Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

BETTER DEAL REMODELING

Founded 1984 • With Angi since November 2001

4.8

(23) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3651 Sleepy Hollow Rd

Brunswick, OH 44212

Description

ASK ABOUT ANGIE'S LIST DISCOUNT.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/04/2015


Elizabeth P.

They are very good about making something right if your not happy. This is a high in demand company so I had to schedule in advance. They are very personable and easy to work with.

Description of Work
Added a bathroom in basement

Category basement remodeling

5.0

06/03/2015


Kathleen C.

.

Description of Work
.

Category remodeling

5.0

02/19/2015


MARTHA S.

The project was excellent! He did excellent work and was very creative. He was conscientious and the price was reasonable. He was always prompt and on time. He completed quality work efficiently. When we talked originally, he was very good at sizing up what my needs were. He did extremely beautiful work, and I am extremely happy with it! I told him I wanted his focus to be on my project and not doing other things at the same time. He was good at continuing with the project until it was completed.

Description of Work
He remodeled the entire first floor of my house.

Category drywall, electrician, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

08/09/2013


DENNIS T.

Cannot say enough good things about "Better Deal Remodeling" and it's owner, sole proprietor, Wayne Lewis. We just completed an 1800 square foot walk-out basement at our home, to include a kitchen, bathroom, billiard area and bar, four closets, and a custom built full wall entertainment unit, with natural stone surrounding a vented gas fireplace. We had given a lot of thought to the project and knew what we wanted. From our first meeting with Wayne, his ideas to make our vision "even better" were continually presented, usually accepted, and always done with the utmost respect for our desires, and very mindful of our budget. His outstanding creativity, along with his "high energy", pleasant persona, always prompt, doing exacting exactly what he said he would, and giving our job everything, everyday, make him a true gem. Wayne does almost all the work himself, with a select few trusted employees, which he closely supervises. He seemed to treat our home as if it were his own, at every turn. An example, in our case: We had a difficult structural problem which presented coincidently with our project. It had nothing to do with what we had contracted for, but needed to be addressed before we could proceed. Wayne never hesitated to assume responsibility for fixing the issue, (it wasn't easy), before completing the job. We know this is long and may seem too good to be true, but every word is accurate and sincere. We learned of Wayne Lewis and his "Better Deal Remodeling" a few months ago from a personal referral. After seeing a sample of his work, we looked no further, and are positively delighted with our results. If you are looking for the all-around best value, big job or small, and an excelled home improvement experience, the only mistake you can make, is judging THIS book by it's cover!

Description of Work
Design and finish lower level walk-out basement area.

Category remodeling

5.0

04/27/2012


MARY E L.

They are awesome. Wayne is so great to work with, he repaired all my ceilings and applied texture. He just has great ideas, ways to save money and he's overall fantastic. He's going to do more work in June.

Description of Work
Better Deal Remodeling did so many different things, they did drywall repair, electrical work, ceramic tile work, trim work and plumbing.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, remodeling

5.0

04/23/2012


Megan H.

We couldn't be more pleased with the work done by Wayne (owner) and John of Better Deal Remodeling. We were blown away by their industry knowledge, craftsmanship, competitive pricing, creativity, professionalism, courtesy, attention to detail, and overall wonderfully positive attitudes. It was a true joy to do business with them, and as happy as we are that the project is done (we LOVE our new basement) I am sad that I will not see them everyday until we start a new project. When my husband and I decided to have our 1,100 sq ft "cement dungeon" finished into a family friendly basement (complete with a workout room, entertainment space, kids/crafts space, storage room, and large closet), we were just as nervous as we were excited to begin the journey of hiring and working with a contractor. As a "type A" personality, I knew it would be hard for me to find a contrator I was comfortable working with - and even harder to be satisfied at the end of the project. After watching multiple episodes of "Holmes on Homes," and listening to horror stories from family and friends, we were very skeptical as we started our search for the right contractor. We chose to meet with five contractors that had excellent reviews on Angie's List. We were immediately impressed with Wayne, and as we went through the bidding process, enjoyed building rapport with him knowing he would be the one in our home everyday working on our basement (this was very important to me as I am a stay-at-home-mommy with a 4 month old). Wayne offered the most creative ideas for our space and had great solutions/answers to all of my questions and concerns (I think I had about 3 typed pages...again, "type A" personality). Wayne and John arrived early and worked hard all day, every weekday, for a month. It was incredible to see our basement go from a "cement dungeon" with only 1 electrical outlet, to a beautifully finished space with oak trim everywhere (Wayne hooked us up!!), textured ceilings, recessed lightening, custom storage, and built-in space for speakers in less than one month. Wayne helped me decide paint colors, thought through furniture layout to appropriately place receptacles, offered creative storage solutions based on what we were storing, and even made a wonderful kids "hide-away nook" for our daughter. He offered ideas I would have never thought of, and because of his creativity and attention to detail, created a space for us that we could have never imagined. We are convinced we would have never gotten close to as perfect of a space if anyone else had worked on our basement (even someone else with great ratings on Angie's List). We are so grateful and feel so blessed. I could go on and on about their excellent craftsmanship, the fact that they always cleaned up before they left for the day (even wiping away dusty footprints), how Wayne became a friend to us during the process, and all of the ways they went above and beyond during this project - but I don't want to spoil all of the wonderful surprises you will get if you choose to do business with Better Deal Remodeling (it would be like spoiling the ending of a really good book!!) But I will share all of the work they did for us that we were 100% pleased with: 1. Finished Basement 1,100 sq ft Storage Room Work Out Room Entertainment Space Kids Play Area/Crafts Area Kids "hide-away nook" under stairs Large closet All electrical work - recessed lights on 3 way switches and dimmers Painting Textured ceiling with access panels to valves Water Line Sump Pump Installation 2. Built patio stairs to our deck 3. Fixed broken front door (handyman work) 4. Fixed loose banister (handyman work) 5. Installed fan in vaulted ceiling (handyman work) We plan to have work done to our kitchen and bathrooms in the next few years, and can't wait to invite Wayne and John back to our home. He is our Mike Holmes - he makes everything right!!

