Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Johnson Home Improvement Services

Founded 2004 • With Angi since March 2005

4.8

(172) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8835 Taylor May Rd

Chagrin Falls, OH 44023

Description

**FOR QUICKEST RESPONSE PLEASE EMAIL ME @ johnsonhomeimp@gmail.com ** Johnson Home Improvement is a family owned and operated business that has been proudly serving the community for over 10 years. Owner Dan Johnson has over 20 years of experience in the Home Improvement industry, and you can rest assured that he will be personally involved in every job. Our business was founded on the idea that every customer should be treated like family. We will listen to your needs and provide you with a comprehensive plan to get your project from start to finish. Call today or email us at johnsonhomeimp@gmail.com and let us know how we can make your house a home!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/03/2022


KIM R.

Dan, PJ (and team) did a fabulous job! We collaborated up front and came up with a masterful plan to update the master bathroom. Job entailed removing window, relocating tub, relocating pocket door, shower, toilet, tile, electrical, plumbing and carpentry. A complete overhaul delivering form and function perfection. All work was completed in a timely manner, with great care. Dan has an eye for detail and takes pride in his work. He delivers precisely what his customer asks for. When all is said and done, the difference is in the detail and the people and Johnson Home Improvement delivers on both!

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel.

Category contractors,ceramic tile,electrician,flooring contractor,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,woodworking,home remodeling,interior painters,doors

5.0

01/18/2022


James R.

We are repeat customers of Dan Johnson after completing a wonderful Bathroom remodel several years ago. Dan and his assistant, PJ, did not disappoint with our Kitchen Remodel. Our plans included rip out an existing wall and build new replacement wall to our spec. Ripped out existing cabinetry and disposed of debris. Stripped existing drywall for electrical work. Drywall installed prior to Kraftmaid Cabinets and appliances installed. Tile backsplash expertly installed. Johnson Home Improvements did all plumbing, including trenching our concrete slab floor to install a water line to the refrigerator ice maker. Provided new exhaust for Over Range Microwave. All trim and painting was completed without any flaws. Thanks Dan and PJ!

Description of Work
Full Kitchen Remodel with major design changes.

Category ceramic tile,drywall,plumbing,home remodeling,interior painters

1.0

07/05/2021


Cheryl Z.

I hired Johnson Home Improvement to install and grout a porcelain tile floor and backsplash in my kitchen. What a mistake! The floor is not flat. When I asked Mr. Johnson if the uneven tiles could be reset, he explained that they could not because resetting one tile would affect each successive tile. When I showed my disappointment, he asked me, “How do you expect me to fix this”? Mr. Johnson stated that I purchased unstraight, made in China tiles that weren’t the greatest. Although untrue, if Mr. Johnson had concerns about the quality of the tile, why didn’t he raise this issue with me? This was unscrupulous on his part. It is more likely that the floor is not flat because he did not use the leveling system wedges in over 90% of the tiles to keep the tiles even. In addition, Mr. Johnson did not grout underneath my appliances. He also did not install the HardiBacker board per manufacturer’s specifications; therefore, voided my warranty on the product. Mr. Johnson installed this floor his way and admitted that he did so regardless of warranties. Be aware! The backsplash was not grouted even though it was part of the contract. Mr. Johnson ran out of grout after telling me on day one that I purchased enough. As experienced by other reviewers, he then increased his quoted price because he would have to return to finish the job. As if that’s MY fault? Unfortunately, we ended up in small claims court. To cut to the chase, Mr. Johnson showed up with two attorneys. They wanted an expert witness. I had compelling photographs showing how badly my floor was installed as well as the unfinished grouting, so I decided not to pay the exorbitant price of an expert witness. That decision cost me in the end. I was awarded no damages towards the cost of the tile and grout, plus the cost for another contractor to tear up this mess of a floor. This was a complete kitchen tear up and redo. It involved cabinet makers and installers, countertop fabricators and installers, drywall installers, electricians, and plumbers. All their work was done with care and knowledge. They were all pleasant and easy to work with. The final step was my floor. Mr. Johnson’s shoddy work and lack of customer service skills put a huge damper and financial setback on an otherwise successful renovation.

Description of Work
Installation of ceramic tile floor and backsplash

Category ceramic tile,fireplaces

Service Provider Response

We are obviously saddened that our service couldn't fulfill your wishes, especially after we offered to not charge you one penny to show our good will. We wish you the best! Our numerous 5 star reviews speak for themselves.
5.0

06/29/2021


tony P.

We had our old master bathroom and shower remodeled. Dan was very very punctual, very accurate with amount of time he said it would take to complete. Dan did everything including painting. The results exceeded our expectations. We now have a beautiful new bathroom.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category fireplaces,home remodeling

5.0

06/15/2021


cathy L.

We hired Dan Johnson for our remodel of our only full bathroom. It was a complete gut of an 8x8 space. We were amazed with how quickly and efficiently Dan and his assistant PJ worked. It took 7 days from start to finish (I don't even think these guys stopped to eat) which we really appreciated, seeing is our only full bath. Even though they worked quickly, they didn't cut any corners. The job was impeccable. Work on tile and paint beautifully done. They installed a 48"vanity, toilet, and bathtub and shower fixtures. After the gut, Dan notified us that we would need a new subfloor due to damage that was not repairable. We were made aware of that minor snafu and the additional cost involved. No biggie. The final results are stunning. If there's a way for me to attach pictures, I will so you can see for yourself. I would hire these guys again in a heartbeat. They were worth every penny.

Description of Work
Full bathroom gut and remodel

Category fireplaces,home remodeling

5.0

10/15/2020


Dennis M.

