the internal wiring to get set up. He came back about a week later, installed everything else and hooked it up. Everything worked great and he was very professional in everything he did. He even brought the empty trash can up from the road for my wife. I will definitely use Portman again if needed and would recommend them for all their electrical needs.

Description of Work
We bought a heat pump for our pool and needed a new breaker, line run from the breaker box to outside, a wall box outside and a line run to the heater.

Category electrician

5.0

04/24/2019


Donald P.

Portman Electric is an excellent company. They not only work for you but they work with you. They listen to your questions and ideas and than guide you in making the right choices from their experience.We're very pleased with the whole job from start to finish. Watching the crew work together you could easily see they where very knowledgeable, focused and methodical in doing the install. We would highly recommend Portman Electric to anyone needing electrical work done.

Description of Work
We had a Generac Standby generator installed.

Category electrician,plumbing,generator service

Service Provider Response

We are happy to know that our customers are pleased with the work our technicians are doing! Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other Angie's List members!
5.0

03/07/2019


Luciana D.

John was a real pleasure and enjoyed talking to him while he worked. He answered all my questions as he proceeded through the process. I gave a B on the price not because they are out of line with other providers, but because I think they all charge too much for a yearly maintenance visit. I do my own oil changes and yearly maintenance due to that fact but this time the generator wouldn't start and figured it was the battery. So since he was going to be here anyway, I decided to have him do a once over. I would definitely use them again and would hope to get John again. He was very profession, on time and very knowledgeable.

Description of Work
Maintenance on the generator and new battery

Category generator service

5.0

11/18/2018


joseph D.

Went perfect. They came out in a cold snowy mess and still did a great job. They removed bushes and tall grasses that were in the way, leveled it out, laid the pad down and set in the Generator. They handled all the electric connections and the gas line and we were only without power for an hour while they did the hookups. The also contacted our gas provider and had them run a larger pipe to our home so we have more stable gas flow. Excellent work and service!

Description of Work
Installed a Whole House generator

Category electrician,generator service

5.0

10/31/2018


Pam P.

After years of struggling with portable gasoline-powered generators, we contacted Portman Electric to have a standby generator installed. Jeff and his team came out and assessed our needs and came up with a well-explained plan and estimate. The staff was courteous and professional and the installation went very well. BEST DECISION EVER! Such peace of mind knowing that when the power goes out as it often does where we live, that the generator will kick on automatically and gives us everything we need to be comfortable. They also offer a yearly maintenance service which is well worth it! Great company to work with!

Description of Work
Generator Installation

Category generator service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive response. We value our customers and take pride in our expertise and professionalism.
5.0

10/02/2018


ANTHONY V.

"I want to thank Jeff Portman and the entire crew (Dave, Joe, Adam & Tim) at Portman Electric for the wonderful job they did in installing my whole house generator. They were all very professional, friendly, and courteous. They were able to help me pick the correct generator for my situation. They installed underground wiring from the street to the house and to the generator. Also included was a new breaker panel in the home. They even leveled out the ground after removing the soil for the power line. This was very extensive job and they did a wonderful job. Bottom line: (A) I would definitely recommend them to anyone interested in installing a whole house generator. I could not ask for anything more, and the price was not the highest and not the lowest of the three quotes I received, but in the middle. It was worth every penny I paid and I am totally satisfied with their workmanship. (B) The second thing, besides price, that I look for when evaluating quotes for service is "Character". Jeff Portman is a man of "High Character" and the type of person I would do business with on a hand shake only. Portman Electric will be my service providers from now on. Five Stars. Thank you Portman Electric.

Description of Work
INSTALLED WHOLE HOUSE GENERATOR AND ELECTRICAL PANEL

Category electrician,generator service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind response. We take pride in our expertise and professionalism.
5.0

09/29/2018


Todd S.

Install went pretty well, they were on time and easy to deal with before and during installation. There was an adjustment needed in the spring when the ground froze, but that was due to the winter install. It took a couple of calls to fix it, but it was taken care of. I would definitely recommend Portman Electric for a Generac generator.

