Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Tin Man Heating & Cooling Inc.

Founded 1987 • With Angi since September 2008

4.5

(39) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

.

Bowling Green, OH 43402

Description

Whether you need a team of highly skilled Bowling Green heating and cooling specialists in your home to perform routine maintenance on your home comfort system, you need general repairs, or you are looking to do a full replacement on your system, you want to call in the best. In this area, that means calling Tin Man Heating & Cooling. Their company is proud to offer decades of experience in the industry backed by an A+ Better Business Bureau accreditation and work that is 100% satisfaction guaranteed. They are also northwest Ohio’s largest geothermal installer and have advanced training in the installation and maintenance of these systems. No matter how large or small your needs may be, this is the team you want to get the job done. Call their offices today to get started with an initial estimate....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

08/08/2021


Bruce S.

I pay (past tense now) the company monthly fee which includes a yearly HVAC check/tune up. Tin Man said the AC was fine but found a leak in my hot water tank and quoted my wife 10k for a replacement 75g tank. I called to confirm the quote and they said the absolute cheapest they could get one was 7k. Supply chain issues are real so I looked for one myself just to be certain. I found one the next day in town for $1800. Called Tin Man to install it since I was paying them the preferred customer monthly fee. Tin Man said they wouldn’t b/c they couldn’t guarantee the work as I didn’t buy it thru them. Called two other companies each said that simply isn’t true so I used one of them to install. The new company came to install the water tank only to find out that it wasn’t the source of the leak and I didn’t need a new water tank after all. They found the source quickly and fixed it. Finally, Tin Man never serviced the HVAC they came out to do in the 1st place - and said they did. The humidifier was still set for winter and the humidifier pad hadn’t been changed in a very very long time. I sent a detailed email to the owners and they never responded so that alone speaks to their character. Draw your own conclusions from the facts.

Description of Work
HVAC Service

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,water heater repair

5.0

08/01/2017


Tim T.

I've used them multiple times.I've used them just for a furnace check. I'vr used them multiple times.

Description of Work
They actually came out and took a look at my furnace that I've got.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/03/2017


Amy P.

Great installers. Finished in one day and left my house clean and in tact.

Description of Work
furnace and A/c

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/30/2016


Tim T.

Jeff S provided the service, he checked the inside "A" coil and filter and all associated electronics he cleaned the outside unit and checked temperatures and pressures. The total price was $80 for several hours work. This service is well worth the money

Description of Work
A/C unit check and tune up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

07/01/2016


jamie B.

there was nothing wrong with my ac unit but i wanted it cleaned. i called and asked for a price on having the evap unit cleaned. the lady said it would be 80.00. great, when can you do it. they come over and thats when the costs started adding up. before i know it they wanted me to be a gold member customer and the bill was 440.00! i was not to happy. so i asked them just to do the job i hired them to do. that job was now 163.00 PLUS 79.00 diagnostic. now 242.00!!. they had to diagnose what i hired them to do??? i wasnt paying it. so they wanted 79.00 for their trip out there lol. he then comes back and says they will do it for 163.00 and 39.00 diagnostic. TRY AGAIN. he comes back and says 163.00. im like fine. i wanted the job done. the repairman was nice and doing his job, stuck in the middle. (upselling like crazy). they REFUSED to honor their price. the lady i spoke with on the phone is *probably* the one to blame not understanding what i wanted done. so it cost me more than TWICE what she said. i knew exactly what i wanted done. 79.00 to tell me what i want done on a working ac unit?? this was overall pretty unprofessional. and very costly.

Description of Work
cleaned my ac evap unit

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/03/2015


Rick C.

It went very well. I have already signed up for extended warranty with them.

Description of Work
I used Tin Man Heating & Cooling for my heating and air conditioning. The thermostat wasn't working correctly so they came out first thing the next morning to deal with the issue.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/14/2014


Suzanne H.

I have had a contract with them for many years. They have the some of the same technicians that service the area so they are familiar with my furnace. They are reliable and stick to the time window they initially give. They have been very good to work with.

Description of Work
They service the unit in the spring and fall for a tune up and inspection and they installed the unit prior to servicing it.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

08/11/2014


Lisa H.