Dan and PJ were amazing to work with. No hidden costs and the project came in right around the estimate. We have received multiple compliments on how great and upscaled the newly remodeled bathrooms look. I highly recommend Johnson Home Improvements and I look forward to using them again for our future projects.

Description of Work
Full Remodel of Master Bathroom and Secondary Bathroom

Category home remodeling

5.0

09/30/2020


Anne H.

The renovation of our primary bathroom by Johnson Home Improvement went really well. The tear-out took less than a day and the entire bath took an additional 8 days. We selected all materials: shower and floor tiles, double sink vanity, toilet, accessories, trim and paint. Dan and his crew provided all the construction materials. The quote and the final price after we decided on a few changes / add-ons were very fair. Hard work produced great results. It’s truly beautiful. I highly recommend to all homeowners capable of choosing the materials for the job.

Description of Work
Complete redo of primary bathroom

Category ceramic tile,drywall,glass repair,home remodeling,interior painters

5.0

10/30/2019


Aaron B.

Excellent. Dan and his partner worked quickly and efficiently, work came in at estimate. Planning to have more done!

Description of Work
Replaced front door with sidelites, garage entry door, locks, repaired some drywall, moved dryer vent

Category handyman service

5.0

09/02/2019


Mike R.

Dan kept us informed of when he would be able to start. Completed project in a timely fashion (within 2 weeks) and no surprise price deviations from quote. Dan and his helper remodeled an approximate 10 ft x 10 ft bathroom. Project involved partial removal of drywall and sub-floor to increase shower size. Tile and flooring looks great. Dan and his crew also installed new bath fans (one in remodeled bath and another in adjacent bathroom), lighting, and barn doors to bathroom and adjacent walk in closet. We discovered one minor issue when the work was complete and Dan addressed it the very next day. Dan and his team showed up on time and left the work site clean everyday. Overall, we are very pleased with the quality of the work. Cost of service was cost for labor and construction materials. All aesthetic materials (tile, flooring, vanity, faucets, lighting/fan, cabinet, mirror, shower doors, barn doors and hardware) are in addition to cost of service.

Description of Work
Remodel of Bathroom

Category contractors,ceramic tile,drywall,flooring contractor,handyman service,plumbing,home remodeling,interior painters,doors

5.0

08/26/2019


Tim B.

Unbelievable! What a great job Dan and his company did. Just wonderful! I owned a small business for 40 years and my number one requirement when I hired someone was to hire a person who cares. Dan Cares. From the smallest detail to the largest, he would make sure it was right. His communication skills regarding the planning, the progress, his suggestions to make the project better, and just his overall friendliness was second to none. In addition, he and PJ work so hard and so fast but never take shortcuts. If you want to hire a great guy who does quality work, Dan is your guy.

Description of Work
Converted a current bathroom into a medical bathroom

Category contractors,ceramic tile,drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,glass repair,handyman service,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,home remodeling,doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    OTTA Construction Services

    Here at OTTA Construction Services we can do anything from kitchen / bath remodeling to home additions, whole house painting exterior and interior. We specialize in hardwood floor refinishing/ installation. OTTA can help with all of your homeowner needs. OTTA Construction Services has been in business for 8 years we are owner operated and love what we do.  

    Faith Property Restoration

    Carpentry, Electrical, Plumbing, Full Rehab Journeyman Skilled Labor. Will handle all of your renovation, construction and remodeling needs. -Drywall repairs, patching, skim coats. -All painting interior/exterior, trim, finish. -Carpentry framing, repairs, wood siding. -Windows and doors, we install replacements or to the frame with casing. -Flooring -Driveway repairs. -Kitchen and bath remodels. -Electrical -Plumbing -Flush mount lighting FREE ESTIMATES 1-845-775-6129 *No Unsolicited Phone Calls or Offers  

    Window Universe

    Window Universe has become the leading window and door company in town. We are 100% locally owned and operated. Due to our size we can offer big company pricing and warranties along with the care that a local company provides. It's the best of both worlds. We offer full service energy efficient replacements from very economical vinyl windows to complete full frame historic wood windows and everything in between. Give us a call to see what so many other Angie's List members have been raving about. This is the reason you signed up for Angie's List.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Window Universe on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    Geauga county contractor.
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Remodeling, Finish Carpentry, Rough Carpentry, Interior Painting, Window Replacement, Doors, Repair, Restoration, Minor Electrical, & Plumbing.

    Services Not Offered

    Roofing.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Johnson Home Improvement Services

    How is Johnson Home Improvement Services overall rated?

    Johnson Home Improvement Services is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Johnson Home Improvement Services open?

    Johnson Home Improvement Services is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Johnson Home Improvement Services provide

    Johnson Home Improvement Services accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal

    Does Johnson Home Improvement Services offer free estimates?

    Yes, Johnson Home Improvement Services offers free project estimates.

    Does Johnson Home Improvement Services offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Johnson Home Improvement Services offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Johnson Home Improvement Services offer a senior discount?

    No, Johnson Home Improvement Services does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Johnson Home Improvement Services offer emergency services?

    Yes, Johnson Home Improvement Services offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Johnson Home Improvement Services?

    Yes, Johnson Home Improvement Services offers warranties.

    What services does Johnson Home Improvement Services offer?

    Johnson Home Improvement Services offers the following services: Remodeling, Finish Carpentry, Rough Carpentry, Interior Painting, Window Replacement, Doors, Repair, Restoration, Minor Electrical, & Plumbing.

    Are there any services Johnson Home Improvement Services does not offer?

    Roofing.