Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Shake PRO Solutions, LLC.

Founded 1986 • With Angi since January 2016

For more than 30 Years John has specialized in the restoration of wood shake and shingle, slate, tile and old style roofing and exterior systems. With our experience and knowledge of restoration, installation methods have improved the life of roofs by many years past the manufacturer's generally accepted expectancy. We attract quality tradespeople who take pride in their work and step up to the challenges that come our way. We strive to provide the best in quality of service and long lasting results. This is our model of success! We are experts in: Cedar Shake wood roofing: installation; restoration; power washing; cleaning; repair; treatment; staining / treatment Cedar shingle wood roofing: cedar siding Copper sheet metal Slate roofing; repair; restoration Exterior wood restoration Masonry: Chimneys; tuck pointing; re-building; flues Leak repair; Ice dams; ice back up; Skylights; How long can your roof last? That is our business! We have helped roofs last 2-3 times the manufacturer's expectation. Our field results are proven; Shake PRO Solutions!

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.2

(27) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 27 reviews
Judith B.
3.0
09/09/2020
The job was mostly completed. John did not respond to our request to repair loose shakes. We paid upfront for maintenance of roof and gutters. Because he didn't appear after several requests, we hired a gutter cleaner and will hire another maintenance company. We paid a pretty price and resent that he has be AWOl.
Description of Work
tear off cedar roof
Category
gutter cleaning, roofing, garage builders
Gary D.
5.0
05/03/2018
Very well done. Professional and courteous. Roof looks great.
Description of Work
Replace shake shingles and stain roof
Category
roofing
Joe C.
5.0
02/21/2016
I own a Geodesic home which has cedar shake roofing. John removed all damaged and rotted shingles power washed and replaced with his custom ordered cedar shake. He only uses top quality. These guys are seasoned crafters and meticulous for detail. Afterwards the whole house was treated with a special oil. The house looks new. John and his crew are honest and punctual. I never had a good fix it guy. Always something. These guys are top notch and pride themselves as artists working for your approval. Never did they ignore my requests and always communicated the plan. I can say that I have found my repair crew!
Description of Work
Cedar shake roof restore and gutter install. I initially wanted an estimate for a new roof. John told me that my current roof had many years of life left and was not needed. John introduced and educated me of cedar roof maintenance which was new to me.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, pressure washing
Joe C.
5.0
12/03/2015
.
Description of Work
Very professional. They take their work personally and as an art form.
Category
roofing, snow removal
Melinda O.
2.0
08/24/2011
Replaced scattered areas and shingles. Replaced an entire section.
Description of Work
I have a very large cedar shingle roof.This company did work for me on several occasions. Sometimes the owner would stop buy,saying he was" in the neighborhood", and say he would like to do a" complimentary inspectiom". Afterwhich, he would suggest some repacement work that he would reccommend. He would give me an oral price, but,when the work was completed, would bill me more. I felt like I was his ATM machine, When his company replaced a large section of my roof some metal equiptment was left in the roof and not taken out for several weeks. When an area was being repaired they tore off the old one day, leaving open areas to my living room. When I called i was told that it was not suppose to rain that night and I would be fine. I found the owner to be unprofessional and I lost trust in his ability to give me an honest assessment of what my roof needed. I felt it was more about what HE needed.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

According to my records and recollection, I have not worked on this home since 2004 and this report written in 2011 is for work done in 2008. I do recall that this roof was in need of major repairs and restoration to save it at that time. A good portion of the roof is (or was) original. Installed in 1974. My company cleaned, repaired and treated only twice during this time. It is recommended that the roof be maintained more often. If there was a way to make things right, I certainly would have done my best to do so.
Wendy M.
2.0
06/29/2011
We have a wood shingle roof which needed maintainence as they frequently do.Shake Savers did a bait and switch; they gave us an estimate after examining the roof of ~ $2500. They power washed the roof which created a mess in our attic and garage. They did send someone to clean but it would have taken ages to get it all cleaned.Then while in the middle of the job they said that we needed a total replacement of one side of our garage roof. They were supposed to come back to apply the treatment about 6 months later and never came back. I never called about it because I'm afraid they will make a mess of the garage again. (we have a lot of stuff in there) Also, they replaced some gutter sections and it has totally come apart where it was "connected". It looks like they only caulked it. When we complained that they bent the garage gutter on one side of the garage they wedged a piece of wood beneath it which it unfinished and therefore deteriorating with all the water exposure. It was a very bad experience.
Description of Work
wood shingle roof repair and maintenance partial gutter replacement and maintenace
Category
gutter repair, roofing

