Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Colony Roofing Inc

Founded 1967 • With Angi since July 1997

4.4

(70) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

951 W Bagley Rd

Berea, OH 44017

Description

Here at Colony Roofing Inc, we sustain our business on quality and integrity. With over 53 years of experience we are experts in the Roofing trade and are committed to quality from the beginning to the end of your project. We are family owned and operated and established our business in 1967 and

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/05/2021


Jim C.

Outstanding. There was no pressure during the writing of an estimate. They showed up at a reasonable hour to work on the day that they said they would. The men kept me informed about the progress and explained why the plywood needed replacement. Even with the replacement the final bill was well within the estimate that they gave me. They did a real fine job cleaning up after the work was completed and it seemed to be real fine team work because I didn't see anyone slacking or hear any complaining. The workers were approachable and answered all my questions. I had used them in the past for some roof repairs with similar good results so I knew to call them when it came time for replacement. I would certainly recommend them to anyone who needs roof work!

Description of Work
Roofing

Category roofing

5.0

01/25/2021


Bob R.

The service was great, and the worker did a good job. They were above and beyond. If I need service around the house, I just call Paul. Everything was clean and everything went well.

Description of Work
They install a new roof, corrected all the vents around the roof, and fixed the chimney.

Category roofing, chimney repair

5.0

01/18/2021


Paul H.

Colony Roofing has done an incredible job on my roof, siding and gutters. I am completely blown away how easy the process was from start to finish. When I received my estimate the sales tech (shout out to Paul) was extremely honest and tried to ensure there were no “surprise” costs that we all dread! They showed up on time and left my place cleaner than it was before they arrived. They were able to find the right solution for my flat roof too! A locally owned and operated family business! That’s who I want to deal with during these times. I will be a life-long customer and they will be doing my windows next. It’s hard to find places like this nowadays.

Description of Work
Roofing, Siding, Gutters

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding

5.0

01/18/2021


Shannon S.

Everything went so smoothly from start to finish with work being completed on time and on budget! Everyone was so professional and nice! I just couldn’t be happier with the way our home looks! It is just FABULOUS!

Description of Work
Roofing, Siding,Gutters

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding

5.0

01/18/2021


Gina W.

Top notch job from start to finish. Professional crew and company who puts the client first. Quality work and the job was completed timely. I would highly recommend Colony Roofing and have recommended them to family and friends.

Description of Work
Roofing and skylight replacement

Category roofing, skylights

5.0

01/18/2021


Dave H.

The team at Colony was exceptional! I would highly recommend this family owned business. We had our roof replaced and the process from start to finish was a pleasure. I have referred Colony Roofing to all my friends and family.

Description of Work
Roofing

Category roofing

5.0

04/30/2019


David J.

We hired Colony Roofing to fix our siding from the Q1 2019 wind storm. They also fixed our eaves which were also damaged by raccoons. The repairs look great. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Professional Work

Category roofing, siding

5.0

06/22/2017


Debbie D.

Very satisfied with the workmanship on both projects. Entire garden areas and yard were cleaned up as well.

Description of Work
Replaced roof and gutters

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

04/22/2017


Anthony G.

They had a two day window between spring rains and used their time very smartly. We had gutter guards and heating cables that they took down and replaced when the new roof was up, at no extra cost to us. They did an outstanding job cleaning up after the job and the roof looks beautiful and durable. The crew was very polite and respectful to our needs.

Description of Work
We had a wind storm and three sections of the roof were blown away. I called Colony Roofing and they were out the next morning to tarp the areas. After a call to the insurance company, I contacted Colony, their estimator was very professional. I thought the price was very fair, even though insurance did not cover the whole cost of replacing the roof, the price quoted to us was resonable.

Category gutter cleaning, roofing

3.0

06/09/2016


Elizabeth L.