Terrible. I bought the new a/c & furnace from Tin Man in the summer of 2012. The salesman "Chris" sold me an a/c unit that was apparently not the correct size because on the day it was to be installed & the workers were here with it, they had to send it back & order a new one because it didn't fit with the furnace. I still do not know to this day if I have the product I paid for...No one will tell me or prove it to me. Show me the paperwork. That isn't the worst part. My a/c has never cooled my condo since they installed it. It has never gotten within 12-14 degrees of where I set it until this July, when they finally got it within 6 to 10 on a cooler day. If it is over 76 degrees, forget it! They told me it shouldn't expect my a/c to get but within 10 degrees of what the outside temperature is. How crazy is that? I called for a repair man repeatedly but nobody could fix it. I repeatedly asked them it they thought the duct work was hooked up and they said yes. Nobody would check it even though you could barely feel air blowing out the ducts even in winter. I had to keep ceiling fans and stick fans on all of the time. My utility bills were doubled and they said the new furnace & a/c were more efficient and would lower my bills. DOUBLED!!! I had an inspection done last week by another plumber in my crawl space and guess what? The main flex duct to the blower to the a/c and furnace were not connected!!! When they installed the new system 2 years ago they did not reconnect it. I have been heating & cooling my crawl space wasting my money. I know it was connected before because it was inspected before. This other plumber connected it in 15 minutes and my home is so cool it is fantastic. I called the owner and spoke to him. He even checked with the main repair man who came out & he admitted he never checked the crawl. The owner said he was sorry but didn't know what else to do. Well I do, refund some of the money I wasted on heating and cooling my crawl space. And prove to me I got what I paid for. How about lose of wage for all the time I had to take off work for your guys to "try" to fix my a/c but didn't. Well, there's a start. I learned a valuable lesson. You get what you pay for.

Description of Work
Installed A/C and furnace.

Category electrician,heating & air conditioning/hvac,air duct cleaning

5.0

08/06/2014


sandra B.

He was very professional. He put the booties on when he had to come into the house.

Description of Work
They changed a circuit board on my A/C unit after a lightning strike.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/05/2014


Jordan H.

They did an excellent job. They did this work in one day. They were sent the wrong unit but within an hour they had the right one.

Description of Work
They installed a new furnace and air conditioning.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/16/2014


Mary H.

Everything is fine. I think they didn't charge. Because it was the first time, I got a free one.

Description of Work
I had them back for a regular maintenance. They do maintenance when I call them. They came out last fall.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

06/29/2014


Ashley J.

I called the morning of this appointment due to my blower not turning on in the house even though the unit outside worked. I told them I found them on Angieslist. They said they would send someone that afternoon and they would call when they were on their way. I didn't get a call but I was home so it wasn't a big deal when they arrived. After checking out the area, he said that the thermostat was bad and replaced it. My only complaint was the mess that was left behind. He said he had trouble finding a spot on the wall to drill. But when I did it myself, it was fine. The hole that was left in the wall from the old thermostat was much larger than the thermostat so I assumed he had trouble removing it? Unfortunately, I could not monitor him because I had my disabled son who was being a bit of a handful so we sat outside and waited to keep him calm. I had to take the new thermostat off and patch up the wall and clean the drywall and paint off my sofa. If it was a cleaner situation, I would have rated it higher. He was friendly, did the job, just a little messy. I had to call to remind them about the $25 coupon from Angieslist. I hope they remember to apply it and not charge the full price.

Description of Work
Installed a new thermostat; investigated cause of unit not working

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/10/2014


Marc S.

Did an excellent job. Very friendly and fast. Went into crawlspace to run new control wiring from A/C unit to thermostat. Then cleaned the unit. Will use again.

Description of Work
Clean A/C unit and repair broken control wire.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/17/2014


Karla H.

