Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Ace Basement Waterproofing

Founded 1981 • With Angi since May 1998

3.5

(23) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1295 Akins Rd

Broadview heights, OH 44147

Description

Family owned & operated. 7 employees. No subcontractors. $100 discount for Angie's List members. Additional contact name - Vito Colonna. Additional fax - (440) 582-2599 Additional phone - (440) 237-3373..

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/19/2016


Sam N.

Description of Work
Ace Foundation Repair Inc was so quick to come fix our water in the basement problem. The crew were so professional and the clean up was amazing. Top of the line company.

Category basement waterproofing

1.0

01/21/2015


Toni M.

Description of Work
WE THOUGHT THEY REPAIRED A PORTIONS OF A BASEMENT WALL. BUT NOW IT IS STILL LEAKING ON THE WALL IN THE SAME PLACE. THEY WERE CONTACTED ABOUT THE PROBLEM, BUT, THEY REFUSE TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. IT WAS SUPPOSE TO BE GOOD FOR 20YRS.

Category remodeling

1.0

08/18/2014


Toni M.

THEY DID THE JOB. BUT IN APRIL OF 2014, THE BASEMENT WAS LEAKING AGAIN IN THE SAME SPOT. I CALLED TO COME INSPECT THE BASEMENT WALL AGAIN,WHICH THE SON DID. HE TOLD US HE WAS GOING TO COME BACK AND INSPECT THE RAIN GUTTERS AND SEWERS TO MAKE SURE EVERTHING WAS CLEAR. WE NEVER HEARD FROM HIM AFTER THAT. I CALLED THE FATHER TO FIND OUT WHAT WAS GOING ON,HE MADE ALL KINDS OF EXCUSES, WHY THEY WOULDN'T FIX THE PROBLEM.THEY SAID IT WAS COMING FROM OUR GUTTERS. WE HAD SOMEONE COME OUT TO INSPECT THE GUTTERS, AND THEY SAID EVERTHING WAS CLEAR.THE WALL LEAKS ABOUT 4FT FROM THE FLOOR. THE 20YR. WARRENTY DOES NOT MEAN A THING.

Description of Work
SEALED THE OUTSIDE OF BASEMENT WALL, TO STOP A LEAK INTO THE BASEMENT.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

11/04/2013


Krista L.

Julian is awesome!! He really knows his stuff and is fantastic to work with. We have been working with him for two months now trying to determine the best course of action for our basement. When he came out initially, he scoped our drains for $350. He found a bunch of gunk (I apologize if I don't get all the technical terms correct) in the footer drain along the back of the house and a spot in the front of the house where the downspout drain was directing under the front porch and had standing water, was warped, and potentially leaking. He gave us an estimate for approximately $6,000 to dig down and waterproof along the back 2/3 of the house and re-route the drain pipe at the front of the house to avoid going under the front porch. He also gave some advice for what we could do to determine the moisture issue in our crawlspace. We knew we had an issue, but couldn't see it because the walls were covered in old insulation. While we were waiting for the weather to cooperate and Julian to wrap up other jobs to schedule the work on our house, we took the insulation down in the crawlspace and found some places of the crawlspace walls that were definitely seeping. We also had our gutters cleaned and found they were completely clogged in the back of the house! We know we definitely need basement repairs-- we just want to make sure we're doing the right things and not doing anything unnecessary. Julian has been very patient and helpful as we figure this out. He's very understanding and always answers all of my questions thoroughly. He never seems pushy or annoyed... which is something I have experienced with other people. Once work is done on our house, I will be sure to update this review or write another! Also, I should add, Ace waterproofed my neighbors house over a year ago and they were VERY happy with the results.

Description of Work
Looked at the moisture issue in our basement and crawlspace and scoped the outside downspouts and clean-outs.

Category basement waterproofing

1.0

06/28/2012


Joyce C.

