Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

DREAM HOME CONSTRUCTION

Founded 1993 • With Angi since December 2001

Dream Home Construction is a full-service residential construction company serving our area since 1993. At Dream Home Construction, we are focused on helping our clients fall in love with their homes again. Maybe you want to update a hall bath to be more welcoming for guests or to create an award winning kitchen that will impress everyone who comes through the door. Perhaps, you want to add more space for a growing family. There are many reasons for updating a home as there are homeowners, but one thing is certain.. Dream Home Construction so committed to helping you create a home you will love living in.

Verified Reviews

4.4

(9) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews
Marilyn S.
5.0
07/18/2015
Knowing Scott's work from long ago, we knew the job would be done correctly and professionally. Scott and Yvonne always informed us of any changes that occurred during the job. If anything came up that involved a price increase, we were always informed why and how much...so no surprises! Any questions we had about choosing fixtures, paint or floor colors, they were more than happy to assist. Dream Home will not be the least expensive when it comes to remodeling, but when you want to know that the work will be done correctly and professionally, Scott and Yvonne Burton are the ones to hire! Additionally, if you do find something after the job is completed that was not correct, Scott stays true to his word and will return to fix the job. We appreciate all the work they have done for us so far and plan on hiring them again. Thanks for a job well done!
Description of Work
Scott did a great job on our basement renovation about 15 years ago. When we decided to remodel out kitchen and bathroom, we called Dream Home Construction once again. Scott came out for the estimate and was able to give a very close cost for what we wanted to have done ... a complete renovation of both rooms. Not only did he complete the job, along with his workers, he also was able to complete other jobs that we needed to have done. For example: repair a crack in a wall; add electrical outlets; remove and replace a bathroom fan in the basement; and several other small jobs. He was also able to add a backsplash during the job, when we originally did not want one.
Category
home remodeling
FOREST T.
5.0
03/14/2015
Scott was very prompt and professional. Repairs were made timely and buyer's inspector signed off on them. It was a time critical home sale that went smoothly thanks to quick repairs.
Description of Work
Point of sale repairs-exterior GFI installed and 3 interior GFI's installed.
Category
electrician, handyman service
Scott H.
2.0
11/25/2014
Originally accepted our job to correct violations from our Shaker Hts point of sale inspection and then, four days later, said they were too busy. Left me in a bit of a lurch. Luckily, we found a guy named Jim Guggenheim who does the same type of work and he came through for us.
Description of Work
Originally accepted our job to correct violations from our Shaker Hts point of sale inspection and then, four days later, said they were too busy. Left me in a bit of a lurch. Luckily, we found a guy named Jim Guggenheim who does the same type of work and he came through for us.
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

His claim that we accepted his job is not true. He called us for an estimate, at that time we informed him that we were very busy and that we would check our schedule and call him back. We called him back two days and told him we could not do the job. We also at that time referred Jim Guggenheim to him. For Dream Home Construction to expect a job we first give an written estimate and then if that is accepted by the customer he would have signed a contract. This home owner has neither. Dream Home Construction's number one goal is customer satisfaction. We are members of NARI, which we have won multiple awards and have been recognized by Cleveland Magazine as the Best of the East Remodeler, and many other accomplishments. Please visit our website for other testimonials dreamhome-construction.com.
KATE S.
5.0
08/09/2013
Scott and Yvonne Burton run Dream Home Construction beautifully. We've been working with Scott since early May (it's now early August) and I highly recommend him and his company to anyone. They do it all, as I mentioned in "what did the provider do". Our house is 97 years old (in Shaker Heights) and we needed some major work done. Scott's mantra is "we do it all." He's a very hands-on contractor who runs a very tight ship, hires excellent workers, and does outstanding work. There has been no job too small or too complicated for him and his crew. We've seen him at our house almost every day this summer, either checking on his workers or working here himself. He is direct, personable, honest, knowledgable, and dedicated, and he's proud to relate stories of his work and the accolades his company has received. I have had remodeling done to my home in 1995, 1999, our condo in Hilton Head this last winter, and now our home this summer, and I can say without reservation that I so wish Scott had done all of the work these past years....then he wouldn't be correcting the poor workmanship of those who preceded him.
Description of Work
Tore down a load-bearing wall to turn 2 smaller bedrooms into a master bedroom; gutted and remodeled a full bath on the 2nd floor; installed a laundry room on the 2nd floor; laid new hardwood floor on the finished 3rd floor; replaced 2 and added one new access doors to knee-wall storage on 3rd floor; waterproofed one side of our home; removed a vinyl kitchen floor and laid new tile; sanded, stained and sealed 3 floors of hardwood; repaired faulty electricity and plumbing throughout the house as needed; improvised a shower in the basement for us to use during the job; and removed huge taxus hedges and installed a 400 linear foot wrought-iron style fence.
Category
ceramic tile, electrician, fencing, flooring contractor, handyman service, hardwood floor, lawn service, plumbing, remodeling, wrought iron, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you (Member Name Removed) it was a pleasure working for you.
ROBERT E.
4.0
07/29/2013
Responsiveness was fine. Price estimates not clearly mapped out (i.e. total cost for tiling, and not broken out on how much is labor, or square footage, making it impossible to know what your tile costs could/should be). When told some things were back-ordered, was told we'd have to pick new material bc the job would be over before it came in. They did not appreciate my response that the job is over when it is complete. Since we paid a lot of money for the renovation, we were sticklers for detail - I didn't appreciate hearing from other customers that the company spoke badly about us because we held them to a high standard. Complaining about your customers isn't really the way to get referrals or have good word of mouth. Also, when they call you back, the number comes up as BLOCKED. Bad for business. I don't answer blocked calls, which meant a lot of back and forth on communication. The company seemed unconcerned about not being able to get through to their clients.
Description of Work
Bathroom renovation.
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