Service Provider Response

I am a bit behind in responding to this claim of bad experience. I am sorry to hear about this and was able to review the notes from my crew and salesperson at the time which are old and incomplete. If there is anything we can do to make it up in the future, I will personally help this along.
PAMELA G.
5.0
11/11/2010
I have used Shake Savers before to repair my roof and have been pleased with the quality of the work and level of professionalism. When I noticed the problem areas, I called, they came out and took a look, I received an estimate, and the work was done cleanly and quickly. It couldn't have been easier and the roof looks great.
Description of Work
I have an old Dutch colonial. The Dutch colonial part of the roof is wood shingled. I could see some damage to the roof edges due to snow and ice from last winter. It turned out that quite a number of shingles were deteriorated and needed to be replaced. Shake Savers inspected the entire roof, recommended a course of action and made the repairs.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you, It was a pleasure doing business with you.
JANE M.
5.0
07/16/2010
Everything went very well. They were very courteous and personable, although they were a pricey company.
Description of Work
They did some minor cedar shake replacement.
Category
roofing
JILL L.
5.0
06/28/2010
In the end they did a good job. I did have to call them a few times to get them out here after they did the first estimate to do the work. I think it may have been an internal issue. Overall, it was positive.
Description of Work
They repaired my cedar shake roof.
Category
roofing
JASON B.
1.0
05/25/2010
I called Shake Savers and said I wanted a quote for the work and would like to have it completed quickly (within a week or two). I was told they would have a quote to me within a few days. After a few calls back, I finally got a quote about two weeks later. I told them to go ahead with the work and was told it would be completed the following week. Nothing ever happened, so I called and was told the person assigned to this job was no longer with the company. A second person eventually came to my house to look at the job and promised it would be completed the following week. Nothing happened again, and it turns out this person also left the company. After a couple more calls, I finally spoke to the owner, who told me they couldn't get to the job and I should find a handyman to do it. I waited almost two months to have a job done that I wanted done quickly, and was eventually told they wouldn't do the work in a timely manner (despite a written proposal). I am very disappointed with this experience. I have used Shake Savers in the past for my roof. I will need to consider finding a new company to work on my roof the next time maintenance is needed.
Description of Work
Repair of woodpecker holes and loose wood siding.
Category
siding

Service Provider Response

I am so sorry for your experience. At the time, there were multiple unfortunate and uncontrollable issues at hand. We should have let you know that we could not meet your needs. Since then, this roof was beyond repair and I believe, as was needed, was replaced with a different material. We have restructured and are more than capable of not repeating the experience you had.
Kathy R.
3.0
03/08/2010
Angie's List called me today asking for a review of Shake Savers. I spoke to John, the owner, in November of 2008. He mentioned that they have annual maintenance for $250, where the look at the roof and clear out the gutters. In October of 2009, thinking the time was right to have the roof looked at again and for clearing out the gutters, I called Shake Savers. Called them and found out they visually inspect the roof before doing anything. On 10/29 they were out to look at the roof.. On 11/14 I received by e-mail a contract that stated "min $250.00. Recommend up to 2 bundles of spot repair @$200 ea." I didn't know what this meant. I expected that maintenance was a flat fee of $250, and that if anything troublesome was found, they would tell me about it. I decided I would call them after the leaves had fallen, since I wanted the gutters cleaned after all. On 11/23 roofers came by. Surprise! I hadn't responded to the contract, and nobody had called me to tell me that workers would be by. I called Shake Savers, and we discussed at length what is involved in the maintenance contract, performing work without my ok, and lack of calling me first about the work date. Cost should be $400, or maybe less. I gave my go-ahead for the roofers to work. They finished up the next day. I called Shake Savers on 11/39 with some questions. 1. Were the roofers finished? 2. What of the ugly contrast between the new and the old roof tiles? On 12/3 Shake Savers called. 1. The roofers were finished. 2. The material will blend in after weather has worked on it. 3. Cost is $1327.97. When I mentioned I had been quoted probably under $400 on the cost, they said they'd look into it. Was told later bill would be for $400. On 12/15 Shake Savers came by to pick up yard sign and to leave invoice. I called to pay and spoke to John, the owner. He said he's review my problems at the next staff meeting.
Description of Work
Maintenance. Spot repair. Cleaning out gutters.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