This is a copy of the complaint I made with the Ohio Attorney General Mike Dewine and Better Business Bureau. Better Business Bureau, Inc.2800 Euclid Avenue, 4th FloorCleveland, Ohio 44115-2408 Re: Complaint #: 9066491 Dear Betty Creter: On August 20, 2011, I contacted Ace Basement Waterproofing, Julian Colonna, (Vice President) to give me an estimate to waterproof one back wall, one side basement wall and the garage wall. The estimate was $6,000.00 and that was within my budget, so I signed the contract with the understanding that I would no longer have water in the basement or garage. My sole purpose was in preparation to sell the home. Upon reading Julian?s response, this was not the sequence of events. At no time was I ever showed the open areas or was it mentioned that the rest of the basement should be waterproofed. I do not understand his statement when there was only one side wall, one back wall, and a garage wall. The other walls were not exposed and were not leaking, so there was no consideration to complete this unnecessary work. The back wall was dug to the bottom of the foundation, sealed, and backed filled with stone. That wall is no longer leaking at this time. They started digging at a visible crack on the side wall. He showed me at the time of the estimate and stated, ?There?s your problem.? I did not tell him to only do to the front corner of garage and back left corner of the house and nothing else. It was Julian who advised me that he would need additional $2,850.00 as stated on the contract to dig to the front corner of garage and back left corner. I understood that was part of the $6,000.00 estimate. However, I did agree to pay this amount, as I trusted he was doing the job I hired him to do as an expert. At no other time did he mention that other work needed to be done. It did not make sense to hire a company and refuse to let them do the work. Preparing for the inspection with the City of Strongsville, they discovered there was a problem with the water not flowing through the drain tile. They stated the problem and I agreed to pay an additional $1,800.00 for them to cut the cement in the front of the garage door to install drain tile. I am not disputing that charge. However, the area in which they cut the cement out, water now lays in front of the garage. The City of Strongsville inspected the drains and approved. To my knowledge, everything was filled in and the job was complete. Three days after the completion of the job, we had water in the basement and in the garage in the same originating spots. I telephoned Julian and advised him I had water in the basement and the garage. Julian then ran a camera into the down spout. He stated it was now the down spouts that was causing the problem. He also stated he would need additional money to do this work. I explained, ?I already have paid you $10,650.00, you have not alleviated the water, and now you want more money. When will it stop?? After a long discussion, he did agree to replace, repair or do what was needed to eliminate the problem. I still had a balance of $2,850.00 from the contract. That was the only time I was aware that there was a problem and at no other time did I refuse to pay him additional money. Upon the completion of that job, he was paid the balance of $2,850.00. On December 5, 2011, I discovered water in the basement and garage in the same originating spots. After many messages with no response, I telephoned Vito Colonna (President of Ace Basement Waterproofing). I explained the situation and he stated not to worry and they will take care of it. Julian was on vacation and I was told he would call me when he got back. December 14, 2011, Vito and Julian came to the house and measured the basement wall from the inside to the outside and discovered another crack in the side wall below the surface. The conversation was between Vito and Julian as to why he did not dig the complete wall to the bottom of the foundation. Also at that time, they conversed that it was now a bigger problem because they already back filled the area, which is thirteen feet deep. It was at this point they discussed weather issues. The weather in December made it a dangerous time of year to do this type of work. There was no conversation about money; only that they would take care of it. I tried to be understanding and agreed if we needed to wait until spring it would be okay because we would be going to Florida. When they left the house, I was under the impression it was all agreed upon that they would take care of it in May. At no time was money mentioned. I agreed to call when I arrived home in May. Vito reiterated they were going to take care of it. On May 9, 2012, I contacted Julian and he stated he would check with Vito to schedule a date and call me back. I never received a call back, so on May 16, 2012, I called and left a message on his voice mail to please give me a call. On May 18, 2012, he called and stated he would come on May 21, 2012. I was under the impression he was coming to do the job, but I cancelled because the City of Strongsville was replacing the sanitary drains and they had their equipment in the yard. He suggested that I give him a call when they were complete. On June 1, 2012, I assumed they would be arriving to dig to the bottom of the foundation as Vito discussed with Julian in December. Since the weather made the job less dangerous, as the company stated in December, I believed they would be completing the necessary work. To my surprise, Julian came to the house only to discuss other options and money. The job was not completed and no other issues were resolved. I told him I paid him enough money and the job had not been done properly. That instance was the only time I refused to give him more money. Before leaving on June 1st, Julian?s last statement mentioned Vito had the final say because he is the president of the company. I expressed that Vito had already made the decision in December to take care of it. I asked what had changed from December until May that this was a topic for discussion. He had no answer; only that he would present the information to Vito and he would call me on June 4, 2012 to resolve the issues. After waiting until five o?clock on June 4th for Vito to call me as Julian mentioned, I called him. Yet again, nothing was resolved. I asked Vito to come to the house so we could discuss the problem in person, rather than over the phone. He refused and stated, ?You just want the job for nothing, but nobody works for nothing.? I explained to him I already paid $10,650.00 for a job that was not done according to contract. I want what I contracted and paid for. According to my contract, all three walls were to be dug to the bottom of foundation. If they had done so, all the cracks on the left wall would have been found and could have been sealed at that time. He states his process is to excavate to the bottom of the foundation, remove clay, replace the pipes, seal the wall from the outside and back fill the entire hole with stone. This was not done on the left wall or the garage wall, so they continue to leak. The work that was performed was not completed according to the contract. If the work had been done according to contract, I would not have water in the basement or garage in the same originating spots. I do not have water anywhere else in basement or garage. I am unable to move forward with the situation until the job is complete. I can not do any landscaping, replace the basement carpet, clean my windows, or repair the cable line that was cut. I never expected them to landscape my yard. The area is still a mess, as well as my neighbors. It will stay that way until this situation is resolved. I tried to do everything I could to make the job easier for them. They had no respect for my property or my neighbors. In the past 49 years, I have dealt with many contractors. I have never encountered a contractor who does not stand behind their work. It is unfortunate Ace Water Proofing does not want to stand behind their work. If Ace Basement Waterproofing refuses to do the job properly, I should be reimbursed for the additional $2,850.00 that was billed to me.