On January 5, 2014, we called Tin Man as we had no heat in our Water Furnace, two days before the -40 degree polar freeze was to arrive here. We told them the problem and they said they could order a new blower motor and module but could not get it until Tuesday, after the freeze. This was a Saturday night that we were calling them. We reluctantly called in another repair contractor, United Home Comfort, and they had to come out twice and although we had heat thru the big freeze, we again had no heat twice more. After our frustration with the problem and the failure of the new blower motor that UHC had installed on our unit, we were reluctant to call them again and so called Tin Man instead the day after the new blower motor had been installed by UHC, and failed. Tin Man's service man. Ken, came out and was very professional, knowledgeable, and considered all aspects of the problem, called the manufacturer, and found that the other company had incorrectly wired the new blower motor they had installed and had the speed set too high. Tin Man's man, Ken, corrected the wiring and unit speed and the furnace is running beautifully now. Also he assessed the unit and told us other things it needed to keep it running its best, as it is now 20 years old and we had never had a problem that was not inexpensively repaired by Tin Man in the past. We will probably be replacing the unit due to other issues that he made us aware of, so the new blower motor and the money spent will have been wasted to some degree as it would only have been used a couple of weeks before we replace the entire furnace. In hindsight, we probably should found a way to keep the house warm until Tin Man could repair the unit back on Jan 5, but that is spilled milk now. We will definitely only call Tin Man in the future.

Description of Work
Service man, Ken, corrected the incorrect wiring of the other company's recent repair job which failed to keep our furnace running. It now runs great.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/19/2013


Deborah P.

They were on time and professional. They were careful to not stain the carpeting and very pleasant. It took 1 1/2 days to do the installation.

Description of Work
install a furnace & air conditioner

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/24/2013


Suzanne H.

It was very good. If they say they are going to be there, they are here. They are very thorough.

Description of Work
They came out and checked your A/C unit and the filter by my furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/17/2013


Bruce D.

Provided an estimate 48 hours after I called. Came on time, explained everything, upgraded fresh-air supply, charged exactly what was estimated. Minor adjustment needed a few days later; the came and took care of it right away. Really great installers and technicians.

Description of Work
Replace furnace and whole-house A/C

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/05/2013


michelle S.

They were kind, personable and professional. When there was an after installation issue, they corrected it quickly.

Description of Work
New furnace and AC

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/01/2013


John G.

Overall Tin Man was very helpful and informative.

Description of Work
I contacted Tin Man via email to enquire about their services and brands that they use. It turned out I was actually outside of their service area, but they still wrote a very detailed and helpful email in response to my inquiry. They gave me useful tips and information and answered all of my questions. So in spite of them not even being able to make a dime off me, they still took time to give me great advice. I imagine such caring customer service would carry over into their heating and cooling services.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

09/24/2012


William H.

Executive Summary: I have mixed feelings about this project. The work (and a subsequent fix) has been done in a very professional fashion, but we weren't told in advance when it would be done, and we're still awaiting an invoice. Details: We were satisfied with the quote and the sales presentation made in our home; my gut feeling is the price was fair, but not especially low or high. Note that the quote specified the make and model of the furnace, but that the water heater brand was spec'ed as either Bradford White or A.O. Smith, and they didn't specify which at the time of the quote. Since both brands had comparable warranties and performance characteristics, I didn't care much about that particular detail, but it would be a significant issue for some I'm sure. The biggest issue that came up during this project was that they neglected to notify us about the date and time that they would arrive to install the new units. They showed up unexpectedly at 8:00AM on a school morning, which was very entertaining (to say the least.) They offered to reschedule, but as a bird in the hand is worth two in the bush, I told them to do the work, and I set up my laptop to operate from home for the day. The installers were very friendly and professional, and were able to complete the work by mid-afternoon. The only hiccup arose when we determined we'd have to run an additional pipe to vent the furnace, and the only straightforward option was to run it to the driveway side of the house. Due to code considerations, the pipe had to extend a foot into the driveway, but it was immediately next to (and hidden by) a bush, which makes the solution acceptable, if not particularly satisfying. One bonus of them showing up unannounced was that they were willing to do the project without being paid in advance. The financing Tin Man found for the project was sub-standard, so we elected to go an alternate route, and when I told them that on the day of installation, they told me I have sixty days to pay for the work. A few weeks after the installation, we noticed a faint smell of gas in the vicinity of the furnace, so I called them to ask them to fix it, and to advise them that I hadn't yet received a bill or invoice for the work. They showed up promptly to effect the repair, but I'm still waiting for the final bill, and am hoping to receive one in the sixty day window they originally specified so that we can mutually avoid any unnecessary complications.