I have two reviews to offer. First, we had Colony come out to do a roof repair (bricks from the chimney fell and left a hole in the roof). The crew that came to do the repair were punctual, pleasant, efficient, and cleaned up well. They explained everything they had done, including a couple unexpected steps that came up during the repair. The repair has so far been successful (no leaks so far!). Repair crew gets an A+. Second, we had Colony provide an estimate for a new roof. The roof is a good size, with several different surfaces and a steeper pitch. It also includes 6 skylights that we were interested in having replaced. The sales rep that came out was not the best. My husband was home at the time of the estimate and the sales rep tried very hard to talk us out of completing the replacement. He couldn't seem to understand why we wanted a new roof, given that we had just moved in to the house. The reason we were looking at a new roof is because our home inspection revealed the roof had 1-2 years of life left, at best. Anyone with eyes could see that. Yet, the sales rep tried his hardest to talk us out of it. Why? I have no idea. Anyhow, we received the estimate and it was actually the lowest of the estimates we obtained. Still, my husband's experience with the rep left a bad taste in his mouth, but we were willing to look past that. A few days later, I called the company to inquire as to whether they offered any financing options through their company. They connected me to the same sales rep. I posed my question ("Does Colony offer any financing options?"), to which he responded in a very sarcastic and unpleasant tone, "Yeah, check or credit card." Those aren't financing options, those are payment options. I already knew they accepted check and credit cards. However, I don't think most people have the ability to pay for an entire roof with a credit card, nor do all people have the option of paying cash (check). It was a simple, and I would assume, fairly common question in their line of work. The snide comment and rude tone were totally uncalled for. Given my and my husband's two unpleasant experiences with this individual, we opted NOT to use Colony. They lost a $13,000 sale because of a sales rep with NO people skills whatsoever. This part of our experience with Colony gets an F rating.

Description of Work
Roof repair, and estimate for new roof

Category roofing

4.0

04/02/2016


Wendy J.

Unfortunately, I was very disappointed with this company. I know they have been in business for over 40 years and I know of others who have used them in the past for other jobs and were pretty happy. The main problem was lack of communication and follow up. While the materials used, which I chose, where of good quality and the installers seemed to do a good job installing them (eg. it looks professional), there were major problems in terms of communication, or lack thereof, with the company from the beginning. From the initial quote and pre-job items to the job itself and follow up after the main job was completed, it took over 1 year and 3 months to get the whole job completed. Many of the communications were initiated by me eg. my having to call several times to get an answer on something. This took up quite a bit of my time. I was very patient with the company and was trying to be understanding of their staffing or other issues on their end, but it eventually came to the point that I had to visit their office on two occasions to get answers to pending issues and get items resolved. After the majority of the work had been completed and several calls and a letter to the company to get the final aspects of the job completed, I was able to speak with the owner about the whole experience. I appreciated him speaking with me and he agreed to my proposed solution to resolving the issues that arose during the job. Based on my overall experience, though, I will not be able to recommend them to others.

Description of Work
Installed siding, insulation, soffit vents and new gutters.

Category gutter repair, siding

1.0

12/04/2015


Mark S.

They were called out to fix a leak in the roof over the garage along with several other items. Half the work was not completed but received an invoice saying all work was completed per proposal. I wrote to them about all the work that was not done so they reduced the bill by about half. They gave me dates and promised all work would be completed so I could paint the house. Those dates were missed and showed up the following week when there was wet paint on the house and used their leaf blower to clean the roof on to the wet paint. Very difficult to get any info from the person that answers since each estimator seems to run their own work and the office is clueless as to when work is scheduled. After all the frustration with this company, my roof is still leaking into the garage.

Description of Work
repaired bad shingles, replaced rotted plywood

Category roofing

2.0

11/12/2015


Tanya R.

So horrible! The threw tarps from the roof to the truck to toss the debris in (a good manuver if executed properly) but the problem is where th truck was placed. In a four unit complex you obviously can't pull the truck around to the back yard. But apparently you can slap some pieces of plywood down on the grass; and the flowerbeds, to help the tuck get where it needs to go to make it easier for the crew! My garden was completely flattened! I'm surprised they didn't ruin my expensive Japanese Maple tree! Horrible way to do a job and completely unprofessional. I was home the whole time and they could have asked! Unbelievable!