Description of Work
Ace Basement Waterproofing was hired to dig out two basement walls and one garage wall in order to alleviate water build up in the basement of my residence. The services they provided were not completed according to contract, so I continue to have problems with water in the basement. I have made several complaints with the Ohio Attorney General Mike Dewine and Better Business Bureau. Please see the next section for a detailed explanation of events I have encountered with Ace Basement Waterproofing.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

When I originally went out to the above house, the homeowner showed me her finished basement and said that she was getting water in it in two different spots in the basement. She also showed me a spot in the garage where she had water coming in. she told me they were looking to sell the house and that she wanted to keep her costs down, so I told her that we could dig in these three areas to find out what was going on. So we contracted to dig the three areas for $6,000. Her foundation is very deep and very difficult to get to. The price and the scope of work were agreed upon before any work started. The homeowner signed a contract describing the work and stating the cost of the work. Once these areas were opened, I showed the homeowner what was down there. In the back area there were no drain tiles at all. Previously the homeowner had put an addition on the house and the previous contractor who built the addition failed to install drain tiles in that area. On the sides where there were drain tile it was packed full of mud and not flowing. If water does not flow away from the foundation it will cause a problem, no matter what is done to the foundation. Also, her down spouts were poor quality pipe and were bowed and retaining water. Down spouts must flow, they take all of the water from the roof, which is a tremendous amount of water when it rains. At this point I told the homeowner, Joyce Cruise, that the rest of the basement from where we started on the back, around the left side to the front connection should be waterproofed in order to do a proper job. Again, water must drain down and not sit against the foundation, and water must flow away from the foundation in order to prevent the water from coming in. She refused. She said she wanted to keep her costs down and told me to only do up to the front corner of the garage and up to the back left corner of the house for an additional $2,850 and nothing else on the left side of the house. I can only suggest what needs to be done, I cannot make a homeowner do more work even when it is needed. I warned her that her basement is very deep, and that once we backfill with stone it will be very difficult to dig these other areas that need to be done because the stone will slide back into the hole. Once again, against my advice and the advice of my foreman, she refused to do the entire side and told me that she did not want to spend the money on a house she wants to sell. I had no choice but to comply with her wishes. We ran a camera in the downspouts at the front of the garage where we stopped digging. The water was not flowing. We ran a sewer jet in the line and it would not go through. I located the spot where it was stopping and told the homeowner that the water is not flowing out and she needs to cut the cement and replace the pipe from that point out. We agreed to do this extra work for an additional $1,800. All of the work that we performed at her house was first agreed upon in writing, was performed, and was inspected by the city of Strongsville before we backfilled. All of the work performed was done right. Our process is to excavate to the bottom of the foundation, remove all the clay, replace the pipes, seal the wall from the outside, and backfill the entire hole with stone. Some dirt is placed on top of the stone so grass or small plants can grow. Again, all of our work was done properly and inspected by the city, but we can only work in the areas the homeowner agrees to pay us for. We performed all of our obligations of this contract and were paid for it. The homeowner was repeatedly advised that additional work should be done at her house. Her current problems are in areas that we were not contracted to work. We can only dig where we are contracted to. Sincerely, Julian Colonna Ace Basement Waterproofing
1.0