Description of Work
Tin Man sold us a new water heater and new furnace, and installed both.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,water heater repair,gas leak repair

5.0

08/28/2012


David & Nita T.

The geothermal systems are not all that well-known and they were knowledgeable about my unit in particular. I am pretty critical about that so they had to know what they were doing if I was going to pay them to do it. They said they knew how to do it and backed it up by doing it. There were not added or hidden charges. I liked their straightforwardness and knowledge. They did work for my parents who have a similar system and we were pleased with that too. They came when they said they would and their professionalism is what sold me originally.

Description of Work
I used Tin Man Heating & Cooling to service my geothermal heat pump.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/24/2012


Karen S.

Our AC stopped working on Memorial day. I called Tin Man the following morning and was told someone could be there on Tuesday afternoon. They actually arrived in the morning and had the AC back working very quickly.

Description of Work
Repaired Air Conditioner.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/25/2012


Danya S.

It is a local company. We had called them for an estimate and we liked the price that he gave us. I would refer them.

Description of Work
We used the services of Tin Man Heating & Cooling. We just had central air conditioning put in.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/13/2011


David J.

The job was finished on time and as estimated and the work performed was good quality. The crew is professional.

Description of Work
New furnaces in a duplex, central air.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/29/2011


Brian C.

The tech was freindly and helped explain the issue and my options to address the problem

Description of Work
Had them come out to check on the venting for my furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Integrity Home Exteriors

    Our most important goal is customer satisfaction. We understand that its not just another project on another house... it's Your Project on Your HOME. We strive to provide every customer with the best service and most enjoyable project experience.  

    Offers by Integrity Home Exteriors on Angi
    Spartan Heating & Air

    Spartan Heating & Air has over 30 years of experience in the industry. Our technicians are committed to providing each client with quality HVAC services. Since we've started we have always put our customers first and ensure that our solutions are at a competitive price point. With our Heating & Air business you can rest easy that you will be well taken care of.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Pipe Doctor

    Fast, Friendly, Knowledgeable and Dependable.... Every-Time!! We are family owned & operated. You might have seen our ambulance-themed-trucks around town! 4 generations of master plumbers, proudly serving Toledo and Northwest Ohio. 24 Hour Emergency Service.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Heating, Air Conditioning, Installation & Maintenance, Geothermal, Heat Pumps, Pleated Air Filters, Humidifiers, Thermostats, Air Exchangers, & Air Cleaners, Hvac, Hvac Service, Heating New Installations, Air Conditioning New Installations, Water Heaters, Club Memberships, Service Contracts, Cooling, Package Units, Parts and Service

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Tin Man Heating & Cooling Inc.

    How is Tin Man Heating & Cooling Inc. overall rated?

    Tin Man Heating & Cooling Inc. is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Tin Man Heating & Cooling Inc. open?

    Tin Man Heating & Cooling Inc. is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Tin Man Heating & Cooling Inc. provide

    Tin Man Heating & Cooling Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Tin Man Heating & Cooling Inc. offer free estimates?

    Yes, Tin Man Heating & Cooling Inc. offers free project estimates.

    Does Tin Man Heating & Cooling Inc. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Tin Man Heating & Cooling Inc. does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Tin Man Heating & Cooling Inc. offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Tin Man Heating & Cooling Inc. offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does Tin Man Heating & Cooling Inc. offer emergency services?

    Yes, Tin Man Heating & Cooling Inc. offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Tin Man Heating & Cooling Inc.?

    Yes, Tin Man Heating & Cooling Inc. offers warranties.

    What services does Tin Man Heating & Cooling Inc. offer?

    Tin Man Heating & Cooling Inc. offers the following services: Heating, Air Conditioning, Installation & Maintenance, Geothermal, Heat Pumps, Pleated Air Filters, Humidifiers, Thermostats, Air Exchangers, & Air Cleaners, Hvac, Hvac Service, Heating New Installations, Air Conditioning New Installations, Water Heaters, Club Memberships, Service Contracts, Cooling, Package Units, Parts and Service