Sorry for the delayed response. I did relay the issues with the crew back then. We performed work for 2 days and according to the notes I have, installed a few bundles. The final bill was for $400.00. I have improved the verbiage of the seasonal maintenance contract to make it more clear, as well as our communication policies since this work was performed. I also found a note from you describing your experience. I was able to quickly get to the bottom of the issues. This sort of feedback was very helpful.
CATHERINE W.
2.0
07/26/2009
If anyone can recommend a company that works on cedar shingle roofs I would appreciate hearing about it. Shake Savers has done work for us in the past. The work was o.k. to good but they have always been very bad at getting back to you. They always run behind .
Description of Work
Mid May asked for an estimate to have wood shingle roof inspected and treated. He stopped in briefly and looked at the water damage that was done inside from a leak. and said they would come out to inspect the outside and give estimate. Heard nothing. Called and talked to Jerrid in late May. Said he had been away. Apologized and said he would do the estimate right after Memorial Day. I have heard nothing since. Not even a phone call. I checked yes that I would use them again because I can't find another company that works on cedar shingles. I am disgusted.
Category
roofing
Marsha L.
5.0
07/08/2009
It was a good experience. Bob, the owner, was punctual coming out there, and he was knowledgeable and he answered questions. I felt comfortable with him. He was a nice guy and he knew what he was talking about. He got a different type of insulation that I had asked for and installed it on the house. He has his own workers and they are not sub-contractors, which is good. His workers cleaned up well. The roof didn?t leak any more in the garage after it was put on. There were a couple of minor things that had to be taken care of, and they came back and took care of those issues. I had another company that came out and gave me a price that was almost double his price. Bob also told me that if there was any problem, I needed to just call him and he would come over and fix it. I think he is a good and honest businessman.
Description of Work
I used Triple A Siding to put in vinyl siding in another house that I own, and re-roof the garage.
Category
roofing, siding
FRED T.
5.0
12/10/2008
It was a very good experience. They came out quickly. There were some weather delays, but they were very good about putting tarp over the whole area and keeping it from getting wet. As soon as the weather permitted they came right back and finished the job and did a good job.
Description of Work
They replaced a section of our roof that was leaking.
Category
roofing
JOHN C.
5.0
12/08/2006
They did what they said they were going to do. I thought they were expensive, but I paid them because they were taking good care of my wood shingle roof. I realized I was paying for the expertise, because three other companies would not even touch it.
Description of Work
They did spouting work for me.
Category
roofing
JOHN C.
5.0
04/13/2006
The president of the company came out to talk to me. I had somebody else in the previous five years, and he suggested that they weren't quite as thorough and that he could do a much better job. I think he did. In the course of doing things, it turned out that there was a very, very, very slight drip leak when it really poured down. I did not realize that, and I don't think they did either. So I called him, and they came out that morning and fixed it. They did a fine job. I paid extra because I didn't expect that, but that was fairly nominal. They did a good job and, boy, they responded within two hours. They were here and had it done. I would not hesitate to have the man again. He's a bit of a salesman, but I do think they know what they're talking about, and they do a good job. I would give them a good rating.
Description of Work
They coated my wood shingle roof. They cleaned off the roof with a high powered water spray, swept it down, and then coated it with a protective coating. The roof is about 48 years old. They feel like it will last many more decades providing I keep maintaining it. He thought in another 4-5 years I should have it re-coated again.
Category
roofing
MARILYN & CHUCK L.
3.0
10/25/2005
THEY WERE VERY POLITE. THEY CLEANED UP AFTER THEMSELVES.
Description of Work
REPLACED SHAKE ROOF.
Category
roofing
DR KATH B.
3.0
04/08/2005
GUTTERS THAT THEY HAD PUT UP FAILED AFTER LESS THAN 5 YEARS. WAS TOLD THIS WAS DUE TO ROTTEN BOARDS, THAT THEY DID NOT NOTICE PREVIOUSLY. ESTIMATE APPROXIMATELY 20% HIGHER THAN ANY OTHER.
Description of Work
NOT HIRED - SEE COMMENTS
Category
gutter repair
5.0
01/18/2005
THEY CLEANED UP AROUND THE JOB SITE DAILY. ALL AROUND THEY DID A NICE JOB. I WAS VERY PLEASED.
Description of Work
RE DID TWO ENTIRE SECTIONS OF ROOF WITH REGULAR SHINGLES.
Category
roofing
MARTHA & RICH S.
5.0
04/27/2004
PUNCTUAL, PROFESSIONAL AND GAVE A GREAT DETAILED ESTIMATE. I ENDED UP NOT USING THE COMPANY, BECAUSE I DID NOT PURCHASE THE HOUSE.
Description of Work
HE CAME AND GAVE AN ESTIMATE FOR ROOF CLEANING ON A HOUSE I WAS LOOKING TO BUY. HE CLIMBED INTO THE ATTIC, WENT ONTO THE ROOF, AND TOOK DIGITAL PICTURES.
Category
roofing
MS DOROTHY E M.
2.0
04/21/2004
HE CAME THE DAY AFTER THE APPOINTMENT I HAD SCHEDULED. HE WAS APOLOGETIC AND SAID THERE WAS A MIX UP IN SCHEDULING. CAME AND TOOK A LOOK AT THE JOB AND I NEVER RECEIVED THE ACTUAL ESTIMATE.
Description of Work
CALLED TO RECEIVE AN ESTIMATE TO RE-STORE A CEDAR SHAKE ROOF.
Category
roofing
LISA M.
2.0
09/11/2003
LEFT DEBRIS ON LAWN. DID NOT START WHEN PLANNED.
Description of Work
REPAIRED AND REPLACED DAMAGED SHAKES.
Category
roofing
SHENANDOAH R.
4.0
10/05/2002
THEY DID AN EXCELLENT JOB ON THE SHAKE ROOF, BUT NOT THE SLATE ROOF. THEIR ESTIMATE FOR THE SLATE PORTION OF THE JOB WAS LESS THAN 1/4 OF THE ESTIMATE FROM DURABLE SLATE.
Description of Work
THEY WASHED AND TREATED THE CEDAR SHAKES ON THE GARAGE, AND REPLACED ONES THAT NEEDED REPLACING. THAT WAS DONE WELL. WE ALSO ARRANGED FOR THEM TO REPAIR AND REPLACE ANY DAMAGED SLATE ON THE HOUSE SLATE ROOF. THEY UNDERESTIAMTED WHAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, BUT DIDNT CONTACT US TO TELL US THEY NEEDED TO DO MORE. JUST SENT THE BILL AS IF THEY WERE DONE. I ASKED THEM TO COMPLETE THE JOB AND REPLACE THE ADDITIONAL SLATE FOR THEIR ADDITIONAL FEE ($450), BUT THEY HAVENT RESPONDED YET.
Category
roofing
NANCY S.
5.0
06/21/2002
THEY REMOVED A LARGE AREA OF SHAKE SHINGLES, LAID DOWN ICE GUARD TAR PAPER THEN REPLACED SHINGLES.
Description of Work
WE HAD A LEAK FROM OUR CEDAR SHAKE ROOF.
Category
roofing
BRUCE S.
5.0
09/26/2000
RELATIVE TO THEIR COMPETITION THEY ARE MUCH BETTER, WELL WORTH WHAT YOU PAY
Description of Work
ROOFING REPAIRS ON A SHAKE ROOF
Category
roofing