Description of Work
We were 100% satisfied with all work done by Better Deal Remodeling, including: 1. Finished basement 1,100 sq ft Storage Room Work Out Room Entertainment Space Kids Play Area/Crafts Area Kids "hide-away" nook under stairs Large closet All electrical work - recessed lights on 3 way switches and dimmers Painting Textured ceiling with access panels to valves Water Line Sump Pump Installation 2. Built patio steps to our deck 3. Fixed broken front door (handyman work) 4. Fixed loose banister (handyman work) 5. Installed fan in vaulted ceiling (handyman work)

Category decks, drywall, electrician, handyman service, plastering, remodeling, home theater design, wells, ceiling fans, interior painters, basement remodeling

5.0

12/22/2010


RAY J.

We had worked with an architect to try to lay out the spaces and then took the plans to Wayne to review. I've known and worked with Wayne for over 20 years and he's always been very creative, enthusiastic and has a great ability to work the solutions into the budget. He was extremely accomidating in his schedule to fit this job into what turned out to be a very busy summer for his company. He had great ideas for problem solving. This was a major renovation that involved serious amounts of demolition and debris removal, new plumbing brought into a crawl space, new electrical service in the same crawl space, removal of part of a tile floor and new subfloor and leveling, new side entrance which was a nightmare because we have a brick stucco construction and repair of existing plumbing to second floor bathroom because it was opened up. Wayne and his crew demoed the place in a couple of days and had the electrical rough-in completed in a couple of days. While we had some changes, add-ons and bumps along the way, we were able to get everything resolved and worked through in a timely and professional manner while trying to stay on track with the over-all budget. A lot parts of this job ended up being much worse or taking much more time than Wayne anticipated but he was able to work through all of it while also working on some of his other jobs-it's one part of contracting that can be relaly difficult-timing. Our job was 90% done in about 6 weeks which is unheard of for a major kitchen renovation-especially a relocation like this one. I don't believe anyone else could have done that! He has some great people working for him too which helps make everything pull together. You couldn't ask for a better contractor-if he says he'll do it-it'll happen, somehow, someway and if you have a dream of what you want-he can help make it come true.

Description of Work
We had to relocate our kitchen in a home built in 1917. Relocating all mechanical, new cabinets and new applicances, new side entrance door and closet with new tile floor, all new recessed lighting and dimmers and installing additional cabinets and sink in the old kitchen which was turned into a studio room/future laundry room. Major renovation to a third of the first floor of our house.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

03/31/2010


Barbara P.

He was knowledgeable, he had a lot of ideas, he had a lot of money-saving ideas, and he was professional.

Description of Work
Better Deal Remodeling gave us an estimate for a bathroom remodel.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

03/10/2010


Holly W.

He was able to come out right away to give us the estimate and he came back with the estimate in a reasonable amount of time. He was punctual, friendly and I felt comfortable with him.

Description of Work
Better Deal Remodeling gave us an estimate for finishing our basement. It included drywall, a full bath, electrical work with the addition of recessed lighting, tile in the bathroom and finishing work with painting. We also talked about doing some accessory lighting to showcase some artwork. He would have had to access some duct work for the furnace and he talked about doing a smoke ventilation for a poker room.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

4.0

02/19/2010


LINDA J H.

The work was fairly expensive and they tried to charge me for picking up the pieces of trimming that I had bought. They ended up taking that off the bill and sent me an apology. The trimming they installed has come off occasionally when it gets hot during the summer, and I usually just fix it myself.