Description of Work
Generator Installed

Category electrician,generator service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind response. Our goal is to provide the best service with customer satisfaction.
5.0

07/18/2018


Martha H.

Dustin spent a lot of time with us explaining the 2 options for the size of generator to cover the whole house. They installed a Generac Generator and removed the old concrete pad and put in a new one. They were prompt, careful and did a very good job.

Description of Work
Installed Generac Generator to cover whole house

Category electrician,generator service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased to have you as a customer and look forward to working with you in the future.
5.0

10/04/2017


SHARON M.

Awesome. They knocked it out and it was done in a single day. In addition, I was equally impressed by Dominion as they came back and replaced the section of sidewalk that was damaged and then came back in the spring and repaired and reseeded the tree lawn and our front lawn that was damaged. Their planted seed came up better than anything I could have planted!

Description of Work
11 KW Generac whole house generator installed Fall 2016. Portman coorinated work with Dominion Gas Company to install required upgraded (bigger) gas line from street to house at no cost to resident. They had 2 teams working - one inside the house in the breaker box and gas connections and tunneling cable and another on the outside responsible for laying the pad, placing the generator and testing. Instructed us and it was good to go. It has been essentially carefree.

Category electrician,generator service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to have you as a customer and look forward to working with you in the future.
5.0

10/04/2017


SHARON M.

Great. Portman arranged to have Dominion at the site. Portman had a team work on the inside doing the electric and gas work and an outside team laying the pad and placing the generator. Carefree system. Also very impressed with Dominion. They came back soon after and pour a new sidewalk where it was disrupted and later in the spring they reseeded lawn better than I could.

Description of Work
11 KW whole house Generac gas generator installed. New gas line placed via tunneling per Dominion at no charge.

Category electrician

5.0

08/08/2017


Donna S.

Wonderful! We could not be more pleased with our generator. It was installed in 2011 and is still working perfectly. Portman has also done several small electrical jobs for us. They are a professional company with great customer service.

Description of Work
Purchase and install of Generac generator.

Category electrician,generator service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to providing you with professional and excellent service in the future.
5.0

06/24/2017


Kathleen F.

Very well! So pleased, we are having them do wiring and installation of ceiling fans.

Description of Work
We bought and had installed a Generac generator.

Category electrician,plumbing,generator service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive response. We look forward to providing excellent service for your generator and electrical needs.
5.0

05/25/2017


Brian Y.

Portman Electric was a one stop shop and was able to provide the materials, electrical labor, and plumbing labor (Generator is powered by natural gas, so a gas line needed to be run). They were knowledgeable during the quotation process, responsive, and most importantly, they did great work. My dad is retired commercial/industrial electrician 40+ years) and was very impressed with the quality of the work and their equipment. They were able to complete this complex project in one day which minimized the disruption. We are very happy to now have an electrical panel and service that meets code and a whole house standby generator for power outages that happen more frequently than you think. I highly recommend Portman Electric and would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Upgrade electrical service from 100 Amp to 200 Amp. Replace original 1968 Murray Electric panel with new Square D QO panel and circuit breakers. Relocate some wiring associated with new panel installation. Install Generac 16KW standby generator and automatic transfer switch

Category electrician,plumbing,generator service

Service Provider Response

Thank you Mr. [Member Name Removed] for the positive response on the service we provided. We take pride in our professionalism and expert service.
5.0

05/03/2017


Mary B.

it was alot of work but Adam and Dennis were patient, hardworking, professional and very pleasant. All debris was cleaned up. All work was explained. All testing was performed with customer.

Description of Work
generator install as well as installation of new electrical panel(s)

Category electrician,generator service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to have you as a customer and strive to offer you the best with our service and professionalism.
5.0

04/12/2017


Timothy B.