In response to the tile work. All Dream Home Construction contracts have a complete price breakdown sheet for the job. It also comes with allowance sheets with the individual materials (tile) which the customer has to sign. Let's start at the beginning, when we met to sign the contract one of the Home Owner's concerns was how long the job would take. So we agreed at a set time, that was in the contract. The job went as scheduled until we started to install the tile floor that the customer picked out. After installing a large portion of the floor the customer came home from work and did not like the tile they picked out. we then asked the customer to pick out another tile, after a few days we did not get a response we then contacted the customer to let him know that if he didn't pick out tile soon we would loose the tile installer to another job, which would delay the job. He then picked out a tile. When the supplier ordered that tile it was on back ordered and would be approx. 3 months before we could get it. we explained his options: A). Job would take much longer than what we agreed on for the entire job. B). Pick out an another tile. The home owner agreed to pick out another tile. We proceeded to remove the tile floor that the customer picked out but didn't like, at Dream Home Construction expense. During the entire job we never heard about these complaints. If the customer was unhappy why did they have many additional projects done with Dream Home Construction. Electrical work, master bedroom remodel, refinish wood floors). As for another customer saying we spoke badly about the home owner, This is not true! Dream Home Construction thought everything was fine. Dream Home Construction only delivers the highest standard of work. At the beginning of the job I explained to the home owner that my cell phone number was not given out to any customers because I would spend my whole day on the phone. I told them to call our business office and if he needed to talk to me I would call him right back. 90% of all phone calls can be handled by our Professional office staff, that way I can work out in the field. We also find it odd that this compliant was made 18 months after the job was completed. Dream Home Construction is disappointed that untrue hear say from another customer would cause this Home owner to make this compliant. Dream Home Construction number one goal is customer satisfaction, we are members of NARI which we have won multiple awards and have been recognized by Cleveland Magazine as Best of the East Remodeler and many other accomplishment. Please visit our website: dreamhome-construction.com for more customer's reviews and pictures.
JOE H.
2.0
11/07/2007
We kept having scheduling issues. They would say they would be here but then they would give us a call letting us know they could not make it. This happed about 2 or 3 times.
Description of Work
We needed a few things done around our home.
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

We never did work for this person, we feel he put this compliant on the wrong company
5.0
08/21/2005
POLITE, PROFESSIONAL. GOOD WORK. GOOD PRICE.
Description of Work
REPLACED THREE WINDOW SILLS AND PAINTED THEM. TUCK POINTED AND RESET LOOSE BRICKS ON CHIMNEY.
Category
handyman service
LUCILLE M.
3.0
10/17/2002
WORK WAS ANCILLARY TO CONTRACTING INSTALLING PATIO TILES. I THINK HE RESENTED MY WANTING 2 REPAIRS REDONE (CORRECTLY) HE NEVER CAME BACK TO COMPLETE THE WORK-BUT HE DID NOT CHARGE FOR WORK NOT DONE.
Description of Work
MISC REPAIR INCLUDING PLUMBING AND ELECTRICAL WORK
Category
handyman service
HUNTER & KRIS B.
5.0
12/12/2001
PRICE VERY FAIR; VERY RELIABLE; EASY TO WORK WITH & HONEST. VERY HIGH-END MATERIALS--HE DID A BEAUTIFUL JOB. HE DID PLUMBING, ELECTRICAL, & TILE ALL HIMSELF. WE DEALT WITH THE SAME PERSON EVERY DAY--FAMILY BUSINESS.
Description of Work
EXTENSIVE REMODELING ON 2ND FLOOR; RECONFIGURED FLOOR PLAN & REDID 2 BATHS; MADE A MASTER SUITE
Category
remodeling

Other local Pros in your area

AMERICAN ELECTRIC LLC

American Electric LLC has been in operation since the 70's We are a small company that employs 10 Trained Technicians We offer upfront pricing on any project you have to have done. You will receive 10% off your project by mentioning you found us on this site. We accept all forms of payment including credit card, check and cash.  

Angi Certified

OTTA Construction Services

Here at OTTA Construction Services we can do anything from kitchen / bath remodeling to home additions, whole house painting exterior and interior. We specialize in hardwood floor refinishing/ installation. OTTA can help with all of your homeowner needs. OTTA Construction Services has been in business for 8 years we are owner operated and love what we do.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Mr. Electric of Cleveland

Since 1994, the professional electricians at Mr. Electric have been serving residential and commercial customers throughout the US and Canada. We get it right the first time, delivering the most comprehensive electrical services including installation, upgrade, and repair solutions available.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

13980 Claridon Park Drive

Chardon, OH 44024

Other Information

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

Slate Roof

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

DREAM HOME CONSTRUCTION is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

DREAM HOME CONSTRUCTION is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

DREAM HOME CONSTRUCTION accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

Ask DREAM HOME CONSTRUCTION for details on free project estimates.

Yes, DREAM HOME CONSTRUCTION offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, DREAM HOME CONSTRUCTION does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, DREAM HOME CONSTRUCTION offers warranties.

DREAM HOME CONSTRUCTION offers the following services: Remodel: Kitchen, Bathrooms, Basements, Additions, Garages, Roofing, Electrical, Plumbing