Description of Work
I had them out to install trimming on the windows in my patio enclosure. The trimming is supposed to cover up caulking work and makes the windows look better.

Category remodeling, sunrooms

5.0

02/12/2010


MITCHELL O.

He came and he was a great guy. We just decided to hold off on the work.

Description of Work
Better Deal Remodeling gave us an estimate on a room remodel.

Category remodeling

5.0

04/07/2009


Tiffany M.

Wayne was wonderful. He or his wife returned calls promptly. He was on time, clean & professional. He is very creative & gave us so many great ideas. He was patient when we didn't know what we wanted.

Description of Work
Finished basement remodeling, built walls, 1/2 bath, storage area, tray ceiling with lights, bar, bar back (shelves), paint & tiled floor.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

5.0

04/03/2009


Peggy P.

When we moved back to the Cleveland area from Chicago, we wanted a finished basement. The home we fell in love with though had an unfinished basement, so we set about the task of getting estimates from various contractors to make the basement into another living area. We found Better Deal Remodeling first advertised in our church bulletin and asked around. There was nothing but high praise for this contractor; his estimate was in line with, or a little less than, the other three we received. It was his demeanor, obvious knowledge, and listening to what we wanted that won him our contract. This huge job went extremely well and without a hitch. All work was completed with the utmost quality, professionalism, and attention to detail. Wayne Louis and his crew are honest and friendly, work hard, are punctual, and treat your home as though it were their own. Everything is cleaned up and debris hauled away when they're job is completed. We have subsequently used Better Deal Remodeling for painting and drywall repair, and will continue to use this company for all our home needs.

Description of Work
Completely finishing the full basement of our home. A workout/play room, family room, bedroom, a full bath accessible from the bedroom and family room, wet bar, and cabinetry.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

5.0

04/01/2009


JENNIFER K.

I have hired him twice after collecting estimates each time. I have been really pleased with his work and will use him again in the future. He is very initiative and produces quality work at an affordable price. He stands behind his work and will make repairs when needed. I am a designer and would not hesitate to recommend him to my clients.

Description of Work
I have hired him on two different occasions, ten years apart. He has remodeled my bathroom and kitchen. He has also converted my porch into a room and my garage into a room with fire place.

Category remodeling

5.0

09/24/2007


LINDA J H.

I AM GLAD THEY LET ME KNOW THAT THEY DO NOT DO THE TYPE OF WORK THAT I NEEDED. A LOT OF COMPANIES DO NOT BOTHER TO EVEN CALL BACK.

Description of Work
CALLED TO SEE IF THEY WOULD COME OUT AND GIVE AN ESTIMATE. THEY DID RESPOND AND LEFT A MESSAGE ON MY ANSWERING MACHINE, BUT THEY SAID THAT THEY DO NOT REPAIR PATIO ROOFS.

Category remodeling, sunrooms

5.0

11/20/2006

Wayne and his crew do a professional, completed job just as estimated and went the extra distance to ensure customer satisfaction.

Description of Work
Added a garage, a carport and built a screen room.

Category awnings, remodeling, garage builders, sunrooms

3.0

07/30/2004


SHAWNEE D.

VERY DISAPPOINTED, I'M SURPRISED THEY ARE ON ANGIE'S LIST. THEY DID THE JOB, BUT MY HUSBAND SPENT WEEKS TOUCHING UP.

Description of Work
THEY DID DRYWALL MUDDING, SANDING AND PRIMING.

Category drywall

5.0

07/18/2004


KRYSTEN K.

THE ESTIMATE WAS $4,900. THIS WAS OUR SECOND CHOICE FOR COMPANIES TO DO WORK ON OUR BASEMENT. HIS AVAILABILITY WAS GOOD, HE WAS KNOWLEDGEABLE AND WILLING TO WORK WITH US. HOWEVER, HE WAS SLIGHTLY HIGHER IN PRICE THAN THE COMPANY WE ULTIMATELY WENT WITH. WOULD RECOMMEND HIM TO ANYONE HAVING DRYWALL WORK DONE ON A PROJECT THIS SIZE.

Description of Work
ESTIMATE FOR HANGING DRYWALL, TAPING, MUDDING AND SANDING ON A 1,500 SQUARE FOOT BASEMENT THAT WAS ALREADY FRAMED.

Category drywall

5.0

12/11/2003


LASZLO S.