02/06/2012


TERESA M.

Poorly. See above. We have placed at least 6 phone calls to the company; none have been returned.

Description of Work
Ace waterproofed a home that's in the family, currently occupied by my in-laws. We have no major complaints about the waterproofing itself. The home is on Burns Road in North Olmsted. There are three other issues. 1. The company tore down and replaced a small porch (for an additional $2,000). The work was poorly done. Water puddles and freezes and causes big sections of ice to form. 2. The company said removed the handrailing from the porch, which is about 3 feet off the ground, and did not replace it. We still have the handrailing. This is a huge safety hazard. 3. The company determined we needed an outdoor sump pump. We offered to go buy it at Home Depot for about $200. Julian said we needed a better-quality one. He went and bought the same one we were planning to buy and charged us $1,600 for it. He also refused to provide a receipt for the purchase.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

We have been in business for over thirty years and have always been an honest and fair company. We always explain the work we will do, and put it in writing before the work is performed, as we did in this case. We originally contracted to waterproof the front, left and exposed parts of the back wall of the basement. A permit was pulled before any work began on the house. We also called the city for multiple inspections for this job. When we first contracted for the work the homeowner said that he only wanted us to remove the existing front porch and that his son would build a new one when the work was finished. After we stared the job the homeowner told me his son could no longer do the porch because it was too much work and asked me if we would build one and how much it would be. I quoted him a price. Also, the city said that they wanted a sump pump installed outside the house in addition to the existing one inside. For the additional work of constructing a new porch made of bricks which was about 3 ½ feet tall with three sand stone steps and a cement top and block footers, installing an exterior sump pump and crock, and to connect his existing sump pump to a line outside, I wrote another contract with the additional cost. The homeowner reviewed the new contract and signed the new contract and we did the work. Upon completion of the work the homeowner paid me what we agreed upon. We would never start new work without having written consent from the homeowner, agreeing on the scope of work and the price. He was not charged $1,600 for a sump pump. the additional costs were for the front porch, sump pump, exterior crock, lid, pipes and fittings, and installation. The homeowner was advised that a certain type of sump pump is needed to operate in the crock that we install. The float must go straight up and down, a pump with a flap tends to get caught on the side of the crock. At no time did I ever tell him that we would install the railings on the front porch, nor was installing the railings included in the contract. When we discussed the railings I told him that that was not part of what we do and he would have to get someone who does that type of work to install them. We only do the masonry part of the steps. The homeowner was left the box from the sump pump with any warrantee information that came with it. When we were finished with the cement the homeowner mentioned that he was not happy with the way the edges of the cement top came out. We went back to touch it up but the weather had turned cold, so I told him that in the spring time we would come back and smooth the edges of the cement for him. During the winter there is nothing we can do. We completed the work, and he paid us the agreed upon amount. Any work we performed was written down ahead of time and agreed upon and signed by him. I do not know why he wants $1,500 back. He only paid us what was agreed upon. Since the job was finished I have been back to his house at least four times. I have answered or responded to at least 15 of his phone calls, each resulting in the same conversation that he had a copy of the contract stating the scope of work and the cost, he had the box from the sump pump with any warrantee information, and that we would be back in the spring time to touch up the cement for him. What he failed to mention to you is that we also did some work for him that we did not even charge him for. We gave him over three yards of top soil and spread it for him at no cost to him. We dumped and spread a load of dirt in his front yard upon his request. We had moved his mail box that was against his house which had a rotten wood post that broke and we replaced it at no cost to him, and we also made a special trip back to his house to move his sump pump discharge line for him because he was not happy with where it was located, even though that was where we had agreed to put it, again, at no cost to him. Keep in mind that each time I had to go to his house it is a half hour drive each way. Sincerely, Ace Basement Waterproofing
5.0

