Ray Arnold Masonry

About

Founded 1952 • With Angi since March 2006

Ray Arnold Masonry is a family owned and operated business for almost 70 years, now in our third generation! We specialize in chimney repair and masonry needs, including cultured and real stonework, retaining walls, steps, porches, patios, and basement waterproofing. We are committed to quality

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.9

(77) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

70

4

1

3

2

2

1

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

masonry (66)chimney repair (27)chimney cap repair (11)concrete repair (8)general contractors (7)basement waterproofing (5)decks & porches (4)fireplace services (3)roofing (3)stone & gravel (2)excavating (2)basement remodeling (1)
Showing 1-25 of 77 reviews
5.0

05/11/2022


Nancy S.

Great experience working with Ray Arnold Masonry. From the initial appointment to assess the work, through the entire construction process, everyone at Ray Arnold was professional, friendly, and attentive to every detail to be sure we were happy with the finished product. I highly recommend!

Description of Work
Rebuilt front steps and porch floor

Category concrete repair, decks, masonry

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/10/2021

Images

Review for Ray Arnold Masonry - PO Box 23519, Chagrin Falls, OH - 39728486

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed]! Your home is lovely, and we were so happy to be of service and add to its beauty!
5.0

12/06/2021


John E.

Excellent. Very professional from estimate to completion. The work was done with care and on time. Very professional team and would definitely recommend.

Description of Work
Replace weathered side of chimney and repair chimney walls. Install new chimney cap.

Category masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/06/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], we're so pleased that you're so pleased! We hope you'll have many years of high functionality and good looks with your chimney! One thing we're sure of: we have the nicest customers! Thanks again!
5.0

11/24/2021


Matt E.

Everything was basically flawless for this job. That’s not something I say very often for home renovations, but everything from the first inspection to the last went completely as I hoped. It was especially refreshing because it’s so hard to get labor nowadays. This job was on time and on point!

Description of Work
Basement window installed

Category contractors, replacement windows, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/03/2021

Images

Review for Ray Arnold Masonry - PO Box 23519, Chagrin Falls, OH - 39553322

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed]! We deeply appreciate the compliment, as our team works hard to give our best effort in each job. Your satisfaction with this job makes us feel great!!
5.0

11/05/2021


David A.

Excellent communication, and job completion

Description of Work
Repair of roof leak

Category roofing, chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/05/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed]! We're so glad you were pleased! We'll keep trying our very best, and hope to work with you again in the future!
5.0

10/21/2021


Joe M.

Very well. Top 14 courses of brick were replaced with new brick to match. New crown and cap installed. Motar wash applied to splay wall and aluminum flashing installed on the splay wall. Old caulk removed and new caulk applied on both sides of the chimney where the siding meets the brick. Entire chimney water proofed. Workmen were friendly and informative and very professional. Work area cleaned. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
chimney repair

Category masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces

Cost $8,606

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/21/2021

2.0

08/25/2021


Ross M.

Everyone was polite and on time. Site was pressure washed well before work started and again when completed. Brick sidewalk was repaired. Not satisfied with quality of mortar work, looks sloppy. For the high price I paid, and their own testimonial of their work; I expected much higher quality than what I received, even after they reworked the main section. Honestly it looks like I did the work myself.

Description of Work
Brick entryway/sidewalk mortar tuck repair

Category masonry

Cost $3,150

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/02/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your straightforward appraisal, [Member Name Removed]. It's unfortunate that partial tuckpointing of a walkway, by definition, leaves a "patched" look. We apologize that we were not more clear during the estimating process, and we have implemented steps to correct that, going forward. We appreciated being able to do work for you. The vast majority of our customers are repeat customers, and we hope we might have the opportunity to serve you even better in the future.
5.0

07/07/2021


Dick C.

Crew was a very nice group. Worked hard and safe. Kept site clean. Communications were excellent on when they would be on site and what they would be doing. Quality of work was excellent. I would hire this company again for another job without hesitation.

Description of Work
rebuild chimney

Category contractors, masonry, roofing, chimney caps, chimney repair

Cost $35,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/07/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], we're grateful we could be of service to you. We'll continue to work hard to earn the respect of nice customers like you!
5.0

02/17/2021


Barry H.

This contractor performed services in a timely manner and the employees were prompt in responding to calls and emails. Of particular note, Andrew, before being hired, spent considerable time reviewing the estimate and responding to my many questions; and Cody, after being hired, spent the time necessary to respond to my questions regarding technical construction matters. I would employ this company for other projects without hesitation.

Description of Work
Chimney repair and rebuild

Category masonry, chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Our deep thanks for your kind review, [Member Name Removed]! Andrew and Cody appreciated your willingness to ask questions and are glad you're so happy with our work!
5.0

01/10/2021


Adrienne32 L.

I am very pleased with the work done. It was done quickly and efficiently and I felt that the price was fair and reason

Description of Work
The crumbling foundation of the house was reinforced..

Category contractors, concrete repair, excavators, masonry

Cost $3,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2020

Service Provider Response

We try hard to do a great job, and we're glad you're pleased!
5.0

01/07/2021


Kathy S.

I would give them an A+ if I could. They were punctual and professional, both on the initial visit and the installation visit. On the initial visit, they clearly explained what needed to be done and how they would do it. They even used a drone to take photos of our chimney. On the subsequent visit, the work was done quickly, they cleaned up after themselves, and they showed us how to operate the new damper.

Description of Work
Replace damper in gas fireplace

Category fireplaces

Cost $925

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/07/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much, [Member Name Removed]! We couldn't be more pleased that you are pleased with our work!
5.0

01/04/2021


Edward R.