I CALLED A NUMBER OF COMPANIES ON THE LIST, AND BETTER DEAL WAS THE ONLY ONE TO RETURN MY CALL PROMPTLY. THEY UNDERSTOOD HOW IMPORTANT IT WAS FOR US TO GET THIS PROJECT DONE AND THEY SQUEEZED US IN DESPITE A FULL SCHEDULE. THEIR QUALITY OF WORK WAS ABSOLUTELY TERRIFIC. THEY TOOK AN EXTREMELY SHODDY DRYWALL JOB, WITH SOME BAD SEEMS, ETC. AND MADE IT LOOK ABSOLUTELY PERFECT. THEY WERE ALWAYS PUNCTUAL, EXTREMELY COURTEOUS (PUTTING UP WITH INCONVENIENCES WE PUT IN THEIR WAY), REASONABLY PRICED FOR THE QUALITY OF THEIR WORK, ETC. WHEN GIVING THE ESTIMATE, WAYNE MADE SUGGESTIONS ABOUT HOW I COULD IMPROVE THE WORK I WAS DOING, AND NEVER TRIED TO FORCED WORK ON US.

Description of Work
TAPED AND FINISHED DRYWALL I HAD HUNG MYSELF IN A LARGE FAMILY ROOM. LAID DOWN SOLID OAK BASEBOARD AND CASEMENT. REDID THE CEILING.

Category remodeling

5.0

02/06/2003


PAUL & AMY R.

THE FINISHED JOB WAS GREAT!

Description of Work
EXTENSIVE DRYWALL REPAIRS ALL OVER THE HOME

Category drywall

5.0

02/21/2002


DOLORES A B.

VERY FRIENDLY GROUP AND VERY CLEAN!

Description of Work
PLASTER REPAIR

Category plastering

5.0

11/28/2001

VERY PROFESSIONAL.

Description of Work
ROOFING & GUTTER WORK.

Category gutter repair

5.0

11/28/2001

VERY PROFESSIONAL.

Description of Work
ROOFING & GUTTER WORK.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    New Outlook Restoration

    New Outlook Restoration is a established family owned painting and restoration company. We specialize in your interior, exterior, residential and commercial project needs. As a company and family we pride ourselves on integrity, fairness and equality for all our customers. To us your not just a number but we are building a lifetime relationship through our quality craftsmanship that will last year after year! We are excited and grateful to help bring your painting projects into reality in a efficient and cost effective way.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Beautiful Basements LTD

    We are your basement, garage finishing and bathroom remodeling contractor. Our passion is turning your ideas into reality! With 85 combined years of experience as finishing and remodeling contractors in Summit, Stark, Medina and Portage County. We are Ohio’s leading Basement, Garage and Bathroom remodeling contractors. We are a one-stop resource for your project.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    360 Painting of Strongsville

    If you're ready to give your home a new coat of paint, don't do it alone! Painting your home yourself can not only be time-consuming and stressful, but it can also result in less than professional results. With the help of 360° Painting, you can sit back and relax while our residential painters handle the job with confidence and precision. We are an interior and exterior painting company that provides services for every area. Whether you simply need the kitchen painted or want to change every room in your house, our team can handle it all, and we'll ensure smooth and consistent results free of drips, seams, and inconsistencies.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    REMODELING OF ALL TYPES INCLUDING KITCHENS AND BATHROOMS, DRYWALL & PLASTER REPAIRS OF ALL KINDS, BASEMENT SPECIALIST WITH FREE DESIGN SERVICE, PAINTING OF ALL TYPES INCLUDING FAUX FINISHES, ALL TYPES OF CERAMIC TILE AND HARDWOOD FLOORINGS.

    Services Not Offered

    HEATING.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about BETTER DEAL REMODELING

    How is BETTER DEAL REMODELING overall rated?

    BETTER DEAL REMODELING is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are BETTER DEAL REMODELING open?

    BETTER DEAL REMODELING is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does BETTER DEAL REMODELING provide

    BETTER DEAL REMODELING accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does BETTER DEAL REMODELING offer free estimates?

    Yes, BETTER DEAL REMODELING offers free project estimates.

    Does BETTER DEAL REMODELING offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, BETTER DEAL REMODELING offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does BETTER DEAL REMODELING offer a senior discount?

    No, BETTER DEAL REMODELING does not offer a senior discount.

    Does BETTER DEAL REMODELING offer emergency services?

    Yes, BETTER DEAL REMODELING offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by BETTER DEAL REMODELING?

    Yes, BETTER DEAL REMODELING offers warranties.

    What services does BETTER DEAL REMODELING offer?

    BETTER DEAL REMODELING offers the following services: REMODELING OF ALL TYPES INCLUDING KITCHENS AND BATHROOMS, DRYWALL & PLASTER REPAIRS OF ALL KINDS, BASEMENT SPECIALIST WITH FREE DESIGN SERVICE, PAINTING OF ALL TYPES INCLUDING FAUX FINISHES, ALL TYPES OF CERAMIC TILE AND HARDWOOD FLOORINGS.

    Are there any services BETTER DEAL REMODELING does not offer?

    HEATING.