12/03/2011


James A.

Ace Basement Waterpoofing did a fantastic job. They were the only one out of 7 companies we called for estimates that would hand dig the job . We had a lot of obstacles in the way such as trees ,pipes ,underground wires, air conditioner and swimming pool equipment.We also had a 2 to 4 foot overhang on the back of the house. We dealt with Julian and Vito Colonna . Both were very business like and professional.The crew boss Pete was great . He tackled the job with 6 other crew and stayed every day till it was finished . They were a great bunch of guys. I definitely would recomend them for waterproofing . The job went real smooth and my basement doesn't have that musty smell anymore. I wish I would have called them first instead of last . It could have saved me alot ot time .

Description of Work
We had one side and the back of the house waterproofed . They also put in new footer drain and storm sewer pipes.

Category basement waterproofing

1.0

10/31/2011


Arlishea F.

I hired ACE to waterproof the basement of our East side suburb home. My experience with this company was an absolute nightmare! At first things seemed okay. The staff showed up every day on time and worked long hours to get the job done. They did a good job on the actual installation of the outside system. However, I have a number of complaints about the job and their service. First of all, about three days after they completed the job, my basement flooded after a heavy rain. Vito and Julian came out to see the inches of water in my basement. Their response was that they had done their job because my walls were dry and that they wanted me to pay them their money. I reminded them that my walls were always dry and they knew that was never the problem when I hired them. They looked into my storm sewer system with a camera and told me that there was a blockage. I wanted to know why they had not done this in the first place! Vito's response was that "this is not my house, this is your problem". To make a long story short, I hired ACE to waterproof my basement; they stuck to their position that they had done their job even though I had inches of water in my basement, and they slapped a mechanics lien on my house when I asked them to waterproof my basement. Furthermore, they damaged my lawn by driving their equipment on it, damaged the siding on my house, broke my well, and failed to clean up all of their debris. I decided to pay them for the system that they installed (even though my basement is still not waterproofed). We signed a contract amendment stating that they would repair all of these damages within 10 days, and I would hold back $2000 until they did so. It is now nearly three months later and after numerous phone calls to ACE, they have not made any of the repairs and have stopped communicating altogether. Even though I paid them $8000, they have not removed the mechanics lien from my house, and I am forced to take legal action to have it removed! I would never hire this company again!!!!

Description of Work
I hired ACE to waterproof the basement of our East side suburb home.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