Other local Pros in your area

The Gutter Boys

The Gutter Boys Co. works daily to provide a seamless and enjoyable customer experience. Our helpful sales associates can get you a quote for gutter cleaning right over the phone. If you are looking for seamless gutters or protection, we come right to you, and customize a quote specifically for your home and circumstances. We are never pushy. We like to say that it’s a sales experience that your mom would be comfortable with. The Gutter Boys technicians are tenured and knowledgeable. We are proud to provide a high continuity of service by utilizing employees for our installation services. Our techs are rigorously trained and have received Master Installer status with Valor Gutter Guards, which TGB exclusively installs in Northeast Ohio.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

OTTA Construction Services

Here at OTTA Construction Services we can do anything from kitchen / bath remodeling to home additions, whole house painting exterior and interior. We specialize in hardwood floor refinishing/ installation. OTTA can help with all of your homeowner needs. OTTA Construction Services has been in business for 8 years we are owner operated and love what we do.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Airlock Insulation

The Leaders of Cellulose Insulation. Joseph Wolf has 32 years of experience in insulating new and existing homes with cellulose spray insulation. He and his father were the first in Northeast Ohio to spray cellulose insulation. Joseph is the lead installer and an owner of the company. Some other benefits of Cellulose: Stops air infiltration - R-value does not measure for air infiltration. (air passes right through fiberglass) Keeps bugs and rodents out Fire Retardant - Class 1 Fire Rating 90% Sound Deadening 100% GREEN - No Toxins  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Phone

Address

P.O. box 221198

Beachwood, OH 44122

Other Information

Services Not Offered

For the homes that we service, we offer a wide variety of exterior and interior renovation services

Payment options

Check
Financing Available
No License Required for Trade
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Shake PRO Solutions, LLC. is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

Shake PRO Solutions, LLC. is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Shake PRO Solutions, LLC. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available

Yes, Shake PRO Solutions, LLC. offers free project estimates.

Yes, Shake PRO Solutions, LLC. offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Shake PRO Solutions, LLC. offers a 5% senior discount.

Yes, Shake PRO Solutions, LLC. offers emergency services.

Yes, Shake PRO Solutions, LLC. offers warranties.

Shake PRO Solutions, LLC. offers the following services: Wood shake and shingle install, roof clean, power wash, roof repair and roof treatment. Also, leak repairs and any issue regarding roofing, siding, masonry, Carpentry, painting.

For the homes that we service, we offer a wide variety of exterior and interior renovation services