Ray Arnold Masonry did a phenomenal job on the repairs that were done to the stonework on my home. There were cracks that developed over the past year due to settling but you cannot tell that any repairs had been made to the stonework. I would not hesitate to hire them again and can highly recommend them for the quality of their work and professionalism.

Description of Work
Masonry repairs to stonework on home

Category masonry

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], your compliments are deeply appreciated by our whole team. Your satisfaction makes us feel great!
5.0

01/02/2021


Patrick O.

All projects completed well, on time and with reasonable cost.

Description of Work
Multiple projects over the years including: Repair garage damage; repair basement drain pipes; Install french drain system; Stream bank restoration consultation; Install door in workshop.

Category concrete repair, electrician, excavators, plumbing, remodeling, drain pipe, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/08/2020

Service Provider Response

Thanks, [Member Name Removed]; your review is very appreciated!
5.0

01/02/2021


Richard S.

We were very pleased with the professional work done to repair cracks and aging mortar on our front porch.

Description of Work
Repair of brick work on front porch

Category contractors, decks, masonry

Cost $1,815

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/02/2021

Service Provider Response

We're glad you're so pleased! We always try our best!
5.0

12/31/2020


Mary C.

I have used Ray Arnold Masonry before and they do excellent work. This job was no exception. In addition, their workers are exceptionally polite and punctual, and they clean up the worksite impeccably when done. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Replacement of deteriorated mortar in natural stone front porch and steps.

Category masonry

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/31/2020

Service Provider Response

We humbly appreciate your trust in our services, [Member Name Removed]. Probably the best part of our work is wonderful customers like you!
5.0

12/31/2020


Carl C.

Everyone was pleasant to work with and very professional. The work was excellent and quick. You get the quality work you pay for. Would recommend them foe your needs!

Description of Work
Interior and Exterior chimney tuck pointing; add chimney cap

Category contractors, chimney caps, chimney repair

Cost $720

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/06/2019

Service Provider Response

We completely agree, [Member Name Removed] - we always try to provide quality work. Thank you for your kind words!
5.0

12/29/2020


Ed W.

The team at Ray Arnold Masonry was great to work with. They were able to give me a quick free estimate and then accurately gave me a time when they could start. Work was priced fairly. Team showed up on time and completed a quality job. The bricks around my front steps under a concrete slab were crumbling. They removed, brought bricks that best matched my 25 yr old house, sealed and even replaced the landscaping mulch that had to be disturbed for the job. Work site was very clean when they were finished like no one was there. Very responsive to any questions I had.

Description of Work
Brick replacement front steps

Category masonry

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/16/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed]! We truly appreciate you trusting us with your project, and hope to always exceed expectations!
5.0

12/19/2020


Robert T.

Had a great experience with Ray Arnold Masonry. From the initial quote complete with pictures of my chimney through the tear down and rebuild they did a great job! I highly recommend.

Description of Work
Rebuild of Chimney

Category contractors, concrete repair, masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/09/2020

Service Provider Response

Thanks, [Member Name Removed]! We appreciated the opportunity to solve your chimney issue - it looks great on your beautiful home!
5.0

07/22/2019


Dennis C.

The workers were very professional, courteous, and prompt. My dealings with them went very well. They explained to me exactly what they were doing when I went to see them working.

Description of Work
Stone chimney and wall repair.

Category masonry, pavers, gravel, chimney repair

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/22/2019

5.0

10/01/2018


Frank S.

Came and did the job. Cleaned up after they finished. You couldn't even tell they had been here. The way a contractor should be. good job.

Description of Work
tuck point a chimney and replace 7 rows of brick

Category masonry

Cost $2,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2018

5.0

08/24/2018


Steve C.

We needed a new set of steps built without disturbing the walkway or landing. Larry provided a very detailed estimate and explained exactly what was going to be done. His crew did an excellent job with the highest quality and the final steps looked beautiful. They did a very precise demolition job and matched with the existing walkway and landing perfectly. They installed a footer (none was there previously) to make sure there would be no settling. The materials were all top quality and the clean-up was well done.

Description of Work
Replaced front entry steps including concrete footer, brick risers/sidewalls backed up with block, and new sandstone treads.

Category masonry

Cost $4,235

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/24/2018

Images

Review for Ray Arnold Masonry - PO Box 23519, Chagrin Falls, OH - 37348878
5.0

03/16/2018


Lee L.

Crew arrived on time and set-up scaffolding and prepared the work area. Damaged bricks were replaced with others that matched the 60+ year old originals. Work area was completely cleaned before the crew left. Crew was as quiet as could be with no yelling, swearing, smoking or unsafe activity. All equipment was in good working condition and more than adequate for the tasks. We are very pleased with the results.

Description of Work
Chimney needed re-pointing and capping.

Category masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

02/28/2018


Lee L.

Workers promptly arrived on time and erected scaffolding. They removed all loose masonry and replaced broken bricks with matching ones. The sandstone accent pieces were also cleaned and reset. A cracked liner was replaced. The cap was rebuilt. All work was profession in appearance. The crew did not play a radio, smoked, nor were unnecessarily loud. Everyone performed his task in a professional manner. The jobsite was cleaned before they left. The chimney looks great.

Description of Work
Top of fireplace chimney needed to be rebuilt.

Category masonry

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/14/2017

5.0

11/17/2017


Gary D.

Punctual, professional, neat and came back to fix something that was missed.

Description of Work
Chimney tuck pointed

Category masonry