Description of Work
I live in a four unit condo complex and we were the last to get a new roof. Colony didn't even do the job! They subcontracted out to some other company and came once to check on things.

Category roofing

1.0

06/24/2015


monica M.

It's the worst experience in my life. The price was in the ballpark. The price wasn't the problem. They're lack of backing up anything they said is. I would recommend them to somebody who wanna do a dog house.

Description of Work
They came about a year ago. They took our roof down and put a new plywood up.3 months later, I have water coming out of my ceiling. I've never had that problem before. They backed up to see my ceiling and TV room here and they refuse to fix it and cost me out over it.

Category roofing

5.0

11/13/2014


Carol W.

They were very professional, courteous and very timely. They did wonderful work.

Description of Work
My neighbors tree had fallen and crushed out tile and gutters. They did roofing and gutter work for us.

Category gutter cleaning, gutter repair, roofing

5.0

11/06/2014


Joe B.

We were very pleased with the whole job. Paul walked us through the process of getting a new roof. Moe and his team were prompt, professional and the cleanup was excellent. Ray and Ted installed soffit vents, and were also excellent, finishing the job in one day. We would recommend them.

Description of Work
Tear off existing two roofs, install new roof and add sofit vents.

Category roofing, siding

5.0

08/19/2013


ROBERT A.

Very responsive. Same day evaluation of the hole caused by a fallen tree limb. Called to schedule, and called again to reconfirm. Good communication with us. Work done neatly and cleaned up well after.

Description of Work
Replaced broken joists and plywood underlayment. Stripped roof and re-shingled. Replaced all vents.

Category roofing

5.0

07/08/2013


Michael H.

Colony was contracted to apply a new roof to my residence and remove the old roof which was the original when the house was constructed in 1995. They also checked the plywood to inspect it and I had authorized them to replace any sheets that were bad. This was because we had begun to experience some water leeks through the original roofing. They found no faulty plywood. The roofing shingles we chose were of a totally different quality and color than the original. Paul, at Colony, preformed above and beyond to work with us in choosing the best shingle. This was in both the areas of color and quality. The roof was applied in November and was completed in a timely fashion. The crew was through and efficient. Since daylight was becoming an issue at that time of year they could not work as long as during the summer but still completed there work on schedule. They cleaned up the area thoroughly and there was no residue or debris anywhere. What impressed me was that there were not any nails to be found due to there sweeping the area with magnets to pick up any that had fallen. After it was completed a supervisor came over a few days later and inspected the roof. He noticed that a few minor details had been left out and assured me someone would be there to fix it. The very next day someone arrived and took care of what was needed. It was then inspected again and given the OK. Only after the final inspection did I get the bill....there was no 1/3,1/3,1/3. Because if the work on my house they have picked up work at 2 others in my sub-division. I am totally satisfied

Description of Work
Colony Roofing put on a new roof and removed the original roof.

Category roofing

5.0

02/11/2013


Timothy L.

2011 was a very wet, stormy year. We had to reschedule the roof work several times, but when there was a break in the storms in August, Colony got a crew here and did the entire process in one day. I'm writing this in Feb of 2013, and have had no roof issues, even though we've had some major storms (Sandy!) in the last year.

Description of Work
They re-shingled our 72 year old "Cape Cod"-style house, including stripping off three layers of shingles and repair to some of the original roof planks, as needed. They added new rubberized material to some valleys and overhangs that had been troublesome for us for several years. They also replaced gutters and downspouts on the house and garage.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

12/30/2012


Nasseeb S.

It went very well. They were professional and very easy to work with.

Description of Work
Replaced existing roof system.

Category roofing

2.0

08/17/2012


Robert H.

When we had our siding replaced in August, 2012, we discovered our ceiling joist had sustained water damage. Our contract stated that ice guard would be placed under the shingles to the edge but none were found above the area where the water damage had occurred. We found our contract and called the company. A salesman employed bullying tactics when he came to see the roof and claimed it wasn't their fault. We ended the conversation when it became heated. We had another company fix the problem and would never recommend Colony Roofing to anyone!