On 7/18/2011 Ace Basement Waterproofing entered into a contractual agreement with Larry Fulton, explaining in detail the scope of the work and the cost. The customer must have talked to numerous contractors because he knew exactly what he wanted done to his house. He told me that he had been under contract with another contractor and that he could not get that contractor out to do his work so he had called us. When Julian from Ace Basement Waterproofing was first at his house, at least a year ago, Julian Suggested and gave a price to do the front, right, and back walls of the house. On the back wall there is an existing interior water controlling system in place. The homeowner said that he was happy with that system and did not want to dig the back wall. We performed and honored the scope of the work which was inspected and approved by the building department. The contract was to dig the front and right walls only. He does not have a problem with these walls. His problem was water entering from an interior catch basin. He also appears to have a problem with his main connecting leading out. Both areas we had not been contracted to do. both walls we waterproofed were 100% dry and have no problem. We dug to the bottom of the foundation, removed the clay, replaced the pipes, sealed the wall from the outside and backfilled with stone to ensure drainage. We can only guarantee the areas we have done. We informed him that he still has an existing problem with the back wall. We even, at no charge to him, ran a sewer camera to show him that his pipes along his back wall are blocked. As stated in our contract water must flow freely from the connection in order for the system to work. In his case his connection went out his back wall. Since this is not flowing he will continue to have a problem no matter what is done to the walls. This problem needs to be corrected. There is nothing wrong with the work we did. We cannot unilaterally work in areas we have not been contacted to work. Any additional work outside the scope of the original contract must be signed by the homeowner and contractor before we can start the work, and will be an additional cost as stated in our contract. We have completed the scope of the work including cutting and replacing the concrete on the front entrance. At the homeowners request we were contracted to install a sump pump on the outside, which we did. After the pump and crock were installed the homeowner told us that he did not want it anymore, and even after us advising him against removing it, he insisted and made us remove the pump, which was additional work for us. The homeowner was very clear what he wanted done, even against our advice. The homeowner also had a problem with his gutters overflowing. The house was built with gutters, downspouts, and drain tiles for a reason. If the entire system is not working right there will be a problem. We were forced to place a lien against the house. The homeowner refused to pay us at all. After several conversations we agreed to settle for a reduced amount. Usually when we go out to a house the homeowner asks us what we feel needs to be done. In this case the homeowner told us exactly what he wanted done. He did say what his problem was and ask what we thought would fix it. He told us what to do and we did it. The city of pepper pike has not blocked us from doing any work. We have done several jobs in that same city since this job. Sincerely, Ace Basement Waterproofing
3.0

09/15/2011


jonathan E.

The experience was not great. They made a lot of mistakes and there were lot of issues. The price was good and the quality was fine.

Description of Work
Ace Basement Waterproofing did waterproofing on one of my walls.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

09/06/2011


JRichard E.

They scheduled us in early despite a backlog. (I had to do some traveling and needed to get the drywall up before going.) They were quick and punctual. The only reason for a small knock on "professionalism" was mis-communication between Julian and his job boss over where the endpoints were supposed to be. This was resolved with a phone call and promptly addressed in just a couple days.

Description of Work
After all the heavy rain ("100year") in March/April 2011, the corner of the basement got wet, roughly 25 linear ft altogether, some under the deck. The house was built in 1964. Julian's bid ("outside job") was competitive with what others were quoting for an "inside job." Keeping water outside is preferable. They brought the gravel all the way to ground level, which I recommend to keep the footer tiles running clear. They also put in a clean out to facilitate peace of mind. Whatever you decide, I highly recommend that you get a quote from Julian.

Category basement waterproofing

3.0

07/23/2011


Christine G.

Did not use this company. Did not give a written estimate of work to be done or price (price given was verbal). Vito called several times with "pressure tactics" - stories about how they had to go in and fix other companies work - may or may not be true, but it rather turned me off.

Description of Work
Waterproofing. Steel support beams in basement.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

07/07/2011


David F.

Workers were punctual daily. Lots of rain during that time the work was performed but crew showed-up and worked every day. Took about 10 days, with rain delays, to complete the job. So far, we have no more water in our basement.

Description of Work
Had almost entire foundation of home waterproofed and laundry tub drain line moved.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

06/17/2011


Mary Ann P.

Work was not performed.

Description of Work
I received a quote and a supplemental quote from Julian which timely received. However, having a condo, I had to obtain three bids and the Board chose to go with another provider who was doing more walls of the foundation. If it were my choice alone, I would have gone with Ace.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

06/14/2011


JRichard E.

