Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Ray Arnold Masonry

4.9

(72) Verified Reviews

Founded 1952 • With Angi since March 2006

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Company Contact

PO Box 23519

Chagrin Falls, OH 44023

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

Ray Arnold Masonry is a family owned and operated business for almost 70 years, now in our third generation! We specialize in chimney repair and masonry needs, including cultured and real stonework, retaining walls, steps, porches, patios, and basement waterproofing. We are committed to quality craftsmanship and customer satisfaction, and dedicated to handling all of your masonry and general contracting needs. You can count on our work because we focus on building lifelong relationships with our customers, delivering the best possible service and continuing to grow and expand. Our estimates are free, with the exception of some real estate transactions, and we generally require 30% down to put a customer on our work schedule, with the balance due upon completion. We also offer a 5% military discount. We would look forward to serving your masonry needs!...

Verified Reviews

4.9

(72) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

65

4

1

3

2

2

1

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

masonry (63)chimney repair (24)chimney cap repair (9)concrete repair (7)general contractors (6)basement waterproofing (5)decks & porches (3)fireplace services (2)stone & gravel (2)roofing (2)excavating (2)door installation (1)
Showing 1-10 of 72 reviews
2.0

08/25/2021

Everyone was polite and on time. Site was pressure washed well before work started and again when completed. Brick sidewalk was repaired. Not satisfied with quality of mortar work, looks sloppy. For the high price I paid, and their own testimonial of their work; I expected much higher quality than what I received, even after they reworked the main section. Honestly it looks like I did the work mys...

Description of Work
Brick entryway/sidewalk mortar tuck repair

Category masonry

Cost $3,150

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/02/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your straightforward appraisal, [Member Name Removed]. It's unfortunate that partial tuckpointing of a walkway, by definition, leaves a "patched" look. We apologize that we were not more clear during the estimating process, and we have implemented steps to correct that, going forward. We appreciated being able to do work for you. The vast majority of our customers are repeat customer...
5.0

07/07/2021

Crew was a very nice group. Worked hard and safe. Kept site clean. Communications were excellent on when they would be on site and what they would be doing. Quality of work was excellent. I would hire this company again for another job without hesitation.

Description of Work
rebuild chimney

Category contractors,masonry,roofing,chimney caps,chimney repair

Cost $35,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/07/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], we're grateful we could be of service to you. We'll continue to work hard to earn the respect of nice customers like you!
5.0

02/17/2021

This contractor performed services in a timely manner and the employees were prompt in responding to calls and emails. Of particular note, Andrew, before being hired, spent considerable time reviewing the estimate and responding to my many questions; and Cody, after being hired, spent the time necessary to respond to my questions regarding technical construction matters. I would employ this compan...

Description of Work
Chimney repair and rebuild

Category masonry,chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Our deep thanks for your kind review, [Member Name Removed]! Andrew and Cody appreciated your willingness to ask questions and are glad you're so happy with our work!
5.0

01/10/2021

I am very pleased with the work done. It was done quickly and efficiently and I felt that the price was fair and reason

Description of Work
The crumbling foundation of the house was reinforced..

Category contractors,concrete repair,excavators,masonry

Cost $3,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2020

Service Provider Response

We try hard to do a great job, and we're glad you're pleased!
5.0

01/07/2021

I would give them an A+ if I could. They were punctual and professional, both on the initial visit and the installation visit. On the initial visit, they clearly explained what needed to be done and how they would do it. They even used a drone to take photos of our chimney. On the subsequent visit, the work was done quickly, they cleaned up after themselves, and they showed us how to operate the n...

Description of Work
Replace damper in gas fireplace

Category fireplaces

Cost $925

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/07/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much, [Member Name Removed]! We couldn't be more pleased that you are pleased with our work!
5.0

01/04/2021

Ray Arnold Masonry did a phenomenal job on the repairs that were done to the stonework on my home. There were cracks that developed over the past year due to settling but you cannot tell that any repairs had been made to the stonework. I would not hesitate to hire them again and can highly recommend them for the quality of their work and professionalism.

Description of Work
Masonry repairs to stonework on home

Category masonry

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], your compliments are deeply appreciated by our whole team. Your satisfaction makes us feel great!
5.0

01/02/2021

All projects completed well, on time and with reasonable cost.

Description of Work
Multiple projects over the years including: Repair garage damage; repair basement drain pipes; Install french drain system; Stream bank restoration consultation; Install door in workshop.

Category concrete repair,electrician,excavators,plumbing,remodeling,drain pipe,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/08/2020

Service Provider Response

Thanks, [Member Name Removed]; your review is very appreciated!
5.0

01/02/2021

We were very pleased with the professional work done to repair cracks and aging mortar on our front porch.

Description of Work
Repair of brick work on front porch

Category contractors,decks,masonry

Cost $1,815

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/02/2021

Service Provider Response

We're glad you're so pleased! We always try our best!
5.0

12/31/2020

Everyone was pleasant to work with and very professional. The work was excellent and quick. You get the quality work you pay for. Would recommend them foe your needs!

Description of Work
Interior and Exterior chimney tuck pointing; add chimney cap

Category contractors,chimney caps,chimney repair

Cost $720

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/06/2019

Service Provider Response

We completely agree, [Member Name Removed] - we always try to provide quality work. Thank you for your kind words!
5.0

12/31/2020

I have used Ray Arnold Masonry before and they do excellent work. This job was no exception. In addition, their workers are exceptionally polite and punctual, and they clean up the worksite impeccably when done. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Replacement of deteriorated mortar in natural stone front porch and steps.

Category masonry

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/31/2020

Service Provider Response

We humbly appreciate your trust in our services, [Member Name Removed]. Probably the best part of our work is wonderful customers like you!

Services Offered

MASONRY: cultured and real stonework, retaining walls, steps, porches, decks, patios, walkways & sidewalks CHIMNEY: Repair or replacement, tuckpointing, chimney caps, flashing BASEMENT WATERPROOFING and foundation repairs GENERAL CONTRACTING: electrical, carpentry, finishing work

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, Check
Senior Discount
no
Warranties
Yes