The experience was very positive. Their price was competitive. I suppose I would use them again. They do other things besides generator installations so because of that I am not sure if I would use them again. It is quite likely I would consider them if I had other electrical work, or some of the other things they do. I think they were very responsive. When they came on sight they were punctual. They explained what was going on. I actually kind of monitored everything that was going on just so that I would be following and if there were any questions that I had as they were doing the work I could ask them, and they were very responsive to a few questions that I had. We also had some discussion about the actual installation and where it was going to be placed and everything else. I had some ideas, they had a different idea and we came to a compromise as to exactly the placement of the unit was going to be and everything else. I am satisfied with their interaction with me. It was a positive experience. In the future they can maintain their level of performance. I think they did everything a customer could ask of them. Three people came out and it took approximately 6 hours. There is a lot of work involved.

Description of Work
I just made a purchase through them for a whole house generator and it was installed it yesterday.

Category generator service

5.0

09/26/2016


Timothy V.

Dustin helped us choose the stand-by generator solution that best met our needs. The installation crew was punctual and hardworking. They worked hard despite our house and yard's obstacles. Everything (including some other electrical work) was completed within the day. We are pleased with their work and service.

Description of Work
Installation of a Generac generator.

Category electrician,generator service

5.0

08/13/2016


Kyla S.

I contacted Porter Electric a good few months to plan ahead as needed for these new light installations and they were very accommodating in scheduling and answering any questions I had regarding time to complete our projects and approximate cost as well as other details with the new lighting. They arrived on time and worked along side me for nearly an entire day to get all done as needed. The technician was courteous, helpful and professional. We LOVE our new exterior lights and new dining light fixture, too!! We will call Porter next time we have any electrical needs for our home.

Description of Work
All new exterior home lights installed as well as a new dining room light then moved one light to another location.

Category electrician,lighting

    Other local Pros in your area

    STREB ELECTRIC

    We have been a Family Owned business for over 30 years. We handle all Residential Service and Repair Electrical needs. No job is too large or too small. We belong to the Eaton Certified Contractor Network. We are a Drug Free Company and offer a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. Licensed, Bonded & Insured. We use a Straight Forward Pricing system where you know the price of the job before we start.  

    Offers by STREB ELECTRIC on Angi
    KYD Electrical Maintenance

    Full service electrical company can trouble shoot any electrical problem. We have a team that has 30+ years experience and is ready to work and please customers. We are licensed, bonded, and insured. We can handle all of your projects, to include electric vehicle adaptability. Please call so that we can better identify your needs and give you the personal service that your deserve.  

    Gorjanc Comfort Services

    Gorjanc Comfort Services, Northeast Ohio’s premier home services company since 1963, is a second-generation heating, air conditioning, plumbing, and generator service provider. Additional DBA - Gorjanc Heating & Cooling. Award winning.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Residential and Commercial Electrical Installation & Repairs, Panel Upgrades, Lighting Installation, Remodeling Electrical & Landscape Lighting, Whole-House Standby Generator Installation and Maintenance, Generac Generator Sales, Service and Warranty Work.

    Services Not Offered

    General Construction, Landscape Design, Appliance Repairs, Hot Tub Repairs other than Wiring.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Portman Electric Inc

    How is Portman Electric Inc overall rated?

    Portman Electric Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Portman Electric Inc open?

    Portman Electric Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Portman Electric Inc provide

    Portman Electric Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Portman Electric Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Portman Electric Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Portman Electric Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Portman Electric Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Portman Electric Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Portman Electric Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Portman Electric Inc?

    No, Portman Electric Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Portman Electric Inc offer?

    Portman Electric Inc offers the following services: Residential and Commercial Electrical Installation & Repairs, Panel Upgrades, Lighting Installation, Remodeling Electrical & Landscape Lighting, Whole-House Standby Generator Installation and Maintenance, Generac Generator Sales, Service and Warranty Work.

    Are there any services Portman Electric Inc does not offer?

    General Construction, Landscape Design, Appliance Repairs, Hot Tub Repairs other than Wiring.