It was a favorable interaction. Their price initially was $2200 but then they did some extra work. They got me in earlier while the other people were promising. They were twenty to thirty percent cheaper. They were focused on the outside job and I became convinced that it was the right way to go. They were generally responsive within a few hours period if I would call about anything. There was a little bit of miscommunication with the worker. At first, he did the job on the short sight whereas the basic idea was to go from the far sight of the windows around the corners. He did it from the near sight of the windows. I called the main person and he straightened it out. The person came back two days later and it was all fixed.

Description of Work
I have used the services of Ace Basement Waterproofing on the 13th of June 2011. They excavated down to the footer tile and replaced the pipes down there. They then filled it back to the surface with gravel.

Category drain pipe

5.0

02/04/2011


Michael H.

This will be the second time that I have contracted with ACE to perform water proofing and wall replacement. Both times I had Julian and his Father respond to emergency repairs. ACE will proved what is quoted and to your satisfaction, they are professional and provide quality workmanship.

Description of Work
ACE needed to remove 12 feet of basement wall and replace footers, tie into existing drain tile, replace block wall and tie into existing footers, replace existing block window, replace and match to existing external brick, back fill with stone and top soil to grade.

Category basement waterproofing, drain pipe

5.0

09/21/2009


CHARLOTTE & JIM F.

The owner himself came out to give me the estimate and meet with me. The owners father is the founder of the company and he came out to talk to me as well. They went over what they were going to do and why they were going to do it that way. They worked very efficiently and carefully. They were four very nice young men. At the time my husband was dying and they came into the house to help me move him to his bed. They did such a great job.

Description of Work
Ace Basement Waterproofing is who I used for my waterproofing. They did the front and the back of my house. They hang dug around my house and took out the large ever green bushes that were in the front and the back of my house.

Category basement waterproofing

1.0

09/28/2006


GLENN M.

Crew sent was very inexperienced with tractor and problem solving. Supervision was scarce to non-existent. Found out that other companies have technology to estimate location of underground pipes without digging up the entire yard.

Description of Work
A 10 years previous, very satisfactory job of foundation waterproofing lead us to hire this company again. Requested that drains be cleaned out, traced for blockage or other reason for basement flooding. Dug up and repaired one portion. Had to re-do upon city inspection. Dug up yard looking for pipes and dug on neighbors property without permission. Weeks later flooded again. A second company discovered that when Ace re-filled the hole, they hit and broke the new cleanout pipe which then blocked the new drain. At least they did come to repair this.

Category drain pipe

4.0

01/12/2006


LOIS S.

Our overall experience was okay. In the end the job was done well, as far as we can tell, but the process was a little hairy. They did not do a good job of replacing the landscaping and left a little mess. They did try to correct the bushes after I called them back out.

Description of Work
Waterproofed the remainder of the basement that had not previously been done by the prior owner. Excavated and waterproofed from the exterior of the house.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

06/20/2005

THE FATHER IN THE BUSINESS (VITO) ASKED IF IT WAS OK FOR HIS SON TO DO THE ESTIMATE. HIS SON GAVE ME AN ESTIMATE FOR SEVEN FT UP BOTH SIDES OF HOME, 8 FT AROUND THE CHIMNEY AND THE BACK WALL OF 20 ODD FEET. PRICE INCLUDED REPLACEMENT OF CEMENT. BOTH FATHER AND SON TO DISCUSS IN FURTHER DETAIL.

Description of Work
CAME TO GIVE AN ESTIMATE ($4600)

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

10/29/2004

GOOD WORKERS, THE PRICE WENT UP AFTER THE PROJECT STARTED. HE MAY HAVE UNDERESTIMATED THE PROCESS, AS MORE WORK WAS REQUIRED. BUT I'M PLEASED WITH THE RESULTS.

Description of Work
EXTERIOR DRAINAGE WORK FOR BASEMENT WATERPROOFING.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

06/26/2004


CHRIS S.