Description of Work
Colony Roofing replaced our roof in 2004.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

The roof in question was installed over eight years ago. Colony Roofing responded within one hour of the phone call reporting a workmanship issue. The workmanship issue was brought up to the home owner by another contracting competitor doing siding work. Once on site there was no evidence, including photo documentation, of alleged problems. The ceiling joist in question is in the center of the first floor living room of a two story house which makes these false allegations even more troubling to understand. After our investigation we feel that the unfounded allegations were brought to the home owner by an over zealous competitor eager to assess blame with no credible evidence. This case simply has no factual merit. Colony Roofing Inc was established in 1967 and have been serving north east Ohio for over 45 years. We are family owned and operated and are active members in our community. We are a full service roofing contractor and take pride in quality workmanship.
5.0

05/31/2012


Carmen M.

They were out the same day we called. Fixed our roof and we haven't had a problem since. They were understanding of our situation and were pleasant to work with. It was refreshing, no high pricing or pressure selling.

Description of Work
They fixed a leak in our roof.

Category roofing

5.0

02/21/2012


Tommie F.

They took a picture of my roof to show me. They did a great job. They are very honest. I was very happy with them.

Description of Work
They fixed my roof.

Category roofing

5.0

01/11/2012


richard P.

The quote was for about $8000. They were very knowledgeable and the guy who was out was very nice. He knew what he was talking about. He said he was going to be here at a certain time and he was here and he was very professional.

Description of Work
I got a quote from Colony Roofing Inc for roofing and gutters in August.

Category gutter repair, roofing

2.0

01/05/2012


Laura K.

Roof Repair - The following winter, the roof leaked again. The contract stated that they were to put ice guard over the garage area. However, when I called them back, they woud not honor their work. They came back out but said the problem was in another area of the roof. When I had another roofer come out to repair the roof, they discovered that Colony never tore the shingles off and put the Ice Guard down which I paid them to put on the roof. The shingles on the roof were the original shingles. This made sense to me as the men were sitting in the truck shortly after they arrived and they told me they had no shingles. i thought they were waiting for somebody to come with them. i unfortunately had to leave. They apparently never finished the job. As it turned out, after consulting many roofers, Colony offered the totally wrong solution to the roof and I wound up paying more than double to fix the roof. I also have a friend that had a bad experience with a total roof. I would never recommend colony roofers.

Description of Work
Repair leak in roof. Tear off roof. put down ice guard. replace shingles. Tear off siding on place ice guard against house, replace siding.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Chimney Guys Ohio

    Check our website for current promotions. All major credit cards accepted. Sub contracting not an option. We won't show up for another company, and only WE will show up to do work on your home. No surprises.  

    Angi Certified

    Home Genius Exteriors

     

    Angi Certified

    Window Genie of Cleveland West

    Window Genie of Cleveland West is your locally owned and operated leader in streak free window cleaning, window tinting, pressure washing, gutter cleaning and holiday lighting. Window Genie's commitment to customer satisfaction and professionalism is what has made us America's fastest growing home service franchise. With world class training and service standards, you will feel safe knowing our uniformed technicians have completed a thorough background check and will take great pride in caring for your home or office. We carry full insurance, are bonded and use only the best equipment and materials available in today's market. Estimates are always free.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    No License Required for Trade
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Roofing, tear-offs, re-roofs & repairs, shingle, slate, tile & shake, siding & windows, ice back-up systems, ventilation systems, gutters & downspouts.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Colony Roofing Inc

    How is Colony Roofing Inc overall rated?

    Colony Roofing Inc is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Colony Roofing Inc open?

    Colony Roofing Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does Colony Roofing Inc provide

    Colony Roofing Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Colony Roofing Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Colony Roofing Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Colony Roofing Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Colony Roofing Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Colony Roofing Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Colony Roofing Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Colony Roofing Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Colony Roofing Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Colony Roofing Inc?

    Yes, Colony Roofing Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Colony Roofing Inc offer?

    Colony Roofing Inc offers the following services: Roofing, tear-offs, re-roofs & repairs, shingle, slate, tile & shake, siding & windows, ice back-up systems, ventilation systems, gutters & downspouts.