THE CREW WAS PROMPT AND POLITE. THEY WORKED SO HARD THE ENTIRE TIME, I BOUGHT THEM LUNCH THE SECOND DAY. WHEN POSSIBLE, THEY TRY TO AVOID DAMAGING SHRUBS, BUT IF YOU HAVE PRIZED SHRUBS OR PLANTS, I SUGGEST YOU REMOVE AND REPLANT THEM YOURSELF. THE BASEMENT HASN'T LEAKED SINCE AND I WOULD HIRE THEM AGAIN.

Description of Work
THEY EXCAVATED TO THE BOTTOM OF THE FOUNDATION, REPLACED PIPES, INSTALLED CLEANOUTS, PLASTERED AND TARRED THE WALLS, BACKFILLED WITH STONE AND APPLIED A LAYER OF TOPSOIL. THEY HAD TO HAND-DIG AN AREA UNDER A SMALL ADDITION.

Category basement waterproofing

1.0

10/15/2001


DONA Z.

STARTED THE JOB WITHOUT A PERMIT AND THE WORK WAS NEVER INSPECTED BY THE CITY OF BROOK PARK. CITY INSPECTOR REPORTED THREE DOWNSPOUTS ARE NOT PLUMB, THICKNESS OF CONCRETE NOT MET WITH CODE AND FENCE POST WAS NOT REINSTALLED PROPERLY.

Description of Work
ENTIRE FOUNDATION AROUND MY RANCH WATERPROOFED, INCLUDING AREA IN SINGLE CAR GARAGE AND BACK PATIO.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

05/09/2000


JENNIFER O.

SALESMAN, FABIANO, WAS A PLEASURE TO DEAL WITH. HE WAS RESPONSIVE. THEY DAMAGED OUR SIDING WITH THE BACKHOE, BUT REFUNDED TO GET IT FIXED. THE CONCRETE WORK LOOKS A LITTLE QUESTIONABLE.

Description of Work
BASEMENT WATERPROOFING OF ALL 4 WALLS AND CONCRETE LAID ON PORTION OF DRIVEWAY TO REPLACE THE PORTION THAT WAS TORN UP FROM THE WATERPROOFING.

Category basement waterproofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Wise Waterproofing

    A Team of Local Waterproofing Specialists With 10 years of experience in basement waterproofing services, our team is here to help keep your basement dry. Wise Waterproofing is Northeast Ohio’s go-to waterproofing contractor. Providing professional basement waterproofing systems, sump pumps, downspout lines & more. Serving Akron, Canton, Cleveland and the surrounding area. **Get $500 Off Waterproofing System**Contact us today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Offers by Wise Waterproofing on Angi
    B-DRY SYSTEM CLEVELAND

    We are by far the most experienced Basement Waterproofing Company in the area. The average B-Dry Cleveland employee has over 19 years of installation experience. We have been in the same location serving Cleveland, Ohio and the counties of Cuyahoga, Lorain, Lake, Geauga, Summit, Portage, Stark, Medina and Erie for over 39 years.  

    Eagle Landscaping Inc

    2020 Super Service Award winner! Previous years awarded: 1999, 2003, 2009-2019. 6-8 employees. Uses subs for irrigation & electrical work. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. Ask for details on service fees.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    if you own the home
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Basement waterproofing, structural repair and replacement of foundation cement driveways and walkways, sewer line excavation & flood proofing.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Ace Basement Waterproofing

    How is Ace Basement Waterproofing overall rated?

    Ace Basement Waterproofing is currently rated 3.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Ace Basement Waterproofing open?

    Ace Basement Waterproofing is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Ace Basement Waterproofing provide

    Ace Basement Waterproofing accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Ace Basement Waterproofing offer free estimates?

    No, Ace Basement Waterproofing does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Ace Basement Waterproofing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Ace Basement Waterproofing does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Ace Basement Waterproofing offer emergency services?

    Yes, Ace Basement Waterproofing offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Ace Basement Waterproofing?

    Yes, Ace Basement Waterproofing offers warranties.

    What services does Ace Basement Waterproofing offer?

    Ace Basement Waterproofing offers the following services: Basement waterproofing, structural repair and replacement of foundation cement driveways and walkways, sewer line excavation & flood proofing.